Perch Security

4.6 (43)
Threat detection and response management software

Overall rating

4.6 /5
(43)
Value for Money
4.5/5
Features
4.4/5
Ease of Use
4.1/5
Customer Support
4.9/5

93%
recommended this app

43 Software options

James B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great SIEM Solution and Company

Reviewed on 05/01/2021

We have three monthly calls with them, so stay up to date as much as possible. They definitely work hard to make a good product, are very open in terms of roadmap, new features, issues, etc. I honestly wish all of our vendors were like Perch

Pros

It works well, has great integration support, easy to deploy and manage, and the company is great to work with and provides awesome support.

Cons

Nothing really comes to mind. If I had to say one thing, the web interface can occasionally get slow, but that is generally only on larger queries and has improved.

David L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

A breath of fresh air

Reviewed on 05/01/2021

Pros

The customizability and freedom in generating reports. It will also accept log data from almost any data source and the support team is awesome in assisting with the ingests and walking through every request, no matter how crazy it might be.

Cons

The sensors can be a little tricky to set up.

Tarah D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Perch is great!

Reviewed on 11/01/2021

This is an affordable cybersecurity solution for small businesses.

Pros

The support is quick, friendly, and knowledgeable.

Cons

The only con is that it's too bad we need a service such as this.

James D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Perch Review

Reviewed on 19/01/2021

Pros

The integration with a lot of the core services we use made this a clear winner when reviewing. The ongoing communication from the team allows us to be confident in how the product is working.

Cons

As with any product, there was a steep learning curve and I would say the documentation is not as good as it could be.

Nick G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

My Review

Reviewed on 05/01/2021

Overall experience has been great so far, gives us more insight into what's going on and provides that extra layer that we all need

Pros

Amount of data presented and collected, provides great insight into what's going on in your network

Cons

Alerts can be loud at first before fine tuning, ELKstack might be a little intimidating to newcomers at first

Jonathan W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Perch - Very Useful Tool

Reviewed on 06/01/2021

Pros

Easy to use software, integrates with all of our systems which makes it the single pane of glass we were looking for. Has assisted us with our clients and located previously unseen security issues which has lead to greater trust with our client base.

Cons

Sometimes links don't take you to the correct alert, which can cause confusion. Physical sensors can go offline which is troublesome given the remote nature of all employees.

Thomas N.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

A SOC that will have your back

Reviewed on 13/01/2021

Pros

Remote SOC, fairly easy to learn, nice interface, integrations with many platforms

Cons

Needs to integrate with more firewall logging. I believe it does not work with Watchguard or Fortinet presently. I'd also like it if it could do vulnerability scanning or have the ability to automate some processes like disabling Microsoft 365 access if an account has suspicious activity, disabling an end-point that is compromised.

Adam A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Easy to configure

Reviewed on 07/01/2021

Once it is setup and feeding data to the CW Perch SOC they are proactive with alerting so we catch issues early.

Pros

Setup is straight forward. Once you've done it once it is easy to replicate. Make sure you have credentials to your switches to turn on port mirroring for ingress and egress traffic.

Cons

Include in the instructions that you need the step about configuring your switch to monitor all traffic. This step should almost be first before you install otherwise it isn't seeing all traffic.

Andrew B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Writing & Editing
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 1.0 /10

ITlogix, reveiw

Reviewed on 05/01/2021

tiring to solve the puzzle of pulling in may alert sources into a good dashboard with alerting

Pros

The feature set seems to be complete from the marketing perspective. It checks all the boxes for what we are looking for and seems to integrate with our toolset.

Cons

the feater set does not work. For example, it does connect to our 3rd party services and pulls out logs in however the alerts are about useless and several of the integrations are only half done.

Response from ConnectWise

Hi Andrew,

Alerts can definitely be tricky. If you have some time, we can set up a direct meeting with developer support on how to get the most out of your alerts. Please send us an email at [email protected] when you can and we'll get that set up.

Thank you!

