10,256 reviews
Overall rating
4.3
/
5
Value for Money
4.3
Features
4.2
Ease of Use
4.4
Customer Support
4.2
86% recommended this app
10,256 reviews
Andrea S.
Industry: Insurance
Company size: 10,001+ Employees

No more distance barriers with Skype

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 18/04/2020
Review Source: Capterra

It is one of the easily available applications that is compatible with any device. Therefore, I recommend downloading and using it for various communication purposes wherever applicable. It has good quality and is profitable.

I'm solving the walls of the distance problem to have a conversation with people far from me. I am also resolving the need to travel to and incur costs for a meeting. I was able to have conversations with people from afar through Skype. I have also been able to hold meetings with my team with Skype successfully.

Pros

One of the features of skype is its easy use and Set up. Nowadays almost everyone has a Skype account, so finding a contact is very simple, making a video call is very easy and having a long-term call and without interruptions, because the audio and video quality is very good. It is a solution for commercial communications since it avoids many expenses in national and international calls, it can monitor calls and it is integrated with other applications. The computer and even other devices, Skype allows communication through video calls, voice and text.

Cons

The only thing I don't like about Skype is that in its latest updates on PC the notifications are somewhat annoying since they are large and take time to clear, I would rather they were small notifications on the taskbar.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Sekharendu G.
Industry: Education Management
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Good for Group Chats, not for Group Meeting.

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 18/06/2020
Review Source: Capterra

Overall Skype for Business, is an option, good for general use.
Meeting with upto 20-25ppl is still manageable, and not much of stability issue.
Moment the number of participants increase, can see multiple issues occurring.
Not optimum for Professional Meeting.

Pros

Ease of Use. Simple to create a meet-up, meeting room and share the id with others.
Most features like share-screen and seamless video connectivity is good.
Additionally, can just make a video call and add members to the group video/audio call, is a good feature.

Cons

Cannot view all members at the same time in free Skype, in Skype Business, can still see all the participants, but still, cannot arrange the members and also quiet a few limitations with multiple screens.
Additionally, Share-Screen is buggy, always after share-screen, have issues like cannot connect to video, audio is not working, disconnect or reconnect. Hopefully, gets sorted with updates.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 6.0/10

Chaya W.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Skype – connects the people filling the distance

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 25/01/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Skype is one such tool which provides so many facilities indie one package. It provides the services that could be found in five or six separate apps. Once the user downloads skype he or she is given the opportunity to get the services of five or six apps using this one app. Skype fills the distance between the relationships allowing to make long distance calls in a reasonable manner. It connects the people with their loved ones.

Pros

Skype is a hybrid messaging and voice communication platform which is capable of connecting users from different locations of the globe. This application is suitable for both personal and business platforms. According to the way how the people are using it the usage differs from the personal user or business use.
Skype provides the ability to make both video and audio calls, conferencing, group chats, sending instant messages and even file sharing. This one app provides all the facilities that can be found in five or six separate apps. Skype can be used from any device a phone, tablet or a computer .the only thing which is needed is good network coverage. Skype is platform independent that it supports both Mac and pc while it supports both iPhones and Android phones. And also users do not need to make any payment to use skype The basic version of Skype is free

Cons

Although the basic version of Skype is free when the users need to upgrade the versions users have to make a payment. In order to use skype users need to have a proper network connection. If the conversations are being taken place under poor network facilities the conversation might be disturbed and stuck in the middle of the conversation. Skype also can be used as one of the tools for cyberbullying.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Obianuju O.
Industry: Pharmaceuticals
Company size: 10,001+ Employees

Great software

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 27/04/2020
Review Source: Capterra

Overall, there are not much difficulties. It is user-friendly and is widely used in our facilities.

Pros

The software was very essential for the communication between the workers. It is convenient to have on our computers when we want to have conversations in different sectors of the hospital.

Cons

Sometimes it is quite difficult to find certain features.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Mehool S.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees

Skype for business

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 22/05/2020
Review Source: Capterra

It’s good for official purpose ,transferring messages or joining meetings .

Pros

Skype for business is good to stay connected with interoffice colleagues or other company colleagues as well , messages is conveniently sent and able to get the active status of others

Cons

There are couple of things which I don’t like about the software is the screenshot or cropped photos you can’t send each other through Skype ,Also while connecting to meeting through a Skype it is slow and takes time, also more emojis and gifs can be added in there to send

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Philip B.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Skype is a good Enterprise Collaboration Platform

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 14/04/2020
Review Source: Capterra

We've had a postie experience with Skype overall. Deployment was simple and users took to the platform quickly. We had well over half the company using it within a month and over 75% with 6 months.

