Quickbooks Online Reviews

Quickbooks Online

4.3 (6,397)
Small business accounting software

Overall rating

4.3 /5
(6,397)
Value for Money
4.1/5
Features
4.2/5
Ease of Use
4.2/5
Customer Support
4.0/5

86%
recommended this app
Sort by

6397 Reviews

Tosif
Overall rating
  • Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

QUICKBOOKS for INVOICING

Reviewed on 09/10/2020

Overall quickbooks is a good tool for small business to track expenses, invoice customers and track...

Overall quickbooks is a good tool for small business to track expenses, invoice customers and track the invoices received. You can even email and customize invoices right from the software.

Pros

Quicksbooks is a great software for the small busineess. It allows for invoicing customers in an easy way. If you are out of the limit for the invoices, you can make a small purchase and make it online and can access it from anywhere and everywhere from the tablet, pc or phone. It is a real easy way for tracking the invoices and marking them paid with accounts receivable. It also allows for digital time card where you can record the employees time of in and out. Great software and easy to learn.

Cons

The things you want to consider improving the software is it should give easy ways for tracking the accounts paid and invoices paid by the customer. Everything else looks pretty decent.

Alternatives Considered

OnlineInvoices

Reasons for Switching to Quickbooks Online

Quickbooks is easy to use than any other software. As it can be use with or without internet. For invoices online you need internet to access your files and folders. With quickbooks you can backup your data and use it anywhere from any device like phone, tablet and pc.
Robert
Overall rating
  • Industry: Broadcast Media
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Quick Books Online Essential To Business Operations

Reviewed on 09/10/2023

Once it's set up, the entire operation is a joy to use.

Once it's set up, the entire operation is a joy to use.

Pros

The online version of QB allows us to collaborate between departments and gives us the freedom to work out of the office as needed. It also allows our accountant to review and advise easily. Once QB is set up and staff trained, the data entry and report generating is not difficult to operate.

Cons

Set up and learning to use QB requires someone familiar with the software to assist in the deployment. The average manager would otherwise have a steep learning curve.

Chris
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

Cannot send invoices through text! Useless!

Reviewed on 08/11/2023

Not satisfied.. very hard to use for the simple small business owner

Not satisfied.. very hard to use for the simple small business owner

Pros

Receipt snap and categorizing automatically was awesome no complaints there.. nailed that!

Cons

Can’t send anything to clients via text through mobile app and online program.. no one uses email anymore! 98% of texts are opened and only 15-20% open rates with emails.. do you now see the problem!

Erica
Overall rating
  • Industry: Law Practice
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Great option for any business!

Reviewed on 20/09/2023

The software itself was easy to use and navigate.

The software itself was easy to use and navigate.

Pros

The expenses and sales receipts entries. Both are imperative to running a successful business, and the ease of imputing the information and generating reports is phenomenal. Other programs have a tendency to be a little more difficult to navigate for some users, however, this specific aspect of Quickbooks is extremely user friendly. The fact that it is also available online is a game changer.

Cons

I wish there was another way to enter in time for a Client, instead of having to do it all at once. There are other programs that we also utilize that allow our office to enter time day by day, versus Client by Client, which saves time in the long run. I also wish there was a way to utilize the payroll feature when working with a third-party. One of our partners are unable to access this feature during tax time because the payroll provider is a third-party and not by Quickbooks, and therefore we are unable to use the reports generated for that specific item.

Victoria
Overall rating
  • Industry: Architecture & Planning
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great Program with Many Benefits

Reviewed on 05/10/2023

Good!

Good!

Pros

The ease of use plus the benefits of personalized assistance is great.

Cons

Not being able to fully customize the template for invoicing.

Alternatives Considered

Deltek Ajera and STAX
Nicholas
Overall rating
  • Industry: Law Practice
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great Product

Reviewed on 12/10/2023

I use it daily to check out cleared checks and balances as well as projecting financials into the...

I use it daily to check out cleared checks and balances as well as projecting financials into the future.

Pros

It was extremely easy to port over our old Quickbooks product and the program walked me through the transfer. It was fast and 100% accurate. It is easy to log in and constantly updates. Great Product!

Cons

Nothing I can think of. It is a great product.

