JIRA Software Reviews

JIRA Software

Project & Issue Tracking Software - See why we're #1!

4.3/5 (5476 reviews)
Aaron R.

Powerful, enterprise software that might be more than you need

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 25/09/2019
Review Source: Capterra

We use Jira as a kanban/agile project management tool in software development. The workflow is well understood by most developers and onboarding new team members into our system is a breeze. It is good at tracking projects and managing sprints.

Pros

As an SDLC management tool it excels. It's designed from the ground up for tracking user stories, tasks, epics, sprints, etc. in large organizations. It is excellent for cross functional team collaboration and really shines in a mature environment that doesn't change frequently or quickly. It is continuously improving and it is obvious that the JIRA team is very proactive and dedicated to staying ahead of the competition in features and services.

Cons

It is overkill for smaller teams or products that are very early in their life. When projects and teams are very dynamic, Jira projects become bloated, cumbersome, and fragmented. This product really is suited for larger, mature organizations that already have strong procedural discipline and rather monolithic approval/decision making. I know it's supporting agile methodology but really it's rigidness is more aligned with waterfall type management.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

6.0/10
Ajesh G.

Finest application for the Agile software lifecycle

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 15/08/2019
Review Source: Capterra

I use JIRA in all the Agile software development for classification and bug tracking for every user with Dashboards. I am satisfied with the JIRA features but I think JIRA needs to provide more integration towards CICD tools so that user can get more idea about the bug tracking.

Pros

Easy to create Agile dashboards to track bugs in different development life cycle. We can also extract informations regarding the user specific tickets created and worked for any period of time. Also we can attache documents to gives an entire idea about the the bugs and time tracker in comment section provides how much time it takes to fix the bugs. In the software industry JIRA is one of the widely used Bug tracking platform. The idea of classification of tickets like EPIC,Task are very useful to identify the work load needed for that ticket.

Cons

Need exact date and time of the ticket creation and comments when the ticket gets older, right now it describes like the ticket is "created more two weeks ago". JIRA also needs to integration with CICD tools for more information regarding the bug tracking and fixing. JIRA should provide a dashboard for each user how much time he worked on a ticket to track the overall work time and also it will be very easy for the Administrator also.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Youness M.

Jira is the Best Project Management Software

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 13/08/2019
Review Source: Capterra

THe best software for project management ever.
It's paid, but even for our size of projects, we still love to spend some money on it and enjoy the good project management.

Pros

Everything ! the software is very powerful, it has a lot of options and features:
- Scrum, Agility and flexibility of changing flows.
- Security setup for every type of users.
- A lot of features ( no way to compare it with any other software i know )
- Very simple to use
- Sprints support..
- High Availability.
- Awesome Designs ( old and new ).
And so many other things i love about JIRA

Cons

I wish the cost was a little more less for small sized companies.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Adam S.

Great for Backlogs and Organizing Software Releases - Bad For Agility

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 15/07/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Great software, but I couldn't believe there was no native chat support for assisting with issues. Really Atlassian? Are you that proud of the UI? You shouldn't be... you probably bought Trello because enough people were having a hard time figuring out all of Jira's quirks. Trello is so much easier and faster to get up and running for projects, so that was a good buy. Take notes.

Pros

The backlog and features for managing the backlog with different methodologies such as Kanban, Scrum, or Kanban + Scrum hybrid are very flexible. Planning sprints, releasing sprints, and looking at history of what was done is very organized.

Cons

Cumbersome to setup. Workflows for issues and UI/UX for creating them is not easy to understand. Sure you can figure it out, but it will require a lot of facepalms. It's good for larger organizations with several cross-functional teams, but if you are a smaller organization stick with Trello and checklists for the cards if sub-tasks are needed. The sub-tasks in Jira are just plain awful to work with, and will end up wasting a lot of time for your team.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Patrick B.

JIRA is a Great Tool - for the Right Teams

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 21/05/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

The best part about JIRA is how visual the UI is. It is incredibly easy to track down and track through different tasks and sprints without having the hassle of digging through a 90s-style ticket system. My other absolute favorite thing about JIRA is the simple ability to tag individual users basically anywhere. This saves an incredible amount of time due to the way in which notifications are handled in and outside of the system. Collaboration is beyond easy with JIRA.