Pros

Skype is great a keeping teams communicating and working together without relaying as heavily on e-mail.

Cons

Skype is a bit of an older platform so it's limited to one to one and one to many chats. There is no support for groups or team based rooms like available in Microsoft Teams or Slack.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Abid H.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees

Skype for Business Review

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 12/05/2020
Review Source: Capterra

Almost any type of collaboration and services like audio vedio and screen sharing contents with additional features.

Pros

It is complete suit of collaboration features and services like audio video and conferencing solution with screen sharing as well, it is easy to setup and configure with any third party solutions

Cons

Even it can be integrated with any third party solution but it need special knowledge and expertise regarding the setup and configuration.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Patterson B.
Industry: Food Production
Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees

Money Making Strategy

Used Monthly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 19/06/2020
Review Source: Capterra

Skype Business is a widely used platform of communication worldwide so getting in touch with people who has it (which is almost everybody) is easy and possible.

Pros

-user friendly
-enhanced security for IM Text as it is encrypted
-Microsoft as its parent company, you can connect it to Office 365 for audio conferencing which is pretty convenient.
-It is being used by everyone in the company which makes it easier to communicate plus we can see their status like if they are active or idle or in a meeting.

Cons

All I can think of why there are Skype Personal and Skype Business is for them to make more money in the end.
I don't appreciate why calls between Skype Personal and Skype Business don't do well. Connection is unstable.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 6.0/10

Tyler M.
Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Stay Connected

Used Monthly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 23/06/2020
Review Source: Capterra

Skype for Business is an excellent software, very little bugs

Pros

Skype for Business allows you to meet remotely with Clients and Staff, via video Chats and Text communications.

Cons

Skype for Business is limited in it user options, compared to additional software that is on the market.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Marketing & Advertising
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Skype is still great for a simple virtual meeting application

Used Monthly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 16/06/2020
Review Source: Capterra

Ever since there is more competition in the space, Skype has still held up, but there may be other options you might want to try.

Pros

Skype is well known by others, has a high trust factor, and the interface is easy to use. Multiple apps on computers and mobile.

Cons

The desktop sharing can be a little choppy, but that isn't it's main functionality.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad
Company size: 501-1,000 Employees

Skype for Business Solves Problems

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 23/06/2020
Review Source: Capterra

Especially during this pandemic, but even in general, our company uses Skype for Business to solve the problem of clear, concise, quick communication. We are able to hold conference calls, instant message eachother, and know the status of every employee in the company. This creates efficiency and better performance from every employee. My overall perspective on Skype for Business is that it is an amazing tool and worth the investment from any company no matter the size.

Pros

Skype for Business is a wonderful tool that can easily facilitate quick, clear communication between employees. Not only can you send instant messages to colleagues of which they will be notified immediately, but team members can also hold group meetings together. One of the great factors of skype for business is that one can also invite members outside the company to join meetings on Skype for Business with a simple link. Using this program is extremely easy, and anyone can benefit from it's capabilities. One other amazing factor about this program is being able to see and let others know your status - whether in a meeting, away from your desk, available for communication, or offline. This is one of my personal favorite aspects about this software because I don't waste time waiting for replies to emails if someone is away from their desk.

Cons

The only thing that I feel is missing from this software (or the version my company has), is the capability to instant message someone from a different company on skype for business if they send a link or their username. Sometimes, communications between companies/clients can be a bit slow over email, and I would love to be able to instant message someone for smoother discussions.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Abraham C.
Industry: Government Administration
Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees

Skype for Business Review

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 13/03/2020
Review Source: Capterra

I used Skype for Business for about 4 years and found the software to be very useful compared to using the traditional telephone or IP phone that most organizations are still using today. Its very efficient and improves work production when you can do your work and make audio and video calls from your laptop or desktop without the need for a mobile phone or telephone. The software comes with a great deal of useful features like file sharing, video and audio calls (both internal and external), remote presentation, screen sharing, conference call, etc. This made communication and work so much easier when you can perform all this tasks from the comfort of your computer without the need for additional hardware. I have had experience from setup, configuration and even diagnosing basic issues on the software and I found it to be very user friendly and easy to use. Overall Skype for Business is a great tool for any organization looking to promote smart working, efficiency, mobility, and flexibility in their workforce.