Frankie M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer & Network Security
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

IDS/SIEM for MSP's

Reviewed on 11/01/2021

Top notch. Everyone on the team is helpful and want you to be successful.

Pros

Having an IDS/SIEM that is geared towards the MSP market. The product is designed with how MSP's operate. Also, pricing is also aligned to the MSP market.

Cons

If I had to pick on item would be processes not 100% polished. However, support is good and will make sure your issue is resolved.

Karl B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer & Network Security
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

A great product that has helped us immensly in providing cyberdefense to our customers

Reviewed on 05/01/2021

A really great team, easy to get a hold of and really a big part of helping us stop the bad guys in our customers. We have multiple success stories from this product where a significant crisis was stopped before it became a crisis. Also, it is very reasonably priced. This has made it easier for us to approach even our smaller customer. Lastly, we use the product to help us protect and detect our own network.

Pros

The product is comprehensive. It touches the network, the individual hosts and cloud based resources. It all aggregates into a very flexible and feature rich SIEM or SIEM like tool that helps us really figure out what is going on.

Cons

When we first engaged with Perch they had not yet completed some key integrations. Those have been completed now. I can't really think of a current limitation that we wish were better. We are very happy with the product.

Rob P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Networking
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 3.0 /10

Perch failed us for Security and compliance

Reviewed on 12/03/2021

Perch is very good at selling its product but it doesn't deliver on its promise. It's not a true log mangaement or SIEM. Their SOC is more of a Support than anything else. They are too junior

Pros

pricing is very attractive at first but then it adds up very quickly. It doesn't scale very well.

Cons

Log retention is a problem. We failed an audit because didn't provide the raw logs for the duration that we needed it. Perch is a simple basic alerting that sometimes fails to alert.

Devon B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Biotechnology
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

great product and worth the cost

Reviewed on 05/01/2021

excellent. we have never had any issues and everyone we have worked with has always been willing to go above and beyond to assist. I really feel like they put their customers needs as priority #1.

Pros

customer support/noc interactions are fantastic. everyone is super knowledgeable and always willing to help. it does not matter what it is you need help with. it could be designing a query or dashboard to help finding a specific record.
Also the constant improvement to the platform is great.

Cons

honestly at this time I can only think of a single item. and a change request has been submitted for it so I'm sure it will happen in the future. currently you can only connect to a single instance of Salesforce to collect logs. so if you have multiple instances you cannot collect all the logs.

Keith H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great Solution for SIEM and SOC for a Small or Mid-Market company serious about security

Reviewed on 15/01/2021

It has been a great tool internally, and gives us a level of confidence that we certainly did not have before.

Pros

The hardest part of implementing most SIEM's is building the SOC - Security Operations Center/the people who monitor the software so that you actually get he value from the investment. Perch solves this problem for companies so that they don't have to hire people, train them, and then manage and keep them. Instant value.

Cons

I wish this tool had a better way to scale to large and enterprise accounts. I see this getting expensive for large companies.

Alternatives Considered

IBM QRadar SIEM

Reasons for Switching to Perch Security

Ease of setup & good value for the price
Bill C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Easy to consume SIEM

Reviewed on 05/01/2021

Perch has a very tight community and clearly built by people with great security experience.

Pros

This SIEM was easy to use as a MSP, allows for multitenancy.

Cons

The product is built on Elastic, which is very powerful, but has a learning curve for searches.

Matt C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

CNWR Review

Reviewed on 19/01/2021

Pros

Customer service is top-notch and the community is probably the biggest selling point. To be quite honest they have built a tool that anyone could build but they are selling the community and their willingness to continue to improve upon their tool. Their team has been incredible to work with and has been a shining light in the community in terms of continuing to improve and thought leadership.

Cons

The price is the only issue and it's really actually a competitive price.

Kevin H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Threat Intelligence

Reviewed on 06/01/2021

Perch Security provided an easy way to ingest threat intelligence and also share threat intel with other FSISAC members without additional overhead.