Cons

Many of the most important features are being deprecated over time, and the customer service component of the software seems ineffective at best. Some of the best features have been removed and the highest priorities on their roadmap aren't those that would severely increase users' quality of life. I think this is part of a growing process that the company is going through, but it does cause some heartache on the regular to think that our business desires aren't being met - even through months of users requesting the simplest of features.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

6.0/10
Joshua M.

Jira: An Essential Task Management Application

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 11/04/2019
Review Source: Capterra

My experience with Jira has been fantastic. Overall, once a team gets used to the 'ticketing' structure, there are a lot of organizational efficiencies that can be gained. The standardization of ticketing can help teams navigate through areas of need and allocate resources from other projects if ahead of schedule. Jira works phenomenally as a tool to help manage projects both large and small. I have helped test and implement projects that have utilized Jira as the primary project management tool and believe that it is a state-of-the-art solution. Overall, I cannot recommend this service enough!

Pros

I use Jira for Project Management in my occupation. As a worker in a large enterprise, Jira does a phenomenal job of creating a fantastic user experience for both desktop and mobile. I think mobile project management is especially intuitive with this service. Where Jira stands apart from other standard project management tools is in its ability to track issues throughout an entire development lifecycle. Tickets are an essential component to keeping work organized and teams moving forward. The ability to collaborate via comments is unparalleled. Jira also offers extensive add-ons and pre-created templates for those just learning the service. When tracking projects, I never felt overly-encumbered by high learning curves or a clunky interface. Jira allowed me to work with many of the tools I am comfortable with and expand my potential.

Cons

From my experience, the largest pain-point / decision point between my team is on the issue of creating 'tickets'. While Jira is a very detail oriented application, this detail can sometimes become quite cumbersome. For example, the process of creating and resolving tickets can sometimes feel even longer than completing the task itself. Furthermore, it is difficult, if not impossible to close a ticket if you are not the creator. Therefore, project managers need to carry significant oversight as task statuses change. Therefore, tickets are very controversial but also an essential component to completing work successfully on this platform.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Verified Reviewer

The "Ticket or No Ticket" Debate

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 19/03/2019
Review Source: Capterra

It took time to get buy-in from the entire IT department to fully utilize JIRA. However, now that the whole department is all-in, JIRA has truly made our work effort much easier. We now have internal business partners who utilize JIRA to review work status, set priorities, and create new tickets when issues/upgrades present themselves. With an organization our size, I can't imagine not utilizing something like JIRA...not sure how we did it all in the past.

Pros

The best part about JIRA is the ability to keep track of all work being done via tickets. I love that JIRA works for all kinds of styles of work. We work within an Agile environment, with some teams using Scrum and other teams using Kanban. No matter how the team is structured, they utilize JIRA tickets. This is great because there is a single repository for all work being done and we can easily search for tickets across all the different teams. The use of Epics vs. Stories is very easy too. We can keep track of what tickets belong to which effort with ease and show the progress of work through the tickets. We can also easily maintain a backlog of tickets. If two separate people submit a similar ticket (or at least two tickets that reference the same work effort), we can combine those tickets easily so that we aren't feeling overwhelmed with more tickets than actual work.

Cons

The biggest debate among our team members is when it is necessary to create a ticket. JIRA has created a culture of needing to log every little thing, even if it takes just a moment to complete the work. Sometimes, it takes longer to create the ticket than to complete the task at hand. That tells me there is too much reliance on JIRA to report work completed. It causes some in management to show that their department is succeeding simply by the number of tickets completed. But the tickets don't tell the whole story, especially because there isn't a time component to those tickets being completed.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

6.0/10
Gabriel C.

Expensive but extremely effective for project management

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 11/01/2019
Review Source: Capterra

In a few words JIRA is a task tracking software that makes life easier when working on a project.

Once the initial setup is in place (easy to do for common scenarios ) all is left for an administrator is to manage the list of projects and user accounts.
Note that parts of the process (e.g.: customizing workflows) need to be done up-front, since this will become more complex once one or more projects are configured and in-use

As for usability, it is one of the best tracking systems I've ever used: as a developer/QA you can easily update the status of your work in a user-friendly way. As a manager, you can always get the overview you need by just opening a screen or a report (most of what you need is in place by default)

What's best about it is that as long as it is installed on-premises, it can be used as a central point of information for everyone involved with a project. The fact that it can be integrated with other common software industry tools adds further benefit from this.

