ERPNext

4.7 (80)
Open Source ERP Built For The Web

Overall rating

4.7 /5
(80)
Value for Money
4.8/5
Features
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4.6/5
Customer Support
4.4/5

95%
recommended this app

80 Software options

Varun R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

An affordable feature packed customisable ERP Solution.

Reviewed on 05/07/2020

Automate everything. Take it all online. Go paperless. I've been able to achieve these with relative ease.

Pros

#1: FOSS. The biggest reason I like FOSS is not because it's free. It's because the entire ecosystem becomes more efficient. College grads don't need to go through expensive training. Documentation is more complete and can be supplemented through forums where people are more responsive because they feel like they are a part of a community.

It has most of the features that you require.

Cons

The fact that is has so many features built in takes a while to get used to. But I don't think that's a con. If there was anything that could use a little improvement, it's the Website module. Not super easy to use for a non-technical person.

Alternatives Considered

Freshdesk, Zoho CRM, Salesforce Sales Cloud, Dynamics 365 and Odoo

Reasons for Switching to ERPNext

FOSS. India. Ease of Use. Good Trial Period by Self Hosting. Now a paying customer through Frappe Cloud. And as we grow, we know ERPNext support is fantastic. So will move ship as we progress. Win-Win for both us and Frappe.
Revant N.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Made for resourceful entrepreneurs of any scale!

Reviewed on 09/04/2018

Very active community, any feature you need can be requested on github issues and as per the importance and other priorities your issue/feature request will make it to core product eventually. Whole community, core team, service providers and ERPNext Open Source Software Foundation, India are aligned to resolve issues / requests posted on github.

Pros

Free and Open Source
Foundation and Community backed ERP
Easy Web UI
Actively developed.
Quick release cycles (follows semantic versioning)
Extendable
Allows connection with micro-services, acts as OAuth 2.0 Authorization server and resource server. Making it easy to connect devices, apps and gadgets to your Frappe / ERPNext server

Cons

No proprietary dependencies can be put into core product. Not suitable for anti-free software companies.

Rolling release, No LTS. Not suitable for organisations that cannot adapt to regularly updated ERP system.
e.g Some organizations still need FoxPro based systems, not suitable for such organizations.

Pradeep R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Probably most powerful software ever made

Reviewed on 16/06/2018

Pros

- Extremely flexible engine. You can define any process in the world without knowing any programming. My team which has implemented this does not know programming at all. We were able to manage entire implementation only through customisations.
- Doctype concept they have used is extremely powerful and flexible.
- Quite a detailed documentation with ample videos and webinars (also available on youtube).
- Extremely strong accounting background.
- Same can be used for as many user roles you want. Can be used by start-ups as well large organisations.

Cons

- Bank integration missing
- Scope for improvement on CRM like Zoho. Though existing CRM data management is very strong.

Moses G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best ERP software in the market

Reviewed on 07/04/2020

Very fulfilling, since i started deploying this system, am very happy

Pros

Very heavily packed with features and very easy to use that any person willing to learn they can learn very fast

Cons

Manufacturing section of the manual needs to be more expounded especially on the bulk production of items

Deepak G.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

No Nonsense ERP

Reviewed on 01/11/2017

Pros

Ease of use and codeless customization
Easy report builder
Value for money
Good look and feel
Works well on any device

Cons

Complex Setup for Roles and Permission Management
Needs a knowledgeable in house resource for a good implementation

Mike D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Easy to implement, easy to use

Reviewed on 27/04/2017

We are a small software and service company and only wanted software to support the main business flow: quotation, order, project, invoice and found ERPNext could easily be customised to meet our needs almost exactly with judicious use of workflow customisation and form customisation. Also added a few custom fields and scheduled reports. We managed to do this without prior knowledge of HTML, Jinja or SQL - just using the resources of Dr. Google and the ERPNext documentation and some support calls. It's cheap enough to just use it for this purpose and ignore the rest, but I will implement the HR part and Time Sheeting as well to consolidate management activities that are currently done on spreadsheets.

Pros

Easy workflow customisation, implement web version with low technical skill, easy screen and form customisation, cheap enough to use just the features you want and ignore the rest, support is responsive

Cons

Use of HTML for to format printed documents is awkward (difficult to format to include in MS-Word etc), documentation is not great

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

very good experience with that system

Reviewed on 19/12/2017

Pros

easy of use and powerful features
also the team who are working on this software are very active they came with at least one or tow new features a week

James P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Open source Flexible ERP

Reviewed on 24/10/2018

Pros

Supports Multiple type of industries hence can be used in a wide range of companies
Supports multi tenant and multi company hence one installation can be used with multiple companies
Has mobile application making it flexible to use

Cons

Installation and troubleshooting requires technical know-how, not anyone can deploy
Requires dedicated environment i.e. root access, does not support shared hosting so somewhat expensive to deploy

Hafees K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Simple software very easy to use

Reviewed on 19/04/2017

Very good software

Pros

User interface ,simplicity , easy to customize,small price,open source,rich features,integration with other application etc

Cons

manufacturing module need more features,publicity is less compared to odoo,documentation is not so good

Faraz A.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Awesome Open Source Project

Reviewed on 03/08/2017

Pros

Ease of use, Simple Interface, Customizable, Awesome Community, APIs available. Overall this is best value for money for sure.