Pros

What I like most about the software is the look and feel, which is the interface. As a normal Skype user for many years, I instantly got comfortable using Skype for Business when I was first introduced to the software. It's really easy to launch features like the screen sharing mode, presentation mode and even allows you to take control of a presentation remotely. The software is a Microsoft product and integrates well with other Microsoft office products such as Outlook, which sort of gives you that flexibility when you need to schedule meetings, perform calendar setup, launching the chat utility directly from Outlook, etc. Skype for business is also great for audio and video calls and when you've got that setup inside your office you can easily communicate with your recipients and still use your hands to control other stuff on your computer. This eliminates the need for regular phones or IP phones on your desk therefore minimizing hardware and increasing work efficiency.

Cons

As a regular user of the software at the previous company that I worked for. One of the disadvantages of the software is that if your internet speed link is weak, it affects the performance of audio and video calls and file sharing. This limitation was evident in some areas where internet connectivity was not consistent and it prevented our remote staff from communicating back to head quarters. Even though Skype for Business and normal Skype may share the same first name, they are separated and it would be nice if they could somehow be integrated in the future. This would allow for people that use both software's on their computers, which would make sense if there was a little bit integration between the two software. The software doesn't have webinar features to configure and setup a webinar, I personally would have liked if that feature was available, however it does come with conference meeting capability. Not everyone knows how to use and install the software and it can be a bit tricky for beginners to connect with fellow colleagues and customers who are not familiar with it. As and administrator I had to take users through a mini training on how to use the software.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Charlotte G.
Industry: Staffing & Recruiting
Company size: 10,001+ Employees

Easy to understand interface and love the app!

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 01/03/2020
Review Source: Capterra

Overall I like the product and the features - used for many years and no major complaints!

Pros

My company used Skype for business for years and switched over to the upgraded version “TEAMS” several months ago because of some other functionalities we needed (discussed below). Skype for business is very straight forward - I like the status feature that you can customize. A color indicates how long it’s been since you’ve been active and pairs with your outlook calendar to show when you’re away. It’s easy to make favorites or groups and the app has that same ease of use. To start a group chat with the whole group just right click con the group name and click send message and a box appears to chat the whole list! We use Skype for business to conduct meetings as well - based on your internet connection this can be choppy at times but the meetings are auto created with a phone dial in as a back-up or for off network users to use too. The phone number and conference code used to dial in helped me out a few times so I could hear content.. but if there is a presentation you’ll miss everything. If the meeting was recorded it’s easy to go back and view the recording though - just go back to the calendar invite And click on the link - boom presentation starts!

Cons

My team wanted to build group chats that would stay up with the history of the chat. For example some of us start at 6am - by 9am when the next crew is rolling in they can just scroll back and get up to speed to start the day (which is why we switched to TEAMS). The group chat feature I mentioned before (where you can right click on a group name to start a chat with all) was just fine until multiple people were out on vacation!! The chat pops up and then all of the out of offices hit you! But when the group was 20 and I needed to chat 15 people the right click to start chat option was better than individually adding 15 people to a group chat each time!!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Edward C.
Industry: Computer & Network Security
Company size: 13-50 Employees

Skype for Business a true solution for a mobile workforce.

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 22/01/2020
Review Source: Capterra

Good, reliable, very few times did the app fail to launch or was held back by a software upgrade.

Pros

Skype is a well know brand with several companies building hardware for it.
Many companies go through the extra step of getting their devices certified by Microsoft to work with Skype; guaranteeing 100% compatibility true Plug-N-Play. This made the deployment of equipment as simple as buying and drop shipping it directly to the users for self installation. The Skype software is extremely easy to learn and use.

Cons

Microsoft could not make its mind in which direction to take the product and it shows. Skype lacks features that its competitors have. Seemed that Microsoft always wanted the user to host a server (Lynx) and now Microsoft will be transitioning Skype into TEAMS. Too much name changing and not enough developing the product but developing a new product as its replacement.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Chloe K.
Industry: Research
Company size: 10,001+ Employees

Great for interviews, collaborations, and family

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 14/01/2020
Review Source: Capterra

Skype for business allows ease of communication and knowledge transfer without having to fly yourself to talk to someone, ship something to show, or attempt to describe things over the phone. Skype is the ideal platform for all business relationships, and what many people don't recognize is the importance of skype in the sciences. Skype cuts down the geographical boundaries many scientists can only overcome during conferences and saves money researchers would otherwise have to spend shipping something to show collaborators.

