GitHub

4.8 (6,044)
Write a Review!
Social coding & collaborative development platform

Overall rating

4.8 /5
(6,044)
Value for Money
4.6/5
Features
4.7/5
Ease of Use
4.4/5
Customer Support
4.4/5

98%
recommended this app
Sort by

6044 Reviews

Christopher
Christopher
Overall rating
  • Industry: Research
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Industry standard in source control and more

Reviewed on 27/04/2023

A valuable service providing a number of tools for productive collaboration and management of...

A valuable service providing a number of tools for productive collaboration and management of source code. For academics, it's a no brainer to use GitHub with their educational offerings to help prepare your students for the industry.

Pros

GitHub provides a single service where source code control, documentation, issue tracking, and more are possible. All of these aspects are well integrated and can even reference lines from the source from different commits. Pricing for academics is extremely generous.

Cons

There's not much to not like in GitHub. It does a lot of things well. Some little things can be improved like better user administration and creating a way for users to sign-up for your organization rather than inviting a user to join your organization.

Lankit
Lankit
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

core pillar 💪 of whole developer community

Reviewed on 09/11/2022

I use GitHub every day on my all project to develop separate features in a single project simultaneo...

I use GitHub every day on my all project to develop separate features in a single project simultaneously without them bottlenecking to each other.

Pros

VCS and it's being free for all basic needs, from the smallest firms to IT behemoths, everyone uses GitHub.

Cons

the learning curve may seem steep if someone wants to do advance pull requests and forking.

Alternatives Considered

Bitbucket

Reasons for Choosing GitHub

I wanted to try CI/CD with a simple React project but I found out it's basically private GitHub without all the experience that the OG has, so simply moved back to Github.

Switched From

AWS CodeCommit

Reasons for Switching to GitHub

GitHub is industry leader when it comes to handle Version Control System
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Good for Developers, not so good for Marketing and Newbies

Reviewed on 21/01/2022

As a marketer I found it hard to navigate and understand all features of Github. We were asked by...

As a marketer I found it hard to navigate and understand all features of Github. We were asked by our devs to report all our issues through this tool. However we simultaneously were using Notion for our Marketing Sprints and to track all tasks. So it was rather a really exhausting task to copy issues from one tool to another and link them. In the end our Marketing Team decided to not use Github anymore and track everything through Notion, as it was the main platform for our daily to-dos

I know from our devs and my colleagues who actually continue working in Github, that they really love this tool. I just find it really confusing.
We still use it in our company for IT-issues with our IT-admin, which is totally fine. But I don't recommend it for Marketing unless you know your way around this tool.

Pros

It was a great tool for our Devs. They are still working with it on a daily basis to track their issues and bugs etc.

Cons

I found it hard to navigate and understand the full functionality of this tool. I don't think it is easy to use, for someone without experience and any guidance.

Hussain
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Excellent source control but archaic billing

Reviewed on 05/04/2024

Pros

It is very easy to collaborate and work on code changes, publish releases, and run automation scripts. The UI is fast and they are improving it constantly making it quick and efficient to navigate to the repository and even the file you want.

Cons

My biggest gripe about GitHub is the billing. You have to buy a fixed number of seats and you can only increment it in 10s. So, even if you need just one extra user, you still have to pay for 10. It also takes a long time (2-3 days, more in some cases) to get the licenses added. I can't even process why this is the case. I would much rather have preferred usage billing.

Alternatives Considered

Bitbucket

Switched From

GitLab
Jerome
Jerome
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

GitHub - The standard for Git repos in the Cloud

Reviewed on 07/11/2022

I started with GitHub's free option as a trial and it went so well, we just kept using it.

I started with GitHub's free option as a trial and it went so well, we just kept using it.

Pros

GitHub continues to improve with tools focused on helping developers. The base account that is free offers tons of features. When you are ready to test out the paid features, the value is there as well. I like that it is an optional upgrade since not every organization needs them.

Cons

When someone says 'GitHub can do it', it is getting harder to know if it is GitHub Free or one of the paid options. If you aren't following GitHub's releases, you can get left behind quite quickly.