Stephanie
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Quickbooks is an integral part of our business

Reviewed on 05/10/2023

Overall Quickbooks is a huge help to my company. I can easily send invoices. I can track payments...

Overall Quickbooks is a huge help to my company. I can easily send invoices. I can track payments and refer back when a customer misplaces a paid invoice or if the have questions about past services rendered. It has made our payroll streamlined and so much easier than writing checks and manually figuring out checks. They even pay the taxes directly from my account.

Pros

I like the simplicity of Quickbooks. If I ever have a question I can refer to help topics or I can easily text or speak with a representative to discuss my issue. It allows me to keep track of past due invoices and process payments with ease. I can set my payroll to automatically run and save extra time with my salary employees. I also like that I can access it from my phone or tablet and dont have to be on my computer.

Cons

The only con of Quickbooks online is that I can not access payroll and invoices through the same app on my phone. I have to login through the web browser for payroll.

samuel
Overall rating
  • Industry: Consumer Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Quickbooks for pool professional's.

Reviewed on 06/10/2023

Fast, Easy Secure.

Fast, Easy Secure.

Pros

Fast and easy to make invoices and recieve payments.

Cons

Nothing that is disliked as of now. All functions work as expected.

Julie
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civil Engineering
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Long time user ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Reviewed on 12/10/2023

We are able to run financial reports in real time which is helpful. Makes matching up payments...

We are able to run financial reports in real time which is helpful. Makes matching up payments easy and accurate.

Pros

The ease of use- makes financial reporting easier.

Cons

No specific feedback in this category at this time

Sanjna
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

In the Cloud

Reviewed on 21/07/2016

Pros

It goes without saying that having access to one's clients' books online is most convenient and it seems that the industry trend is to make accounting and bookkeeping services cloud based. This saves a lot of space on the computer and everything is always backed up and up to date. The customer services is very convenient being available 24/7 and the agents are fairly knowledgeable about the product and how to resolve problems that arise during the course of cleaning up and reconciling. One important tool is the option to attach documents and exchange them with your clients directly withing Quick Books keeping them safe and secure.

Cons

Compared to other versions of Quick Books, there are certain limitations in that transactions can become easily duplicated while classifying transactions and reconciling bank accounts therefore that would be one of the first things to examine when the books don't balance. There are certain business types such as home health care businesses that often need to track clients' bank accounts in addition to the company books. Quick Books treats all of them as company bank accounts and is unable to track them separately.

Benedict
Overall rating
  • Industry: Professional Training & Coaching
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Being a user of QBO since 2009...

Reviewed on 29/11/2020

Pros

It is easy to use and intuitive user interface.
I have to say that since 2009, there have been great improvements to the interface, and bank integrations are now available.

Cons

For the price point, there are many other similar software that you can get much better value for what you are paying. The bank syncing option while is good, is very clunky and takes too much time and gets dropped off very often. To be fair, it may be the bank systems but it is annoying as a user.

There is also very limited options in customizing the template of your documents such as invoices, payment vouchers, receipts. As the world transits to online payments, the least QBO can offer is to allow the option to add QR code of your own respective bank on the Invoice to make payment easier for clients. But this feature is not available on QBO

Alternatives Considered

Xero

Reasons for Switching to Quickbooks Online

It was recommended by my accountant. Now looking back since 2009 that I started using QBO, I should have changed ages ago to other software that gets better value for what you are paying. To be clear, I am a consultant & coach, and it is just meeting the basic expectations of what is needed. Perhaps for other industries, it may be better.
Taylor
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Overall a great choice for nonprofits

Reviewed on 12/09/2020

Overall I am very pleased by my experience with QBO. While I struggled with initial implementation,...

Overall I am very pleased by my experience with QBO. While I struggled with initial implementation, it has very much streamlined financial management once I figured out how to more efficiently utilize the software. The flexibility of using QBO through my browser of software download is an immensely important feature that I cannot overstate - since my position is volunteer/unpaid, if I ever leave the organization they cannot be tied to a software downloaded on my personal laptop. Plus its just nice to know that I have access anywhere I need, regardless.

