1,468 reviews

Overall rating

4.5 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
95%
recommended this app
1,468 reviews
Shishir C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Excellent tool for Data Visualization with simplicity

Reviewed on 25/06/2019

I have worked on domains like Telecom and Network where in I have been using Tableau. Its really liked by senior management as it shows each and every bit very clearly to relevant stake holders. For example, Marketing head likes region wise revenue sale dashboard which gives region/sales manager/product wise sale.

Pros

There are many features which lot of users would have liked:-
1. Connection to almost all database
2. Many types of Charts can be created including Sankey, Doughnut, Maps etc.
3. Its has the feature of data blending and data extraction
4. Dashboards can be viewed on multiple devices like tablet, mobile and laptops.
5. Its really fast while drilling down or filtering out from any dashboard.

Cons

Its a bit expensive tool as compared to other data visualization tools however its a value for money.

Alessio G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Best BI tool both for technician and business users

Reviewed on 28/04/2021

Really positive. A leader among BI tools in the last years for Gartner.

Pros

For business user: it is really easy to develop beautiful insights and dashboards in minutes.
For BI technician: it is easy to customize dashboards to meets users needs without hard coding.

Cons

Data manipulation and ETL development overall is not so easy as in other tool. Sometimes Tableau Prep helps in such trasformation.
Performance can be an issue sometimes.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Very useful tool for data analysis

Reviewed on 16/03/2021

Normally, businesses are using this tool but PhD students working on a large amount of data can benefit from this software as well. Creating clean and concise visuals is very convenient.

Pros

Generating insight is very easy and quick with the help of Tableau.

Cons

It is very expensive but it has a free license for students so students can try freely.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Defense & Space
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Tableau Lets You Become Productive in Minutes

Reviewed on 24/01/2019

Tableau and especially Tableau server has helped our business share data much more efficiently and accurately than the old method of emailing spreadsheets and presentations around. The ability for anyone to manipulate the data and answer their own questions allows analysts to concentrate on the truly difficult and unique problems instead of cranking out a never-ending series of custom reports. Having the data connected to live source or warehoused data means everyone is up to date all the time.

Pros

Tableau is exceptionally easy to pick up and be productive, and has the ability to connect to almost any data source you can imagine, including REST APIs (though this is a pretty advanced process).

Cross database joins are an amazing feature that allow you to mix data from Excel, Oracle, MySQL and others on a single dashboard.

There are a ton of online resources available from Tableau, and the broader user community which help you in the event that you get stuck on a thorny issue.

Tableau also supports the Tableau Public desktop software which allows anyone to create and share visualizations for free on the web (though data sources are severely limited with Tableau Public).

Cons

Price is an issue, particularly if you're an individual or a small business. Woe be unto you if you're a small business and you'd like to set up a Tableau server.

There are some functions which we've all grown accustomed to in Excel which new users will expect to be in Tableau but just aren't--robust Conditional Formatting, for instance. However, in most cases there are workarounds and other ways of accomplishing the same task.

While it's easy to become quickly productive, most users will outgrow the easy stuff pretty quickly as they attempt join new data sources, or produce more complicated visualizations.

Griffin B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Tableau Rocks!

Reviewed on 07/01/2019

Overall, Tableau is a fantastic program for getting automated reports created, published, and off your plate! The visuals are amazing and the subscriptions and alert system are my absolute favorite. The software has its quirks but I've yet to have a problem I couldn't logically program my way around with a little time spent on web forums. Amazing software, very useful, exciting to use!

Pros

I love Tableau because, to me, there is almost nothing else out there that does data visualization so quickly and so effectively. I love that you can import almost any kind of data source (I only use SQL or Excel as sources, but there are hundreds of other options). I love that you can then add your own calculated fields, group data into custom buckets, and create parameters which the user can input on the published workbook. I love that you can visualize the data so quickly and in so many ways (with color and shape/size as further attributes). It's like a pivot chart in Excel but so much more agile to use! Finally, I love that you can then build dashboards with these individual reports/worksheets that you create, publish them onto the web, and essentially "set it and forget it," thereby providing your end users with future reporting that is automatic and requires no further work on your end! The real beauty is the creation of alerts and subscriptions, which can email users on a schedule or depending on certain conditions. That's when life really gets exciting--it's like having a full-time robot managing your processes!

