Sage 50cloud

3.8 (250)
Cloud-connected accounting solution for small business

Overall rating

3.8 /5
(250)
Value for Money
3.4/5
Features
3.6/5
Ease of Use
3.7/5
Customer Support
3.3/5

67%
recommended this app

250 Software options

Mj D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Consumer Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Decent accounting software for small business

Reviewed on 27/10/2018

It is good software

Pros

It is easy to teach a new user how to begin entering transactions. You can set up an assistant to begin entering basic transactions almost immediately. When searching a list (purchases, payments, etc.) of transactions, it is not necessary to have entire name or number. The software will locate the search criteria even if it is just a couple of characters in the middle of a string of text.

Cons

Chart of accounts does not have a true hierarchy so you cannot get totals to roll up for sub accounts. It is often tricky to customize a report accurately. Some reports will omit data because it comes from a specific "journal" and there is no way to make the report include all relevant "journals".

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

Worst experience ever

Reviewed on 09/07/2020

I had one call and because the tech rep could not stay on the phone while I did as he asked, he did up a ticket...which he immediately closed. When I called back in they could not / would not reopen that ticket. I got pushed to sales and they would not give me back my one support call. That rep said I could speak with a supervisor, then pushed me back to tech. When I called in, someone took my name for the supervisor to call me back, and that never happened. This is the worst customer service I have seen in years. Meanwhile my newly purchased upgrade, is not doing what it is supposed to. Thanks for nothing Sage!

Pros

Fine once you get used to it; it is not as user friendly as Quickbooks

Cons

Functionality between computers has been a problem and tech did not help; read below

Shelagh F.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Philanthropy
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Have used it since 1996 and its the best accounting software ever!

Reviewed on 20/07/2018

Its just easy to use. The screens are great. The 'note' under journal entries ( "this will decrease/increase the balance") means I don't have to be a CPA to get it right. I could not get reports "before depreciation" and "after depreciation" but I hardly ever need this. I can't rate their support because I have only needed help twice in 22 years. Once was a question about vendor balances and once was advice about backing up before I switched computers. Mind you, that was when it was Peachtree Accounting. I have looked at Sage's expanded products recently and their current support seems to be a bit fragmented.

Pros

It is super easy and intuitive to use. Even in 1996 they had this incredible feature where you could select an entry on a report, change it, and the report immediately regenerates with the change. The reports are just what I have needed.

Cons

There is one piece of functionality that QuickBooks has that Sage 50 does not. That is "sub-accounts" or "classes". In other words if you want to allocate part of your GL to a department or area in your organization, the only way to do it is using "jobs". Jobs are basically a reporting function based on a job id. I have rarely needed this anyway and refuse to switch because everything else is so great.

Shevaunn N.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Extremely easy to use, unlike other accounting software I have used in the past.

Reviewed on 16/05/2017

I save time on training and exporting alone. I could hook this up to my bank and make my life that much easier, but that would just spoil me :p

Pros

I like Sage because it is very easy to use. I did not have to train on the software at all, I self taught myself. Also, being able to export to excel is a BONUS

Cons

If you want help from sage, you have to pay a ridiculous fee. HINT: almost everything is now free through google!

Richard F.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

The old faithful. Needs to modernise a bit.

Reviewed on 07/01/2021

Overall, a good piece of software and it still does exactly what you need it to do.

Pros

Sage has been the bread and butter of accountants across the UK for many years. Once you have learned how to use it, it is easy to use.

Customer, Supplier, Nominal and Bank ledger are in a convenient layout for you to drill down into.

Reports are good, and surprisingly intuitive for their age.

The bank reconciliation function is old-school, but works perfectly.

The financials function means that you can easily go in and edit a transaction.

Cons

If you don't know how to use it, mistakes can easily made, which takes time and money to fix.

Sage will also feel a bit "old-hat" for some, and they will feel that it lacks the impetus of cloud packages such as Xero.

Angela H.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

i have been using Sage for many years. I am comfortable using it for my businesses.

Reviewed on 03/10/2017

Pros

User friendly and easy to use. I like the most recent update, it is aesthetically appealing. I also find the payroll function very easy to use.

Cons

Seems to crash often. Also, we signed up for the Sage Drive and had 1 problem after the next. Since there are too many bugs at this time, we stopped using Drive. Too risky, considering we lost over a month worth of data.

Andrea C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

You get what you pay for

Reviewed on 10/10/2017

Other accounting software and Sage 100 and up are two plus times more expensive

Pros

It is capable to customize reports and handle a large inventory. Integrates with Sage processing to ease the process of marking invoices paid.

Cons

Sage 50 does not easily integrate with WooCommerce. Therefore, internet orders for website still need manually entered for inventory and accounting purposes.

Diamond H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

2017 sage 50 accountants edition

Reviewed on 06/02/2018

Go for it.

Pros

Unlike QB, Fiscal year end rolls over. Under A/R A/P and GJ modules, you can set up recurring entries.

Cons

Journal Entries follow comments made on the main window rather than each individual have its own comment on the RHS. You could only see these comments if you further drill down on that particular entry. You need to have bookkeeping skills.

Jason T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Good, powerful program, but can lag due to being cloud based

Reviewed on 09/01/2019

Can work well for a smaller company, but as the company grows the program can lag behind and slow down

Pros

We use this daily at our company and it works well, it is powerful and can be customized to fit your needs

Cons

Due to being cloud based, the system can lag, especially with how we have it set up with many part numbers. The program also crashes often

Lily V.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

User friendly Program

Reviewed on 09/01/2019

Pros

The program is easy to use and easy to catch on. It's very easy to learn and teach others how to navigate the program.