Alternatives Considered

GitLab and Bitbucket

Switched From

Apache Subversion

Reasons for Switching to GitHub

GitHub's free option satisfied the need and nailed the features we were using. Once trying it, we didn't look any further.
Amitava
Amitava
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Goto Source control for software developers

Reviewed on 16/02/2022

Pros

I've been using GitHub for more than 10 years. It is the goto hosted Git service for my personal and enterprise SCM platform. It has pretty much everything you need for software development starting from source code management to issue tracking, project management, build tools (Actions) and online code editor. I also use GitHub CoPilot which is great productivity tool saving at least 30% of my development time every day.

Cons

There are no complains really! I love everything about GitHub.

Alternatives Considered

GitLab and Bitbucket

Reasons for Choosing GitHub

I find GitHub much better product, better offerings in terms of features and user experience.

Switched From

GitLab and Bitbucket

Reasons for Switching to GitHub

Better offerings, free plan is less limiting and better and faster UI.
Dushyant
Dushyant
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Easy to use and familiar for small teams, where cross product integration is not a priority

Reviewed on 20/09/2021

We use Github to maintain our private platform code repositories, that our team uses, as well as...

We use Github to maintain our private platform code repositories, that our team uses, as well as our open source repos to build the community, which is a major factor for us choosing Github. Unlike other competitors, Github has focused on its core offering of source code management and easy collaboration, and thus, avoided unnecessary platform weight. For teams where staying up to date with the open source world is a necessity or an advantage, Github is hands down the best, given trending issues and repos are very very informative. Community support is also much better with Github

Pros

Familiarity is the first word that comes to mind, for a small, fast output team. We wanted to focus on delivery, not the process and Github provided what we needed - source code management, collaboration, project management the easiest, and the cheapest. While its competitors like Bitbucket have sought to target the enterprise market and focus on large scale corporate projects, Github is much more small team friendly as there's no added baggage of figuring out the platform, and rather, we can just focus on doing what we came to do. Github actions suited our build needs fairly well, and integration with solutions like Netlify for CI-CD was a breeze. Project management is simple and easy. The open source friendly principle helps in easy access to new and coming code content aligned with our interests to explore and use in our own applications and products, something that lacks in other SCM products

Cons

A consistent documentation system like Confluence would be really helpful. As teams grow larger, they shift to alternative solutions since Github doesn't have enough functionality to manage tasks and code across the larger team, which can be changed by bringing in features and improving existing ones. Integration support can be expanded rather than keeping it limited to inhouse products.

Alternatives Considered

Bitbucket

Reasons for Switching to GitHub

Cost effective, focused on the bare essentials - product delivery over processes, open source friendliness
Avash
Avash
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Essential Tool for Every Developer

Reviewed on 04/06/2021

Github is absolutely essential for every developer like me. I have been using Github daily for more...

Github is absolutely essential for every developer like me. I have been using Github daily for more than 2 years and it is one of the most polished tools I have ever used. After we spend some time learning about it, Github can be very intuitive. It's small features like directly copying code from files just by dragging it to its interface, or that it renders CSV, STL explains how polished it is.

Pros

Github is the most famous git services available online - I personally don't know any developers who don't use Github. This in turn makes Github essential to any developers as many people share codes and stuff through Github.

I don't know exactly why but developers nowadays seem to prefer to just put their work in Github. Thus GitHub hosts almost all kind of open source projects which I love to fork and play around with. I personally think it is very productive. It has a good and intuitive User Interface which makes viewing information and reading code easier.

I also feel Github is stable than other alternatives available.

Cons

I don't think there is much to dislike about Github but I think it isn't very easy to use for a beginner. I spent a long time learning about Git commands and stuff. Other than this, I can't think of any cons.

Alternatives Considered

GitLab

Reasons for Switching to GitHub

I am not sure but I think Github is faster than Gitlab. Github is more popular among developers which made us use Github too.
Luis Carlos
Luis Carlos
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

I can't see myself working without it

Reviewed on 13/12/2021

I've used GitHub for more than 8 years now. It is my old reliable tool for source control and...

