Matomo

4.9 (39)
Take back control with Matomo

Overall rating

4.9 /5
(39)
Value for Money
4.9/5
Features
4.6/5
Ease of Use
4.5/5
Customer Support
4.6/5

100%
recommended this app
Sort by

39 Reviews

Simon M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Media Production
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

When data is the name of the game, privacy is everything; enter, Matomo!

Reviewed on 15/05/2021

- Keeping data private.

- Not letting other analytics' companies follow the consumer around.

- Letting people know that their data will never be sold to a 3rd party and that their data is theirs

Pros

The very fact that analytics can be ethical was the very thing that attracted me towards Matomo. Users coming to your site and trusting you to keep the transaction between yourselves shouldn't be worried about a third party collecting more data on you. The fact that Matomo respects peoples' privacy and wilfully doesn't track someone if they don't want to be tracked, that..., that it what makes them the best.

Any data that is collected about a person's behaviour on our website never leaves our server, is not sold to a 3rd party and becomes no one else's business. This is why I personally love Matomo - to be able to host it on your own server, keep all that data from BIG BROTHER and make sure the customer is treated as a customer and not a product!

Cons

There are no dislikes and I'm not even sucking up. In the past, I've had to deal with a lot of products not working the way they were intended to work, breaking down in the middle of something, not providing accurate information. After using Matomo for over 3 years, there simply is nothing to dislike about it. Any dislike that arises would be purely because of bad hosting or bad configuration.

Nick T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Awesome Open Source and Privacy-Conscious Alternative to Google Analytics

Reviewed on 04/09/2019

Overall, Matomo is my favorite analytics platform. It does everything that myself and my clients need. The platform has been around a long time (formerly Piwik) and has proven to be very reliable. Using the API to create custom reports is also easy and super useful.

Pros

Matomo is open source and self-hosted. It's easy to setup, manage, and implement tracking. It includes many of the advanced features you'd expect in an analytics platform. The best part is that you're in control of your data and privacy.

Cons

There are a lot of premium features that are pretty expensive. I wish some of these were open source, standard features of the software, but I guess developers have to eat!

Alternatives Considered

Google Analytics 360 and Mixpanel

Reasons for Choosing Matomo

With Matomo, you don't really need Google Analytics for basic website tracking purposes. Matomo is a platform that gives you the option to respect users' privacy. I prefer not to send all of my clients' data to a third-party company that is doing who knows what with it.

Switched From

Google Analytics 360

Reasons for Switching to Matomo

I chose Matomo because it does everything I need, it's open source, self-hosted, whitelabeled, and cost-effective.
Daniel H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Furniture
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great for GDPR-compliant web analytics

Reviewed on 30/04/2022

We do web analysis, conversion tracking and use heatmaps - to the extent that our users permit us to. And that is sufficient to run our website efficiently.

Pros

If you host the software it's not only free but all the data is on your server, and you don't need to worry what Company X is doing with it. Even as a hosted solution, it's a German company and the servers are in Germany, so that's good news for GDPR compliance. Offers all you need for web analytics and respects users' data protection rights.

Cons

It's not quite as smooth to set up as Google Analytics. Google does it all for you - but at a price, and that is the privacy of your website users. (My personal opinion.) The price you pay with Matomo is that you have to do the setup, and there can be a learning curve. I see that as a service I do for our customers.

Henry C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Easy to use

Reviewed on 01/06/2020

Pros

Easy to use and easy to learn. Its got everything you need out of the box.

Cons

Google won't release their serch data to Matomo.

Ricardo R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Banking
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Excellent cost-benefit ratio

Reviewed on 14/07/2021

Pros

We've been using it since 2019 and it's a replacement for our Google Search Appliance (GSA).
Matomo behaved as a quality alternative for content search on our intranet and has met our expectations with an excellent cost-benefit ratio and ease of use.
We have no hesitation in recommending it to other users.

