Craig N.
Industry: Legal Services
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Chrome River Expense - Expense reports made easy

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 21/03/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Chrome River has been a great company to work with. They are always open to hear about features that would make our lives easier and try to accommodate when possible. We have since started using their Invoice capture service to help automate AP even more and the results have been fantastic.

Pros

This software lets our users attach receipts hands free by either emailing receipts or using the Chrome River SNAP app. This allows delegates to go in and create expense reports for our users who would rather have their assistant perform this practice. The software is also usable on any computer, smart phone or tablet allowing users to work from anywhere they have an internet connection. Chrome River is also integrated with our Corporate credit card (US Bank) so transactions come through showing our users exactly which items need to be submitted. The product also integrates with Uber, Lyft, and Spot Hero so those receipts are automatically sent to Chrome River.

Cons

We have not had any major issues with the software. The OCR function for reading receipts does not always work as well as you would like but this only makes users select a different expense type than is suggested.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Jill S.
Industry: Packaging & Containers
Company size: 10,001+ Employees

Expense System on the Go

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 30/08/2019
Review Source: Capterra

The system has streamlines our expense process allowing us to eliminate paper reports and move the whole company to a single expense system

Pros

The flexibility of mobile use and user interface

Cons

The limitation of customization of Mexico VAT

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Amber M.
Industry: Law Practice
Company size: 501-1,000 Employees

Mercury is wonderful!

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 22/08/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

The new receipt functions within Mercury are a life saver for the auditing process. We love the way it crops and attaches the receipts to individual line items, it makes auditing a breeze rather than going through countless pages of receipts. Its a huge time saver and that is important as we have such a high volume.

Cons

Help Desk Turn Around time could be better.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Ranjan T.
Industry: Logistics & Supply Chain
Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees

I Recommend Chrome River

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 11/11/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Chrome River provides wide variety of feature which make the day to day lie easier. We have done lots of automation after moving to Chrome River platform and it saves time for users, approves and auditors.

It has also brought controls within the process.

Cons

I like all the features it has and definitely there is scope of new features.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Higher Education
Company size: 501-1,000 Employees

Great way to bring our University into the 21st century and strive for paperless expense management.

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 10/05/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Auotmation

Pros

The routing rules, compliance rules and the ease of being able to track items quickly. Enabling the user to have more flexibility in timing and to not spend the majority on their time on "paper-work" shuffling. Creating an "all-in-one" place for reporting and multiple functions that can reduce headaches from both the fund manager, auditor, payables' team and the users.

Cons

The platform becoming not a fully functional system and the fix for the problem taking months to correct when all of the programming and configuration was completely in tact prior to any "upgrade" globally.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Melissa K.
Industry: Insurance
Company size: 10,001+ Employees

Customizable User Friendly Expense Platform

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 23/08/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Chrome River has worked closely with us to understand our business and business needs. The staff is innovative and eager to solve any issues your business presents.

Pros

The ability to build rules around compliance and polices is top notch.

Cons

The reporting (Analytics) isn’t as easy to navigate as it should be.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Karen K.
Industry: Legal Services
Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees

Electronic approvals and efficiency - love it!

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 27/08/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

I love that our expense reports have automated routing rules built in the background, customized for our business needs. Chrome River "gets it" - they understand that business all have different approval rules and are able to set them up in the background. Users submit their expense reports and they automatically route to each approver. This makes the users very happy as the reports get approved quickly and they are reimbursed quickly. There is no more need to staple receipts onto an excel spreadsheet and pass them from one person to the next. Chrome River handles all of that electronically!

Cons

I would like more ability to customize the routing rules on my own, without having to submit a support ticket. I believe this is something that Chrome River is working towards.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Legal Services
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Excellent Tool to go from paper to Digital Expense Review

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 18/09/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Chrome River helped us digitize, and streamline our expense claims and workflows for all levels of our organization.

Pros

from a user perspective, this software has helped eliminate steps in submitting and processing expense claims. The use of the Snap App to process the paper claims and combined with OCR capabilities help to make claims a breeze compared to our older manual method. Further, our AP team and others have gained greater efficiencies by being able to collect this information in real-time and process it faster.