I've used GitHub for more than 8 years now. It is my old reliable tool for source control and almost anyone that uses it will probably have the same opinion.

Pros

GitHub is probably the single most important tool in our development team. Everything you can think about source control tools it does it and does it well. We have a lot of integrations hooked to it, so it also helps us with more than source control. Besides of that, it is easy to use and being almost universal at this point it means we usually don't have to train new developers on how to use it.

Cons

Nitpicking here, but the mobile version might improve a bit. I know code review is something you usually don't do on a phone, but some emergency happens from time to time and you just need to approve / request something and those little interactions could be easier. Still, that's the only thing and it is incredibly far from being a deal breaker.

Alternatives Considered

GitLab and Bitbucket

Reasons for Switching to GitHub

GitHub is easier to deploy across the organization. Plus, almost everybody already knows how to use it, so it saves a lot of time on adapting to it.
Charles Boampong
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Perfect Hosting and Collaboration Tool for Developers with external Version Control features

Reviewed on 15/11/2023

The interface is extremely user-friendly, making it easy to navigate and contribute during...

The interface is extremely user-friendly, making it easy to navigate and contribute during collaboration, and most importantly, it's very standard and can handle very large projects and communities.

Pros

Honestly, GitHub has been one of my greatest motivations as a software engineer for a number of reasons such as its remote repository feature which allows multiple developers to easily collaborate and work on the same project to achieve great results.

Cons

Though GitHub offers free repositories of public project, some of the advanced features are paid.

Alternatives Considered

GitLab

Reasons for Switching to GitHub

After trying both of them for a couple of weeks, I fell in love with GitHub.
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Github for personal and enterprise use

Reviewed on 02/05/2019

The only other solution for an enterprise level git service is BitBucket from Atlassian. I have...

The only other solution for an enterprise level git service is BitBucket from Atlassian. I have enjoyed both. While I think BitBucket has better integration with JIRA, I think the other services offered in GitHub work just as well. They *do* have JIRA integrations which work just fine. Also, if you use GitHub Issues instead of JIRA it works great and they have amazing support for that as well. I would highly recommend GitHub to anyone looking for a git service.

Pros

GitHub is the #1 git service. So much so some people the tool git with the service GitHub. I have used www.Github since 2012 and use GitHub Enterprise at work on a daily basis. The services and integrations with other software suites is top notch. Now that they also support private repositories for free accounts, I've ditched other git services entirely.
I love their Markdown parser and how they allow the use of Markdown in everything. It makes it much easier to document code and comment on pull requests.

Cons

It would be nice if their multi-datacenter replication solution was a little bit better for an on-prem installation. Fortunately, they now include GitHub Cloud Service as part of their enterprise license, which might alleviate the struggles of a multi-datacenter installation.

Alternatives Considered

Bitbucket

Reasons for Switching to GitHub

I wasn't the one that made the decision, but I enjoy my/our use of GitHub greatly.
Ankush
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Github Review

Reviewed on 11/09/2019

I use it almost every hour every day and so far I'm glad I've switched from bitbucket to this.

I use it almost every hour every day and so far I'm glad I've switched from bitbucket to this.

Pros

Usage is well documented like cloning repository using ssh, create a branch, create a repository, etc. Reviewing PR interface is great. You've option to mark the files you've reviewed which is really helpful for gigantic pull requests. Easy integration with IDE like Intellij/Eclipse and you can push your changes directly from the IDEs.
Features like squash/merge from UI are really great and saves a lot of time. Jira integration of pull requests is awesome.

Cons

Very limited private repositories for free users, it should give an option like this number of lines of code for the private repository as a limit rather than not providing or limited private repositories.
It sometime might get complicated for new users while working on same codebase at the same time like stuck between merge conflicts, rebase issues etc.

Dilanka
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

A universal level source code management system

Reviewed on 06/12/2019

Implementation was very organized. It was not easy without proper guidance, but the instructions...

