About Paymo

Paymo is a work and project management solution dedicated to Marketing, Design, Creative, and Advertising Agencies, Architecture firms, Universities, Law firms and Consulting businesses.
It allows you to create and assign tasks, schedule work, accurately keep track of work time at the office and on the go, collaborate and issue invoices to your clients based on time worked.

Pricing starting from:

USD 9.56/month

  • Free Trial
  • Free Version
  • Subscription

Key benefits of Paymo

- create, assign, and manage tasks
- track work time in browser, via desktop tools or mobile apps
- see who's overbooked or underbooked in Paymo's Team Scheduler
- track expenses, issue invoices to your clients and get paid online
- measure employee performance and track leave days
- comunicate with your team in real time with task comments

Devices

Business size

S M L

Markets

Australia, Brazil, Canada, Germany, United Kingdom, United States

Supported Languages

Chinese, Czech, Danish, Dutch, English and 14 others, Finnish, French, German, Irish, Italian, Japanese, Norwegian, Polish, Portuguese, Russian, Spanish, Swedish, Traditional Chinese, Turkish

Pricing starting from:

USD 9.56/month

  • Free Trial
  • Free Version
  • Subscription

Images

Kanban View
Full Task Details
Timesheets
To Do List
Advanced Task Management
Real-time Comments and Discussions
Desktop Apps
Mobile Apps
Team Scheduling
Time Reports
Invoicing
Expenses
Add Bulk Time
Web Timer
View 15 more
Paymo video
Paymo screenshot: Kanban View Paymo screenshot: Full Task Details Paymo screenshot: Timesheets Paymo screenshot: To Do List Paymo screenshot: Advanced Task Management Paymo screenshot: Real-time Comments and Discussions Paymo screenshot: Desktop Apps Paymo screenshot: Mobile Apps Paymo screenshot: Team Scheduling Paymo screenshot: Time Reports Paymo screenshot: Invoicing Paymo screenshot: Expenses Paymo screenshot: Add Bulk Time Paymo screenshot: Web Timer

Features

Total features of Paymo: 67

  • @mentions
  • API
  • Access Controls/Permissions
  • Activity Dashboard
  • Activity Tracking
  • Agile Methodologies
  • Alerts/Notifications
  • Assignment Management
  • Billing & Invoicing
  • Budget Management
  • Calendar Management
  • Client Management
  • Client Portal
  • Collaboration Tools
  • Commenting/Notes
  • Communication Management
  • Critical Path
  • Customizable Templates
  • Data Visualization
  • Document Management
  • Document Storage
  • Drag & Drop
  • Employee Activity Monitoring
  • Estimating
  • File Management
  • File Sharing
  • File Transfer
  • Gantt/Timeline View
  • Invoice Management
  • Kanban Board
  • Milestone Tracking
  • Mobile Access
  • Monitoring
  • Multi-Currency
  • Multi-Language
  • Multiple Projects
  • Percent-Complete Tracking
  • Planning Tools
  • Portfolio Management
  • Preview Functionality
  • Prioritization
  • Progress Tracking
  • Project Planning
  • Project Planning/Scheduling
  • Project Templates
  • Project Time Tracking
  • Project Tracking
  • Project Workflow
  • Real Time Data
  • Real Time Monitoring
  • Real Time Notifications
  • Real-time Updates
  • Remote Support Software
  • Reporting & Statistics
  • Reporting/Project Tracking
  • Resource Management
  • Single Sign On
  • Status Tracking
  • Task Management
  • Task Planning
  • Task Progress Tracking
  • Task Scheduling
  • Third Party Integrations
  • Time & Expense Tracking
  • Time Zone Tracking
  • Timesheet Management
  • Workflow Management

Alternatives

Mavenlink

4.2
#1 Alternative to Paymo
Mavenlink is a modern software platform for agencies and professionals services organizations that helps automate...

Easy Projects

4.4
#2 Alternative to Paymo
Easy Projects is a project management & collaboration platform for mid-size businesses & enterprises designed to help...

Ravetree

4.4
#3 Alternative to Paymo
Ravetree is an all-in-one work management solution for project-driven organizations and teams with tools for managing...

Trello

4.5
#4 Alternative to Paymo
From sales and marketing to HR and operations, teams can design and customize Trello to fit their unique needs and work...

