Apryse PDF SDK Reviews

Apryse PDF SDK

4.3 (23)
Changing the way the world works with documents

Overall rating

4.3 /5
(23)
Value for Money
3.9/5
Features
4.4/5
Ease of Use
4.1/5
Customer Support
4/5

91%
recommended this app
Sort by

23 Reviews

Kyle
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Apryse makes it easy for small product companies to deliver professional features

Reviewed on 28/04/2023

Pros

As a one person product team I was able to implement Apryse in a matter of days and offer a whole new set of features to our customers

Cons

Earlier on the documentation left me wanting more, but it has improved over the years.

Pablo
Overall rating
  • Industry: E-Learning
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Leader in the industry

Reviewed on 15/12/2021

I consider it as a leader in the industry.

I consider it as a leader in the industry.

Pros

Quite comprehensive product based on the company development with no dependencies -as far as I know- with open source libraries.

Cons

Moving from one version to another is not that smooth process.
The product is rather expensive.

João
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

Go-to market failure, product failed to meet requirements and no refund

Reviewed on 31/01/2023

Sales team communicated that we could test the Webviewer module for free as it is open source, but...

Sales team communicated that we could test the Webviewer module for free as it is open source, but having access to test the digital signature module we needed to subscribe the add-on. We were pressured in time and we agreed to pay in advance to have access to the feature. Wrongly were we aware that we could test the whole suite of add-ons for free using the trial key.After 6500$ invested in PDFTRON, their product simply didn’t work as advertised, leaving us empty handed and a whole mess to cleanup up in our product.I could stop here, but things got worse afterwards. We were extremely frustrated with this situation. Missing our go-live target was a strong blow to the team that had a major job to implement everything from scratch properly.So we reached out to PDFTRON to get our money back. We got barriers upon barriers, calls after calls, departments after departments and the same message “This issue is in management hands and I cannot do anything about it.”.Another module we requested was PDF/A conversion. After testing with many different files, we found one situation were the conversion failed. So we could not rely on it.For reference, we started implementation on September 12, 2022. Our go-live target was October 20, 2022. On November 30, 2022, we decided to give up on PDFTRON. On January 30, 2023 we are still waiting for a proper response and our money back.

Pros

Having a suite of products around PDF covers all our needs. Even though it didn’t work for us.

Cons

Our relationship was painful from the start.We were announced that our use case for digital signatures was pretty common and would be a 2 week integration effort.Those 2 weeks turned into more than a month!Working around PDFTRON Webviewer to customize behavior is almost impossible.We tried, unsuccessfully, manipulating the interface to implement a similar experience you get when signing in Docusign for example.If the UI is painful to work with, using the digital signature APIs a whole set of problems.Our requirement for digital signatures was to sign the document hash externally, through multiple providers, and use PDFTRON to complete the signing process.Well, after trying 3!! Different methods from their SDKs (Webviewer client side, Nodejs server side and Java server side) we always got different errors during API calls.We reported all this issues to their support and got into video calls with the product tech team as well. They got to see the errors first hand and could not reproduce. Please consider this fact as well: the time to answer a ticket was more than a week!! We had to pressure their team to get an answer and to this day no solution was presented. In the end we gave up.Pricing transparency is a big con in PDFTRON. Everything is an add-on, requiring specific licensing terms and contracts.

Steve
Overall rating
  • Industry: Insurance
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Enterprise level functionality but still easy to use

Reviewed on 15/12/2021

The pre-sales technical support was excellent and made it really fast and easy to spin up a POC .

The pre-sales technical support was excellent and made it really fast and easy to spin up a POC .

Pros

PDFTron was by far the most feature rich product offering we looked at. Also the fact that they don't just wrap another open source rendering engine like PDFium gave us confidence they had built their product from the ground up and had total control.

Cons

The price tag was on the higher end compared to other alternatives but for enterprise software I think its worth it for all the features they offer. They were also flexible during pricing talks to find a comfortable landing spot that worked for both parties.

