PhotoWorks

4.6 (28)
Graphic designing and image editing sofware

Overall rating

4.6 /5
(28)
Value for Money
4.7/5
Features
4.4/5
Ease of Use
4.6/5
Customer Support
4.2/5

96%
recommended this app
Sort by

28 Reviews

Brittanny
Overall rating
  • Industry: Photography
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great Product

Reviewed on 07/08/2022

Pros

I have gone back and forth between PhotoWorks and PhotoShop. I prefer PhotoWorks. The ease of use and features are much less cumbersome. PhotoWorks does everything I need and more.

Cons

At this time I have not found any cons in my use of PhotoWorks.

Richard
Overall rating
  • Industry: Photography
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

PhotoWorks Review

Reviewed on 21/07/2022

When support is requested. Support will respond once. I've had serious issued and support failed/refuses to respond. This definitely a serious issue. Because of the poor support, I'm considering changing to another product. This issue is not just with Photoworks but also with SmartShow 3D.

Pros

Photoworks is a very easy app to use. It almost has all the same features of Photoshop but with the easy of use.

Cons

After the last version update, the changing the sky feature would not work and crashed the software/

Response from AMS Software

Thank you for your feedback, Richard! Can I have the number of your support ticket? I'll check why you haven't received a reply, and we'll help you with the sky replacement issue.

Selmer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Writing & Editing
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 2.0 /10

Review

Reviewed on 15/07/2022

Pros

Nothing really, not worth the money that I paid for it.

Cons

Hard to use this software for the purpose I need.

Response from AMS Software

Hi Selmer! I am very sorry it was hard for you to get the desired result with our software. Have you contacted our tech support? They should help you find the easiest way to apply the needed edits to your photo.

William
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civic & Social Organization
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

PhotoWorks has tools like you find in expensive software.

Reviewed on 02/06/2022

The other photo editing program I experimented with told me of layers. I understood the concept to a point. PhotoWorks probably uses the layer concept but the tasks I done so far I didn't have to rely on understanding which layer did what in the overall edited photo

Pros

I can accomplish the same task that I did in much $$$ programs in LESS TIME and with videos on how to make the picture butter than it was. If I run into a new problem, so far there has been videos showing me how to make it happen. Therefore being MUCH easier to use.
I also like the way it places the term "edited" on the saved product, definitly helps when I go back to make more edits

Cons

You pay for what you get and I MOST wanted a program that could eliminate objects in the photo and not have to do the "trial and error" method OVER and OVER. On the first day I understood how to remove an object and replace with a nearby object.
PhotoWorks does have limitations ... OR tools that I haven't found yet. You get into doing what you need done and move on, so it's possible it's not the software's fault.

Response from AMS Software

Hi William, thank you very much for your review! Glad that you found our tutorials very useful. If you lack certain functionality in our software, feel free to send us your feedback - we're open to new ideas, and will try to implement them in future updates.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Entertainment
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

PhotoWorks is OK

Reviewed on 16/11/2021

I use for basic images.

Pros

The best of PhotoWorks are: Ease of use, good tools and user friendly.

Cons

The worst of PhotoWorks are: Performance, in some tools the app takes long time to respond.

R Scott
Overall rating
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

A truly excellent tool that is actually easy to learn and to use

Reviewed on 19/07/2022

I just enjoy using it and their Customer Service is great!!

Pros

This photo app is as user friendly and intuitive as the the more expensive editors are confusing and intimidating> I really enjoy it!

Cons

It would be nice to have more flexibility in terms of text and frames. But these are minor minor issues and theyhelped me find easy solutions.

Phillip
Overall rating
  • Industry: Consumer Electronics
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Software quality and performance

Reviewed on 14/07/2022

For most common graphic and photo editing, this software is sufficient and powerful enough to sastify my works for personal or business purposes.

Pros

Integrated most useful and common features for photo editing work. These features are powerful enough to sastify your photo editing results.

Cons

This software is for editing with single layer photo. For multiple-layer graphic editing and generating work, more powerful software like Photoshop would be needed.

Response from AMS Software

Thank you for the detailed review, Philip! We are already thinking on the multiple layer editing, and this feature may be added in one of the future updates.

Pierre
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Ppo

Reviewed on 14/07/2022

Happy with the purchase so far

Pros

Ease of use and performance mostly in processing with GPU.

Cons

Still in learning mode and processing the menu functionalities

Ross
Overall rating
  • Industry: Writing & Editing
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Outstanding support for an indispensible product

Reviewed on 19/07/2022

The technical support (for a niggling but unimportant fault) was outstanding, with the problem resolved with very detailed procedures.

