Datadog

Cloud-Scale Monitoring Platform For Dev, Sec, and Ops teams.

Overall rating

4.6 /5
(241)
Value for Money
4.1/5
Features
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4.2/5
Customer Support
4.2/5

97%
recommended this app
Sort by

241 Reviews

Kyle
Kyle
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

DataDog is great!

Reviewed on 16/12/2022

Pros

We now have billions of logs hitting Data Dog every month. It's a great tool for monitoring and debugging what is going on in the platform. We have alserts setup based on the logging so we are instantly notified of any issues.

Cons

Some of the JSON parsing on nested logs come out a little wonky. We overcame this by adding specific logs from our applications that we can search on.

Ola
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The gold standard for cloud Monitoring

Reviewed on 25/10/2022

Before Datadog out logging and monitoring was spread out over different services, both home built...

Before Datadog out logging and monitoring was spread out over different services, both home built and cloud based. With Datadog we were able to consolidate everything in one place and synergy effects of that has been amazing.

Pros

If you can afford it. Get Datadog.It's a phenomenal product that keeps getting better every day.Especially if you're using multiple clouds.There are tons of integrations that gives you out of the box dashboards and metrics. Logs are easy to ingest from basically everywhere.It's expensive but the pricing is easy to understand and keep track of.

Cons

It's expensive, there is no other way to say it. But they work hard to make it worthwhile, and for us it is.Beyond that I can't really think of anything.

Alternatives Considered

Loggly and New Relic

Reasons for Choosing Datadog

We needed to have all monitoring in one place and centralise alerts and notifications.

Reasons for Switching to Datadog

Datadog was the only choice where we could bring in everything in one product.
Aron
Overall rating
  • Industry: Philanthropy
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Monthly for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

Endless Sales calls

Reviewed on 02/02/2024

Pros

Nothing. I haven't and won't use them because their Sales team is so hyper aggressive.

Cons

DataDog got my cell phone number and that's when it all went down hill. For months they've called me — sometimes extremely early in the morning at time zone inappropriate times — to attempt to get our business.

Just this morning, they called starting at 8am not once, not twice, but three times in a row each from different numbers. I've asked them to stop. I've begged them to stop. I've spoken with managers. I did so again this morning! But I've lost hope that I'll ever land on a do not call list because I'm convinced they don't have one.

The product, frankly, looks good. It's something I'd considered using. But their Sales team is so ridiculously aggressive — who calls someone three or four times in a row from different numbers every five minutes at 8am? — that I will never, ever use them as a vendor. And if you value your sanity, never express even the most vague amount of interest to these folks because apparently they will never stop relentlessly calling you. To say that their Sales team has left a bad taste in my mouth is an understatement.

Ankush
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Datadog Review

Reviewed on 02/10/2019

Overall it's great monitoring/visualizing tool for any organization and I'd recommend, it would...

Overall it's great monitoring/visualizing tool for any organization and I'd recommend, it would have been great if it had great learning resources to explore it more.

Pros

- The filter functionality is great which lets you filter out errors for quick analysis, can easily create custom dashboards.
- Great Visualizations, easy to set up dashboards/monitors with options do maths like ratios, rates, average, interval.
- It can be easily integrated with other apps like Slack to set alerts for failed jobs.
-

Cons

- A slow learning curve, lack of resources on how to get useful functionality from UI or APIs.
- UI sometimes be bit slower although not bad if you've integrated with multiple external apps.

Matthew
Overall rating
  • Industry: Consumer Services
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

DataDog is key component of our engineering stack!

Reviewed on 16/12/2022

Initially we had purchased DataDog to get some basic observability and to lift our logs into a...

Initially we had purchased DataDog to get some basic observability and to lift our logs into a central location. Quickly we began leveraging there additional features to gain deeper insights, better monitoring, and to speed up troubleshooting. DataDog is now a cornerstone of our software stack and everyone from engineers up and into DevOps/SREs use this on a day-to-day basis.

Pros

The software can scale with the business needs. You can start with basic features or leverage many as you like (for $$) to gain deeper insights. Engineers once onboarded use it heavily to spot issues or troubleshoot more obscure bugs both in production and development.