Rick
Overall rating
  • Industry: Government Administration
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Easy To Use, Difficult to Customize

Reviewed on 21/04/2023

Great then frustrating. Great in that we were able to implement and tweak easily with your support...

Great then frustrating. Great in that we were able to implement and tweak easily with your support team's help.Frustrating with certain "gotches" like client adding text to the DOCX file and seeing footers moved to next page. I have not been able to overcome that issue as yet.

Pros

Quick and easy implementation on a new project

Cons

I made use of a ready-made pdftodocx.exe from your downloads. It works well except for some things. I need to make use of the full SDK in order to take advantage of the latest developments as you are not providing a ready-made pdftodocx.exe any longer.

Alessandro
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

Cannot install my perpetual license

Reviewed on 05/05/2022

Cannot move license to a new server if I dont buy a new license. This is the reply from the...

Cannot move license to a new server if I dont buy a new license. This is the reply from the service:

"
Hi [SENSITIVE CONTENT] ,

Sorry, we can't help you any further here without a current license subscription.
"

I sent them a screen shot with an error indicating that the switched of the license activator server!

Pros

It was the first pdf converter. Now I found cheaper but FASTER alternatives

Cons

Really disappinted about how pdftron is treating old Activepdf license buyers. I have a perpetual license that no longer activates because of not-working service from them.
Contacted the support: they asked me to buy a support contract, that is sold only with a new license. They think I need support, but I only need to move the license to a new server. Online activation return "there was an error parsing the returned data".

Bryan
Overall rating
  • Industry: Insurance
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

XFA Solution

Reviewed on 18/02/2022

We were facing an issue with over a million XFA PDFs in our imaging system. These weren't your...

We were facing an issue with over a million XFA PDFs in our imaging system. These weren't your normal XFA documents, they were very unique in how they were created. We talked with various vendors. All of them advised that we couldn't automate the flattening of these documents.

PDFTron didn't back away from the challenge. Correy and Johnna did an outstanding job of working with us to come up with a solution utilizing the PDFTron products. I am very impressed with the tenacity at which they approached the challenge. I would strongly recommended PDFTron and the people behind the products!

Pros

Expertise in working with PDFs and Customer Support

Cons

Haven't found any at this point in our project

Alex
Overall rating
  • Industry: Architecture & Planning
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

The best solution for PDFs on the web

Reviewed on 18/02/2022

Pros

PDFTron's Webviewer is a fantastic tool for working with PDFs in a web browser. The support and documentation is great, and the SDK is very flexible to fit many different use cases.

Cons

The cost of PDFTron is high. The importance to our business justifies the cost, but it was definitely a hurdle for us when comparing this product to other PDF web solutions.

Daniel
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best PDF SDK in the market

Reviewed on 28/01/2022

All good so far. Much better than competitors

All good so far. Much better than competitors

Pros

Updates, Customer support, Technical Support

Cons

Nothing, I am struggling to find out something negative

Anil
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Best PDF Editing SDK

Reviewed on 16/07/2022

So far, updates, customer service, and technical support have all been satisfactory. Much better...

So far, updates, customer service, and technical support have all been satisfactory. Much better than the competition.

Pros

PDFTron is an excellent application for working with PDFs. The SDK was simple to integrate into our program, and we have now extended it out to our application. Overall, it's an excellent product.

Cons

It is difficult to configure and integrate the SDK with our software product. The documentation is also out of current, thus embedding takes time.

margaret
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 2.0 /10

Not happy at all with support we are seriously looking at alternatives if support does not...

Reviewed on 01/02/2022

Sales team are good but Technical support not listening to us or not helpful on critical issues....

Sales team are good but Technical support not listening to us or not helpful on critical issues. eg.. Digital signature issues,.

Pros

Compared to Adobe it is hard to find anything as good. This was the best alternative at the time.

Cons

Service on issues and features is slow and they do not listen and push back. They close tickets that are not resolved...very annoying issues system.

Response from Apryse

Thank you for your feedback. We're sorry to hear that the tech support experience did not meet your expectations. Our support team will reach out to you directly and assist with any critical issues you're facing.