Pros

QBO has made it so much easier to stay on top of finances for the nonprofit I work with. It's so nice to add bills for reimbursement of expenses to stay on top of when the expense occurred as well as when the reimbursement check was written vs deposited. Automatic linking to my bank account and to paypal is a lifesaver. I don't know what I would do without locations or being able to use classes for fund reporting/functional expenses.

Cons

There was definitely a steep learning curve, and I've just had to accept that some of the transactions I was doing when I first started weren't done in the most 'ideal' way. I'm adding historical finances for 8 years and struggling with handling inventory in particular, since I'm both trying to keep up with current purchases/sales and build the historical financial statements. While the QBO online forum is generally helpful for troubleshooting issues, sometimes I run into features that just aren't available on QBO and only on QuickBooks desktop which is incredibly frustrating when I know how useful it would be.

Alternatives Considered

Aplos

Reasons for Choosing Quickbooks Online

We were practically unable to do any reasonable financial analysis. The historical treasurers used the cash method without breaking out actual expenses rather than reimbursement checks, so we lost so much detail that I'm now trying to recreate.

Switched From

Google Sheets

Reasons for Switching to Quickbooks Online

QBO is just more of an industry standard. I felt that there would be more help available/issues would have been better fixed in the past since its usage is so widespread.
Scott
Overall rating
  • Industry: Printing
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 3.0 /10

Too many problems with the Software and poor support

Reviewed on 30/08/2019

First, when I moved my business from Quickbooks desktop to Quickbooks Online, it cost me thousands...

First, when I moved my business from Quickbooks desktop to Quickbooks Online, it cost me thousands of dollars in accounting fees to fix all the errors that QBO introduced. The transition was a nightmare, and took months to sort out. Inuit was ZERO help during this time.

Since then QBO has gotten worse, not better. There are constant sync issues with bank accounts and credit cards, and QBO staff always recommend that you call your bank or credit card company. But these are QBO issues, and can only be resolved by QBO engineers, sometimes with the help of the bank or card company in question. It's ridiculous to ask a consumer to get involved in those kinds of issues, and a complete waste of time.

I have had numerous times where a credit card purchase showed as being processed, but only months later we found it didn't and lost the money - thousands of dollars in total. QBO and Intuit Merchant services take no responsibility.

Recently QBO forced Paypal as a payment option, and users cannot turn it off. But payments come in with no name associated with the payment. QBO insists this is a paypal problem, but it is not. A client receives an invoice online, pays it online, and then Quickbooks cannot match the payment to a name, but won't let you turn off paypal as an option. If clients pay an invoice just using your email, using paypal without QBO, then payments match. Clearly QBO has a big problem here.

Pros

It is convenient when it works. You can theoretically sync your bank accounts, credit cards and client payments, saving time in accounting and eliminating a lot of data entry

Cons

Merchant Services is expensive and unresponsive. The software has many bugs, and often won't sync with accounts for days or more. Tech support is hit and miss, and often I will resolve an issue before they can. In line ads are extremely annoying, and QBO treats its customers as a product, rather than a customer. There is no service level agreement and Intuit takes zero responsibility if they lose your data. They no longer have a phone number you can call. You have to wait for a callback, and many times they don't call back.

Alternatives Considered

Xero

Reasons for Choosing Quickbooks Online

We switched from Quickbooks desktop to Quickbooks Online so our accounting would not be tied to one computer.

Switched From

QuickBooks Desktop Pro

Reasons for Switching to Quickbooks Online

I chose what I knew. I didn't understand at the time however that Quickbooks Desktop and Quickbooks Online are like two completely different companies. They don't talk to each other, and QBO is an inferior product in many ways. These two things are not the same.
Robin
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Quickbooks Serves It's Purpose

Reviewed on 26/09/2019

It's a somewhat love-hate relationship I have with Quickbooks. Love more so though. I have gotten...

It's a somewhat love-hate relationship I have with Quickbooks. Love more so though. I have gotten used to a lot of Quickbooks' quirks now. It was a difficult go to get started to get things set up but I had support. I've been using Quickbooks for a few years now. I like how clean and organized invoices look for clients and how I can customize them and emails. I appreciate recurring invoices that help to avoid user error on consistency in repeat services and in sending invoices on time.