Reviews

Overall rating

4.7 /5
(406)
Value for Money
4.6/5
Features
4.4/5
Ease of Use
4.6/5
Customer Support
4.7/5

Already have Paymo?

Software buyers need your help! Product reviews help the rest of us make great decisions.

Write a Review!
Showing 5 reviews of 406
Neal B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Graphic Design
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Paymo has grown, evolved, and expanded alongside of the needs of our business.

Reviewed on 25/06/2020

Seriously, everything! I mentioned time tracking earlier but Paymo also does project management,...

Seriously, everything! I mentioned time tracking earlier but Paymo also does project management, client management, invoicing, estimation, Zapier integration, scheduling, team tasking...and the list goes on and on.

Pros

Time tracking is seamlessly integrated into our current designer workflow. This allows us to calculate the actual time spent on the job so clients understand where their money is being spent. It also allows us to identify where we need to increase project costs (9/10 times it's with 'customer correspondence').

Cons

We've been with Paymo for over 10 years so it was a bit of a kick when they started charging for functionality like Gant Charts. We've always loved the complete 'soup-to-nuts' service that Paymo offered so when certain items were put behind another paywall it definitely stung a bit. ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

Response from Paymo

Loved the "(9/10 times it's with customer correspondence)" part, Neal :)

Besides Gantt Charts, the Business plan also comes with a Team Scheduling module, 100 GB of storage, and priority support.

We found this plan to be more appealing to larger teams, that's why we've decided to include it in a separate plan.

What specifically do you need from Gantt Charts, the ability to set dependencies or see task deadlines on a calendar?

If it's the latter one, then I have some good news: we're going to launch a task calendar view in the near future, so stay tuned!

Jelena J.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

My time and sanity saver!

Reviewed on 01/07/2020

I've increased my productivity with Paymo's Kanban board view, combined with Table view, and saved...

I've increased my productivity with Paymo's Kanban board view, combined with Table view, and saved TONS of hours on admin, invoicing, timesheets, client and project management.

Just this time saving alone pays off the monthly subscription.

Sanity and nerves saving is the bonus! :)

Why? Because Paymo helped me maintain good client relationships, timesheet transparency and great records&data representation for a client. So when a client comes up with a random question about a specific task, Paymo's records make finding (and presenting) a specific information or record so much easier, transparent and more reliable.

Pros

Paymo has been a lifesaver in many business management areas: project management, client management, time tracking, accounting.

With built-in budgeting, time tracking, expense tracking, estimate calculations, professional invoicing and getting paid online (and on time!), different project 'views' (list, table, board for kanban, gantt), extensive filters, dashboard and insights, resource scheduling, live time reports, client portal - and all that in one app - it's a sanity saver!

One of the things I also personally quite appreciate is the professional and clean look of the invoices (and how easy it is for clients to pay them online). With a click of a button, you can add the unbilled time/fees for a specific time period and/or projects to an invoice. Paymo does all that heavy admin stuff for you and it has saved me a lot of time!

Cherry on the top: all invoice items are presented so neatly and professionally, so that my clients can see exactly everything I've worked on for them and what I'm billing them for, as well as how much time is tracked for each project and task.

And Payoneer, in addition to PayPal/Stripe/Authorize.Net payment gateways is a big plus!

It's brilliant.

The moment I first tried it, I could immediately feel that Paymo is the tool designed for actual freelancers in mind, whether you work on a project basis, or a pay-as-you-go basis.

It's not complex, and all the features it has are just *right*. Exactly what I need.

And it's getting even better!

Cons

I wish the app was just a little bit faster, but I read somewhere that they already have this improvement on their roadmap.

Still, if you ask me, it's totally worth the wait for every new feature and improvement their team is cooking for us :)

Response from Paymo

Thank you, Jelena <3

Speed improvements are already something that we're addressing. Stay tuned for more goodies such as a task calendar view, improved mobile app with team collaboration features and guest access.

Cheers,
Marcel

Paloma ana D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Solid Skillpoints with room for improvement

Reviewed on 24/03/2021

Our to-go- solution for anything client-related, book-keeping-wise.

Our to-go- solution for anything client-related, book-keeping-wise.

Pros

Absolutely perfect for invoicing clients and keeping track of recurring costs with features as its clients POV.

Cons

Project management tools + how limited customisation on the dashboard is.