Pros

This software is ideal for use "straight-out-of-the-box" because of its hints and help system; the provision of pop-up videos to show techniques makes it easy for anybody unfamiliar with the program to use it immediately.

Cons

A very minor detail is that the image selection process could be speeded by providing thumbnails of the folder being edited.

Susan
Overall rating
  • Industry: Writing & Editing
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Susan's Review

Reviewed on 20/07/2022

My overall experience has been positive.

Pros

Very easy to use. Very user friendly. Tutorials are well written and easy to follow. The software has a lot of nice features. I really like the photo effects. Customer support is very good.

Cons

I really do not have any cons. I have not had any problems with it So far, I really like the software.

Richard
Overall rating
  • Industry: Photography
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Hobbyist's Review, written by " Rick's Wildlife Photography"

Reviewed on 13/05/2022

Not in business use but the the experience has been good.

Pros

As an experienced amateur wildlife photographer hobbyist and now 74yrs old I can do so many things with PhotoWorks, not only to just improve my results, but to do fun and interesting things with my photos without having to have an in depth knowledge of all the time consuming and confusing technical no how required to use programs such as Photoshop. Obviously from the earlier sign in details you required and the choices therein , your review request is perhaps not really aimed at retired persons or amateur photographers however your program is an absolute treasure for the likes of us, and there are a lot of us out here. As with all things worthwhile practice makes perfect but, for example, it is even possible to eventually, after repetitively altering already altered photos, to come up with a family photo showing five generations all in the one photo that looks totally realistic and genuine. I love your program folks.

Cons

I've been too busy enjoying the software at this stage that I haven't noticed any particular dislikes.

Chris
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Monthly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

A good solid package that needs further improvement

Reviewed on 02/09/2021

Overall I like PhotoWorks, but I have decided not to use it until the issues summarised above have been resolved.

Pros

I need photo editing software for personal use to clean up thousands of old 35mm colour slides that I have digitised. My goal is simply to remove defects from the images, e.g. incorrect exposure, colour balance and blemishes, not to add special effects. I compared PhotoWorks version 10.0 with Adobe Photoshop Elements version 18.0.
Both have easy-to use auto enhancement features that produce similar results. However PhotoWorks offers more granular manual correction of individual image attributes, which enables good results to be obtained from problem images, eg very under- or over-exposed.
The only retouching option I have used is the Healing Brush, which allows blemished due to dust, fibres, mold, etc to be corrected. PhotoWorks performs well at this.
The PhotoWorks team was very responsive when I requested an option to add templates for visible captions on images.

Cons

Performance is disappointingly slow when PhotoWorks applies corrections to images - typically with lag times of 1 or more seconds - which makes the removal of a large number of blemishes time-consuming.
One of my must-have requirements is the ability to add visible captions to each photo using a consistent format (font, size, colour, opacity, position on canvas, etc). The PhotoWorks Text Templates option goes some way towards providing this, but does not yet offer consistent caption positioning, nor the ability to alter a caption once the image has been saved. The opacity option also needs improvement.

Gerry
Overall rating
  • Industry: Music
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

PhotoWorks - my thoughts

Reviewed on 14/05/2021

Very user friendly, easy to learn, great tools and time savers

Pros

I got Photoworks very recently and have used it quite a bit, since I had some important face swapping  photo work I needed to do. Photoworks is very user friendly and easy to figure out and the videos are extremely helpful.

I also have had GIMP a long time, which is a very complex graphics program. It's much more difficult to do the work on GIMP. I'm now using both programs together on my pics. 

GIMP can pretty much do anything, but it's very difficult to learn and I must say there are certain things on PhotoWorks that are incredible time savers that would take forever on GIMP like the photo touch up tools that can zero in on the face or the complete photo. You can very quickly try about 20 variations until you find the best one.

If you're looking for a program that's easy to learn and also powerful in certain features, PhotoWorks may be the best choice.

Cons

Can't save the workspace to continue on another day. No manual, only tutorials

Heather
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

For small business owners

Reviewed on 01/09/2021

Overall, quick to learn with tutorials and videos. Easy to use beyond learning. I liked the background remover - used the tutorial, and then it was like magic to remove!

Pros

I was able to learn quickly how to insert our logo and add it to images via overlay. Important for our remodeling and construction before/after pictures. We like adding our logo, so our photos can be trusted (and owned) as our work. It is important to brand!

Cons

I was excited about the "batch" view - but it would not let me save our unique logo file. You can create and save a "signature" template - which must be created (and not imported) within the software.
[I had wanted to add our logo as overlay on a batch of pictures, and am only able to do so on individual images.]

Response from AMS Software

Hi Heather, thank you so much for your review, and for the comment on adding logos! I've forwarded this to the project manager, so we might add the option of importing a custom logo and saving it as a template in future updates.