Cons

I definitely wish Tableau could write back to a database. That would be amazing. I've heard it's in the works, but for now, it's still just on my wish list. I dislike various aspects about Tableau that can make it quite tricky to use. When you publish a data source, you should really publish it first before creating any calculated fields, groups, or parameters. Otherwise, it becomes much more difficult to edit these fields later as you have to re-download the published data source to make your edits to those fields, and then republish your data source, which results in my having to ask IT to re-input the server refresh password to get the data to refresh on a schedule again. This is a tremendous headache. So it's best to create and save new fields at the workbook level, not the data source level. There are also a great many bugs I still run into with Tableau from time to time. Strange behaviors that show me it was created by a human being, as all software is. There is usually a way to figure out a workaround but you have to get creative. Tableau is quirky, for sure. Some actions in the local program work great but don't necessarily translate to the web form. For example, if you create a calculated field that depends on data from two different sources, that works great locally, but it doesn't work well once you publish those data sources to the Tableau Server, because, for some reason, it does not allow the calculation to draw from the separately published data.

Janosch F.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

The future of Big Data visualisation and processing

Reviewed on 25/11/2018

It took me some time to understand the scope and approach of Tableau. During this time i was confused and sometimes frustrated as It was hard to get static reports out of tableau. Once however I understood the magic behind it (well actually it wasn't Tableaus fault, but just me being stubborn) a whole new world of analyzing data opened up. A Magnificent, splendid, dynamic and playful way of getting answers from data and a completely new way of thinking questions to ask from my data. If you do not have to create static reports which you want to mail daily to a bunch of people but want to explre the secrets your data holds This is THE tool. Definite recommendation.

Pros

Tableau is centered around you as a user asking questions to your data. It is as simple as that and it works in ways not imagined before. Via graphical user antierface and drag and drop you combine aspects of your data and visualize relations. The coolest thing is that Tableau supports you without pushing or distracting. The process is emergent and makes it possible to walk the line from coherence to causality and have fun along the way. The End results look great and can be reformated by a couple of clicks in order to shift perspective or look from a different angle or with a different point of interest towards your findings. Tableu picks you up where you are and you can run it as SAAS or on premise, depending on your preferences. Also the API is simple and powerful, making the integration as a dedicated reporting and statistcs module, or more precise data visualisation playground to your existing product easy and convenient. By doing so you can add tableaus product-versatility, ease of use and beauty to a product and participate from its user friendly and open aproach to data analysis.

Cons

The licensing was a bit of a hassle as we started in the early days of tableau. Also Sales were very eager and pretty actively tried to support us. This never was a bad thing, just a bit too much. Also Tableau introduced support for document based databases rather later than earlier so we had a slight wait there. Then again, every time the did include a feature it was just bug free and worked like a charm so this was allright as well.
Two things are especially important when evaluating Tableau, from my point of view: The data you whish to process with it must adhere to a minimal standard (or you will have to do a lot of conversion before you can enjoy it within tableau). So older datasources might become somewhat bothersome or at least require a preprocessing step. Most important is that you understand what tableau is for: You will have a great time when dynamically and actively exploring data, even rapidly changing data or real time streams. If you use a tool for creating static reports you waste the potential of this great piece of human engineering and might run into issues.

Virginia M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Tableau Desktop is my must-have software. I couldn't do my job without it (nor would I want...

Reviewed on 05/12/2017

Tableau has allowed our office to look at data in new ways. Whether we're using it for data exploration or dissemination, it makes the information easy to understand and use, even for newbies. In the past, we used spreadsheets and PDFs to share data with various constituents, but they were dense and only offered a static view of the data. Now, with interactive dashboards, end-users can not only search for the exact information they need, they can also see how it fits into the big picture. This capability has led people to ask more questions and actually get excited about data and assessment. Tableau allows us to answer those new questions quickly and accurately than before.