In the end, I should probably add that I've been using all kinds of bug tracking systems for about 15 years (starting with ancient tools like redmine going through PivotalTracker or VersionOne or JIRA) and almost all of them were either missing features that I deemed important or "spartan" usage/layouts that constraint the usage.
JIRA just provides everything that's needed in completing a project out-of-the-box (whether it's Agile, Waterfall or Kanban or whatnot)

Pros

- Overviews & quick access to information
- Possibility to integrate with most commonly used systems (it integrates with pretty much all mainstream tools, nut just the ones from Atlassian) - you can integrate it even with continuous integration tools or test management tools (e.g. TestRails)
- Security control (everything is fine grained, tools to configure fine-grain access are already integrated
- Comes out of the box with the most common work scenarios (client onside/offsite, development only/development + product management, etc)
- Reporting (easy to extract the things that matter (whether this is worked hours or development velocity)
- Version management (easy to manage what features are grouped in a release, or what fixtures were done for which version)
- Workflows can be customized to match just about any real-life usage scenario
- Allows for both on-premises (self-hosted) installation and cloud usage.
- Configurable dashboards

Cons

- Pricing - it is prohibitively expensive for small companies, although they are making steps to minimize this with the new pricing models (e.g.: a few years ago they started allowing up to 5 accounts per project and unlimited projects, for a fixed yearly fee).

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Verified Reviewer

A very powerful task tracking system

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 21/12/2018
Review Source: Capterra

JIRA is easy to use and great for managing work tasks on a project, however customization options are often only available to admins.

Pros

Our company uses JIRA to manage work tasks. It has all the important features for assigning work to team members, tracking how long each task takes, notifications, capturing comments and hours worked. The tools allows for the flexibility to create your own JIRA ticket types or categories, with any kind of number of input fields. Data fields may be dropdown boxes, tags, values, or free text. Fields inherently have the ability to recognize hyperlinks and add those in once you type out a link, and it also recognizes JIRA links, such that if you enter a JIRA ID tag, it automatically creates a hyperlink to that JIRA entry. JIRA supports Agile development schemes and tickets could be easily tracked through a JIRA Dashboard. JIRA filters are also easy to use. You may use the basic query that provides you with simple dropdown fields for common elements, or you can create more advanced queries using JQL.

Cons

Being a JIRA user can be limiting as you only have the ability to enter data for the fields that are currently configured. You have to go through IT or the admins for any form of customization such as adding/removing/hiding fields, setting what kind of text format is in each field (e.g. plain text vs rich text) and modifying which fields are required vs optional. When you have rich text formatting, sometimes it can be frustrating getting the text to show up the way you want. The workaround for this would be to use the Text tab instead of the Visual tab so that you can modify the formatting tags.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Janosch F.

Flexible, powerful, simple to use and grows as you go

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 24/11/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Jira surprised me as coming across simple yet being incredibly powerful and versatile. It is a full blown Ticket and workflow management tool and it might be too much for small or personal projects. However, not being required to change the ticket system when the company or the team scales or are faced with types of tasks you did not expect is simply fantastic. Keeping software simple, easy to use yet increase its versatility and power is a virtue and Jira is build upon this virtue with care and vision

Pros

Jira is clean and it is simple yet powerful. You can use it for your basic ticket workflows from the get go and expand as you grow or the tasks you wisch to cover branch out. It is easy to customize the ticket views to contain the information you want to use and avoid cluttering. The Workflow editor is one of the most powerful I came across in all my professional career. It might not seem so much of an importance but believe me, when your business grows unexpected necessities will arise and you will suddenly be required to track tasks you never though about. Jira will have you covered and allow you to add different task types which traverse task-type specific phases and have corresponding stati. Also you have all the world of notification and responsibility tracking ping-pong covered as you go. Two further things are woth mentioning: First the Atlassian World (the Wiki Confluence and build system Bamboo and many other products) integrate flawlessly and it actually really makes using them fun. Jira is one of the tools, that make you smile when you are required to use it no matter the task to track, its jus smooth, convenient and above and beyond provides a rich ecosystem for free and commercial plugins even for rather exotic use cases.
Also, the license Model behind it scales fantastically. When we introduced it we were a small company with 8 people (we are now going strong towards the 200) and it was critical to keep cost for our tools reasonable. Jira got us covered.

