About Paymo

Paymo is a work and project management solution dedicated to Marketing, Design, Creative, and Advertising Agencies, Architecture firms, Universities, Law firms and Consulting businesses.
It allows you to create and assign tasks, schedule work, accurately keep track of work time at the office and on the go, collaborate and issue invoices to your clients based on time worked.

Pricing starting from:

USD 9.56/month

  • Free Version
  • Free Trial
  • Subscription

Key benefits of Paymo

- create, assign, and manage tasks
- track work time in browser, via desktop tools or mobile apps
- see who's overbooked or underbooked in Paymo's Team Scheduler
- track expenses, issue invoices to your clients and get paid online
- measure employee performance and track leave days
- comunicate with your team in real time with task comments
- proof designs faster thanks to the file proofing & versioning feature

Devices

Business size

S M L

Markets

Austria, Australia, Belgium, Brazil, Canada and 31 others, Switzerland, Chile, Cyprus, Czechia, Germany, Denmark, Spain, France, United Kingdom, Hungary, Ireland, Israel, Iceland, Italy, Japan, Liechtenstein, Malta, Mexico, Netherlands, Norway, New Zealand, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russia, Sweden, Singapore, Slovenia, Slovakia, United States, South Africa

Supported Languages

Chinese, Czech, Danish, Dutch, English and 14 others, Finnish, French, German, Irish, Italian, Japanese, Norwegian, Polish, Portuguese, Russian, Spanish, Swedish, Turkish, zh-hant

Pricing starting from:

USD 9.56/month

  • Free Version
  • Free Trial
  • Subscription

Images

Paymo Software - Kanban View
Paymo Software - Full Task Details
Paymo Software - Timesheets
Paymo Software - To Do List
Paymo Software - Advanced Task Management
Paymo Software - Real-time Comments and Discussions
Paymo Software - Desktop Apps
Paymo Software - Mobile Apps
Paymo Software - Team Scheduling
Paymo Software - Time Reports
Paymo Software - Invoicing
Paymo Software - Expenses
Paymo Software - Add Bulk Time
Paymo Software - Web Timer
View 15 more
Paymo video
Paymo video
Paymo video
Paymo video
Paymo Software - Kanban View Paymo Software - Full Task Details Paymo Software - Timesheets Paymo Software - To Do List Paymo Software - Advanced Task Management Paymo Software - Real-time Comments and Discussions Paymo Software - Desktop Apps Paymo Software - Mobile Apps Paymo Software - Team Scheduling Paymo Software - Time Reports Paymo Software - Invoicing Paymo Software - Expenses Paymo Software - Add Bulk Time Paymo Software - Web Timer

Features

Total features of Paymo: 82

  • @mentions
  • API
  • Access Controls/Permissions
  • Activity Dashboard
  • Activity Tracking
  • Agile Methodologies
  • Alerts/Notifications
  • Assignment Management
  • Bar Chart
  • Billable Items Tracking
  • Billing & Invoicing
  • Budget Management
  • Calendar Management
  • Client Portal
  • Collaboration Tools
  • Color Codes/Icons
  • Commenting/Notes
  • Communication Management
  • Contact Database
  • Core Accounting
  • Credit Card Processing
  • Customizable Templates
  • Document Management
  • Document Storage
  • Drag & Drop
  • Electronic Payments
  • Employee Activity Monitoring
  • Estimating
  • File Management
  • File Sharing
  • File Transfer
  • Gantt/Timeline View
  • Hourly Billing
  • Invoice Creation
  • Invoice History
  • Invoice Management
  • Kanban Board
  • Milestone Tracking
  • Mobile Access
  • Mobile App
  • Monitoring
  • Multi-Currency
  • Multiple Projects
  • Online Invoicing
  • Percent-Complete Tracking
  • Portfolio Management
  • Prioritization
  • Progress Tracking
  • Project Billing
  • Project Planning
  • Project Planning/Scheduling
  • Project Scheduling
  • Project Templates
  • Project Time Tracking
  • Project Tracking
  • Project Workflow
  • Real Time Data
  • Real Time Monitoring
  • Real Time Notifications
  • Real-time Updates
  • Reminders
  • Remote Support Software
  • Reporting & Statistics
  • Reporting/Analytics
  • Reporting/Project Tracking
  • Resource Management
  • Single Sign On
  • Status Tracking
  • Task Management
  • Task Planning
  • Task Progress Tracking
  • Task Scheduling
  • Third Party Integrations
  • Time & Expense Tracking
  • Time Tracking
  • Time Tracking by Client
  • Time Tracking by Project
  • Time Zone Tracking
  • Timer
  • Timesheet Management
  • Traditional Methodologies
  • Workflow Management

