Microsoft Dynamics SL

4.1 (87)
Enterprise resource planning (ERP) solution

Overall rating

4.1 /5
(87)
Value for Money
3.9/5
Features
4.1/5
Ease of Use
3.9/5
Customer Support
3.9/5

87 Software options

Holly S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Have used Dynamics SL for around 8 years. Very comfortable with it and pretty easy to get use...

Reviewed on 09/01/2018

Using them daily, I understands many ins and outs. I've been cross trained over the years in many of the modules. I understand there will be an upgrade coming in the near future and look forward to seeing a preview of it.

Pros

Reporting is great. I use reports weekly for time sheets when entering in payroll, for commission data. All of the look up screens are simple and give great information-- such as in the modules for Accounts Receivable, Accounts Payable, Purchasing, and General Ledger.

Cons

Different modules do not speak to one another. You have to go to several different modules to complete a task, so multiple windows must be open at a time. It tends to slow down our servers and sometimes crashes when you are in the middle of something.

Timothy J.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Farming
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

SL may be a legacy product but provides solid value

Reviewed on 25/01/2020

It has been in use at my company for 14 years. While lacking a modern UI, it has been a good value for the investment.

Pros

The ability to develop custom software modules using their tools. We created three robust modules that integrate with core financial, project and distribution modules.

Cons

Microsoft doesn’t seem to put much investment in the product any longer. The legacy VB.Net Windows client is dated.

Jaroth M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Microsoft Dynamics a great tool for beginners

Reviewed on 09/11/2021

I think my experience working with this software was very good, because i have been familiarized with the microsoft software since 4 years ago and i think was very useful for me.

Pros

The Whole software is really useful, above all i think the tools and the interface is really helpful for the people that is starting with their own company, thanks to this software the employees can invest their time very well and working.

Cons

I think this software don´t have much cons, but if i can say something about it, it´s about the interface, it can be difficult for the new people use the software in a easy way.

Bonnie K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Government Administration
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

SSI Consulting/Dynamcis SL review

Reviewed on 18/02/2015

Pros

Dynamics SL is very flexible, and it handles government contracting very well. SSI does a great job of implementation and ongoing support. It is especially helpful that they understand the nuances of government contracting.

Cons

Being very flexible is good news and bad news. It means you have to be more thorough in your setup to make sure you get things the way you want them. It also means that the support consultant is critical to getting it right. SSI is great at this. Just wish there were more like them.

Dynamics SL is very flexible and great for government contractors. SSI is great in those areas as well. They have been extremely helpful, from planning and implementation through continual support.

Allison D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Philanthropy
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Microsoft Dynamics SL

Reviewed on 17/02/2017

Good product. Have been using it for 17+ years.

Pros

user friendly

Cons

located on a server rather than online

Magdalene I.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Micooft Dynamics SL - Making Accounting Much Easier

Reviewed on 31/08/2016

Pros

It helps me with entering time from any device.
For my company, less time needs to be invested to create invoices from timecards.
•Project profitability is guaranteed as we do less of the work that tends to lose us money and more lucrative work.
•The ease with which we are able to hide unwanted fields makes data entry simple especially for he users ho don't use computers on an ever day basis.

Cons

•When we have a lot of invoices rather than just a few large invoices, it can be frustrating by how long it takes Flexible Billings to generate a lot of invoices
•It would be nice if Dynamics SL had an easy integration to some of the nicer salestax tools but its ok

Mark L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer & Network Security
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Dynamics SL works for most

Reviewed on 08/01/2019

Pros

Microsoft Dynamics SL is a good program for tracking finance, service, human resources, and more. It worked well for most companies out of the box.

Cons

The problem with Microsoft Dynamics SL is it is not ideal for a lot of companies. The software is really limited in who it is useful for. I would like it to be more flexible.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

This product helps a lot of larger contractors effectively.

Reviewed on 23/03/2018

Helps our team plan logistics quickly and integrate our routes efficiently for our jobs.

Pros

I love the fact that this integrates with so many things. You can iframe forms within your website to pull all your data directly into the CRM (a much cheaper option than having a developer build api connections that auto populate the information).

Cons

I would say this is a pretty expensive product compared to what is out there. Once you get over that size though, this is a good pick.

Srajan R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Review of Microsoft Dynamics SL

Reviewed on 15/11/2016

Organizations that have challenging project accounting needs should definitely review this product. Very few products come close to Dynamics SL in handling these broader project accounting needs as well as Dynamics SL.

Pros

Provides flexibility for complex project based cost accounting.
Flexible reporting and billing.

Cons

Improve the budgeting and forecasting.

Sagar C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Review of Microsoft Dynamics SL

Reviewed on 15/11/2016

Installation and implementation require a lot of steps. Partner´s community is decreasing because of the raising of new ERP companies that are using new technologies to build its software.