Easily integrates with other accounting system or organization uses.
Easy to use user interface.

Cons

The reporting/analytics features can be revamped, as well as greater flexibility in customization. Overall, the tool does a great job.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Marc C.
Industry: Real Estate
Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees

A better way of doing business

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 22/03/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Our business works at a fast pace. NYC Real Estate waits for no one. Our sales and acquisition team are on always on foot. All are users and some are approver's. Having the ease of uploading, creating and submitting and approving when you are trying to get cross town is a relief! No more setting time aside to do your expenses. Chrome River moves as fast as you do.

Pros

The product is so versatile. Easily accessible from PC and mobile devices which is key function for users and approver's on the go.

Cons

As an admin, I'd say the Admin tools are the least I like about the product. Adding a MOD was a little challenging even with the helpful video.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Michael Z.
Industry: Automotive
Company size: 13-50 Employees

Excellent Frontend, smooth implementation

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 05/04/2019
Review Source: Capterra

We are using ChromeRiver to save our employee'S time while travelling. On return, the expense claim is already almost done and finished with a few clicks. Great experience.

Pros

the fully responsive frontend without dependencies

Cons

matching legal compliance for Germany was initially a bit tricky but solved now

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Architecture & Planning
Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees

I have worked with Chrome River four years and lead the upgrade from the Platinum to Mercury.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 11/01/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

The platform is user friendly and intuitive. Travelers have the capability of taking pictures of their receipts and sending them directly into their Chrome River e-Wallet. We use Egencia Travel which is in the process of integrating with Chrome River. This will result in all travel data also being housed in the traveler's e-Wallet. Our travelers also like the mobile capability of the new web-based platform, Mercury, which allows them to have access to the site while on the go. Credit card integration has also proved very valuable enabling travelers to see transactions they need to submit on their reports. Approvers have the ability audit and approve reports on the go with the ability to easily review receipts that are being billed to their projects. With the ability to program policies and routing, approvers can be assured that reports are meeting programmed company policies. If there is a need to split the allocation of the expense - Chrome River makes it very easy. Employees love the ability to easily delegate access to others and assign approval to coworkers while on vacation.
We have been very happy with this software. It has simplified and made the expense report process very efficient for our firm.

Cons

As a travel manager, the analytics engine that I use frequently could be more intuitive. If reports are required outside of the standard list, the engine to produce custom reports is not very user friendly.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Karen K.
Industry: Law Practice
Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees

Paperless efficiency!

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 13/01/2017
Review Source: Capterra

Chrome River Expense helped my organization (an international law firm) go from paper expense report approvals to a sleek, custom-designed automated (and paperless!) system. Automated approval routing has eliminated the need for sending paper expense reports from one person to the next for approvals. It also ensures that each approval is obtained before payment is made. It has saved our firm time, money, and headaches! The Chrome River team is very attentive and helps with setting up the routing rules that work in the background all along the way. Once the system is up and running, their support team does a tremendous job in making modifications for us as well. The company is always looking for ways to improve their products, which we also appreciate.

Pros

Has cut down on paper floating around the firm. All approvals are obtained electronically. Approvers simply select a green "Accept" button in an e-mail if they approve, or can send back by selecting the red "Return" button. It's very user-friendly!

Cons

Reporting functionality is not the best

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Melody R.
Industry: Legal Services
Company size: 501-1,000 Employees

Business expense reimbursement software

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 24/01/2017
Review Source: Capterra

my firm has been using Chrome River since 2011 for expense reimbursement processing. Implementation was quick. They have kept up with changing client needs and technology by constantly updating the software and offering new options. End users are happy because they have easy options such as connecting receipts directly from Uber, and can get downloaded transactions daily. Submitting expenses are icon based and are tailored to exactly your specs. Back office is happy because duplicates can be immediately identified and importing into GL packages is almost seamless once set up. Take a look. Chrome River is growing fast because they do it right and to your specifications.