Cons

If a page had very little access, it is difficult to find its data in the reports, as it only displays the most accessed.

Alternatives Considered

Google Search Console

Reasons for Choosing Matomo

GSA was discontinued.

Switched From

Google Analytics 360

Reasons for Switching to Matomo

Excellent cost-benefit ratio and very similar reports.
Paul G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Ethical webtracking made easy

Reviewed on 08/07/2021

I can definetly recommened Matomo, it is a great way to monitor your sites while being ethical.

Pros

I use both Matomo and Google Analytics side-by-side and I'm really impressed how great Matomo works: Once installed on a company-owned server the software works great and is intuitive - and the data protection is not as big of a problem if you host (and own by that matter) the data on your own server.

Cons

I had a few problems running Matomo in a container and setting up a reverse proxy, but after those inital problems everything worked flawlessly.

Alternatives Considered

Google Analytics 360

Reasons for Switching to Matomo

Using both Google Analytics and Matomo, Matomo for projects with a tight data protection policy.
Boris S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

An excellent telemetry tool

Reviewed on 30/10/2019

Pros

I really appreciated the ease of installation, both as a solution and also the deployment on my sites. If you have already used competing solutions, the operation is intuitive.

Cons

The community is smaller than for some other solutions, so there are far fewer articles to explain how to take full advantage of the tool. That being said, the existing articles are well written and comprehensive.

Klaus M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Easy and your data is safe

Reviewed on 21/04/2021

We use it for onlinestatistiks for our website and also for our customers.

Pros

Self-hosting is very simple and comfortable, the web-updater works very fast and all the time.

Cons

As there is not as much money behind it as in Google Analytics its not for all the things you can do with Analytics but for daily business all you need is there. For sure it's not compatible to use with other Google Products.

Amadeusz B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Simple program, providing all the necessary data

Reviewed on 09/11/2021

Very positive

Pros

Ease of adding to WordPress, or installing on cloud

Cons

Quite a difficult connection to Google Analytics

Arnaud A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Matonon an RGPD compliant sofware

Reviewed on 12/04/2022

Pros

It is a powerful web analytics platform that gives you 100% data ownership.

Cons

the support can be purchased separatly but is expensive.

James F.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Aviation & Aerospace
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Very good software for analytics

Reviewed on 17/04/2020

Good experience, you are provided with the code easily and open source, you have all the necessary tools to take advantage of your analytics.

Pros

Take control of your analytics and install this open source projects that offers tons of free software to use and extra modules to work with, easily affordable for any business it improves your funnel, and much more features and heatmaps you can easily implement in-house.

Cons

The community is getting bigger, but at the moment you need to know what you install in your server and see all the code, better safe

Alternatives Considered

Google Analytics 360
Till G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer & Network Security
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

If you need a analytics tool that keeps all data in house

Reviewed on 11/08/2020

Overall I like to work with matomo. We own the data and the handling is easy enough. There is still some slack for approvement, but I guess the need for a secure analytics tool while rise in future and so matomo will have more resources to improve as well. Will see :)

Pros

I love the fact that we can self host matomo and don't have to worry about our analytics data leaving the EU.

Cons

It's still not as good as google analytics. You have to work a lot with segments to get the data you want. The Matomo Tag manager ist alright but is less intuitiv to handle then the google tag manager. But after a while I got used to it.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Government Administration
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Efficient software

Reviewed on 07/09/2021

Thanks to Matomo, we know how to improve the traffic on our websites. It helps us refine your communication with potential customers.

Pros

It does the job in the simplest way I've ever seen. GDPR compliancy by design allows a perfect comprehension of what happens when on your different websites.

Cons

There's lots of different indicators to understand.

Alternatives Considered

Google Analytics 360

Reasons for Switching to Matomo

Open-source and more efficient
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Furniture
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Web analysis and monitoring at the highest level

Reviewed on 24/11/2021

If you don't want to use another well-known monitoring tool or place particular value on the server location, etc., Matomo is the right choice for you.