Pros

I like the ability to customize how invoices and emails look. I appreciate the ability we had to import our clients' details and past invoices when we started up with Quickbooks. The plethora of reports and customizable reports are very useful. I also appreciate being able to process payments through Quickbooks. The search ability is decent helpful in looking for specific invoices, amounts, or other specific data.

Cons

It was quite a challenge to get everything up and going when we started with Quickbooks
There are some features that are limited and seem to operate oddly, such as deleting some clients vs marking some as inactive. If I have completed services with certain clients, I want to keep their data, but mark them inactive. When I mark them as inactive, the system puts them in a state of "deleted", which makes me very concerned when I see that. I don't want to lose their data. Also, some duplicates of clients have been created or clients never started services with us. So that data was just bloating the system and a bit confusing sometimes. Those particular clients would be good to actually fully delete them. I've run into processes that can be very confusing. Luckily my accountant is able to help me through the challenges.

Response from Intuit

Hi there, Robin. It's great to hear you've enjoyed using QuickBooks to customize reports, process payments, and manage many other accounting elements. You can continue to count on us to help lighten the work load for years to come! We recommend our video tutorials to expand your knowledge of features and work flows in your account (https://quickbooks.intuit.com/tutorials/). Additionally, the following article provides a detailed explanation of making clients inactive in your account (https://quickbooks.intuit.com/learn-support/en-us/configure-products/make-a-customer-inactive-and-then-active/00/186156).

We appreciate you sharing your thoughts with us!
Morgan, The QuickBooks Team

Claire
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Pretty decent accounting software with a good price point

Reviewed on 22/11/2022

I use Quickbooks on a daily basis for invoicing clients, bank reconcilliation as well as looking at...

I use Quickbooks on a daily basis for invoicing clients, bank reconcilliation as well as looking at the various reports. I have customised the reports to show the time period and categories that are useful for our business.

Pros

Intergrates with other accountantss practice software seemlessly. Easy to set up and get started.

Cons

You can not create a credit note from an invoice which would be useful instead you need to start from a blank document and type in the invoice information.

Alternatives Considered

Xero

Reasons for Choosing Quickbooks Online

Wave did offer the features that Quickbooks did and support for the UK preoduct was being withdrawn.

Switched From

Wave Accounting

Reasons for Switching to Quickbooks Online

Partner offers and value for money.
Ahmad
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

QBO is excellent for non-profit except for a few limitations

Reviewed on 20/09/2022

It is the best for small size non-profits as long as one can find an away to produce end of year...

It is the best for small size non-profits as long as one can find an away to produce end of year donation tax statements

Pros

If you know how to setup the chart of accounts including using Locations and Classes you can fairly run non-profit accounting very smoothly. Data entry is simple. Reporting is fairly good.
Import and export functions are very good.

Cons

There are serious limitations with issuing end of year donation statements. One can't filter out sales and can't customize the statement text to meet regulations. The statements are very inflexible.

Alternatives Considered

Aplos

Reasons for Choosing Quickbooks Online

Online access and easier user experience

Switched From

QuickBooks Desktop Pro

Reasons for Switching to Quickbooks Online

Although Aplos was made for non-profits it didn't give us the flexibility to setup our chart of accounts to enable the required reporting across restricted/unrestricted funds, programs and bank accounts.
Navine
Overall rating
  • Industry: Cosmetics
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Excellent Software if you have help

Reviewed on 29/07/2021

I had a live hate relationship with quickbooks because while it was easy to use it can get messy...

I had a live hate relationship with quickbooks because while it was easy to use it can get messy quite quickly due incorrect categorization. That changed when I hired a bookkeeper to look over my books on a monthly basis.

Pros

Love quickbooks online well because it is online which means I can do my business from anywhere and anytime.

Relatively easy to set up and has video tutorials. Love that you can set up lots of subcategories which makes comparing information from different categories easy and more meaningful.

Love the new tags feature!!! I wholesale so I can see which wholesale reps are performing the best.

Makes bookkeeping and tax paying easy if everything is setup correctly and accounts are reconciled correctly.

Love the various reports you can pull from it. Profit and loss monthly, quarterly, annually.

Love how easy it is to create invoices and the option to get paid within quickbooks!! No more sending an invoice and then asking for a separate PayPal or square payment.

