Dynamics 365 Business Central

3.8 (96)
Enterprise resource planning for SMBs, formerly Dynamics NAV

Overall rating

3.8 /5
(96)
Value for Money
3.4/5
Features
3.7/5
Ease of Use
3.4/5
Customer Support
3.6/5

96 Software options

Ashley R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Consumer Goods
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

The new way to do business

Reviewed on 17/09/2019

Our business is running smoother since changing but we are slowly getting everything in the new system. It is taking some time but it easy to find orders/invoices when you know what to look for. I use it daily to send invoices, correct price errors, correct PO numbers.

Pros

I like that we are able to have all of our stages in one program. From our quotes to our invoices, we can keep track of the progress of each transaction. You can search by customer, order number, PO number, amount and there are many more options. After some training and a better understanding of how accounting works, I have excelled at understanding what needs to be done to correct issues or fix errors. I appreciate the ability to put notes on each quote, order, and invoice.

Cons

I wish there was a little more features such as having automatic invoices from multiple vendors but I think they may be working on that. I also wish there was a creation date for invoices and not just a posting date. I also wish there was a way to link invoices after you have made a change/correction such as the PO number being incorrect. Once you change the PO number, you have no idea that it went to another invoice.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Keeps everything in once place.

Reviewed on 06/01/2021

Pros

Dynamics allowed me to stay organised. as D-365 has many tools , with all the variety of plug-ins, setting up automation and communication takes some work but it is really easy to see how my pipeline is working and have a single view of the company in one single dashboard.

Cons

it would have been great if it had a bit more features . i think that the reporting is the Achilles heel of the platform, it's a time-consuming task and not very straight forward as done in other platforms

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Dynamics 365 Business Central

Reviewed on 20/09/2021

Pros

Integration with outlook is the best. No more downloading and sending separate emails.
I also liked the fact that it comes with a BI tool for reporting, this was a crisis on Dynamics Navision 2009.
The price for the product is very reasonable for small and bigger companies.

Cons

Difficult to get support from the partners who implemented.

Deepak B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Our 18 month experience on MS Dynamics

Reviewed on 10/07/2015

Pros

MS Dynamics is pretty user-friendly considering the other CRM products in the market. It's got a pretty good coverage in terms of customer engagement process. Right from Presales interaction center to post sales Services, it covers most processes. Microsoft as a vendor is placed well to offer this as a cloud offering as its also owns Azzure

MS Dynamics does have a mobile app for Apple devices which is pretty useful and easy to use. That helps in user adoption on field.

The support provided by MS is good, but gets activated only when situation gets into emergency mode.

Cons

The comercials could have been more affordable. I would have loved more seamless integration between Dynamics and Navision as both are from the same family. Easy to deploy mobile applications for Andriod phone is something which would have been really useful

Yessica R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great software to support accounting processes!

Reviewed on 13/06/2019

A great tool for everyday accounting processes: reports, invoices, and managing different outlets within the company.

Pros

It is easy to run reports, since all the data you might need is in there. We use it to make invoices, and pro-forma invoices. It is great to have and keep our customer's database updated. It's easy to add new data. Be able to customize the data you use it everyday is a big plus.

Cons

Managing this software requires a lot of practice. You have to get familiar with it before run important reports and invoices. If there are too many processes at once, it can run slow and even block you out, so you'll have to wait until the system get less busy.

Erin D.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Account and financial record needs

Reviewed on 18/01/2018

Pros

Accounting, G/L/ Receivables. Fairly straightforward and easy to use. Use from time it was GP 10. Standard reports were easy to use.

Cons

Glitches from time to time, we only had a certain amount of users accounts purchased and at times had more people trying to use so couldn't log in, but that isnt a software con. Just a con that you have to purchase a number of users.

Misbah S.
Overall rating
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Ease of use

Reviewed on 27/07/2018

I have used the software for almost 9 months, and have found it to be very user friendly, with excellent presentation. It is normally quick, software does not crash often and it works well for many different type of industries.