Pros

I have been using Tableau Desktop for over five years now and I still get excited about it. First, Tableau is so easy to learn and use--the intuitive interface allows even first-time users to create amazing visualizations. Second, Tableau is a time saver. What used to take me weeks now takes days and what used to take days now takes minutes. Third, Tableau is versatile. There are many different chart types available, and with the ability to tweak everything from size to font to color, your imagination is the only limit. Fourth, Tableau is always evolving and improving. With each update, Tableau adds new features and capabilities that continuously make my job easier to perform. The software is capable of connecting with data in many different formats from spreadsheets and SQL to PDF's and spatial files, making it useful for any field or company that works with data. I could go on and on about the benefits of using Tableau, but the best way to understand my enthusiasm is to try the product--it speaks for itself!

Cons

Sometimes large data files can take several minutes to load. Tableau allows for the creation of extracts to speed up the process, but the initial upload still takes time. Tableau also does not have an auto-save feature, which has caused me to lose work on several occasions.

Kelli M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Insurance
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Excellent Product but Poor Support

Reviewed on 31/07/2020

I've been using the software for about five years and it has been able to provide insight into our data in a way that no other tool has been able to. However, support is terrible for this product and some of the versions are released with a few bugs. We will likely continue to this but it is imperfect.

Pros

The software is very powerful tool and excellent visualization tool. It is easy to get started and there is a ton of free training available. The pool of users is great and the community is very helpful to new and existing users.

Cons

The support we pay for is almost worthless. We frequently solve the problem ourselves and it is time consuming to submit everything via their helpdesk with nothing to show for it. Providing logs and files and emailing with someone on the west coast outside of normal east coast business hours is frustrating. Tickets get "escalated" to the engineering team and that ends up being code for "we don't know and this won't be fixed by us". Turnover for their sales representatives indicates it isn't a great company to work for either.

Sergio S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Insurance
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great for dashboards, but training is required

Reviewed on 05/12/2019

I generally use tableau to show sales data on dashboards to executives. Overall experience is great now that I have enough skill to operate and manipulate the data to generate what I want.

Pros

I like that you can merge different data sources to generate new views of data. for example, overlay a census report above your sales data and have a demographic profile of sales for the country. Also the hundred different graphs and charts to choose from. this scores me high points with the executives when I show them a fancy graphic in meetings.

Cons

We had some trouble with tableau speaking to our servers and applications which took longer that we wanted before we could start using live data to run reports. You must clean your data before you upload to tableau. the data scrubbing system on tableau needs work. This makes it difficult when using live data. I usually just use and extract, clean and upload.

Manas M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Data Analysis has become effective with tableau, its a analysis with computation tool

Reviewed on 10/10/2020

Tableau is a great tool , its designed for complex data analysis, it works wonderfully , especially with databases as datasource

Pros

Tableau is a great tool for analysing data, unlike XL sheets the data is stored and we can analyse only the stored data, in tableau data can reside any ware it can be in any database or even in files , we can analyse them, (it supports many type of data sources), the data source can even be a complex query and can join multiple sources in different ways,

Tableau can compute the data further for analysis, data is segregated into dimension and values and this value can be computing , assume it as in xl sheet there a cell value can be computation of other and this chain can continue,

Can add interactive filters in the analysis screen,
host these dashboards on server, the server maintains the history of uploaded changes , kind of a version control , can revert back and forth , can also download the versions,

It has data refresh options , like live and scheduled , the like always queries the datasources and shows the data, ware as the scheduled runs the refresh on scheduled times, we can write the schedule logic in the server,

have a good community support and documentations,

it dose provide a 30days free trial on the tableau application, after which we need a product key

Cons

Don't have proper version control in tableau, could have a feature like integrating with git, since there is no such feature parallel development cant be done, this is like a single developer works on a dashboard at a time, i think we can copy one sheet from different dashboard to another its a good thing thow sort of can archive parallel development but its not a clear way

Anuj S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great BI Tool - Lovely Friendly Pretty!

Reviewed on 01/09/2018

• Anyone will be able to make Pretty visualization without much prior experience and can decipher stories underneath data.
• It was really easy for me to pick up the tool and get on the speed. Really like this BI Tool but it does have its limitations.
• Great for visualizations but if you want a BI Tool for numeric/tabular reports especially for financial reports - you should probably consider some other tool. With that being said, its totally worth the money for all other BI needs and seriously the best BI Tool available!