Alternatives

Accelo

4.5
#1 Alternative to Paymo
Accelo lets you manage all your client work in one powerful cloud-based solution - from prospect to payment and...

Mavenlink

4.2
#2 Alternative to Paymo
Mavenlink is a modern software platform for agencies and professionals services organizations that helps automate...

Avaza

4.6
#3 Alternative to Paymo
Avaza is a business management solution which includes features for project management, resource scheduling, online...

Scoro

4.6
#4 Alternative to Paymo
Scoro is an award-winning end-to-end work management solution which enables you to control your entire workflow in one...

Reviews

Overall rating

4.7 /5
(412)
Value for Money
4.6/5
Features
4.4/5
Ease of Use
4.6/5
Customer Support
4.7/5

Already have Paymo?

Software buyers need your help! Product reviews help the rest of us make great decisions.

Write a Review!
Showing 5 reviews of 412
Leticia M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Our main tool to run the business

Reviewed on 16/06/2020

We have been working with Paymo for more than 5 years now and over the years we've seen constant...

We have been working with Paymo for more than 5 years now and over the years we've seen constant improvement with new features. It's a rich feature tool for a low price and it suits our company as no other does, not only in what they offer but in an intuitive and easy-to-use tool. The timer, invoices using the timesheet, team scheduling, sending estimates, all those make the difference in our business and has help us to save and make money.

Pros

The timer is the best feature of Paymo. We search a lot but none of the other tools allows us to easy time our work and bill our clients as Paymo, with an always-visible timer. And the ability to bill our clients with the timesheet completes our process perfectly.

Cons

It's lacking a client portal, where they have all information about their project and invoices

Alternatives Considered

Harvest, Invoicera, Invoice Ninja and Toggl Track

Reasons for Switching to Paymo

The always-visible timer and invoicing with timesheet abilities.

Response from Paymo

Time tracking FTW, Leticia - thank you :)

I think there's a misunderstanding. The current client portal allows clients to view their invoices. Just be sure to add them as contacts too: https://help.paymoapp.com/en/articles/900000-how-do-i-add-a-contact-to-a-client

They can't see the project progress, something that is going to be fixed with the next release of the client portal. That will grant guest users in-app access.

This is our #1 priority right now, so stay tuned!

Kind regards,
Marcel

Jelena J.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

My time and sanity saver!

Reviewed on 01/07/2020

I've increased my productivity with Paymo's Kanban board view, combined with Table view, and saved...

I've increased my productivity with Paymo's Kanban board view, combined with Table view, and saved TONS of hours on admin, invoicing, timesheets, client and project management.

Just this time saving alone pays off the monthly subscription.

Sanity and nerves saving is the bonus! :)

Why? Because Paymo helped me maintain good client relationships, timesheet transparency and great records&data representation for a client. So when a client comes up with a random question about a specific task, Paymo's records make finding (and presenting) a specific information or record so much easier, transparent and more reliable.

Pros

Paymo has been a lifesaver in many business management areas: project management, client management, time tracking, accounting.

With built-in budgeting, time tracking, expense tracking, estimate calculations, professional invoicing and getting paid online (and on time!), different project 'views' (list, table, board for kanban, gantt), extensive filters, dashboard and insights, resource scheduling, live time reports, client portal - and all that in one app - it's a sanity saver!

One of the things I also personally quite appreciate is the professional and clean look of the invoices (and how easy it is for clients to pay them online). With a click of a button, you can add the unbilled time/fees for a specific time period and/or projects to an invoice. Paymo does all that heavy admin stuff for you and it has saved me a lot of time!