Pros

Very user friendly
Good presentation
Excellent layout - easy to search for whatever you need
Good use of headings and sub-headings
Being able to import from Excel, and transfer any journals into Excel easily

Cons

Maybe not the best for reporting purposes, or hard to find a way straight away
Could be a more efficient way to import transactions from Excel

Suman K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Consumer Goods
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

2nd Best Erp Software Available in Industry After SAP

Reviewed on 24/05/2017

It Helped our Company to Automate Essential Business Process With the help of Information Technology.

Pros

Its User Interface and Very Less Consumption of System Resources is one of the very best Features of this ERP Software.

Cons

Vey Bad Service Quality of The company Which Helped to Implement this ERP In our company.
They Took More than a Year to Implement This Software but Yet Its under Process.

Lacey H.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Clunky navigation! And the email integration is rough.

Reviewed on 06/09/2017

Pros

The dashboards and deal registration for our sales team works well. Advanced finds have been helpful.

Cons

ClickDimensions as a marketing tool is hard to navigate. And I don't feel like the modules make sense.

Viktoria A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Easy system to use

Reviewed on 10/07/2018

Pros

Microsoft NAV is easy to use and navigate, performs well and being in HR the functions I need are easy to get to

Cons

Not sure if this is a function selected in the implementation process but the only part I don't like is that payroll does not have access to the employee profiles and only HR can update their information

Ajay G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Mining & Metals
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Microsoft Dynamics NAV - Re engineering software dimensions

Reviewed on 03/10/2018

Pros

Ease of use
Super customisable
Connectors to sync with other softwares

Cons

it should be available with other platforms like Mac etc

Rebecca B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Microsoft Dynamics NAV

Reviewed on 21/08/2018

Pros

It works fairly well, we are however a manufacturing company and this is made for product on the shelf. It provides all the information that I need.

Cons

At times I feel that I need to look in several spots to find the information that I need. I use the Query button the most so that I am not missing information.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Accounting Intern

Reviewed on 21/01/2019

It is good

Pros

Categories of Account Receivable, Account Payable, and General Ledger

Cons

it has lot of information that I need to learn

Wholesaler
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

Great flexibility combined with easily projectable cost

Reviewed on 28/08/2012

Since our upgrade from NAV 4.0 to the cloud based NAV 2009 R2 solution our business changed a lot. Despite a relatively high fluctuation of employees and also sales our ERP solution has never been a concern. As we outsourced almost all our hardware to the cloud we didn't suffer from high fix cost when our business didn't go as expected and the Albrecht Solutions NAV 2009 in the cloud proves it's value again at the moment as our Business is picking up again. One phone call and a new virtualized work station is set up, including desktop, user rights and mobile access which allows most of our employees to work from home at least one day a week. Our employees love the clean and self explaining GUI of Microsoft Dynamics NAV 2009 which integrates into the Microsoft world perfectly. In case assistance is required we benefit from our single point of contact at Albrecht Solutions and our monthly flat rate support hours wich are included in our customized SLA. We are very much loocking forward to new business challenges then we know we have a flexible, powerful and state of the art IT solution in the back that lets us concentrate on our key competences.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Accounting software

Reviewed on 25/09/2018

It is very user friendly and it keeps all the required data and is helpful to generate reports for the organisation.

Pros

It is a very systematic software which adds to the functionality of accounting.

Cons

It's outlook and the format can be improvised.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Very customisable, but has a few bugs

Reviewed on 03/05/2021

Pros

It's very simple to set up, and I think and it's very intuitive to use. It makes it convenient to search for specific clients and send them documents all in one go. Really does cut down in paper.

Cons

There are some bugs - particularly when it comes to printing certain things like checks and banking invoices. Some of the features as well are a bit complicated and irritating to use. There are also some times where it lags and is a bit slow which makes it really irritating.