Pros

• Awesome BI Tool
• Very User-friendly
• Pretty visualization
• Easy to ramp up. Even new users can get to the speed really fast
• Tableau Reader is free - so developers can make it and anyone can view it for free
• Creating Interactive Dashboards and Storyboards is an awesome way to tell a story with the data - Great for presentations!
• While you can have only limited developer licenses but pretty much anyone in your organization can view or even interact with Tableau reports on the server - which is very nice if your audience is huge. Easy to export data/reports in Excel and PDF.

Cons

• Not much flexible for numeric/tabular reports, if you need a BI Tool for Finance reports - you really need this part!
• If you are building a tabular report with numbers you will miss few very basic and must have things - assigning row numbers. There is no such feature to append row numbers.
• In tabular reports, your hierarchy will remain fixed for every section. You can't have 2 rows in section and 3 in other. All secitions will be rigid.

Thomas Y.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Tableau is my go-to tools for quick, nicely looking dashboards and data visualization

Reviewed on 26/04/2018

I get real-time data visualization from Tableau Software and a platform for posting cool and useful data visualizations without having to purchase a server.

Pros

Tableau is the software I use most (outside of Excel). The software's visualization tools are nice, at times amazing. Tableau connects with every data source I've ever needed (with the exception of one problem). The interactive capabilities and Tableau Public make for a perfect fit for a beginner to intermediate data visualizer. Advanced data visualizers probably find the functionality somewhat constraining, but that's one of the benefits of the software. Tableau is more than just a supped-up Excel graphics system. The analytical capabilities, although not best in class, offer all the basic calculations that most users will ever need.

Cons

Tableau is limited in its analytical capabilities. Tableau is working on making its use of R script more user friendly, although this requires the user to know R. Tableau's graphs are also somewhat limited at times, and Tableau for some reason takes pride in limiting its options (it apparently knows better than the user on what graphs are useful).

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Other for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Visualize your data with Tableau

Reviewed on 14/04/2019

Truth be told, our company was only given a trial period for Tableau so I did not have an opportunity to fully explore the software as much as I would have liked. However, during the duration of the trial, I was able to quickly build some useful analytics. An example was an interactive map of the United States which allowed me to show location based data along with sales information for the line of business I support. The map displayed color coded regional information which could be easily drilled down to mortgage branch locations with hover boxes showing production data. Although the trial was for evaluation purposes for the time being, in the short amount of time I had to use the software, I could tell that Tableau would certainly be a viable application to significantly improve and streamline the way our department does reporting.

Pros

Tableau makes creating visually stunning dashboards and info-graphics relatively easy. You start by connecting to a data source (SQL database, Excel flat file, etc.) and then using various tools to present your information and analytics in a graphical way that's easy for your audience to understand. It supports a great deal of data input formats and offers a lot of flexibility in how to analyze and display information. Plus, the visualizations you create can be static for delivery via a rendered format like PDF or PowerPoint or published on the web for an interactive experience. You can present information at a high level and let your report audience drill into to the details.

Cons

There is a bit of a learning curve. I am a fairly good self-learner and when I first start using new software. I like to tinker and experiment before diving into documentation and manuals. Tableau is not difficult by any means, but some of the tasks you want to accomplish are not going to be obvious in terms of how they function. For example, I struggled at first with figuring out how to add subtotals to some data I had brought in. Of course I was able to readily do so once I researched via help files but that's the sort of thing I would have thought to be more intuitive and easy to figure out on my own first.

Greg P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Tableau is the Industry Standard for Data Visualization

Reviewed on 26/10/2017

Streamlined our reporting - provided informative dashboards to our executive team and staff.

Pros

I use tableau as an analyst every day and I like the ability to create rich visualizations from different kinds of datasets. If you are of a creative and problem solving mindset there is almost a limitless set of complex Vizzes that you can design using Tableau.

Cons

I think Tableau can be less than intuitive. While there is almost unlimited capabilty, often it's difficult to immediately understand what is required to solve your problem. It's good however that there is a huge customer base and forums that can help you. It's often better to solve your problems in the database rather than with Tableau. Use it as the Viz layer as much as you can and try to limit usage of it in doing calculations, especially with big datasets. Performance can degrade.

In the dashboard design there should be a little bit more finetuning of the interface. Can't copy/paste items which would be a nice feature.