Cons

When we scaled, the License was not as flexible in higher user tiers as it was in the lower ones. Also once upon a time an update went wrong and we had to invest a bucketload of time and brain power to get everything back up to speed. We did run jira on premise and hat some custom plugins so there might be some of the tripwires: In case you use plugins they must be available in the version you wish to upgrade to and this might require some research prior to updates. Also, you can make a science out of the workflow and notification configuration. In case it is not documented well when you do it it might get you into trouble.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Brian J.

Collaboration Platform

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 19/11/2018
Review Source: Capterra

We are able to use JIRA to create, collaborate, test and deploy promos and emails for my company. I am able to see conversations and other notes from people I don't normally interact with, which can be really helpful in understanding issues that arise or other notes that may have been left out of conversation elsewhere. It's a great tool for us.

Pros

I work for a large clothing retailer that often runs promotional coupons and sends out emails to customers. JIRA houses all of the collaboration for our company in creating and testing these promos and emails. What I like is that everyone, from the communications team to the Quality Assurance Team to the IT troubleshooting team can be in one place to resolve issues quickly.

I love that there is the ability to tag other users and quickly get attention to issues that need a fast turnaround (emails and promos are often made within 48 hours from creation to launch). I also really like attaching 'sub-tasks' to a main project; This keeps organization a priority without having to search for every related task associated with a project. Related to this is the ability to attach documents right to any project/task for easy download.

You can save searches and filters to your home page. For example, I have a filter for viewing only email projects, and another for promotional information. Once you get results, you can sort by title, date updated and a few other categories.

Cons

At first glance, the layout is a bit overwhelming. You have a giant list of projects, and the search doesn't always bring up what you are looking for. It takes a bit of time to learn how to navigate. I would probably like to see 'tags,' or additional ways to categorize a project so that you can search for it through a few more parameters. For my needs, this isn't too important because of the short lifespan of emails and promos. But I could see other applications needing something like that.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Verified Reviewer

JIRA usage for Agile projects

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 11/10/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Currently, my organization is moving from waterfall model to Agile model (hybrid), JIRA has helped a lot to standardize the reporting of granular project details to be reported as a consolidated approach as to how the sprints within a project are moving forward.

JIRA has given the transparent view of how the projects/sprints for a product is moving forward and managing the interdependencies within a project.

Pros

- Manage multiple projects under one project in JIRA and works well for a complete program
- Email notification when any changes made in JIRA makes collaboration efficient
- JIRA board (Scrum Board) in JIRA and defining specific project JQL to filter the issues in JIRA makes it more user friendly for scrum masters who are managing multiple scrum teams in a program
- Automated dashboard creation and ability to create different charts makes it very easy for showing management rpeorting on different scrum teams progress in a sprint
- Sprint and version reports (out of the box) which provides burn down charts and which issues are lying in one state for more than a specific period of time helps scrum team to move forward and resolves impending issues
- Ability to link issues for dependency and flexibility to define SDLC life cycle for an issue on a board makes it very handy on any type of project

Cons

- No single view is available to see clearly how dependencies are moving forward
- There are times when single issue has to be given to multiple people like in pair programming one way is to create sub task but that is not an approach that was liked by scrum teams
- There macros / gadgets that comes with the JIRA product are very minimum they should add more gadgest for reporting purpose.
- Yes, there are different third party gadgets but sometimes those are not JIRA / atlassian recognized and for enterprise application and corporates using JIRA does not go ahead to deploy those third part gadgets on the server model.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Rahul Y.

Business analyst - Awesome tool - Software administration

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 04/10/2018
Review Source: Capterra

It's been a great experience using this tool for me

Pros

As a business analyst, I have been using Jira for last 3 years and I think it's the best software management tool around.

I have found it really helpful when it comes to providing upgrades to the projector to administer a project in development stages. It's all in one package.

It has the board where you can re-protize your user stories in backlog by shuffling through pick and drop feature for the development team through tasks as well as can prioritize issues reported by the customer. You can write the user stories and just need to manage on the board. You just need to monitor the board to track the progress of the critical item and estimate overall progress.