Pros

customizable for my business rules

Cons

we opted for daily feeds of certain information. Sometimes new options are added that I might be interested in, but until I read their updates in detail, I won't know about changes.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Banking
Company size: 501-1,000 Employees

CR Expense Review

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 28/03/2019
Review Source: Capterra

My overall experience with CR has been very good. It saves us a lot of time and money, and most importantly frustration and aggravation by making a smoother process to submit expense reports. It also acts as the bad guy with policy enforcement so Finance doesn't always have to step in. It also allows to track user expenditures in an easier manner and files reports away so historical reviews and employee usage can easily be reviewed.

Pros

The software allows for the flow of approvals and communicates to users on where their report lies within the workflow. It also enforces our policies, flags out of policy expenses and flags possible duplicate expenses saving us a lot of time and money. We've also setup a feed from our HRIS system so new users get setup automatically. Users can organize and submit their receipts through the CR Snap app which alleviates the problem of having to keep paper receipts. Expense reports are exported from CR and paid on a weekly basis in a format that allows us to upload the JE into our accounting software.

Cons

It can be difficult to get solid answers from the support staff after the go live date and the project manager has gone away. The administration side of things in also not the most intuitive and it be can be difficult to make changes on the back end.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Todd D.
Industry: Logistics & Supply Chain
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Customizable Expense Reporting Made Easy

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 10/06/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Huge benefit from the perspective of check printing and reconciling, less time for Accounts Payable to work through and sort paperwork and being able to use the A/P staff in other, more productive way was critical. When we lost a staff member we decided not to replace them because of the efficiency Chrome River gave us. We likely have the capacity to downsize another FTE but we will wait for either a retirement or someone to leave on their own.

Pros

Investing time on the front end of this product is well worth the results in the end and the overall buy-in of fellow employees. Keeping the initial screen simple is the key to employee adoption rates being higher than normal.

Designating an implementation person or two (cross-training is key) is all that is needed. Do not rely on the partner from Chrome River to tell you what you need. They will interview you and guide you but the important thing to remember is that this will be your software to operate once it is ready to be deployed.

Cons

Not much honestly. When I implemented it there wasn't much OCR technology built in but that was something that was being developed.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Jesse R.
Industry: Legal Services
Company size: 501-1,000 Employees

Robust Expense and Invoice Management

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 22/02/2017
Review Source: Capterra

Chrome River offers a slick modern user interface with a robust rules engine that can allow from simple to very intricate and complicated routing and approvals. The application is constantly being updated and they take customer feedback as part of building out the applications roadmap. The integration with other systems is pretty seamless as well being able to connect to your accounting system through a series of feeds (which you can automate) and they even have the ability to connect to credit cards for pulling in expenses directly. The application comes with a ton of useful standard reporting options but they do have room for improvement with their ad hoc reporting platform.

Pros

Integration with accounting systems, audit trail tracking, snap and send receipts for expenses.

Cons

Ad hoc reporting is in need of some improvement.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Accounting
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Great base product with fantastic add-ons on the horizon

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 22/08/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Fantastic customer service with a quality product that allows a lot of flexibility regarding expense reporting.

Pros

Able to customize all aspects of the expense reporting, and easy to use functionality in every way.

Cons

Difficult to utilize 3rd party connectors for systems such as FinancialForce.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Robert F.
Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
Company size: 501-1,000 Employees

Awesome

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 20/03/2019
Review Source: Capterra

We are very happy with this software as we knew their were some deficiencies and this software has made it easier to identify it and to eliminate it moving forward.

Pros

The software is easy to use. It enables expense owners the ability to submit their expense reports quicker and on time. Using the snap app makes it more quicker to submit receipt directly to your receipt library. The OCR capabilities to recognize receipts and auto populating the information reduces staff time . The mileage expense reports are amazing. Chromeriver uses Google Maps to calculate the travel trips. Employees just need to enter the destination points and the calculations are done for them. Setting up the routing for expense reporting is simple and the HelpDesk support from Chromeriver is quick to respond and tailor things to your needs.