Customer support staff are extremely professional and friendly - if you can get a hold of them. Tableau support has fallen away recently I have found.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Oil & Energy
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

All-In-One application for you company needs...

Reviewed on 05/11/2019

I've worked with many different computer languages and applications over the past 30 years, and I wish this application had been there from the beginning. The need to understand every field's settings (e.g. numberic versus text, etc) is now no longer a problem.

Also the ease of creating dashboards that are legible and concise is amazing! Plus, the online community is only a few keystrokes away to helping resove any challenges. In a nutshell, this application works!

Pros

Seamlessly aggregate data from various data sets into one database.
An application for both the programmer and the non-programmers.
Excellent pain-free dashboards!

Cons

Initial logic for connecting data sources into properly filtered data was a little bit of a learning curve, but not too difficult.

Danielle B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Medical Devices
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Tableau review

Reviewed on 29/10/2019

Overall, Tableau does a great job providing data for you to use for quarterly reviews for customers. It's easy to transfer the information to presentations.

Pros

This software is great for pulling data when looking at sales. It allows you to see year to date and month to year. Depending on how the dashboard is organized, it is easy to navigate and does a great job showing visuals with the data.

Cons

With a lot of data it can be hard to set up exactly how you need to view the data. We have changed the look on our dashboards to make it easier to navigate. However, breaking down products to be able to sort them into different categories can be difficult.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Religious Institutions
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The Ultimate Custom Data Visualization!

Reviewed on 12/03/2019

Tableau has taken our organization into whole new seasons of innovation and effective leadership! It's helped all of our team members to see the value (no puns intended) of data, no matter their role or position. It's also inspired many team members to ask more questions, which leads to richer data and more helpful visualizations to help us grow!

Pros

As someone in my organization who frequently analyzes our data and initially built some of our team Workbooks, I love how incredibly detailed the customization and building can be!

Cons

It takes a lot of time to thoroughly learn how to build workbooks and to understand the "language" of Tableau on the backend. When I transitioned into the role where I needed to construct some unique views and workbooks for my team, the training time investment was more than I anticipated, and I still learned as I went. Be sure you have patient instructors and give your Tableau experts the full time they need to feel confident - this will allow them the freedom and comfort to "play" with more data!

William S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Professional Training & Coaching
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Good Product, but Challenging to Learn and Implement

Reviewed on 17/07/2019

Overall our experience has been positive and I'd recommend the product to other businesses, especially if they have a strong in-house IT team who can configure and support the product better than we have been able to.

Pros

Tableau is a great product for producing usable information. We used to have a lot of data, but it was difficult to analyze it and develop information we could use to manage our business. We looked at Tableau and determined it would remedy this for us, and in fact, it did. We now have a better handle on the various aspects of our business and can make more informed decisions.

Cons

The software was difficult to use and set up. Once we got the hang of it and with a lot of support from Tableau, it became easier. I'm not sure we're using the product to its full potential yet, and some of this is due to our being intimidated about exploring the product's functionality.

Alan J.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

I saved lot of my time using this business analytics software, plus, I enjoy using it!

Reviewed on 15/08/2018

Pros

The application is very easy to use and understand. I had started to use Tableau Software a couple of months back, the interactive dashboards are very clear and help us understand what the figures mean, giving us an overall picture. There are different types of customizable charts and tweaking them is a lot of fun too. These kinds of visualizations are very important, especially while you consider the analytics, it keeps the team interested and helps in removing unwanted assumptions. You can connect with any data source and it improves collaboration by facilitating group analytics. You can group data by using the bar type graph options. The tool enables superimposing of information between related variables. You can create coding queries without much technical knowledge. They keep updating features to catch up with the current standards and requirements.

Cons

I can't see the autosave feature anywhere, which is a very major drawback. Also, the application takes time to load sometimes.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Robust and best visualization Software for any org

Reviewed on 08/11/2018

A lot of business units produces huge volume data and they come from different region and location for higher management it is really inefficient to view and take major decisions on them. The old reporting systems are efficient but they lag enormously on the visualization part. With help of tableau we can achieve a lot of granular data but represented in state of art forms.