Implementation was very organized. It was not easy without proper guidance, but the instructions were generally available over the community and problem solving was also very smooth. Availability over a number of platforms made the choice more strongly recognized. Developers/Programmers could easily adapt to use GitHub as the only version control and source code managing platform with no time.

Pros

The important features available to manage the source code within the Application Development IDE itself made the work more efficient and convenient. GitHub was efficient enough to link the entire platform-based solutions right within the IDE, so the version management, source code control including comments and documentation was made the productivity increased rapidly within the organization.

Cons

The free and generally available version did not secure the source code managed over the platform by allowing users to create private repositories, which is not available in public. However, the paid version managed to provide that facility but it could have been better if the free version at least provides a limited number (at least one) private repository available.

Alternatives Considered

Azure DevOps Services

Reasons for Switching to GitHub

General availability and a free offering made the choice more strong since the organization was not ready to budget a version management system at first glance.
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best in class, world-known service

Reviewed on 20/02/2020

Great! I'd choose them again in a heartbeat. They're easy to use, integrate with almost every tool...

Great! I'd choose them again in a heartbeat. They're easy to use, integrate with almost every tool I can think of and have great customer support. The keep delivering new features lately, and I'm excited for what's coming next!

Pros

This is probably the best hosted Git solution out there. GitHub is the de-facto standard platform for hosting OSS projects, which makes a TON of services integrate with it, and therefore a good solution for private repositories as well.
Now with GitHub Actions, the GPR and more coming soon, I think it's the best platform around.

Cons

Pricing is _a bit_ pricey, compared to the alternatives such as Bitbucket (less than half the price per user) or GitLab, which provide various pricing tiers, including a free self-hosted one.

Alternatives Considered

GitLab

Reasons for Choosing GitHub

Bitbucket is very slow, especially when doing code reviews (Pull Requests), and has lousy integration with other tools.

Switched From

Bitbucket
Matthew
Matthew
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

It's an industry standard tool for reason

Reviewed on 04/08/2020

Very simple to set up and use, and being an industry standard most onboarding developers and...

Very simple to set up and use, and being an industry standard most onboarding developers and engineering teams already know how to use it.

Pros

Reliable and consistent version control and code collaboration platform. The team management, issue tracking, visibility/privacy control are all top of the line, and of course the underlying "git" hosting is perfect. Introduction of Github Actions only improves the value of the platform.

Cons

I'd like to see more for project management, e.g. ways to better organize issues by priority, themes ("epics") and create scrum, agile and/or kanban influenced views and planning tools. I've heard some folks express concern with Microsoft's acquisition of GitHub, but I don't understand the concern b/c Microsoft has a solid history of operating business-grade tools, and from the date of acquisition we've only seen more-for-your-money price changes.

Alternatives Considered

Apache Subversion and GitLab

Reasons for Choosing GitHub

I've worked with team using self-hosted git and subversion. For most cases, I would highly prefer a team simply let Github host it. git is a superior vcs system compared to subversion, and Github.com is the best hosting for git.

Switched From

Git
Ankit
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Reduced deployment time by a large extent

Reviewed on 07/10/2020

Overall, I would say that everyone who has a team of developers working on a product and require...

Overall, I would say that everyone who has a team of developers working on a product and require collaboration should definitely use this product. After the acquisition by Microsoft, I am very hopeful of increasing the developer community globally. For my organization, this has been the best decision that we took close to 6 years back when we started using this and since then we don't have to worry about the deployments to production servers.

Pros

From the day, my team has started using GitHub for pushing code to production environment, we have reduced our deployment times by nearly 65%. I was introduced to the concept of GitHub few years back but was not sure whether the team will be able to work with it or not, so we started on a trial basis for one project and then my team came back to me and asked me if we can use it for all projects in the company. This had really helped us in version control, control over who pushes what to the production and access control

Cons

Limitations on the number of users in a particular project is one of the cons for the product. Also, one needs to have a Git account to get access to the code is according to me another limitation

Alternatives Considered

GitLab

Reasons for Switching to GitHub

Various features offered by the product which provides collaboration, version control, access control etc
Masoud
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Secure, innovative and feature rich, a competitor to all other providers

Reviewed on 22/02/2022

I cannot imagine working without GitHub, to be honest. I appreciate that there are many other...

