Microkeeper

4.2 (12)
Australian web-based human resource (HR) management software

Overall rating

4.2 /5
(12)
Value for Money
4.5/5
Features
4.2/5
Ease of Use
4.1/5
Customer Support
4.1/5

92%
recommended this app
Sort by

12 Reviews

Robyn
Overall rating
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Love, Love, Love Microkeeper

Reviewed on 19/10/2020

Fantastic. Would highly recommend.

Pros

The Microkeeper payroll system is extremely user friendly, with all the functionality I require to run a payroll for 3 different venues, all with split shifts, cost centres etc. Support calls are always answered promptly (I rarely have to leave a message), and the staff are always super helpful and able to solve the problem - which is usually me not quite knowing how to do something slightly more complicated. The ability for staff to access payslips & update their details makes payroll easier from an administrative point of view.

Cons

Would like some better costing alternatives via my departments, when I need to split it out into time slots - breakfast, lunch & dinner.

Greg
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Microkeeper BSA

Reviewed on 19/10/2020

Very good experience, implementation was great.

Pros

Easy to use, well priced and great support

Cons

Reporting function could be better and cleaner - it is a little clunky

Alternatives Considered

Deputy

Reasons for Choosing Microkeeper

Better in departmental reporting which is what we needed and Xero did not offer.

Switched From

Xero

Reasons for Switching to Microkeeper

Better functionality and price
Alfred
Overall rating
  • Industry: Facilities Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 2.0 /10

Plenty of room for improvement

Reviewed on 06/11/2020

Pros

When is working properly it is far more efficient than using a spreadsheet. The calculations and systems seem accurate and relative robust. Support are always quick to respond, albeit dismissive and not particularly helpful.

Cons

There are many short comings with the software and the organisation is slow remedy them (if at all), the most noteable of which are as follows:
1) Employee Payslip disclose information (pertaining to taxable income) in a way that is factually wrong and cannot be corrected (or simplified).
2) Reports are hard to read and often do not contain all information necessary to properly understand them.
3) Data integrations with software platforms like Xero and MYOB are prone to error and no process to safeguard/identify errors. Additional shortcoming means this issue recurs each time a correction or change is required.
I understand that the software is in development, but as a user (facing the above challenges) this provides little consolation.

Response from Microkeeper

Hi Alfred,

I appreciate that you're taking the time to leave a review and am glad you're indicating the overall quality and value for money we offer means we're doing some things right.

I also appreciate some of your feedback regarding the reports and robustness of data integration. This helps us to focus our future development on areas users identify as having room for improvement. As a sidenote, Microkeeper is not "in development" as such, but we do continually add updates and features.

Your feedback regarding the payslips however is wrong. I can assure you these are built to the standards of the Australian Taxation Office. As a software provider, we work closely with a specialised department within the ATO, and we have an excellent working relationship with them.

I'm also sorry to hear you experience your customer service through our reseller channel as dismissive and unhelpful. We take this feedback seriously and we'll follow this up with your point of contact.

John
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Great Software for Sole Traders

Reviewed on 20/10/2020

Overall very good and easy to use, with EXCELLENT customer support.

Pros

Easy to set up and really helps with tax time.

Cons

When you have an error with Single Touch Payroll, it's very difficult to send the ato updated information, the system had to send a revised duplicate.

Alternatives Considered

Xero

Reasons for Switching to Microkeeper

Xero was too expensive and limited functionality for low plans.
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civil Engineering
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Monthly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Good software for managing my payroll

Reviewed on 28/10/2020

Good. Useful piece of software

Pros

Easy to set-up, regular useful emails with critical information and governmental obligations, good UI

Cons

Easier super integration, a little clearer navigation through menus

Response from Microkeeper

Thanks for your positive feedback!

I can assure you it inspires the team. We will all continue to work hard to ensure Microkeeper is the perfect partner for your workforce management and payroll.

barry
Overall rating
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great time saver

Reviewed on 19/10/2020

we have had a few issues, where the support from them is pretty poor

Pros

this software keeps staff hours perfectly, gives us a costed roster
and helps streamline the business

Cons

there was nothing that we did not like with this

Tira
Overall rating
  • Industry: Facilities Services
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

A system always looking to improve

Reviewed on 19/10/2020

Pros

Customisable, always looking to improve, responsive to requests usually

Cons

Reporting capabilities, managing employee visa requirements is difficult

Tom
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great Timesheets that can easily be approved

Reviewed on 12/09/2018

Easy to use program and the company always help out if you reach out to them

Pros

The approval process of the timesheets is fantasitc

Cons

I would like deeper connection with Xero, so that we can see leave balances on our balance sheet.

Naomi
Overall rating
  • Industry: Market Research
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Easy and Cheap

Reviewed on 19/10/2020

Love it, should have moved earlier

Pros

Simple to use monthly payroll, with onboarding and terminations quick and easy. Easy to review and process. And staff get their payslips to their inbox. Reporting options provide everything required for general ledger processing,
And cloud based, so can process from home!

Cons

Reduced reporting options, but once used to them, found adequate.

Jessica
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

A very great product

Reviewed on 19/10/2020

overall I still think it was a great product to use and if you needing it to integrate with your accounting software then this is the product for you.

Pros

I like that it can be intergraded with other accounting software. and is easy to set with the ato side of things.

Cons

It was a bit tricky to set up and understanding certain terminology used.

Krishna
Overall rating
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great value

Reviewed on 19/10/2020

Being a very small company with basic requirements and limited functional knowledge, we find the Microkeeper product easy to use and a great value product.

Pros

The product is easy to use and supported by technical support team.

Cons

Additional reporting features would be good.

Marnie
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great for small business

Reviewed on 19/10/2020

Single touch payroll, staff profiles and staff access to timesheets

Pros

Easy to use and well explained help points along the way

Cons

I would have like to intergeste my square payment platform and a cash book for expenses and income so it all in the one place would be great