Cons

Categorizing some income & expenses can be tricky at times which can mess the books up and make you want to tear your hair out.

May Need a quickbooks bookkeeper to keep your books clean or will most likely mess it up.

Alternatives Considered

FreshBooks and Wave Accounting

Reasons for Switching to Quickbooks Online

Wa e was too basic and fresh books was limited in its functions.
Tammy
Overall rating
  • Industry: Veterinary
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Quickbooks online

Reviewed on 17/06/2021

For the most part I really like the software, there are just a few things that aren't as handy as...

For the most part I really like the software, there are just a few things that aren't as handy as the old desktop version. They periodically do different feature updates that for my portion of the accounting don't really enhance my job or make it easier.

Pros

I love the fact that I don't have to do manual backups! I love that it is accessible from any computer. It is a huge help that I am able to scan and attach invoices, comes in very handy when I need to double check payments made.

Cons

From an accounting standpoint the fact that the program doesn't recognize if an invoice was previously entered by the invoice number is something I really miss from the old desktop form of the software. On this software you could enter the same invoice number in 10 times and it would never "see" that the invoice was previously entered. This causes a lot of back and forth between the vendor account and bills window which takes extra time. The only other comment I have is concerning the reports section. I am not a trained accountant and on the old desktop version it was far easier to generate reports.

Ryan
Overall rating
  • Industry: Medical Devices
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

QBO Works, But It Should Be Better Than It Is

Reviewed on 02/08/2022

Due to the massive price increase to move to a 60k+ ERP, QBO is probably still the way to go, it's...

Due to the massive price increase to move to a 60k+ ERP, QBO is probably still the way to go, it's just a shame that they haven't done a better job listening to their customers and implementing the MANY MANY requests and suggestions that they have been receiving for years.

Pros

You can login online from anywhere, and it does a great job of syncing with your bank accounts

Cons

The support is basically non-existent. Also, there is just no reason that they haven't implemented more customization options for how long this software has been out. They also make syncing with other programs sound good, but then limit what can actually be done on the back-end.

Alternatives Considered

NetSuite and Xero

Reasons for Choosing Quickbooks Online

QB Enterprise was getting left in the dark ages, and it simply isn't a user-friendly product.

Reasons for Switching to Quickbooks Online

We chose QBO over the many ERPs that we had looked at, because we ended up finding a product called OrderTime that does an excellent job syncing with QBO and takes care of our inventory and order management needs. If it weren't for OrderTime, we would have probably moved forward with an full ERP.

Response from Intuit

Hi, Ryan. Thanks for an honest review. This isn't the impression we hoped you'd have. We'd appreciate the opportunity to make this right. The best way to reach the QuickBooks Online Team is to use any of the methods listed here: (https://quickbooks.intuit.com/learn-support/en-us/help-article/account-management/quickbooks-online-support/L6WqNrDq0_US_en_US). We're always happy to help. All the best. -Kristina, The QuickBooks Team

Jennifer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Quickbooks has made my practice

Reviewed on 27/08/2019

Overall this software has changed the face of my practice and how it operates. I was previously...

Overall this software has changed the face of my practice and how it operates. I was previously using Solar Desktop software but Quickbooks software has enabled me to be able to take on more clients, provide them with access to their accounts online, be able to confidently provide my clients with accurate training and support and it has also saved me a lot of time with some tasks such as bank reconciliations, entering transactions using bank feeds etc.

Pros

Initially, I really loved the fact that you could receive very in-depth free training from home and in a classroom environment. Also, the fact that Accountants receive a licence for free for their own practice. I like the entire 'look' of the software, it doesn't feel overly complicated and is very user friendly. The help files and online helpdesk are extremely useful. I like that I can restrict the permissions that my clients have in order to avoid any unwanted mistakes being made but do feel that the permissions need to be more tailorable. I really like having the ability to set up recurring invoices which minimises the amount of time I have to spend on monthly repeating invoices.