Workflow templates are available that can be selected to select the process a team wishes to follow or a path to take to address the release or apply patches on customer system. You can add the workflow by create one in the system and add the additional steps like unit testing, system testing etc as per the team.

Another helpful feature that I love about this tool is that I allows integration with multiple other tools that makes it even better. Overall I think it's a remarkable tool that is making the software handling experience easy and simple.

Cons

The only thing that I hate about this tool from atlastian is that it have a lot of the patches applied and part of constant changes. We need to scratch for sometime when configuration have to be modified or any existing thing changed.

It takes for a while to get your hand adjusted on the system but when are down it's always good experience using it

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Verified Reviewer

Powerful tool once you know how to configure it

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 29/07/2018
Review Source: Capterra

This software helps us to follow the process the team agreed to, and see the progress on issue and sprint level. We manage several projects there.
JIRA by itself is a perfect solution for IT teams when it comes to managing projects. Not only you can create issues there, but also you can build workflow this issue goes through. It is perfect to see the bottlenecks of your process. Scrum and Kanban are supported. In case you need some enhancements, there is an add-on market available, where you can find a big amount of third part addons available, either paid or free. Paid once have a trial period during which you can see if this is really what you need for your business.
Along with JIRA we use other Atlassian products, such as Service Desk and Confluence. Easy integration with these, makes our daily job much easier.
I advice my customers to use JIRA for their business. There are several types available: Cloud and Server. Each one have their own payments depending on the size of the users. However, in some cases price might become an obstackle.
In my opinion, this application can become really helpful if it gets into right hands.

Pros

This software can be used by any type of company. I have configured JIRA to be used by publishing company, by law firm, and of course, IT companies. And it was possible to make everyone happy with what JIRA provides. Even though sometimes it was hard to teach people how to use it, after a month or two they could not remember how they lived without it.

Cons

Recently JIRA started to update its design. My users complain about new design, I get crazy when I can't find things. And JIRA doesn't want to stop at that and is updating its design further and further. I would really prefer that they look through bugs that were raised on comunity portal and do something regarding new features instead of doing design updates.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Kristin L.

Thoughts on JIRA from a non-programmer: Still easy to use

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 26/07/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Tracking, organization

Pros

I am a technical writer who used JIRA as my first introduction into working in a close-knit, agile programming environment. I really appreciated the clean design, multiple ways to accomplish tasks, and logical visual representations of concepts. Is something assigned to you? It has your face on it. We had several development teams working in tandem and JIRA allowed for each team to structure their sprints according to their own preferences (some had more traditional set up and others used kanban). As time went on we were able to add more projects to JIRA, after transitioning off of ClearQuest for our baseline fixes, and while there is certainly a learning curve getting established programmers who have used one system of tracking for 10+ years converted to using JIRA, most everyone was able to transition and feel comfortable within a few weeks. Speaking as a non-programmer, I found JIRA to be incredibly useful and easy. Tracking writing and editing projects through development didn't require any specific setup or features and it was all around a great tool.

Cons

While it was great that every project could be tracked from our one JIRA site for my relatively small (30ish people) development team, any time fields needed to be added for one specific team to track something for stories or bugs, it was there for everyone. This led to having rather cluttered add screens that meant for a good deal of scrolling. I know some of this was surely user error, but having a bit more control would be nice. Also, the search function occasionally would just... not work. At all. As adorable as the sad faced little magnifying glass was when this happened, it would be very frustrating to lose functionality without warning. Being browser-based always makes for risk and some days would just be constant checking of if JIRA was up again so untracked progress didn't fall through the cracks.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Josemaria G.

PM. Agile. Cloud. It works for me!

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 20/07/2018
Review Source: Capterra

A powerful, mature, and highly customizable Project Management software that works in any scenario. Best suited to match the dynamic nature of Agile projects.

Pros

As a Project Manager, we have a lot of things to do and think about. Good thing I stumbled upon JIRA. It is a very powerful and collaborative PM tool which supported my PM role in an Agile context. (I was on a standard/waterfall project methodology for years... Agile is rather new to me)

It is highly configurable, meant to suit any niche, industry, or user scenario by combining the powers of Kanban and Scrum. You can set up just about any of your workflows, project states, fields, action/issue items, etc, via the default settings (that surprisingly some have worked out of the box), or by easy customization on demand.