Cherry on the top: all invoice items are presented so neatly and professionally, so that my clients can see exactly everything I've worked on for them and what I'm billing them for, as well as how much time is tracked for each project and task.

And Payoneer, in addition to PayPal/Stripe/Authorize.Net payment gateways is a big plus!

It's brilliant.

The moment I first tried it, I could immediately feel that Paymo is the tool designed for actual freelancers in mind, whether you work on a project basis, or a pay-as-you-go basis.

It's not complex, and all the features it has are just *right*. Exactly what I need.

And it's getting even better!

Cons

I wish the app was just a little bit faster, but I read somewhere that they already have this improvement on their roadmap.

Still, if you ask me, it's totally worth the wait for every new feature and improvement their team is cooking for us :)

Response from Paymo

Thank you, Jelena <3

Speed improvements are already something that we're addressing. Stay tuned for more goodies such as a task calendar view, improved mobile app with team collaboration features and guest access.

Cheers,
Marcel

Cameron N.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 1.0 /10

Monopolize you cause you can't export ANYTHING easily

Reviewed on 08/01/2020

Would NOT recommend it to anyone who has even the slightest of "outside the box" process for...

Would NOT recommend it to anyone who has even the slightest of "outside the box" process for projects or billing/invoices.

Pros

Yet another system that after several months of use only did what we needed it too at 75% of the way, then AFTER buying into the "huge discount" and special they had going, did I find out they do not allow refunds at all!

If you put ANY data into the system and ever need to export it for any reasons ...find a data entry person and hope you didn't enter a lot of information because unless you are a developer that can setup custom API's...your info is stuck in their system!
You can enter clients, companies, etc. and change view to "Table" and see it in table mode, but that view still only gives you the general company information, NOT the contacts for that company and that is 1 of 2, yes that is right 2 places in the entire system of everything you may have entered where you can download/export that view into Excel/CSV file....everything else is PDF if you are lucky!!

If you are a VERY small, VERY basic bookkeeping/accounting freelancer (NO TEAM, just you and very basic billing) - fine, it may work...but if you have more than 1 person in your team other than you, have different rates or even the SLIGHTEST out of the norm billing or cycles...GOOD LUCK!!!

I am furious with this system after being told what it could do and I explained in detail, and "oh yeah, that is not a problem at all"...only to find out, everything I explained about what we needed, went in one ear and out the other just to make the sale...now I have a barely usable system and wasted $$$$!!

Cons

Can't export anything unless you have a developer standing bye.
System is very "inside the box" thinking even after being told it would easily do what I had explained that I needed it to do
support seems to take longer than usual and they are quick to respond with an answer that has NOTHING to do with what you originally asked (bots maybe?!?!)
Can't get a refund, no matter how many lies they told you to make the sale in the first place!!!

Response from Paymo

Hi Cameron,

Sorry to see you disappointed. Our goal is to help you improve the way you work, not to sell you on something.

Indeed, you can export client, project, user lists, as well as time reports in csv format - invoices and Gantt Charts are available in PDF only.

However, due to the fact that there's no standardised data structure for project management data, the only practical way to export it is via our API.

And no, we're no bots, and don't force anyones hand to make a sale.

Joanne H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Can't live without it now.

Reviewed on 10/08/2021

Really pleased with customer support!

Really pleased with customer support!

Pros

I've always done freelance work and tried to track my time on Excel. No more. I love being able to track my time to the minute on projects and tasks with Paymo, then have those timesheets translate automatically into invoices which I can then send directly to my clients. Also helps me see what I'm spending my time on. Although I've barely scratched the surface of its functionality, it's become a necessity (and a luxury) now that I've gone full-time freelance.

Cons

I'd like to be able to drag-and-drop tasks, projects, etc. (if only because I may have set them up incorrectly in the first place). That's not available yet.

Alternatives Considered

Microsoft Excel

Reasons for Switching to Paymo

The option to track my time with a click is amazing.

Response from Paymo

You GO, Joanne!