Cons

I feel the permissions that you can set for individual clients is not restrictive enough - I would like to be able to enable clients to create their own sales invoices and purchase invoices but maybe restrict them from being able to delete them as this has caused many issues with some of my clients. Also, the system can be a bit 'glitchy' on occasion and the figures it sometimes produces on the trial balance report is not always accurate - usually the Sales figure is inaccurate for previous financial years which can be most frustrating. I also don't like that fact that, as a Quickbooks ProAdvisor, you cannot purchase any discounted bundles of licences. I also don't like the way you have to allocate a purchase credit note to the original purchase order - it is far too confusing and causes many errors by my clients.

Alternatives Considered

Xero

Reasons for Choosing Quickbooks Online

In preparation for Making Tax Digital and in order to be able to offer future clients a better service.

Reasons for Switching to Quickbooks Online

Better functionality, cost and the free training that was available.
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Entertainment
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Would recommend for anyone who is overwhelmed with by their accounting process

Reviewed on 01/05/2021

Has been so nice to get organized and have everything in one place. It really helped to analyze...

Has been so nice to get organized and have everything in one place. It really helped to analyze and get controls on spending, collecting receivables, and putting out monthly profit and loss statements.

Pros

The best feature for our company was the bank interface. All our expenses on all bank accounts and credit cards are all downloaded automatically. Even better is you can train this process using rules so that recurring transactions can be classified immediately resulting in little to no work on the user part. Reconciliation is nearly done at the end of the month as any transaction that is entered through the connection to the bank is automatically checked and matched for reconciliation. Tracking vendors for year end 1099 forms is also a great feature we use annually.

Cons

Cons are that if you do not the rules of accounting and are a small business owner with a tight budget and cannot an accountant, you really need to do your homework on what and when to do certain processes like turning the year over. Sometimes the software can run a little heavy on our computer, but there is an installable version you can put on your computer to resolve the issue. The help topics have not been much of a help. I usually refer to google searches as opposed to the topic center included in the software.

Alternatives Considered

FreshBooks and Zoho Expense

Reasons for Choosing Quickbooks Online

We switched because we were using a system to record transactions was antiquated and prone to human error upon entry not to mention the data entry process was very time consuming. We also needed everything all in one place to be a more effective strategy.

Switched From

Microsoft Excel

Reasons for Switching to Quickbooks Online

We ultimately chose Quickbooks for its brand recognition and excellent online reviews. Internet based operations was also a very attractive feature.
CS Sujay
Overall rating
  • Industry: Food Production
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

An Ultimate Truly Trusted Option to Professionally Manage Your Bookkeeping and Accounts 2023

Reviewed on 04/01/2023

QuickBooks is one of the most famous private venture bookkeeping professional arrangements on the...

QuickBooks is one of the most famous private venture bookkeeping professional arrangements on the lookout available in the market. It’s Extraordinary for independent and small scale business ventures, QuickBooks furnishes an early on bookkeeping arrangement with specific bundles and needs offering essential stock administration devices. Be that as it may, likewise with any framework/options available in the markets, there are some upsides and downsides to picking QuickBooks over other early on arrangements or more powerful ERP programming.

Pros

QuickBooks is one of the most famous private venture bookkeeping professional arrangements on the lookout available in the market. It’s Extraordinary for independent and small scale business ventures, QuickBooks furnishes an early on bookkeeping arrangement with specific bundles and needs offering essential stock administration devices. Be that as it may, likewise with any framework/options available in the markets, there are some upsides and downsides to picking QuickBooks over other early on arrangements or more powerful ERP programming.•Simple to utilize and learn•Incorporates well with different frameworks and adaptable with outsider applications•Gives great bookkeeping reports•Reasonable cost•Simple to access from any gadget - telephone, tablet and PC (contingent upon the adaptation)•Simple to find and fix blunders/botches•Simple to look-into client data

Cons

•Easy to use and learn•Integrates well with other systems and flexible with Third party applications•Provides good accounting and financial reports•Affordable and reasonable pricing•Easy to access from any device – phone, tablet and computer (depending on the version)•Easy to find and fix errors/mistakes•Easy to look-up customer information

Charlee
Overall rating
  • Industry: E-Learning
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Thorough, organized bookkeeping software with plenty of features

Reviewed on 08/10/2020

Overall, Quickbooks has been very valuable to my business, easy to use for both clients and myself,...