Cons

I have no issues at this time with the software

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Peter S.

Chrome River has made my work much easier!

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 04/06/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

As an administrative assistant, my favorite function of Chrome River is that the information for all the dozens of people I support is located in one place. This function has made my work much simpler and easier than it was when we had to authorize and reimburse travel by hard copy.

Cons

It would be nice if Chrome River had a function where I could duplicate pre-approval reports or expense reports from one user to another. Frequently, our staff travels in groups and have identical expense reports for their reimbursements (e.g. meal per diems) and I frequently end up submitting the same expense report for several employees.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Anita H.

Our university is in the process of training everyone who travels.

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 20/06/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Replaces manual process of paper travel forms.

Pros

No more paper forms, eventually once campus gets trained! No more worrying who has the paper form on their desk to sign or wondering who it goes to. Chrome River is easy to use and much faster than our current paper form, and less room for errors or duplicate payments.

Cons

Not being able to allow the person who is assigned as a delegate and created the Pre-Approval to make changes if Traveler returns to them. This is only because it stays on the Traveler's dashboard but the person who keyed in the report doesn't have access to make changes once returned is selected.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Maurita E.
Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
Company size: 501-1,000 Employees

Chrome River Expense system

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 17/02/2017
Review Source: Capterra

Chrome River is light years ahead of the previous system we used. It is user friendly for the most part. It has reduced the work load in our Accounts Payable Department tremendously. Chrome River is much easier for navigate and to use to assist our staff in researching problems with their reports. There are a few things I don't care for, such as how you enter account allocations and how the system allows staff to enter an account allocation wrong by giving it an alias and then telling them the account is wrong when they try to submit the report. It should just tell them it is wrong in the beginning to avoid all the corrections they need to make later. Otherwise, it is great and the service is great also!

Pros

Ease of use

Cons

How you enter account allocations.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Lorrie B.
Industry: Higher Education
Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees

Best Travel & Expense Module that I have ever used.

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 05/10/2018
Review Source: Capterra

I have a good relationship with everyone I work with at Chrome River. They are all friendly and knowledgeable. I work with several individuals who know our business processes well and help me make good decisions when it comes to enhancements and edits to our rules and routings.

Pros

Electronic Routings - We used to be buried in paper, losing documents in inter-office mail, shuffling paper from office to office. Chrome River's electronic routings has helps us save with printing and the need for employees to handle the paper. A cost and time savings for us.

Cons

Analytics, the reporting feature could use a face lift.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Emily C.
Industry: Law Practice
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Chrome River for a lawfirm

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 21/03/2019
Review Source: Capterra

We no longer need to track paper expense reimbursements and our entire approval process is streamlined. Our attorneys like that they don't need to keep a file of receipts when they travel, they can take a picture and throw away.

Pros

Chrome River is always making updates, changes and new ways to customize the software to fit our business.

Cons

Ad hoc reporting is not user intuitive but the standard reports are useful for the majority of needs.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Katie W.
Industry: Staffing & Recruiting
Company size: 10,001+ Employees

Chrome River Expense Review

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 29/12/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Keeping track of my daily mileage and expenses to submit at the end of the month for reimbursement.

Pros

I like that you can see the past 90 days of submitted reports all in one spot. Also, the map feature allows you to type I a business name and it will auto populate the address for you.

Cons

It does sometimes glitch if you dont enter everything in correctly, and you will need to go back and do it again.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Rhonda C.
Industry: Higher Education
Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees

Our wonderful CR project team helped us improve, streamline, and rethink outdated travel policies.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 12/05/2017
Review Source: Capterra

Automated rules that drive compliance thereby eliminating manual checking. It has taken the guess work out of 'where's my expense report'. Employees receive reimbursement quicker. Paperless system!!

Pros

It drives policy compliance with reminders, warnings, and hard-stop violations. Plus, no more paper!!

Cons

The credit card reconciliation has been difficult for us, however, a big part of that could be related to our stringent state requirements.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10