Pros

What convinced us the most at that time was the possibility to analyse our website and our campaigns in a privacy-compliant way. The simple setup of the platform has no influence on the quality of the data.

Cons

The user-friendliness is confirmed again and again when we present with Matomo and colleagues immediately know which points have to be clicked on to view the required data.
What we are still missing is the simple linking option with Google Ads and other PPC ad providers.

Kévin D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Real alternative to Google Analytics and rGP compliant

Reviewed on 26/10/2020

8 years user and admin of my own Matomo/Piwik server, so satisfied in replacement of GA

Pros

Total control on datas
RGPD compliant
Best dashboard, more clear than GA

Cons

Have to learn on how to install it (but so easy)

Marvin L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Awesome analytics for self-hosters

Reviewed on 28/07/2019

Matomo offers a simple setup, a huge amount of features, steady updates and respects the privacy of my users. I really love Matomo.

Pros

- Free to host on-premise
- Many hosting companies offer a 1-click-installation for Matomo
- Easy & straightforward setup
- Comprehensive UX
- Managed paid plan for people that do not wish to host themselves

Cons

- Integration with Google, Facebook & Bing Ads not ready yet (but will be released quite soon)

Alternatives Considered

Firebase, Google Analytics 360 and Fathom
Misael C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The Best Web Analytics

Reviewed on 28/10/2019

Pros

I found out About Matomo 6 years formerly known as pikiwik and damn i loved it, it was giving and still giving me exact geotargeted data results and today its matomo , i love the new edits out, realtime data reports.

Other than that, Matomo is a very good iff not better alternative to google's analytics and the rep.

thanx

Cons

Note: try working on displaying keywords used by site visitors to our sites in search engine results. that functions is on and off. it needs some work.

Krzysztof L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Utilities
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The best Google Analytics alternative

Reviewed on 26/03/2019

Pros

This is definitely the best alternative for Google Analytics. I've been using it for a long time and more frequently than mentioned Google Analytics. It's not MA or GA to be used. I use them both. They give me different type of data. I totally recommend it.

Cons

Database swells as more data come. This is normal, but be aware.

Farshad S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Google Analytics Redefined

Reviewed on 02/07/2019

Great I love it and totally recommend it. 👍

Pros

1. You get to own your data
2. It's more clear and better UX
3. It's open source and you can host it on your own server
4. Since you own your data, you can use it for data mining and custom faster data processing

Cons

Nothing on my mind right now, I can say more plugins can be developed

David a. B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The alternative for in-house / intranet analytics

Reviewed on 21/01/2020

Pros

We chose Piwik (Matomo) to track in-house analytics and be independent to other analytics tools.

Cons

On the 5+ years, haven't encountered a con.

Alternatives Considered

Google Analytics 360

Reasons for Switching to Matomo

Most feature complete and API complete
Jon A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

complete and user friendly

Reviewed on 24/10/2020

Pros

easy and simple but yet enough informations

Cons

sometimes hard to find some options, the report could have more options

Christophe B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Thanks a lot

Reviewed on 31/01/2022

Pros

A good replacement to Google Analytics that respect privacy

Cons

Nothing, it's perfect for us and for or needs

Henry C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Privacy

Reviewed on 02/09/2019

Pros

The main advantage of Matomo is the protection of user data.

Cons

Not getting key words from Google searches.

Lav G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Best Analytics Tool

Reviewed on 04/04/2019

Pros

I have been using Matomo since it was called Piwik. They have helped us do everything that we used to do with Google in-house which sharing our customer data with Google.

Cons

Not much but would be nice of they can improve some of the db queries.

Nabil B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Better than Google Analytics

Reviewed on 07/04/2021

Pros

Respect data privacy and it's free of charge

Cons

In fact it's difficult to find cons. in matomo :-(