I cannot imagine working without GitHub, to be honest. I appreciate that there are many other alternatives these days but GitHub to me is the industry standard that makes developer jobs a lot easier and manageable.

Pros

When you think about source code management you'd think of GitHub straight away. The security is taken seriously on GitHub and the CLI has made using it super simple and convenient from the comfort of your terminal. The offering of integrations with different DevOps tools is a must-have these days that you'd get out of the box with GitHub. Another important factor that makes GitHub stand out is its reliability which in the entire time that I've used it has always been available and has never been down.
GitHub has not stopped innovating new features and improving their services after all these years and it's amazing to see that they offer a new feature frequently.

Cons

I'd love to see a feature-rich mobile app from GitHub to allow managing the repositories easier and more practical on small screen devices.

Alternatives Considered

GitLab and Bitbucket

Reasons for Switching to GitHub

I believe GitHub is more reputable between developers and more reliable compared to other competitors.
Elian
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Github Review

Reviewed on 29/03/2022

My experience with Github has been awesome and it continues to be like so. Is very handy and I use...

My experience with Github has been awesome and it continues to be like so. Is very handy and I use it on my daily routine.

Pros

I mostly like the ease of use and in the same time the big hand that Github gives me and my colleagues every day to
accomplish our daily tasks and be coordinated with each other.

Cons

To be honest I think that Github is the best code hosting platform and is very hard to find any disadvantage. I use it every day and I am happy.

Alternatives Considered

Jira and ClickUp

Reasons for Choosing GitHub

Bitbucket was inly focused in versioning and code hosting and did not provide all those functionalities that Github offers.

Switched From

Bitbucket

Reasons for Switching to GitHub

Ease of use and the possibility to do a lot of things like project management, task planning, versioning, collaboration, review etc.
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

GitHub: The mothership of source control

Reviewed on 05/08/2021

GitHub is the first service I have ever used for source control and I haven't even thought of...

GitHub is the first service I have ever used for source control and I haven't even thought of changing it because it meets more than what you would expect from it. It even has an in-built GUI for people who are not very familiar with Git. I have used it for contributing to open source projects, for keeping track of my own projects, when working with teams and for pipelining the repository to deployment as well. Overall my experience with GitHub on all occasions has been very smooth.

I have faced only one small hiccup where a repo I created was not created properly and I could not access it at all. When I contacted support, they replied within the same day and sorted it out. Considering everything I would say that GitHub is the best for source control and its paid versions are very well worth the price.

Pros

GitHub has so many features and if you are a college student you can easily apply for their educational pack and receive many free packages from other software and free access to GitHub Pro for as long as you are a student. This pack comes with free domains, a key for JetBrains IDEs, Canva Pro and other packages to assist you in application development.

In addition to the free services provided by GitHub for college students, it also provides many functionalities for general users. You could easily integrate your codebase to services such as DigitalOcean and Heroku to create pipelines and automatically deploy changes. No more tiresome setting up of servers and bothering with them for every deployment.

GitHub also has the functionality of creating pull requests, issues and assigning issues to people. They also have GitHub Projects where you can create Kanban boards and assign tasks to the team members. Pull requests can also be reviewed and comments can be added for specific lines.

This is also the home for many open source projects that you can find and contribute. Most companies view your GitHub profile to get an idea of your projects and how you have contributed and worked on projects.

Cons

There really isn't a major feature that you could point out and say is bad. The only downside I would say is, although they do have a free tier, the number of private repositories you could have in that tier is very limited.

Many people would say that the commands are hard to get a hang of but this isn't a downside of GitHub, the commands are by Git. Git is inherently complex and to be honest, GitHub does a very good job at trying to simplify it.