Data analysis is easy as well. JIRA collects from all data points you set up into a single data hub that is extractable, searchable, and comprehensive (with all your historical data).

The core program and its APIs are pretty mature and with proper documentation. Our devs didn't really have a hard time since they were provided with a rich toolkit to begin with.

JIRA also comes with its mobile app so that you can manage your projects on-the-go. It is cloud-based via subscription which relieves the admins from the difficult part of infra and server setup. I have not experienced any downtime as of my 1 year use of this service.

Cons

It is cloud-based so you have to make sure you have enough bandwidth provisions to support this (rather challenging for bigger teams working on the same location at the same time). The usual loading times may take longer with poor connectivity.

A rather steep price for small businesses to use. Self-hosting JIRA will also make things more expensive (and risky) as the number of users grow.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Verified Reviewer

I have used Jira both as part of a team of developers and also as a Project Manager managing a team.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 14/06/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Jira helped us to more easily manage multiple teams of software developers and gather feedback from end users for several large applications that we were developing which were at various stages of completion and usability. We were able to use our available resources in a much more optimal and seamless manner, which helped us to complete projects and resolve issues more quickly, easily track the status of specific tasks across multiple projects/teams and monitor productivity at various levels. Ultimately, this allowed us to both reduce development costs and complete our projects more quickly which in-turn increased our business revenue.

Pros

Jira is a very powerful tool for managing teams of software developers working on one, or even multiple projects simultaneously. It is very robust and feature-rich, with features such as setting up/managing individual tasks, coordinating development efforts across tasks/developers to maximize team productivity, managing/tracking issues & bugs, gathering feedback from non-technical users via Jira user stories and managing project backlogs. There in also embedded support for Scrum & Kanban boards, although I haven't personally worked with those features. The custom workflows allow users to setup and manage their projects & teams according to the needs of their business and their preferred software development framework and management style. Jira is a very comprehensive, all-in-one tool for managing smaller teams of only a few people, all the way up to very large teams of 100+ stakeholders.

Cons

Given the robust features and functions that Jira supports, there's a lot of depth and breadth to the software, so it can be somewhat complex and confusing to newer users, especially those who haven't worked much with project management tools previously. For project managers who are leading multiple teams simultaneously, things can get a bit overwhelming because the email notifications and project alerts can quickly start to become excessive, and there's no way to consolidate notifications across projects/teams.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

7.0/10
Vijayakanth M.

Its really a good tool for managing the internal approvals with ease. It is user friendly tool.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 08/06/2018
Review Source: Capterra

We are able to manage our internal approvals effectively. It is really helping to track the status and for expediting the approvals. It works even we are not connected to office network. You can simply connect if there is internet connection available. It helps us to complete cross border approvals easily and reduced manual work and hard copy print outs. It also reduces time for internal approvals and helps to manage even huge volume of internal approvals by the stakeholders. The resources need not run from one desk to the other desk.

Pros

This tool works on a hosted model and can be accessed from anywhere in the world by using internet connection. The web version and even the mobile version (which i guess has been recently launched) is good and can be accessed through click of a button while it is assigned to you. It is has various options like assigning to different users, obtaining their comments, attaching supporting documents, printing the ticket, reports and dashboards which can be customised by the users, option to download, link the ticket with other tickets, etc., The tool has the option to create various workflows as per the requirements of the users. It has the option to alert the users with email alerts and also reminder mails. There is option to close the ticket, clone the ticket, revoke the ticket. The users can customize the reports and dashboards as per their requirement and download the ticket in various formats from the JIRA tool.

Cons

The reports and dashboards does not provide for reports in a graphical way. The tickets can not be simultaneously assigned two or more users. The tickets can only be closed by the creator which is a set back if the creator does not close the ticket once its gets over. The note which is created allows only text inputs. It does not allow for creation of table or column. Turn around time for closure (at each specific user level) of the ticket can not be generated from the reports automatically. This is a big drawback. Also, it takes so much time for loading the contents and if the internet is slow then it does not get loaded at all.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

7.0/10
Luis daniel R.