Cons

The program only works for a single entity at a time. If you want to work on multiple entities at once or have multiple windows open, you have to open a new window and log in each time.

Jennifer S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Only Software I Recommend

Reviewed on 01/08/2019

I have all of my client on Sage 50, because of the functionality and proper accounting methodology.

Pros

Sage 50 is designed for accountants. It does do operation behind the scenes like Quickbooks, like reconciling bank accounts without finding the differences.

Cons

I can be expensive, but not out of line with other software.

Janet K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Homebuilder Software

Reviewed on 09/01/2019

This is very good software for basic home builders.

Pros

This is a very easy product to implement and use. The job cost is basic, but very adequate for homebuilders who sub out most of their work.

Cons

Limited sophistication. When calling support not all techs are knowledgeable and it is hard to get through.

Janet T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Sage 50 for construction jobs

Reviewed on 12/04/2017

I have used Sage 50 for the past 4 years for accounting purposes in a construction company. It has good features if you have to keep track of jobs. You can enter in change orders, keep track of job costs, proposals and estimates.

Pros

Easy to use once you familiarize yourself with the program.

Cons

Some reports cannot be a combination of years.

Laura P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

i enjoy using peachtree because it is user friendly. i didn't have to read a manual from...

Reviewed on 08/02/2018

no

Pros

the reportng is excellent. i can filter and customize reports easily. and if there is more needed i can always use the crystal report feature

Cons

sometimes it is too easy to manipulate. i feel as if it could allow for fraud if the wrong user had access to certain areas

Sundeep M.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Designed for small business owners

Reviewed on 16/10/2017

- Small buiness full cycle accounting experience.

Pros

Ease of use, fully cycle accounting, professional-looking invoices, prints cheques and manages direct deposits.

Cons

The need to continually having to upgrade this software every few years can make it expensive. over the long run.

Mirza muhammad I.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

It Gets the Job Done with Ease

Reviewed on 21/07/2018

Overall performance is good. Comparing to the cost benefits are greater by cost & benefit analysis, Suitable for Small & Medium Sized Enterprises.

Pros

The Software is Self-Explanatory. No Special Training Required. Better Journal Entry Adjustments. Good Customer Support.

Cons

Difficult to find problem relating to prior year. Lack of Efficiency while entering Journal Entry. Payroll Information is available only for Current & Last Financial Year.

Tashfeen bin A.
Overall rating
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

best ever accounting software for medium enterprises

Reviewed on 27/11/2018

Highly Recommended for small & Medium business

Pros

It is user friendly & easy to use for single user and multiple users as well as for branch networks.

Cons

Not compatible for large organizations where multinational organisation operating in multiple countries.

Zach S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Sage 50

Reviewed on 14/07/2017

Pros

Easy to catch on to. Sales and quotes are very easy to do. Payroll is also fairly straight forward.

Cons

Can not print screens and reports which would make sense to print. Can only increase the price of all inventory items or each individually not groups of them.

Yveete M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

It's okay for the Price

Reviewed on 20/04/2017

Pros

This system is reasonably priced. We get 3 user logins and pay an annual fee. We can run a report to see the profitability of a job with is useful.

Cons

There's a limited number of characters for the job code which makes it hard to work with jobs with long names.

Syed S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

User friendly and complete solution.

Reviewed on 22/01/2019

Sage (peachtree) has very informative and user friendly interface, I personally like it for its interface, but got into trouble sometimes when uploading some data from external sources like excel sheet etc, Sage team needs to work on it too.

Pros

Its feature of referencing, like user can go into deep root of any transaction from trial balance and they dont need to go and open ledgers and individual transactions separately. User friendly customizable reports features are awesome.

Cons

Getting data into sage from excel or bank statement is very cumbersome. As user have to format files in prescribed format of sage.

Allan B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Sage 50 review

Reviewed on 09/02/2017

Generally an excellent product for the non-accountant.

Pros

The package either has as standard modules or add-on modules all of the functions you would need to run a small business

Cons

Requires M$ Office for exporting to excel spreadsheets.

Chad H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

A must have for growing businesses

Reviewed on 24/04/2020

Pros

Sage50 is a widely used product for a good reason. Sage is very user friendly and combines many of the necessary items for businesses. This includes payroll, inventory tracking, invoicing, etc. One of the best this about Sage is that it can grow with your business and personalized to a certain point.

Cons

There are some shortfalls for new users and users with little accounting/bookkeeping knowledge as there can be a learning curve if you are not familiar with accounting software.

Mantas V.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Sage cloud user

Reviewed on 17/02/2021

Very well maintained, updated regulary

Pros

Very easy to use, prefer cloud version over desktop

Cons

Can be quite expensive if you are larger entity

Brian F.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Good option for non-profits

Reviewed on 26/03/2019

Pros

Installed for a large non-profit and meets their needs for accounting. They do not use any addons such as payroll, but meets all other needs. Up there with Quickbooks as one of the best accounting tools.

Cons

On a local install there are issues with licensing, say if a user account gets locked up and you close the program, the server still thinks the user is signed in and it will give an error for that user at the next login. No known workaround aside from user reboot.

Adam B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

A great option

Reviewed on 20/06/2021

typically works well without issue, but the occasional issue can often require slow or tedious solutions. Support is usually very effective and helpful.

Pros

very feature rich, especially when compared to quick books

Cons

Admin/maintenance side is difficult and not intuitive

Alternatives Considered

QuickBooks Online Advanced