Cons

You often need to review usage and costs. Misconfigurations, migration projects (where legacy + new infrastructures are required), integrations which may cause double reporting need to be observed to prevent run-away spend.

Alternatives Considered

New Relic

Reasons for Switching to Datadog

We chose DataDog due to extensive feature set and existing product knowledge within the engineering team.
Laura
Overall rating
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Powerful and flexible

Reviewed on 22/02/2023

We can connect traces, logs and events on our infrastructure. We can follow every HTTP request that...

We can connect traces, logs and events on our infrastructure. We can follow every HTTP request that arrives at our API to the individual services. If errors or other events occure we can see them, as they are connected with each request / trace. This helped us a lot in finding bottlenecks in our microservice architecture

Pros

I really like that datadog offers a free tier to get startet with it. It helped building a net of monitoring around our servers and services. We have implemented a wide collection of (they call it synthetic tests) that we use as an continuous integration test suite. We even can monitor the performance of different application versions.

Cons

Even if their locally installed agent on our servers is very flexible and can collect so many information, the configuration via YAML files is difficult to start with. The learning curve here is pretty steep in the beginning.

Alternatives Considered

New Relic

Reasons for Switching to Datadog

The possibilities to make evaluations were much better back then
Chris
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Datadog is great but expensive

Reviewed on 16/12/2022

Please reduce the price gap between committed vs on-demand usage, or come up with some other ways...

Please reduce the price gap between committed vs on-demand usage, or come up with some other ways to address it. Our on-demand cost varies so much and I get asked by finance way too often.

Pros

-Best user experience-Unified view of all metrics. It is a lifesaver when troubleshooting performance issues-A broad range of product offerings

Cons

-Expensive!-The pricing model isn't as flexible as it should be. You can only adjust your yearly contract 3 times per year.-Expect to spend more time managing costs than you would like.

Alternatives Considered

New Relic

Reasons for Choosing Datadog

The old New Relic was very slow, and the user experience was horrible. I heard that New Relic one is better.

Reasons for Switching to Datadog

I used Datadog at a couple of companies in the past, and I always had a great experience with it.
Paulo
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer & Network Security
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Among the top 3 server and application monitoring solutions

Reviewed on 02/02/2023

It provides good and detailed info both on server monitoring metrics as well as on the application...

It provides good and detailed info both on server monitoring metrics as well as on the application monitoring options.The experience with Datadog is excellent and, if you choose it, you are not losing anything in regard to the alternatives (the only exception is if you have the expertise to deploy open source solutions yourself).

Pros

Generous free plan with detailed information both on server and application monitoring.

Cons

Nothing unusual. Being a paid platform, it naturally set limits on its free plan (fair) but, for this reason, you may prefer the responsibility to deploy an open source alternative (to remove those limits) instead of upgrade to a paid plan.

Alternatives Considered

New Relic

Reasons for Switching to Datadog

When using Datadog, I chose it instead of New Relic because of its more generous free plan. But since then, the competition between them seems to have intensified, and currently the free plans of both platforms are very similar.
Jeff
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 5,001–10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Datadog is awesome!

Reviewed on 14/12/2022

Been great. I wish we could onboard across all Yahoo, but the cost is too high for all engineering...

Been great. I wish we could onboard across all Yahoo, but the cost is too high for all engineering to benefit.

Pros

Datadog is intuitive, easy to configure, and easy to use.

Cons

The cost for Datadog is too expensive.

Alternatives Considered

New Relic

Reasons for Choosing Datadog

Couldn't handle scale or cloud applications.

Reasons for Switching to Datadog

We needed something immediately to get off our homegrown solution. We are still doing pocs with other vendors (Splunk, dynatrace) due to cost.
ryan
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

DataDog, good for modern apps

Reviewed on 19/12/2022

Pros

It is easy to provision and integrates into modern applications

Cons

For basic monitoring of our legacy solutions, the software is to expensive

Alternatives Considered

LogicMonitor

Reasons for Choosing Datadog

Looking for a way to monitor our modern software stack.

Reasons for Switching to Datadog

Initial pricing, and google integration.
William
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Dog eat Dog world

Reviewed on 14/12/2022

DataDog has allowed me to bring Fortune 500 company insights and application monitoring to a early...