M. Jo Wendorff
Overall rating
  • Industry: Public Safety
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Want to Save Dark Photos??

Reviewed on 03/11/2021

Love the ease of Photoworks. The Learning curve is great. Staff offers help with any questions when purchasing. I really enjoy moving the bars (sharpness, etc. ) & seeing immediate changes on the photo!

Pros

I absolutely love this program. It has saved me many hours of set up & retaking photos. I am NOT a pro. I am volunteered (or volunteer) to do photos of projects for groups. My camera did not respond, many pictures were very dark & I was physically sick. I searched the net, found PhotoWorks, and did a few tests with some of the darkest pictures. I honestly could not believe the results! I bought the program the same day ( early Christmas present to me)!! i mam thrilled! have used PhotoWorks more time than i thought i would, always wit6h great results.

Cons

Haven't found any negatives yet! add on I wish the disc of the program would have cost a bit less. I bought it (I did not want to take any chances on losing PhotoWorks)

Adel
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Simple and cheap photo editing

Reviewed on 01/09/2021

I use Photoworks to manipulate photos for patients and procedures before projecting them to students. It is simple, with clean interface and does the job with ease.

Pros

Very simple interface, does the needed jobs in photo-editing with ease. It has also, plenty of online tutorials.

Cons

Raw files need a many manual corrections before becoming usable.

Reginald
Overall rating
  • Industry: Photography
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Photoworks Is a Great Alternative to Photoshop for Basic Image Editing

Reviewed on 15/07/2022

I love using this product because I get great results very fast. I've never had an issue with the software such as glitches, freezing, erratic results, etc. There are tutorials on how to use the software but it is so intuitive that instructions really aren't needed to get the gist of a menu option upon first use.

Pros

It's user friendly, easier to learn than other photo editing software, and it's priced just right.

Cons

I do have Photoshop and it has a multitude of plug-in assets, actions, templates, filters, fonts, and more that Photoworks doesn't have at this moment.

Response from AMS Software

Hi Reginald! Thank you for the review and your suggestion. We've already created additional effects, clipart, and backgrounds for PhotoWorks, and we are already working on more add-ons.

Ian
Overall rating
  • Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

User Friendly, Good result

Reviewed on 15/07/2022

The benefits are ,I can get my media advertising out quicker, more personalized and sharper presentation

Pros

The main features of this software is it works, it is simple, it is accurate and fast

Cons

Perhaps the clarity on blurred photo's could be a bit higher in the pixel distribution

Paolo
Overall rating
  • Industry: Banking
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Very simple to use

Reviewed on 13/05/2021

Pros

very easy to use and to learn. The tutorials explain good how to use the software

Cons

Is very similar with the features of photoshop, everything is all right

Claudio
Overall rating
  • Industry: Music
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

PhotoWorks recommendation

Reviewed on 03/06/2022

I would say so far it is a more than positive experience

Pros

The very intuitive use, the practicality, the functions, the graphics, the set of software features and the more than excellent support guide.

Cons

For the use I have made of it so far and for what I need I have not found anything that is not to my liking.

Robert
Overall rating
  • Industry: Law Enforcement
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Perfect for editing all your photos and graphics.

Reviewed on 03/11/2021

This software allow me to enhance and clean up photos both old and new with ease. I have always used PhotoWorks and have never been let down with any of the products.

Pros

The easy of use and the forever license. It was easy to download and use right away.

Cons

Really nothing to not like that I have found so far. What you can't figure out on your own is easily explained in the help sections and tip videos provided with the program.

Dave
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

A+++ photo software

Reviewed on 01/09/2021

Extremely easy learning curve

Pros

Ease of use.i find the help extremely easy to use when needed

Cons

Nothing.i find nothing this program needs

Douglas
Overall rating
  • Industry: Photography
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Learning Photoworks Pro Program

Reviewed on 14/07/2022

So far GREAT. I LOVE it. This software beats photoshop in my opinion.

Pros

Changing color to B&W. Cloning and the croping tool. Since I do all B&W pictures I am mostly using the tools that benefit me to better my B&W.

Cons

I have found nothing to this date that I dislike about the software.

Charlene
Overall rating
  • Industry: Banking
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Good

Reviewed on 03/09/2021

Pros

I liked the features. Being able to crop and edit the pics and changing the background

Cons

Not knowing how to use all the buttons, some features does not do anything so I’m not sure if I do something wrong

Lisa
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Very User Friendly...

Reviewed on 13/05/2022

It was super easy, paid for it and downloaded it right away.

Pros

This product is really user friendly and I really enjoy experimenting with it.

Cons

Nothing I disliked. Its really user friendly.