Response from Paymo

Happy to hear your thoughts :D

You're right about the dashboard, it's more geared towards billing & company rentability given our time tracking & invoicing focus.

Can you give me more details about what's missing on the project mngm end?

Thank you!

Cameron N.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 1.0 /10

Monopolize you cause you can't export ANYTHING easily

Reviewed on 08/01/2020

Would NOT recommend it to anyone who has even the slightest of "outside the box" process for...

Would NOT recommend it to anyone who has even the slightest of "outside the box" process for projects or billing/invoices.

Pros

Yet another system that after several months of use only did what we needed it too at 75% of the way, then AFTER buying into the "huge discount" and special they had going, did I find out they do not allow refunds at all!

If you put ANY data into the system and ever need to export it for any reasons ...find a data entry person and hope you didn't enter a lot of information because unless you are a developer that can setup custom API's...your info is stuck in their system!
You can enter clients, companies, etc. and change view to "Table" and see it in table mode, but that view still only gives you the general company information, NOT the contacts for that company and that is 1 of 2, yes that is right 2 places in the entire system of everything you may have entered where you can download/export that view into Excel/CSV file....everything else is PDF if you are lucky!!

If you are a VERY small, VERY basic bookkeeping/accounting freelancer (NO TEAM, just you and very basic billing) - fine, it may work...but if you have more than 1 person in your team other than you, have different rates or even the SLIGHTEST out of the norm billing or cycles...GOOD LUCK!!!

I am furious with this system after being told what it could do and I explained in detail, and "oh yeah, that is not a problem at all"...only to find out, everything I explained about what we needed, went in one ear and out the other just to make the sale...now I have a barely usable system and wasted $$$$!!

Cons

Can't export anything unless you have a developer standing bye.
System is very "inside the box" thinking even after being told it would easily do what I had explained that I needed it to do
support seems to take longer than usual and they are quick to respond with an answer that has NOTHING to do with what you originally asked (bots maybe?!?!)
Can't get a refund, no matter how many lies they told you to make the sale in the first place!!!

Response from Paymo

Hi Cameron,

Sorry to see you disappointed. Our goal is to help you improve the way you work, not to sell you on something.

Indeed, you can export client, project, user lists, as well as time reports in csv format - invoices and Gantt Charts are available in PDF only.

However, due to the fact that there's no standardised data structure for project management data, the only practical way to export it is via our API.

And no, we're no bots, and don't force anyones hand to make a sale.

Andrew C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Defense & Space
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Exceptional project management, time tracking and invoicing for freelancers

Reviewed on 22/03/2021

I use Paymo for freelancing as a single user and it's awesome for time tracking, task management...

I use Paymo for freelancing as a single user and it's awesome for time tracking, task management and invoicing purposes. It's priced well and has a great support team.

Pros

This is the only tool that I've found that focuses on time tracking AND invoicing properly. It includes great task management features and multiple ways to track time on them.

Cons

I guess I wish that Paymo's Kanban view was more like Trello, which I find easier to use and with more features for customisability.

Response from Paymo

Kudos Andrew!! ^^

Can you tell me more about the customizable Kanban features that you're missing?

Thank you!

Showing 5 reviews of 406 Read all reviews

Paymo FAQs

Below are some frequently asked questions for Paymo.

Paymo offers the following pricing plans:

  • Starting from: USD 9.56/month
  • Pricing model: Free, Subscription
  • Free Trial: Available

We do not have any information about Paymo features

Paymo has the following typical customers:

Self Employed, 2-10, 11-50, 51-200, 201-500

Paymo supports the following languages:

Chinese, Czech, Danish, Dutch, English, Finnish, French, German, Irish, Italian, Japanese, Norwegian, Polish, Portuguese, Russian, Spanish, Swedish, Traditional Chinese, Turkish

Paymo supports the following devices:

Android (Mobile), iPhone (Mobile), iPad (Mobile)

Paymo integrates with the following applications:

Adobe Illustrator, Google Calendar, Google Docs, Google Drive, Integromat, JotForm, LambdaTest, Pabbly Connect, PomoDone App, Quickbooks Online, Rethink, Slack, Typeform, Xero, Zapier

Paymo offers the following support options:

Email/Help Desk, FAQs/Forum, Knowledge Base, Chat

Related categories

See all software categories found for Paymo.