DataDog has allowed me to bring Fortune 500 company insights and application monitoring to a early stage startup!

Pros

DataDog is able to ingest and make sense of a complicated cloud application without the developer having to understand the infrastructure or program specifically for it.

Cons

That if I could afford it I would turn on all the features 24/7 and use them all.

Gaspar
Overall rating
  • Industry: Media Production
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Excellent product

Reviewed on 16/12/2022

We're monitoring our complete stack, migrating from Heroku to AWS

We're monitoring our complete stack, migrating from Heroku to AWS

Pros

Ease of use and integrations. Log management is outstanding, as well as Kubernetes integration

Cons

Lack of a simple Prometheus integration. Agent configuration docs (for specifics) is sometimes hard to find

Alternatives Considered

Grafana

Reasons for Choosing Datadog

Pricing and capabilities

Switched From

New Relic

Reasons for Switching to Datadog

Easy to integrate with, without too much configuration
Krista
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Synthetic Testing Rocks!

Reviewed on 14/12/2022

Pros

As a non-technical QA person, I needed a tool to help automate tests without a lot of the technical aspects. Datadog allows me to build and schedule tests by clicking through the online version of our tool, making it incredibly simple. It also records what's wrong and allows me to edit the paths at any time if we ever make changes.

Cons

I wish I was able to use this same functionality for our mobile app or even for processes like account creation. Since we push our sign up through a payment portal we're unable to use Datadog in the same was there.

Aviram
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Monitoring our micro services app with datadog

Reviewed on 15/12/2022

Use it every day, easy to implement

Use it every day, easy to implement

Pros

All in one shop. APM, DB monitoring , synthetic transaction and log analysis

Cons

APM does not work well on nodejs asyc services. Might be hard to track transactions.

Alternatives Considered

New Relic

Reasons for Switching to Datadog

we used new relic in the past 10 years in a former company. We wanted to try someting new and a lower cost
Mark
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Observability super powers

Reviewed on 14/12/2022

Pros

Being able to funnel AWS CloudWatch logs into Datadog made speed of deployment of Datadog incredibly fast - days instead of weeks.The log searching and faceting are extremely powerful. It's responsive, everything loads fast, and I can find single log lines in seconds.

Cons

Being able to create facets on historical data would be great.When digging into log lines, being able to navigate back to previous lines that we read through would be great too. Sometimes we're clicking around so fast that a log line is long gone. I end up copying the URL and pasting it into a doc so I can refer back to it.

Alternatives Considered

Splunk Enterprise and Papertrail

Reasons for Choosing Datadog

We needed to be able to quickly search and facet logs, and view live logs, and have something that didn't require much more structure than logging out some JSON.
Shervin
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Powerfull Tool.

Reviewed on 14/12/2022

Very powerful and useful monitoring tool but so complicated to deploy at the first.

Very powerful and useful monitoring tool but so complicated to deploy at the first.

Pros

Diligence, details and deep of monitoring all detail.

Cons

capturing every single details, validity of details and more importantly capability to monitor everything!!!

Alternatives Considered

PRTG

Switched From

PRTG
Richard
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Well worth the investment

Reviewed on 14/12/2022

Overall, it has been a very pleasant experience in comparison to New Relic, Logic Monitor and AppD.

Overall, it has been a very pleasant experience in comparison to New Relic, Logic Monitor and AppD.

Pros

It is simple to setup and maintain. Plus the UI is really easy to understand.

Cons

Polling period of the alerts are not short enough. The lowest is every 5 minutes but if a site is down, 5 minutes is too long to wait to see if it is down.

Alternatives Considered

AppOptics

Reasons for Choosing Datadog

Price and ease of use

Switched From

LogicMonitor, AppDynamics and New Relic
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Must have for your application monitoring and infrastructure management

Reviewed on 04/05/2022

Overall we are using datadog for application performance monitoring on daily basis an it has really...

Overall we are using datadog for application performance monitoring on daily basis an it has really helped us resolve application incidents.