Pros

The slicing and dicing capabilities help you work with huge volume of data with so much of ease that you will never require an onsite reporting resource if you become handy. One of the best tool that not only allow you enormous data visualization options but also allows you to get data from different systems with real simple methods. The drag and drop capabilities are so easy and robust that you feel like you are an expert in reporting product and configurations. At times I feel really amazed with my regular laptop/desktop how I can perform so efficiently where as other tolls really give up.

Cons

The learning curve will be stiff because this tool has so much of capabilities if you are not using them then it's not value for money. The security of the reports might be concern once published publicly. I wish they have better offline working capabilities.

Max B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Logistics & Supply Chain
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Tableau makes your organization data-driven!

Reviewed on 08/04/2021

Overall, Tableau is an inexpensive system to fill all your data with and make it visual in minutes. In our organization we have a business intelligence colleague who makes all the visuals. To me that is sometimes frustrating, because I know that I can easily make them on my own. However, extra administrators accounts are quite expensive. Therefore it is important to strategically choose who's going to use it.

Pros

When I uploaded a big dataset Tableau made it look easy to create some graphics and tables with basic information that helps me to managing our business processess. The software is user-friendly and developed to let people without a business intelligence background create the best overviews possible.

Cons

As I said, the software is user-friendly. However, to get the best out of it I would recommend to hire a specialist who has been working with Tableau continuously at several organizations. This person cannot only explain how to make good graphics. In our case this peron also gave us an insight of how he has used the graphics to manage processes at companies he had worked for.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Supermarkets
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best Data Visualization Tool

Reviewed on 25/09/2018

Absolutely try Tableau!
If you are a student make sure to get the student version for practice, which is free as far as I recall.
You'll have to provide proof of enrollment.

Pros

A MUST tool for anyone who is in the field of data and statistics. Tableau is perfect for dashboard creation and dealing with different sources of data in order of visually display meaningful finding.
Drag-and-drop can be used for easy graph creation. Tableau offers a wide-variety of data-analysis features that make the experience of data analysis and data visualization much smoother.

Cons

It can be a bit overwhelming at first, but Tableau is much easier to learn with all the online tutorials that are available than most other software of its class.

Sergio eduardo R.
Overall rating
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great solution for data visualization

Reviewed on 07/11/2017

Having my dashboards published and being able to get to the most crucial KPI's when in a negotiation with a vendor, is what has given me the most value in my current position. Also, being able to review the productivity of my procurement team is key to my day to day operation.

Pros

I was having a hard time with our ERP that needed to generate reports, then messing with them on Excel so that I could get some graphics and valuable data to make purchasing decisions, since implementing Tableau I have my Dashboards published and I'm able to access data on the go. This has impacted my work so that we are making better decisions when it comes to purchasing and procurement.

Cons

I only think that the learning curve is pretty steep, not that it's terribly complicated, but you need some patience and skills to get the reports you need, the availability of tutorials and resources online makes this way easier.

Andrea B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

10.0 and Online changed my mind

Reviewed on 08/09/2016

Pros

Intuitive to pick up. Lots of control in formatting and adjustung without having to edit every single cell with some picayune, obscure widget or code. Beautifully designed graphical choices, making the final presentation easy to develop. Online's extract and updates scheduler removes the need for the reporting server layer. Responsive technical support.

Cons

Working with nulls is tricky. Creating calculations is "so easy" that incorrect aggregations can create errored results. With 10, alot of my issues with the software have been resolved. But this is not a heavy hitter for deep statistical work. This is a final presentation layer, so the back-end build needs to work with the business to define the views which will be pulled into Tableau. At that point, the end user (who is not a statistician or analyst) can really play around with an appealing, responsive interface withrilldown capabilities. But "self-service" analytics...it really isn't, not if your data is messt, or requires transformative work - which most does. Tableau needs clean data to work with.

Maggie M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

My favorite visualization software

Reviewed on 26/05/2020

Some individuals were faced with information overload. Tableau use provided real-time, interactive deliverables that provide the most important data that is needed.

Pros

Amazing dashboards and visualizations of the company's data meant that we could create business owner specific reporting that streamlined the relevant information they required. The Interactiveness of the deliverables was a key feature and very impactful.

Cons

Integration was a long process. Getting the "buy-in" from multiple business users with back-end data slowed the roll-out. The training package we were provided was thorough, but there was a steep learning curve for analysts to create an end product.