Cons

Point of Sale: Cash / Cashier / Sessions Management needs a lot of work I guess. Still it's open so yet customizable indeed.

Muhammad arif A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Oil & Energy
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Practical for mid-type of business

Reviewed on 07/03/2017

The software allowed us to adjust the requirement based on how the business function. By using the pre-programed setup, basically we just need to alter some documentation and it's readily available for usage

Pros

Easy for user implementation

Cons

Initial setup which may involve some scripting

Muhammad S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

RND Engineering Pvt Ltd

Reviewed on 06/05/2019

Easy to Use.
not more complex
not Costly

Pros

1.Reporting is very useful for decision making.

Cons

1.Help in budgeting and forecasting for company/

Kanhaiya K.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Simple and Rich Functionalities

Reviewed on 08/02/2017

We New Indictrans Technologies Pvt Ltd (Indictrans) are using ERPNext since 7 years. We found it very simple and feature rich. Right from Sales, Purchase, Operations, Projects, Accounting, HR, Attendance, SMS Alerts, Email Notifications etc. Almost all functions are available in this open source ERP.

We are one of the oldest service provider of ERPNext. And providing services on ERPNext to all domestic and overseas clients. Our services includes ERPNext Implementation, Customization, Development, Integration, Support, Training and Consulting. You will find all functions on single cloud platform.

Everyone should give it a try.

Tom S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

ERPNext best Open source ERP

Reviewed on 06/03/2020

The community take long to respond

Pros

Integrations is simple and easy. Easy to use

Cons

The reports are not good. They need to work on reports especially in the Education module.

Martin S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

The best choice for teams that have some technical knowledge in house

Reviewed on 28/07/2019

The community is vibrant and fast. There are telegram messenger groups for live communication. There is a super active forum platform. And there is a structured and well maintained github project. If you want to be part of this community, it's easy to get rolling.

Pros

The extensibility and flexibility of ERPNext is unrivaled. Every field you create becomes instantly available as an API point in the powerful interface of the ERP software. All relevant core features of an ERP system are mature and help you learn to do it the right way as a company. The team is rigid and consequent in making sure, that this streamlined process of creating opportunities, quotations, sales orders and sales invoices is kept intact which is very healthy and keeps customizations sane.

Cons

ERPNext is not yet easy and straight forward to use. If you have no idea of ERP software and you have no technical skills at all this is not for you. I would love to see the team focus more on the UX of the interface and the ease of use for new and very occasional users. The software feels like it's really made for experts and daily users. That said, we have compared ERPNext with Salesforce and SAP and the open source solution really shines in comparison. But having all the ERP world suck at UX does not mean that this is an unsolvable problem. Also the documentation of ERPNext is not job or use case driven and very technical at times. We have started to try to help this. But it's easy to ask and not so easy to deliver. Work in progress ...

Alternatives Considered

Salesforce CPQ & Billing and SAP Business ByDesign

Reasons for Choosing ERPNext

We compared ERPNext and other solutions with our best of breed approach that had and still has a bunch of different solutions. The challenge with this is that data is scattered across multiple systems making it very hard for employees to get the full picture. Trying to tie this together via the APIs of the best of breed solutions was cumbersome and did not really work. So we decided to get ERPNext as our central place for data and single source of truth for structured data.

Switched From

Salesforce CPQ & Billing

Reasons for Switching to ERPNext

ERPNext is very flexible and extesible through the API. We do have technical skills both for DevOp and for software development in house. And working against Salesforce or SAP would have been much more limited. Also the incredibly high licensing costs for our team of 150 people drove us towards ERPNext. We now heavily invest in the community and still save on license costs significantly.
Mohammed M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

ERPNext Software Review

Reviewed on 23/10/2021

After a failed attempt to transition from Tally ERP to Odoo software due to our complex business process, we were able to successfully integrate ERPNext software into our organization. ERPNext has been in use at our company for the past two years, and we recommend it to small and medium-sized enterprises that need to use project, inventory and production modules frequently.

Pros

- Simple and easy-to-use interface.
- Open-source ERP software, no licensing cost required.
- Customization is simple and requires no coding.
- Simple to configure according to business needs.
- Simplified reporting system.
- Well-maintained and actively supported.