Fayeba
Fayeba
Overall rating
  • Industry: Media Production
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The best source controller

Reviewed on 20/11/2021

We use Github to keep up with our private stage code storehouses, that our group utilizes, just as...

We use Github to keep up with our private stage code storehouses, that our group utilizes, just as our open source repos to fabricate the local area, which is a main consideration for us picking Github. In contrast to different contenders, Github has zeroed in on its center contribution of source code the executives and simple joint effort, and along these lines, stayed away from superfluous stage weight. For groups where keeping awake to date with the open source world is a need or a benefit, Github is undoubtedly awesome, given moving issues and repos are incredibly instructive. Local area support is likewise much better with Github

Pros

Commonality is the principal word that rings a bell, for a little, quick yield group. We needed to zero in on conveyance, not the cycle and Github gave what we really wanted - source code the board, cooperation, project the executives the most straightforward, and the least expensive. While its rivals like Bitbucket have tried to focus on the undertaking business sector and spotlight for enormous scope corporate tasks, Github is significantly more little group amicable as there's no additional stuff of sorting out the stage, and rather, we can simply zero in on doing what we came to do. Github activities fit our assemble needs genuinely well, and coordination with arrangements like Netlify for CI-CD was a breeze. Venture the executives is basic and simple. The open source well disposed guideline helps in simple admittance to new and coming code content lined up with our inclinations to investigate and use in our own applications and items, something that needs other SCM items

Cons

A reliable documentation framework like Confluence would be truly useful. As groups develop bigger, they shift to elective arrangements since Github needs more usefulness to oversee assignments and code across the bigger group, which can be changed by getting highlights and working on existing ones. Incorporation backing can be extended rather than keeping it restricted to inhouse items.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Why use GitHub in 2022?

Reviewed on 12/08/2022

As the CPO at the company, I am always under pressure to produce good results on time. Through...

As the CPO at the company, I am always under pressure to produce good results on time. Through using GitHub, this goal has come to fruition. The developers can collaborate remotely, bugs get quickly resolved, and products are seamlessly deployed on GitHub.

Pros

I find the whole GitHub model quite refreshing. In a matter of seconds, I am able to create an account, create a repository and get instructions on how to set it up on my computer. The introduction of the GitHub desktop made things even simpler. Project tracking, graphical progress representation (commits, issues, pull requests and the timeline), project boards, automated deployment, seamless integration, webhooks, bespoke security keys and CI/CD are among the many functions that GitHub is able to perform. All major IDEs nowadays have the option to integrate with GitHub accounts directly and initialize Git for every new project you start making source control a seamless process. I love the immense collaboration tools and the fact that it works with many existing workspaces such as Notion, therefore, making product development quick and effective.

Cons

GitHub needs to add more integrations to ensure new users have a smooth transition from other products so that work done before onboarding is not lost.

Alternatives Considered

GitLab and Bitbucket
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Banking
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

GitHub is the Industry Standard of SCM & versioning tools

Reviewed on 05/10/2022

GitHub is a more than excellent Source code management & Versioning tool. Most developers I know...

GitHub is a more than excellent Source code management & Versioning tool. Most developers I know use it daily & are quite happy with the extensive features & integrations it provides with other IDE & continuous deployment tools like Jenkins, CircleCI.
Also, continuous support & feature improvements from GitHub team is very much appreciated by its large community.

Pros

Starting with versioning, ease of code management & collaboration, which is of utmost priority for any company that wants to develop code. GitHub provides it all.
They keep adding new features such as vulnerability scanning & integrations with IDE platforms like VScode. This makes GitHub even more reliable & convenient for coders.
Today, majority of coders will tell you to choose GitHub over any other platform given how much it has helped them & their company to develop code, continued with feature & bug management.

Cons

Merge conflict handling has improved since it was first implemented but there is still a lot of scope to make it easy for developers.
Code search is another feature I want GitHub to improve on, currently it does not allow to search for specific piece of logic inside a big repository until you take a pull & do it in your IDE

Emil
Overall rating
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

A User's Perspective: My experience with Github

Reviewed on 14/01/2023

Github is a great tool for software development projects that allows for easy tracking and...