Great tool to improve your workflow and project organization

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 22/05/2019
Review Source: Capterra

JIRA has honestly made my project management life easier. I can keep track of everything and since everything is so well organized, I can either look into the future weeks and see or organize how my work load will be and in case I don't recall how an issue was solved or who fixed such issue, I can easily travel back and look at the old tickets and archived content.

Pros

I like JIRA thanks to the versatility it offers. The type of boards and features whether it's for AGILE or SCRUM project development or for it's tickets organization and how easily I can assign tasks to myself or other coworkers. Also I like their support desk system since with the portal I created, My customers can report issues through the system, I'll get a notification and get on it as soon as I can, or it'll be created as a ticket/issue and I'll get to it when I'm available. Also I can assign this task to someone else for them to take care of, or if it is related to another department.

Cons

I would say they have improved with the time, but one of the minor things I disliked about JIRA is how slow it felt sometimes. Like if you have a project or board with a lot of issue/tickets, it's takes a lot of times to load, or performing actions on it can feel sluggish, not work or just bug itself. Another thing, that they have greatly improved with the recent re-designs, it's how hidden some features were under a menu (...) menu, when before there was a dedicated button for such important features (moving issues, closing etc). Now, they've changed it but I don't know why they made the change to begin with.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Max P.

A Good Jack of all Trades Project Management Software

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 07/05/2019
Review Source: Capterra

JIRA was originally and still mainly used as our software development tracking system. We integrated it with Slack, BitBucket, Confluence, and TestRail (The last three are all run and owned by Atlassian). We use JIRA as the default master record for events, issues, tasks, etc. It makes planning work for a team easy to do and allows individual contributors to see what needs to get done as well as managers to see what is being worked on.

Pros

JIRA was originally and still mainly used as our software development tracking system. However, it can be tweaked and used by a wide range of teams in the company, not just software development. Finance, Marketing, HR, etc. can all use JIRA for tracking internal projects, tasks and goals.

Cons

If you don't use the out of the box workflows and fields, there is a learning curve to know how to create fields, templates and workflows that work best for you.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

7.0/10
Stever jose G.

Control of hours management for services and projects

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 25/07/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Have a better control of the hours of each project to measure profitability
Have a clear picture of the hours executed by the collaborators, facilitating decision making when mapping a person in other activities.
Facilitate the online client that can see the progress of their requests
The power of the reports is very good
It has an integration with Power BI that we have not exploited yet but it will be the next steps.

Pros

Have an organization in the projects and services provided by the company to measure the profitability of them.
The reports modules to measure the speed of the work teams.
Have a detailed control by activity for the consumption of project hours
For cases of customer service, the power to share the information online and live consumption of hours and progress of the tickets generated to solve events.
The customization of fields to adapt them to the functionalities and requirements of the company.
The ease of creating reports based on the declared queries.
Make a general dashboard for the whole team and that the management line can edit, customize and share specific dashboards with different metrics.
The integration that you have with Project Server and Project Server Online of 365 facilitates the administration of projects and the record of hours per activity is reflected in both platforms by the time sheet

Cons

The addon to integrate project Server Online asks to deactivate the module of hours and in my current case is basically the corde of use. so we were willing to sacrifice integration hoping to have a response from the manufacturer that we can do to integrate Project Server Online.

If there are several admins and use different languages when one of them creates the types, subtypes or queries, the other user gets complicated when palicarlo because they are created in another language. example task - tarea

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Zach S.

The best at what it does

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 09/01/2019
Review Source: Capterra

JIRA has helped us to organize our projects and keep them organized. Combined with the other atlassian products, we've streamlined how we document our work and stay organized. It's allowed us to do a variety of projects with different project management methodologies and workflows all within one software platform. It's also allowed a great deal of transparency into the development process for management which has greatly reduced the workload on project managers by automating some of the report generation necessary to show progress.

JIRA isn't perfect, but it's by far the best project management software I've worked with.

Pros

JIRA is ticketing and workflow management software. The things I like most about JIRA are how customizable workflows are, the availability of additional third party plugins, and how well it integrates with other atlassian products. The integration with other atlassian products improves our workflow significantly in IT and development, it allows us to link git commits through FishEye and documentation pages through Confluence to every JIRA issue.

JIRA's customized workflows also help us stay accountable to eachother. Because the workflows have specific permissions and assignees built into steps in what we do they help insure that the right person does the right thing at the right time. I don't think we could work without JIRA or something similar.