Cons

- Big enterprises are not recommended.
- The software is not suitable for anti-free software organizations.
- Still a newcomer to the market, and has yet to earn the trust of businesses.
- Customized versions have upgrade issues.
- Complex setup for roles and permission management.
- The documentation can be further improved.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Review

Reviewed on 25/07/2019

Get your work organized in a cost effective way

Pros

This software has a search field which is so powerful in assisting the user to get to the setting he or she wants simply by typing it

Cons

New to the market so many companies don't trust it fully.

Alternatives Considered

SAP ERP

Reasons for Choosing ERPNext

Lower cost. Easier

Switched From

Odoo

Response from Frappe Technologies

Thank you for the honest review! As for the trust factor, we are slowly but surely getting there. Frappe Technology, as an OEM for ERPNext, is working with Enterprises to create high value and build a stronger brand which users can identify with.

As for the product itself, it is now close to 10 years old (Frappe just celebrated its 11th anniversary) and now has a visible presence in the market as a cost-effective ERP solution especially when compared to giants like SAP, Oracle, and Dynamics.

Arvy B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

One of the most customisable ERP in the market

Reviewed on 16/10/2020

We needed an ERP that can be molded to our needs and to our customers' needs. After searching for dozens of alternatives, I conclude that ERPNext is the only software that can do that. The open source nature and well written architecture are the reasons that full customisations are possible.

Pros

Very-very customisable to suit the needs of the business.
Great integration with other software through API.
One of the easiest ERP to use.
Great flexible reporting options. We can create custom reports on the fly.
Runs on reputable cloud providers. Can be set up with a minimal infrastructure budget to start with.

Cons

Installation can be confusing for first timers. It was not a big problem for us as we are software development company, there was enough information from the community.

Donna R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

ERPNext

Reviewed on 27/03/2019

I have been using ERPNext in my business very effectively to track inventory (and serial numbers) across multiple warehouses. I appreciate the ability to repack and to maintain delivery and installation information.

Pros

The Team is constantly improving this software and listening to their user base. I can almost always find an answer to my questions in the community forums. I look forward to new features.

Cons

Some functions are designed to address specific needs in foreign countries. It isn't always obvious how to adapt a function to meet your own criteria. Some features are lacking, especially if you are accustomed to batch processing.

Abdulla P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Human Resources
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

A Great and true Opensource ERP Application

Reviewed on 26/04/2017

ERPNext is the great and true opensource,community-driven ERP App out there.It includes the maximum possible modules in a traditional ERP App and had a huge options to customize it with minimal effect.

Pros

A great product, we have used for 1 years without almost any down time. The software has progressed through that time to its now broad spectrum suitable for almost any small to medium size. I recommend this product without reservation.

Cons

Little bit tough to learn,when we need complex customization. Perfect ERP system for smaller companies at a very competitive price. Free up to one users. Has all functionality needed by smaller companies. Easy to use. Perfect

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

strong community, very flexible! can even be used immediately without customisation.

Reviewed on 27/07/2018

i got to implement and help others.

Pros

can be used out of the box!
have all the things that you can expect for an ERP
- CRM
- HR
- Item/Inventory
- manufacturing
you can even customize flow without touching the code
you can build your own application, and integrate easily to your ERP
strong, strong community

Cons

tricky for big company due to the nature of those company
- taxation is different for IPO-ed company
- consolidation for multiple company (this can be done, just a bit tricky)
documentations and how to used documentation can be improved.
 more use case implementation. e.g
- demo implementation for retail company
- for manufacturing company
with their specific flow

Ishan L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

A flexible, open-source option. Would highly recommend

Reviewed on 26/04/2017

Pros

Open source, customizable, clean UX, free, great community
The software is built on the Frappe framework developed by the creators itself. The framework can be used to build custom apps too!

Cons

The documentation still has a way to go if it can compare with the likes of SAP. Might be a little intimidating for some to get started.

Inderneel A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Maritime
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Thanks very much from Ind- Aust !!

Reviewed on 06/09/2019

WE ARE MANAGING OUR PROJECTS ON ERPNEXT AND THE FEATURES ARE AWESOME

Pros

Great features, bug free , error free, can easily customise

Cons

The notifications can be improved. Improve UI

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Free and Open Source ERP SOlution

Reviewed on 16/10/2018

We were having problem with out of box CRM solutions, so we used ERP next and customized it to suit our requirement

Pros

Has complete functionalities from invoicing to industry specific verticals. We were really impressed by the comprehensiveness [Modules include Accounting, CRM, Inventory Management, Sales, Purchasing, Projects. Manufacturing, Education, Healthcare, E-Commerce, Website builder to even Mail support solution]

Cons

Integration with legacy systems requires complex technical expertise

Bradford W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Banking
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Review Source

Overall rating

Reviewed on 21/03/2018