Pros

Application performance monitoring, server and database monitoring, dashboards & reporting, proactive incident management

Cons

Sythentic queries are difficult to grasp. Need support for more geographies for application performance Monitoring

Alternatives Considered

AppDynamics
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer & Network Security
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Great service for monitoring

Reviewed on 30/01/2018

Pros

Datadog provides a way of having a lot of information about your systems, clusters and infrastructure in only one site, being able to analyze valuable data for your company. It is possible to create alarms and notifications when overpassing some threshold or value, for example, when a service is down in your systems of when the CPU gets a high percentage of usage.

It integrates pretty well with tons of services and systems, such as Amazon Web Services, Apache, Nginx, several databases, and a long etcetera. Also, it is possible to send notifications to apps like Slack or Hipchat.

Cons

Datadog is not very easy to use at the beginning and it needs a little bit of investigation but it is worth to learn it.

Diego
Diego
Overall rating
  • Industry: Investment Management
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great server monitoring

Reviewed on 23/02/2019

They monitor everything we run at our company and we recently moved logging to them too. Very happy...

They monitor everything we run at our company and we recently moved logging to them too. Very happy with support, had to ask them several questions over the years and they always know what I'm looking for.

Pros

The metrics navigator, you start by picking a metric or server, and it then tells you all the information it is collecting from it, so you can start designing your monitoring dashboards and see the data that will appear as you go

Cons

There are times where a chart would omit certain spikes, due to the way they aggregate values. But a quick email to support and they'll give you the settings you need to adjust not to miss such events, even when you look at a chart for the month

Damian
Damian
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

DataDog is one of our must-haves

Reviewed on 06/06/2019

Pros

It's got everything that's needed for infrastructure and application monitoring and alerting. It also fits extremely well into our Infrastructure-as-Code paradigm where everything we set up is kept in a git repository as a Terraform project. DataDog is what we recommend and implement for our clients, and provides more useful features than Sensu.

Cons

Metrics and monitors don't render correctly on mobile phones. It's totally unusable in portrait mode, and barely usable in landscape mode.

Alternatives Considered

Sensu
Joseph
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Logs for the programmers and sysadmin

Reviewed on 14/12/2022

Pros

Able to ingest system logs, app logs, and other logs along with process stats and system metrics to get a wholistic picture of how your servers and applications are running for your business.

Cons

Setup does take a while and there is several configuration files to adjust, but once this is done you will not need to touch them again for the lifecycle of the install.

Alternatives Considered

Graylog
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Entertainment
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great first step for data tracking and incedent monitoring.

Reviewed on 14/10/2021

Pros

I use this tool on a daily basis for handling errors both in our live environment and for testing. It allows me to see where an error may be coming from and follow it through to its source. I could not do my job effectively without datadog

Cons

The filtering of data is not as comprehensive as I would like. I sometimes need to search through the results to find what I need.
Displaying a record in the chronological order is not always perfect and I sometimes don't get the context I want.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

DataDog Review

Reviewed on 25/06/2023

I think Datadog is the best observability and monitoring platform out there, I think the only con...

I think Datadog is the best observability and monitoring platform out there, I think the only con and thing you have to watch out for is its crazy expensive

Pros

The breath of features you can have under Datadog is truly impressive, everything from Application, Website, Synthetic monitoring is covered under Datadog, so you have all your observability needs on one platform

Cons

Pricing, it can get really expensive monitoring on Datadog.

Alternatives Considered

Grafana, Splunk Enterprise and New Relic
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Many integration options and plethora of dashboards and visualizations

Reviewed on 08/04/2019

Dependable and reliable solution.

Dependable and reliable solution.

Pros

Configuring monitoring tools is not always trivial, half of the battle is making sure metrics are flowing. Datadog is very flexible when it comes to sending metrics to their cloud. You can use collectD, statsd, file beats, or the 84523982 other options. Our orchestration software already had an option to enable Datadog collection. Once the data is in place, you need to figure out what metrics are relevant. Datadog has a number of pre-built dashboards tweaked for popular software systems. If you are using something homegrown, they can provide recommendations and optimizations after enough data has been ingested. API and documentation are top notch and we were able to build integrations quite easily.

Cons

Datadog is purely cloud-based system so there's no on-prem option, only SaaS. Depending on your company, this may be a deal-breaker since all of your metrics data is hosted in the cloud. Since it's a SaaS based service, it won't be easy to move data to another service. Occasionally web UI will bog down but it's fairly performant for the most part.