Rohit
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

PDFTron technical help

Reviewed on 31/01/2022

Excellent

Excellent

Pros

Annotation types and ease to integrate web and sdk

Cons

It takes time to load PDF if having 20+ pages

Alternatives Considered

Adobe XD and PDF Reader Pro

Reasons for Switching to Apryse PDF SDK

sales support and pricing
Nathaniel
Overall rating
  • Industry: Aviation & Aerospace
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Product Enhancement Review

Reviewed on 15/12/2021

Overall it's a great product and you have excellent customer support. I just need some better...

Overall it's a great product and you have excellent customer support. I just need some better transparency and clarity on the pricing and inclusion of our current license.

Pros

The SDK was easy to incorporate into our software and we've rolled out to our application

Cons

The biggest gap is pricing transparency. It's confusing to understand what is included, what we have access to within our account, etc.

Alex
Overall rating
  • Industry: Legal Services
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Great software, but still some work to be done.

Reviewed on 15/12/2021

Pros

PDFtron is a great company to work with. When we started using them there were many features that were missing, however they have continually worked with us to improve the product and make it a better product suite.

Cons

Occasionally support can be lacking and the developers are left to struggle through it themselves.

Ashish
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

PDFTron Doc Conversion

Reviewed on 15/12/2021

Pros

ease of use; easy interface; new features

Cons

Not many issues with the software to mention.

Christopher
Overall rating
  • Industry: Insurance
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

PDFTron SDK Review

Reviewed on 28/01/2022

Pros

The vast featureset of the PDFTron SDK makes it a valuable PDF management and document creation tool for any company.

Cons

Bugs do crop up from time to time. Sometimes pretty detrimental ones that should have probably been seen in QA testing. It can take a while for them to eventually get fixed.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

PDFTron has been an outstanding addition to our product offering

Reviewed on 29/05/2018

Pros

We use PDFTron in thousands of instances daily. The solution is used to render creative files and office files into PDF and then to allow us to manage annotation and mark ups.

Cons

the set up of the product takes some consideration, it is important you set it up appropriate for your needs else it will cost you time.

Shikha
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Vinnovation review 1/31

Reviewed on 31/01/2022

Easy to use
Vastness of the product is amazing. Still exploring new featured that are being offered...

Easy to use
Vastness of the product is amazing. Still exploring new featured that are being offered and we could use in our project.

Pros

Ease of use & support provided by PDFtron team.

Cons

Nothing, till now everything seems amazing.

Alan
Overall rating
  • Industry: Pharmaceuticals
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Very good!

Reviewed on 28/01/2022

I really like PDFTron

I really like PDFTron

Pros

It's pretty, easy to setup and the tecnical support is very good

Cons

The documentation was not up to date, we need more examples and maybe some project examples would be helpful

Theo
Overall rating
  • Industry: Publishing
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Super easy integration

Reviewed on 15/12/2021

Pros

it was very easy to integrate it in our cloud-solution

Cons

I can't remember that there was something compliacted

Kashif
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

PDF sdk

Reviewed on 28/04/2023

Pros

It have html viewer is the one of best feature you will not find in any other competitor. In other words it provide you complete components for all aspects of your application

Cons

Purchase process by account manager is badLicensing options are not friendly

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Fantastic PDF tool

Reviewed on 02/07/2022

Pros

PDFtron is a fantastic pdf tool with rich product offerings from annotations to signatures, it has got everything covered.
Integration of web and SDKs was very easy.
Support and documentation is also top notch.

Cons

Pricing needs to be more transparent and also it is comparatively on a higher end in comparison to competitors in the market.

Samridhi
Overall rating
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Monthly for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Seamless experience

Reviewed on 27/12/2022

Pros

We are very pleased to find that adding new features and migrating to a new version is so straightforward. The annotation tools are exactly what we needed for an internal document collaboration tool.

Cons

Although there is nothing negative about what they offer today, I would like them to add additional PDF services. These issues often took a while to resolve, sometimes taking months, but they were ultimately fixed. Fortunately, older versions would still work which gave us the option of rolling back while waiting for a fix to arrive.