Brian B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

I use this for manufacturing sales

Reviewed on 01/11/2017

Pros

very easy to navigate, most people can step in and be able to navigate this program. It certainly takes time off of my daily tasks!

Nitin C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 1.0 /10

Worst Experience from Microsoft Partner !! Think ten times before selecting Microsoft Navision...

Reviewed on 23/01/2017

Not a good Support from Microsoft. There is no control of Microsoft Regional Team on their Chanel Partners who is spoiling the reputation of Microsoft Products. They are only interested in selling the Numbers of Licenses. No monitoring from Microsoft even on cheating cases disputed cases by their Chanel partners.
Microsoft Navision Product would be Great through Proper implementation as all you required, Must have Microsoft Regional Team support for Monitoring partners implementation activities.

Pros

That NAV is customizable with good Features for Small Businesses. But Partner selection is Crucial!

Cons

Microsoft is not supportive of customers issues . There was no training materials Manuals provided, Even the customer Source Login do not provide the required information & control to customer.

Novak H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Review Source

Overall rating

Reviewed on 02/10/2018

Sazzadun nabi S.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

Reviewed on 08/08/2018

Jessica S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Government Administration
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 3.0 /10

Not for Case Management

Reviewed on 25/02/2020

It was used as case management for the Board of Professional Responsibility. The needs did not match the software functionality.

Pros

There were some cool features like the filter capabilities. The dashboard was customizable which was nice. You could see what was important to you.

Cons

I did not like using DMS for case management. It was cumbersome and very touchy. If you clicked anything that was green it would take you to another page. Many times information would have to be input in several places. There is no easy way to view a lot of information at once on your screen using this software. To read an entire case’s history you would have to open numerous other pages.

Hunter H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Machinery
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great Product

Reviewed on 23/10/2019

Microsoft has always been a great service that our company enjoys using. This service continues to strengthen the brand of Microsoft.

Pros

The thing i like is that the interface is easy to use. The setup requirements are better than the normal setup ideals.

Cons

I did not like how it is difficult to add users into our system. Not everyone has had a positive experience with this software.

Alternatives Considered

vSphere

Reasons for Switching to Dynamics 365 Business Central

We knew that Microsoft would provide the best front and back end support to our business.
Thomas S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Property Management for Dynamics NAV is a great solution for Real Estate Companies

Reviewed on 26/05/2017

Better collaboration, higher transparency, less redundant data and work.

Pros

With PMX Property Management we can manage almost our entire operations with this solution. We especially like that the solution provides a very stong and flexible accounting base with a lot of reporting tools available.

Cons

As with every integrated solution people have to adapt to the fact that all information is in one data base afterwards. The learning process for everybody that one's actions / entries influence all others takes some time.

Fiona J.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Good for property management if you use the add-on

Reviewed on 26/01/2017

I liked the solution so far, it's easy to learn and use, even if requires some time to understand the logic. Just as any other software I guess. Together, it's a great solution, allows us to manage all aspects from accounting to leasing to reporting. We use it on a subscription base.

Pros

Flexible can be adjusted to our business. NAV partner Admiral is very supportive. We liked subscription option, did not need to invest upfront. Integrated accounting and lease management allow having all numbers in one place and it gets easy to analyze. Much faster tenant billing process than we had before. Good training material from Soft4RealEstate.

Cons

Smart NAV partner is needed. Even with a subscription, there is a set-up fee and we had to invest some amounts into development. But now we have what we need. Much of info on NAV in Customersource, but need time to search for it.

Renate C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great software that covers all operation of real estate management.

Reviewed on 26/05/2017

We can provide better customer service because everybody finds their needed information faster and more secure. That is a big advantage for all.

Pros

The best thing is that we got rid of many Excel-files that provided the connections between our individual tasks. Now there all data in one place and everybody can can get to their taks-realted information and data easliy. That is a big progress for all!

Cons

Due to the one-software-covers-the-whole-company idea, it is complex and needs some training. But the PMX-people are always there for us on the other hand.