Pros

Skype is by far the best software for this technological age especially since so much of how we interact is online. When I was being interviewed for graduate school, Skype was how I got my foot in the door talking to certain professors or how I was interviewed for an international research opportunity. Skype makes businesses no longer require booking expensive flights and hotels just for a one-hour meeting. Or when talking with collaborators and wanting to show them some unusual result, instead of shipping the sample or sending a picture, skype allows you to simultaneously talk about the result while analyzing it on the skype video. Finally, it is also a great tool to keep families connected, particularly the feature to have multiple people on a skype call at once so you can include the whole family. Another feature that is extremely useful is its screen sharing abilities to walk someone step-by-step through something on your own computer screen without trying to describe it to them or sending pictures of each step.

Cons

I do wish on phones that people did not have to be logged into skype in order to hear whether they have a skype call from someone. I would like it if skype worked similarly to facetime and notifies you on your phone regardless of being open.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Matthew D.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Skype - In the Office for the daily professional

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 03/01/2020
Review Source: Capterra

The overall use of the product is good, the quick and easy communication factor for us has been ideal. There is other products available but the way it integrates with other Microsoft programs makes it that more of a go to product for us.

Overall we are happy with the day-to-day use of Skype for Business.

Pros

Skype for business has been in use for 2+ years in our office - the platform and layout is user friendly and the ability to build groups and favorite sections, makes it easier to message those within your circle quickly and easily.

Quick search option and the paring to Outlook are other positives - also the "At a glance" look to see if someone is available or not, is nice.

Cons

The fact remains, updates have been few and far between - this may be a matter of if its not broke... but it would be nice to see some updated screens, icons or just an overall view change would be great.

I think there could be a bit more functions within the calendar application within, this would allow for a truer experience.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Gaurav M.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 10,001+ Employees

Widely accepted Instant Messenger

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 12/12/2019
Review Source: Capterra

We are setting up meetings using Skype on a daily basis and with its intuitve interface its has become very easy to setup a meeting and callings Skype users.
I would give this software 10 out of 10 if it does not slowdown during screen sharing and does not go non-responding if there are multiple actions taken using this application.

Pros

Microsoft has continuously improved this software and arguably best Instant messaging platform available in the market. Below are few features that I absolutely love about this product

1) Tightly integrated with Microsoft Outlook. Setting up a meeting from MS Outlook is very easy. Meetings can be joined with just a click.

2) Screen sharing , group calling and adding a new member is very intuitive. If a person is not logged in , he/she can be added using a phone number and this feature is very handy. Meetings can be joined using a conference id and a phone number . This feature has enabled numerous users to join call during their commute.

3) Meetings recordings feature is a lifesaver and overly under-rated. Meeting recording is a substitute for documentation. Technical presentations , seminars and trainings recording are available to watch for users. Frequently delivered meetings for same content or explanations should be recorded and listened to avoid repetitive tasks.

4) iPhone application is very helpful. I can watch presentations , be online , IM people and stay connected always.

Cons

There are only few things that bothers me about this package.

1) During Screen sharing session desktop gets slowed down. I have experience slowness over a fast internet network also.

2) Very limited set of smileys. sometimes I am not able to express myself completely due to lack of default smileys. I have not seen any option to add/ download more smileys.

3) Attachments . Sending large attachments within instant messengers is not available. It would be great if attachments are sent using drag and drop feature.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Carissa J.
Industry: Higher Education
Company size: 10,001+ Employees

Great internal chat function - not great switching from mobile to desktop

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 10/12/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Overall this is a good tool and I would recommend it to other companies; however, if you are out of the office a lot and need a quick chat function, I would not use this product. I would use basic text or Microsoft Teams instead. The syncing issues in conversations are enough to think twice about using this as a basic work chat option, but the other functions (calling/screensharing) are ok if you already are paying for other microsoft software and this is bundled in the price

Pros

Very easy to use and good features (chat/screen sharing/calls). This has helped us communicate better with our partners overseas, especially for conference calls and screen sharing. Great for internal use for chat and also to add external business partners for chat and conference calls/screen sharing. We have utilized this with our overseas partners from many different countries and it has worked well as an option for quick communication, instead of always using email for simple questions.

Cons

Very robotic sounding audio that happens frequently in meetings. The connectivity is ok, but the audio is terrible most of the time. We have tested this with multiple different settings and different places/users, but the audio is subpar at best and not really reliable. Also, switching from mobile to desktop, and back again, is terrible. The messages dont come through all of the time, leaving missed conversations and awkward discussions with external partners (this happens with internal employees too). The desktop dashboard also shows when you are on mobile, which is a terrible feature if you dont always want/need your team or clients to know where you are.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Tuhin B.
Industry: Internet
Company size: 2-10 Employees

For past 8 years! I am using less phone call and more skype for business!