Overall, Quickbooks has been very valuable to my business, easy to use for both clients and myself, and organized in terms of layout and use. However, I wish the fees charged for processing payments were lower.

Pros

For my business, I send monthly invoices, so Quickbooks' invoicing feature and the ability to accept all kinds of payments is a must for my business. I find the invoices simple to create, and they look professional and attractive on the customer's end. I also like that I am able to customize the invoice template easily so that I can modify how it appears to the customer. My clients have not had any problems paying through Quickbooks' invoices, and most of them actually prefer to pay this way rather than through other methods such as cash or checks. I like that I am able to select or deselect payment methods for each individual customer. Quickbooks' system has simplified my payment process and my clients are satisfied.

I use the Quickbooks Online feature of adding my accountant to my account for no additional cost, and I like this feature because if I have any problems or questions, I don't have to try to explain in detail each concern; instead, my accountant can just log into my account and view any discrepancies herself. This has been a lifesaver on multiple occasions.

Another feature I like is the ease of use with categorizing bank transactions and expenses. Quickbooks suggests categories and automatically matches most transactions that it estimates are paid invoices. They are correct the majority of the time, and this makes matching payments to invoices a breeze. I also like the records that Quickbooks makes, such as records that show my profit and loss by month.

Cons

While Quickbooks is very critical to my business and makes bookkeeping easy for me, I do find the payment processing fees a bit expensive. I suppose the fees are on par with other payment processing systems; however, at the end of the month, it is a bit surprising to see how quickly all of the individual payment fees add up on top of the $25 I pay each month to have Quickbooks Online. My complaint about this software would definitely be the fees associated with payments my customers make through Quickbooks.

Brian
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Slow to improve and major adjustment from desk top.

Reviewed on 12/07/2023

The transition from desk top to on line was pretty rigorous. I like most of the functions of the...

The transition from desk top to on line was pretty rigorous. I like most of the functions of the platform and there are lots more tools on this platform than the desktop.

Pros

I like being able to work from home, office, or on the road. The W-2 printing is easier and filing automatic tax documents is very nice.

Cons

We have a recurring issue with Quickbooks online in regards to our sales tax. We have spent hours on the phone with their online help desk to no avail. Each County in Missouri is able to adjust their sales tax rate every election cycle. The Intuit team is unable to get the tax rates to match actual amounts. Our rate adjusted up 18 months ago and I am still manually having to input the sales tax on every invoice. Intuit automatically inputs your location and will not allow you to adjust. Consequently, I have under collected my sales tax every period since the local rate changed. They won't adjust to the correct amount and I am not a perfect robot who always remembers to adjust each ticket from the automatic input tax to the actual.

Denise
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

QuickBooks Online Ease of Use

Reviewed on 11/10/2022

It's a love/hate relationship with QBO. I love the functionality and the possibilities of what it...

It's a love/hate relationship with QBO. I love the functionality and the possibilities of what it can do, but absolutely hate it when there is a question I need an answer to. I have tried for 4 weeks to convert our payroll over to a new QBO Payroll program and have yet to get everything completed. Every time I make a little progress, another question pops up and I have to spend at least 1-2 hours with a rep to get help. Unfortunately, our third-party tech support does not specialize in payroll, so I have no other options but to be at QBO's mercy.

Pros

It provides an excellent option for payroll processing and federal/state tax reporting. The reports options are great.

Cons

The customer service is horrible, and answers are confusing once a person does answer to help. After many countless searches and help desk responses that did not provide adequate results, we started using Real World Training's support. They provided a two-day tutorial on all QuickBooks basics and help out on live, real-time sessions as needed.

Alternatives Considered

Quicken and ADP Workforce Now

Reasons for Switching to Quickbooks Online

CEO chose the program

Response from Intuit

Thank you for taking a moment to write your review, Denise.

It's great hearing that QuickBooks Online and the payroll have been so easy for you all to use!

However, we want to be sure you get the help you need, when you need it. If you still have any questions or need assistance, please don't hesitate to reach out to us using the following link: (https://help.quickbooks.intuit.com/prechats/offerings/QBO-CHAT/22817/view). Please also keep in mind that we're available to help through Facebook, Instagram, Twitter, etc.

All the best!

-Faith, The QuickBooks Team