Github is a great tool for software development projects that allows for easy tracking and management of code changes, collaboration with other developers, and open-source development. It also has a large and helpful community and can be used to showcase your work to potential employers. However, it can be expensive, has limited storage on the free plan and some issues with UI and navigation, limited support for certain languages, and limited scalability for large enterprises. Additionally, it has limited control over data and privacy and lack of built-in project management features.

Pros

Github has significantly altered the way I approach software development projects; I've been using it for a while now. It has been incredibly simple to collaborate with other developers and keep track of my code thanks to the version control feature. The tools for code review and issue tracking are particularly helpful because they make it simple to keep track of any bugs or adjustments that need to be made. Github also has a lot going for it in terms of open-source development. Numerous open-source projects have allowed me to participate and utilize them, and the supportive and welcoming community is always there to help. Building my portfolio and showcasing my work to potential employers has also been a great benefit. The ability to integrate with my continuous integration and deployment services, for example, was made possible by Github's integrations with other tools. I can manage the permissions of my project contributors with ease thanks to the access control feature. I also enjoy having access to my code from any location, and the remote backup feature gives me great peace of mind. I've looked over other developers' code on Github and contributed to their projects as a way to learn. All things considered, Github has become a crucial tool in my workflow, and I can't even imagine doing software development projects without it.

Cons

I've been using Github for a while, and while it has some great features, there are a few drawbacks as well that I've found annoying. First off, the price can be a little high, especially for private repositories or big teams. Larger projects may encounter difficulties due to the free plan's constrained storage. The navigation and interface can occasionally be a little bit perplexing to me. New users may find it overwhelming, and the customization options are few. Additionally, I've observed that some languages don't offer as strong support for code review and syntax highlighting tools. Github also doesn't seem to be designed for large enterprises, and it might not have the scalability options they require. Additionally, the fact that it is reliant on the service's uptime is somewhat of a drawback. Additionally, I discover that Github has a small number of integrations and that I am unable to locate the precise tools I require. Additionally, I don't have a lot of control over my privacy and data. Last but not least, I discover that it lacks integrated project management features, forcing me to rely on third-party tools. Although Github is a fantastic tool overall, some users may find its limitations to be infuriating.

Isak
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

A powerful platform for collaborative development

Reviewed on 01/02/2023

Github is a fantastic source code management tool for developers. Its user-friendly interface and...

Github is a fantastic source code management tool for developers. Its user-friendly interface and extensive features make it easy to manage and collaborate on projects with others. With a strong community of developers and integrations with other tools, it is a top choice for developers looking for a reliable and efficient solution for their source code management needs.

Pros

Github has a large community of developers contributing to various open source projects. It has a fantastic user inteface that is easy to use and navigate. Github offers plenty of tools and resources available for collaboration, version control and CI/CD.

Cons

Some features may be overwhelming for beginner users.

Alternatives Considered

GitLab

Switched From

Bitbucket
Ara
Ara
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 5,001–10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The best VCS

Reviewed on 30/05/2023

GitHub's powerful version control system, built on Git, is one of its standout features. It allows...

GitHub's powerful version control system, built on Git, is one of its standout features. It allows developers to easily track changes, manage branches, and merge code with confidence. The ability to revert to previous versions or create separate branches for experimental work is invaluable, ensuring a safe and efficient development process. Will recommend it to all.

Pros

GitHub provides an exceptional environment for collaboration among developers. Its intuitive interface allows for seamless communication, issue tracking, and pull request management. With features like code reviews, team discussions, and project boards, it fosters a collaborative spirit and enables developers to work together effectively.

Cons

While GitHub is a powerful platform, it can be overwhelming for newcomers, especially those unfamiliar with version control systems. The concepts of branches, pull requests, and forking may require a learning curve, which might discourage some beginners. More comprehensive documentation and guided tutorials could help mitigate this issue.