Pros

I love the fact that Dynamics SL is extremely customizable when it comes to fitting my business needs. It is backed by arguably the biggest software name in the industry so the overall quality is definitely apparent.

Cons

The learning curve was a little steep for me which comes as a result of it being such flexible software. However, once learned, it is a very valuable resource and tool.

Robert p M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Ms Dynamics

Reviewed on 19/01/2017

I have used this product for over 10 years and have been very satisfied with an excellent business tool.

Pros

Ease of Use and Interface capabilities.

Cons

Learning curve.

Payal S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Review of Microsoft Dynamics

Reviewed on 17/11/2016

We have been using Microsoft Dynamics SL 2011 for a while now and it seems to fit most of our needs. It is not super user friendly or intuitive and does take some training and a little time to get into. It is fairly easy to customize yourself if you are a tech minded person. The database is very well documented and easy to navigate which is a huge plus for developing custom reports. There are a couple reporting suites that go with this, we use FRX and like it for the most part. I have built several custom reports using SSRS simply because it is easier and provides easier access to everyone in the company without any software installed.

Allen V.
Overall rating
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great program

Reviewed on 21/11/2016

Its a good program the helps with payments and more, makes work easier.Its actually not complicated like other programs out there.

Pros

Great easy

Joanne C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Microsoft

Reviewed on 06/12/2016

Love it works better then any of them out there it's a ease to handle lays outs payroll, time sheets .

Marielis H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Marielis Hernandez

Reviewed on 06/12/2016

It good program. This program offers a large variety of things to do that makes our jobs simple .

Anastasis A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Review Source

Overall rating

Reviewed on 31/01/2018

Hem T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Very Good

Reviewed on 18/07/2017

Pros

very easy to use and great in value for the money, overall quality is great for the beginner and new comer.

Cons

Pretty complicated, feature and functionality is not great to use, could be more easy to work around

Ramses miguel P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

A good accounting

Reviewed on 04/11/2021

In my overall experience, this software has helped me to keep my finance record well organized. I will continue using it because the software complies with my necessities.

Pros

Its uneasiness made me feel like an accounting savvy, I have been using this software for a couple of months, it is practical and useful.

Cons

I could say that the only thing that I really don't quite like is the price, I feel that it is a little bit expensive although the product is quite good.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

If you are a mid-small size organization. Look no further

Reviewed on 09/09/2021

Pros

Ease of deployment. World class technical team to partner with. Cost effective. Product documentation to help with self-help after deployment. Easy and affordable support options to choose from.

Cons

Customizations. I had no problem with using this in our organization other than limited customization options. You pay for what you get. I love MS Dynamics. It was affordable. We were evolving into a mid-large size organization with complex inner-workings therefore I had to look for other options.

Elizabeth D.
Overall rating
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great and reliable software!

Reviewed on 19/02/2018

We are currently using this software for accounting in our company

Pros

I love how extremely customizable Dynamics SL is when it comes to fitting our team needs. Also it is backed by the biggest software name in the industry so the overall quality is great

Cons

It's learning cuve is very steep because of the degree of customization built in it. But otherwise is a really great tool.

Taylor C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Dynamics SL Review - I recommend it!

Reviewed on 15/04/2016

Pros

I love the fact that Dynamics SL is extremely customizable when it comes to fitting my business needs. It is backed by arguably the biggest software name in the industry so the overall quality is definitely apparent.

Cons

The learning curve was a little steep for me which comes as a result of it being such flexible software. However, once learned, it is a very valuable resource and tool.

Paul H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Controller of private company, using Microsoft Dynamics SL

Reviewed on 06/02/2015

Pros

The product is written by one of the best names out there, Microsoft, and is supported by a great team. Getting a hold of them is easy and working with them is a pleasure.

Cons

It is built with today's technology, using SQL and Crystal; tools that my IT staff is familiar with. The database is easy to navigate and the programs can be easily integrated with our own home grown system. Microsoft is always trying to improve the product and in this latest release (SL2015), they have really hit a home run with some of the new tools, features and enhancements!

Robert V.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Seamless and effective.

Reviewed on 19/09/2016

Pros

Pricing was very fair, and rollout was smooth. Product performs almost exactly as advertised!

Cons

Needed a bit more customization than we originally discussed.

Kelby B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Assistant General Manger

Reviewed on 08/09/2016

Pros

Organized numbers and easy to read/use!
Your business will love this software

Cons

Cost is a little high at first but after awhile it pays for itself

Michelle B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 4.0 /10

Microsoft Project Management

Reviewed on 21/02/2017

Microsoft Project Management software has pretty much had a market monopoly for many years in terms of powerful functionality. However, the choices have become more diverse without sacrificing powerful management features. Also, I have found other applications much more user-friendly with ongoing training support & superior customer service.

Pros

Functionality

Cons

Complex, not user friendly, low level of customer service, expensive.