If you want to move already existing tasks from one project to another, you have this option: https://help.paymoapp.com/en/article/can-i-move-tasks-to-another-project-1gtfxl4/

We've also redesigned the task area so you can access the full task details by just clicking on a task :D

We hope you like it!

Krystle chanel K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

I finally found the one!

Reviewed on 26/06/2020

It is important to note that Paymo isn't idle in enhancing its software. Not only that, but new...

It is important to note that Paymo isn't idle in enhancing its software. Not only that, but new features are thoughtful and integrated seamlessly with the tool. I appreciate this because I have used other software that seem to have their priorities mixed up when releasing enhancements; adding things that don't move the needle ahead of things that do.

Pros

After years of using project management software for both myself and companies I've worked for, I found the right tool for the job for my personal, small business as a marketing coach and online entrepreneur.

Until I build a team, I'm using Paymo for myself, and other tools are not always price-sensitive for a solo user. I appreciate that Paymo provides an option to pay for one user until I'm ready to grow.

A particular feature I was looking for was the option to view all projects on a single Kanban board. In the rare case that I found this option, it was a significant upgrade to acquire. But Paymo offers this and it's super easy to use!

Other features I love:
- Time-tracking/timesheet: Visual representation of where my time goes. I use the in-app timer every day.
- Flexible viewing options: I can easily switch between list, table, board, and Gantt views, with easy to use filters that allow me to see exactly what I want. No custom reports or views need created - which can be time-consuming and inflexible (enterprise tools).
- Note: The user experience of the Gantt chart was also what I was looking for. It is drag and drop and allows you to adjust your timeline from within the view.

There's so much to love about Paymo! And that is saying a lot coming from someone who has researched and used as many tools as I have - including enterprise solution, Workfront.

Paymo is definitely worth giving a try!

Cons

I wish there was a way to invite collaborators/reviewers like there is in Asana. If I want a coaching client to be able to collaborate, there is no way to do this without paying for another user.
This is superficial, but, the name! When I tell people about Paymo, they immediately think it's a financial tool, not a project management tool, based on the name. I would hate for this to hold Paymo back in the market.

Reasons for Choosing Paymo

I switched from Asana, Teamwork, and Things. I was looking for a tool with a kanban board option that allowed me to view tasks across all of my projects and I needed a cost-effective tool for someone who is currently solo but building a business. Asana was cost-prohibitive in that I could not pay for a single user, but had to pay for 5 minimum. Also, the kanban board option I was looking for was an additional upgrade for Asana and Teamwork, making these options even more expensive. Additionally, user experience was a factor. Asana generally has a good UI but I just like Paymo better. Teamwork has some work to do in this regard.

Switched From

Asana

Response from Paymo

You sure did your researh, Krystle, thank you for the review :)

Actually, we're working on an improved client portal with in-app access to guest users, so they can collaborate with you on the same page. This is our #1 priority atm, so stay tuned!

As for our name, this goes back more than 10 years when we started out as a time tracking and billing tool. The purpose was to use the app and GET PAID MORE, hence Paymo :)

Hope this helps, thank you again!

Showing 5 reviews of 412 Read all reviews

Paymo FAQs

Below are some frequently asked questions for Paymo.

Paymo offers the following pricing plans:

Free - For 10 users Free for Universities, Colleges, and Schools Small Office - $9.56/user/month Business - $15.16/user/month

Paymo has the following typical customers:

Self Employed, 2-10, 11-50, 51-200, 201-500

Paymo supports the following languages:

Chinese, Czech, Danish, Dutch, English, Finnish, French, German, Irish, Italian, Japanese, Norwegian, Polish, Portuguese, Russian, Spanish, Swedish, Turkish, zh-hant

Paymo supports the following devices:

Android (Mobile), iPhone (Mobile), iPad (Mobile)

Paymo integrates with the following applications:

Adobe Illustrator, Google Calendar, Google Docs, Google Drive, Integromat, Jotform, LambdaTest, Pabbly Connect, PomoDone App, Quickbooks Online, Rethink, Slack, Typeform, Xero, Zapier

Paymo offers the following support options:

Email/Help Desk, FAQs/Forum, Knowledge Base, Chat

Related categories

See all software categories found for Paymo.