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 08/12/2019
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

I am using skype for business for more than 8 years since they had skype. Maximum time I am using it for collaboration with my clients and dealing with any projects. Skype is now my primary application to use on my mobile for making a call. I don't even use phone calls anymore that much.

Pros

1. Easy access to virtual numbers at the lowest price.
2. Can chat, group video.
3. Beautiful interface.
4. Multi device supported.
5. Screenshare, a best feature during the meeting with a client.

Cons

1. As I am located in the South West area. Sometimes phone call drops a lot for poor connections. But it does not happen always. Like 0.5% on everyday usage.
2. I wished they had a time zone and time visibility based on user profile or location within the chat interface.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 10,001+ Employees

Good Messaging tool

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 03/12/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Overall, it is an efficient and highly useful tool in an office environment, which works perfectly in Windows but needs a bit of improvement in MAC. It's instant, gives you everyone's status, so work can be planned, syncs with Outlook meetings and doesn't let anyone miss any notifications, which is crucial.

Pros

The messaging is instant and it indicates the availability of the users, which is helpful. What I like most about the tool is that it sends an email notification of any missed messages. That has saved me in many situations! It syncs up with Outlook and changes the availability according to the meetings. The tool is helpful while using a desktop/laptop as well as its mobile application, which I use it when I am away from my desk and still need to be connected. So, it can be used on the go too. The "Contact" feature is good, where I can create a contact group of my team and maybe favourite colleagues. That helps me arrange my contacts in a particular order and is also helpful during group conversations.

Cons

The tool has issues when using a MAC. The first and most frustrating issue is having multiple instances of a conversation with the same person. There should be one instance of a conversation with someone, which makes it easier to go back and search for something. However, in MAC, a new conversation line item opens for the same person every time they start a new conversation. It's hard to keep track of the chat flow.
The second and only issue is the absence of "In a Meeting" status in MAC. In MAC, the status changes to "Busy", every time there is a meeting. Hence, it's hard to distinguish when a person is busy with some work and when they are actually in a meeting. It's crucial at times to have an "In a meeting" status in an office environment and "Busy" just doesn't cut it.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Banking
Company size: 10,001+ Employees

Skype for Business: Unified Communication at its best!

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 18/11/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Most communications and conferencing needs are addressed by Skype for Business. Microsoft Teams might expand Skype possibilities when it will be fully deployed, but it will never replace it completely.

Pros

Skype for Business has a great user interface and lots of features to communicate with colleagues and partners (provide you federate with them through it). The UI is quite simple and easy to learn that you won't find any difficulty if you are using it for the first time, advanced functionalities like aking groups might require some learning though.
Starting conference calls is as easy as looking up a contact name you want to talk to and press a call button . Emoticon choiche is nice but not extensive but if you consider this not a teen chat app, they are OK. When integrated with Exchange and Outlook your conversations can be saved and you can access them later in a special folder in Outlook for future reference. Also when integrated with Exchange/Outlook and proper conferencing hardware, you get the capability to schedule meeting with proper links for phone and web calls to the conference, so participants can join wherever they are.
The Video call and screen sharing option are available along with chats and true life savers, especially the screen sharing, when you need your contact to show you something hard to explain or reproduce.
Presence is available and customizable and triggers can be set up to notify you when someone gets online or change status, to bug, ehm get in touch with them easily.
Add you can also make polls while having a chat with your participants and get instant results and you understand why Skype for Business is so popular.

Cons

File sharing options are not so rich, call recording does not seem to be a feature Microsoft invested enough time to develop, adding images inline in chats might be a nice feature that is missing.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Osamah A.
Industry: Computer & Network Security
Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees

Connect with your co-workers

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 10/09/2019
Review Source: Capterra

I have been using Skype for Business for almost 3 years now and I am completely satisfied with it.

I often connect with my friends and family through Skype video calls and the video quality is just amazing, the voice is fine and pure. Skype does have other features than calls that often come in handy and makes your work easier like the Whiteboard and the screen sharing features.

through 3 years of using Skype, I have realized how much it saved for me by letting me make tons of calls without charging a dime! I just love Skype for Business!

Pros

I love Skype for Business because it lets me connect with my friends, classmates or even with strangers that I meet in some online game! Skype has many many amazing features that I enjoy every day. it lets you voice call or even video call your friends in an HD resolution and high-quality audio for free and without any interruption.