Cons

The software has gotten progressively slower over the last few revisions. That's my only complaint. The first load of JIRA in the mornings especially seems slow (About 20 seconds in the browser).

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Mariana F.

Not so easy to use but it has all that my team needs to keep track of work in an agile team

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 10/07/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Keeping track of a Sprint, a project, a quarter or a year of work is easy. Working on an Agile team, JIRA makes my life better. It has all an Agile team needs to work together on the same or different features.

Pros

That they are constantly improving and releasing new features that make my life easier as a QA working on an Agile team. My team relies on this software of keep track of what we are doing. It has lots of nice features that we use such as to link issues to one another, link tickets, put labels of versions to be released, link to pull requests on Git Hub and scale priority and story points.
My team also uses a lot the Stories, creating Tasks under them. It's also nice that I receive emails whenever I am watching a ticket in specific to keep track of it.
My entire company uses JIRA across different boards and when you want to contact a team in specific it's easy to just open a ticket or link it to another.
As a QA I also use the filters a lot to find issues that are assigned to me or have been reported by me.
My team also creates boards separating them by Sprints. Which is a very easy feature to use, it considers the back log and it's pretty simple to have a Planning or Retrospective section looking at it. We're happy with the features that JIRA offers.

Cons

The person that organizes the board and tickets need to know a lot about the software to be able not to let it look messy. It's easy to create unnecessary tickets and put them on different places and end up losing track of it. Also, it's not easy to configure the boards to fill in correctly the burn down or any kind of chart.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Kent B.

A developers perspective of Jira

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 12/12/2018
Review Source: Capterra

I have enjoyed using Jira at work. It helps keep our team on the same page and gives insight into what everyone else is doing. My opinion is that they have hit the mark in a big way and they just have some cleanup/maintenance issues to take care of.

Pros

1) Jira is performing well in the industry which results in lots of people integrating with them. The most impactful for us was the integration done with Zenddesk our ticketing system. Our support engineers are able tie Zenddesk tickets to our Jira issues and when issues are updated, so is the Zenddesk ticket. Very Cool!

2) Notifications were very well done in Jira. There is an in-app notification system (A bell in the bottom corner) but they can also be sent via email. They also are very smart about sending you only updates that involve you so that you are not notified too much.

3) Smart task ordering and prioritizing that work well in a development environment.

Cons

Most of the cons that I noticed are rather nit-picky however I believe there is room for lots of improvement.
1) Give for example the sprint page. There is a little star in the upper right corner. If I hover over the star I get a description that says 'Star'. That is not a great description of what that button will do for me. Users are dumb and won't figure things like that out on their own.

2) I think the UI is a tiny bit clunky. I see lots of wasted space here and there. Often times there are things that do not seem that important that seem to take up a lot of space. Also I'm not a big fan of huge collapsable side menus.

3) The many features that are offered in Jira make for a steep learning curve.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Verified Reviewer

Best and Must have tool for Agile methodology

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 14/06/2019
Review Source: Capterra

If you're into agile development then think no further, JIRA is the tool for you. It's ease of use and implementation makes it the best tool for tracking everything related to your project, It's a must have tool for agile methodology.

Pros

It has every Scheme to work with, may it be different Issue types, Workflows, Field configuration, Permission, Notification, Screens, Custom fields etc. It can be easily configured.

JIRA and Agile methodology goes hand in hand. I believe Agile methodology brings out the best from JIRA and completely utilizes it to it's best potential, From flexible and rapid Issue creation and updation to have easily traceable developing environment, It does all with ease.

Managers and Scrum Masters can not have a single meeting without JIRA Kanban Board. Every issue, every story is traced with in-depth details. from it's creation, execution till it's completion, Even after completion the history of every issue is maintained and can be over viewed with ease.

Cons

From feature perspective there are no such feature to dislike about JIRA. They're simple and easy to accomplish, Operations like Creating or Editing Issue(s) are easy and can be done by anyone.

There lies the problem of such operations performed by any one. Rather they should have some access level of control with which they can initialize on individual issue to individual member involved with that issue.

Even if someone does edit an issue on accident, they should atleast be prompt about the changes they're about to make, or save. and only after successful confirmation from the user, JIRA should allow those changes to be saved.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10