I always make video calls with my entire class using Skype for Business. As it allows up to 250 different users to be connected in one single call, that is just amazing. we usually use this feature to discuss the class.

Another feature I like about Skype for Business is the screen sharing feature, in which you can share your desktop with someone else, he can see everything in your screen without needing to be beside you, that is very helpful.

Also, I like to use the Whiteboard which is like a work-space that you can use to explain and draw things on it. You can make your own Poll and get your friends to vote and display the results.

Cons

Bottom line, nothing to hate or dislike about Skype for Business, it is just the perfect phone (or video) calls platform. Some people might hate to pay some money for more features but it is worth it!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Travis A.
Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Daily User

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 29/08/2019
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

We take the good with the bad, but the benefits far exceed the few cons we've identified. We will continue to use Skype daily as it has become ingrained in the way we conduct business.

Pros

Big money saver for our business. Helps us eliminate the need for expensive phone networks and business travel. We have multiple locations around the country and Skype for business allows us to have frequent video conferences from location to location without business travel.
We have come to rely on it so much that most of our employees have moved away from desk phones to just using Skype for Business as their only phone. It's been a logical and easy transition for us.

Cons

Occasionally we have a weird glitch where it will shut down on us for some un-known reason. It's usually intuitive enough for some non-technical employee to get it figured out and fix it, but sometimes we have to call in the experts from our IT department to come bail us out.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Financial Services
Company size: 10,001+ Employees

An Extremely Versatile Means of Professional Communication

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 05/08/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Skype for Business is a phenomenal software that has truly incorporated a lot of features into one extremely easy-to-use application. Knowing that you can stay in communication with absolutely anyone in your firm, and knowing their availability throughout the entire workday makes it a very convenient application to use, which is why I will continue to use it as a my first option for communication and messaging at work. The subtle and slight change of granting a user the ability to save certain messages would be a large plus, but regardless of whether or not such a feature gets incorporated, the software remains highly useful, effective, and dynamic.

Pros

As briefly indicated by the title, the most valuable aspect of this software is its ability to truly serve as an extremely flexible channel of communication in both an active and a passive sense. Not only does the software function as a platform to send messages, chat casually and professionally, share your screen, easily upload and download files, and more, but it also functions as a way to keep tabs on the activities of your fellow co-workers without having to physically ask them whether they are fully available, busy, or in an important meeting where they cannot be disturbed. Since the software automatically updates whether you are away from your computer or on it, others can know if it is a good time to talk to you, or if you are currently inactive or busy. In addition, perhaps my personal favorite aspect of this software is that you can choose to not receive messages for a certain period of time. This makes me feel calm and relaxed when presenting my screen to a group of coworkers, knowing that no private information will pop up on my screen via a Skype chat.

Cons

Although this software has been truly helpful and rewarding throughout the years where I have used it on a daily basis, there is one small aspect where I have always felt like improvement could be made. Once a skype chat is closed, all messages are immediately lost and, as far as I know, there is no way to recover them. As a result, important information can be accidentally dismissed, or a crash of the application can cause info to get lost, forcing the user to have to ask for it again. This has been a relatively frequent problem that my co workers and I share, and has forced us to use another form of instant messaging when sending links that we may need to access multiple times. A feature to "save" messages or "pin" them would certainly be largely satisfactory to many users.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Media Production
Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees

Good for connecting with colleagues

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 08/07/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Overall, I have had a positive experience with Skype and would love to see them continually improve upon the product. I found that when using Skype for video calls, the quality is usually very good in terms of both the picture and audio.

Pros

Skype integrates very well with the Microsoft office suite and has enabled me and my colleagues to connect with each other instantly and effectively. I think it's great that Skype allows you to edit messages that were previously sent. This has enabled me to rectify embarrassing typos as well as correct vital information.

Our team also likes how you can setup different chats with specific individuals; this is very helpful when we need to share information with a more broad or limited audience. I also like how all users can easily view which members have been added to what chat.

When using skype for video calls, I like to use the screen share feature quite frequently for training during meetings as well.

Cons

In terms of features I would like to see, I think it would be great if Skype would have one more layer of backup for messages. There have been times where I deleted messages and wasn't able to restore them.

In the past, Skype would allow us to copy and paste information from multiple highlighted messages into our company database. However, in a recent update, skype did away with this feature and now we have to copy multiple messages one by one. This is very inconvenient and I would love to see this restored!

Skype also has issues with lagging and crashing that seem to be unrelated to our company network.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10