Pros

The integration with O365 has been a big benefit as a way to easily get information in one location. The setup process was extremely easy as well.

Cons

We utilize Broadcom SEP (Symantec A/V) and would've liked to see an integration with Symantec's suite of products.

Gary L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Perch SMB

Reviewed on 05/01/2021

Pros

Integrations with popular services like M365, Meraki, Connectwise, Umbrella, and windows logs.
Outstanding support

Cons

Price can be a deterring factor for many SMB.

Chris L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Perch Security - SOC-backed Threat Hunting and SIEM that is not complicated

Reviewed on 06/01/2021

The people at Perch from the top to the bottom are great. If you run into issues, have questions, or just need some advice, they are there for you. Also, their SOC is based in Houston on USA soil which is important to many when you have someone watching your back from a cyber perspective.

Pros

The Perch solution has a very community-esque feel. Users of Perch love it and are not afraid to support one another, share tips, tricks, customizations, etc. This collaboration and feedback is also present within Perch and the improvements that are made to the product it reflect the users' requests and needs.

Cons

This is a product where the more one puts into it, the one gets out of it. It is no magic system out of the box per se. This is not really Perch's fault, but to the layperson, one could thing that.

Alternatives Considered

Graylog, Splunk Enterprise and USM Anywhere

Reasons for Switching to Perch Security

The Perch experience is second-to-none. You can tell they are passionate about their product and it is just not a re-packaging of existing open-source tools.
Peter P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best SIEM for us busy administrators

Reviewed on 13/01/2021

They have been overall amazing. The staff are all super helpful, the software works as intended, and the analysts are responsive. Lots of KB articles already written up make my life easy. The monthly calls are really nice as well since they actually listen to the users.

Pros

The ease of general use - everything is just simple to do without any extra steps, crazy setup, etc...

Cons

Speed of the platform overall - some days, it drags hard.

Alternatives Considered

Splunk Enterprise

Reasons for Switching to Perch Security

The managed piece was huge - we didn't want to invest in threat hunters. The next big reason is that the staff were personable and easy to work with.
Ilya P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Perch Security

Reviewed on 11/01/2021

Very good

Pros

We specialize in Cloud/office 365 and serverless environments so it's important for us to have a solution that met these needs.

Cons

We feel that the SLA can be more competitive.

Michael G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer & Network Security
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Perch has made delivering advanced security services possible for our business!

Reviewed on 19/01/2021

We love working with the Perch team! They have been there with us through the process to help us understand that it was the right tool for us and also in tweaking as our needs and their tool has evolved. Overall I would recommend that any managed services provider consider this tool in their stack if they want to protect, and impress, their clients.

Pros

Perch has enabled us to get all of the information about potential breaches into one place backed by a top tier set of experts who help us decipher it all. Our team has built an interactive relationship with the Perch team and our clients are thrilled that we are finding potential issues before they become breaches.

Cons

When we chose Perch to deploy to all of our managed clients, our initial deployment was a challenge. We expected this to be a smooth process led by the Perch team and that is not what we experienced. I believe that they have resolved some of these issues as recent deployments have gone more smoothly but when something wasn't working properly and they found the issue, it was typically a configuration issue that we never could have know needed to be done in a tool that we had never used. More guidance in this process would have been appreciated.

Tyler S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Perch Security

Reviewed on 05/01/2021

100% positive. No issues with price, no issues with their service, and the clients we deploy it on appreciate the additional insight to their security.

Pros

Honestly the entire SOC team in Houston is the best part of about working with Perch. Any questions are quickly answered, any events found are quickly visible / communicated, and the integrations with our systems were seemless.

Cons

I dont know if its a really a con, but the small learning curve would be it. However Perch was helpful through all the onboarding and calls to ensure it was the best it could be.

Alternatives Considered

USM Anywhere

Reasons for Switching to Perch Security

After being personally invited to visit and shown the product by both [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] we were sold. Not only were we impressed with the software, but with the entire team at Perch. It made the decision very easy after them taking the personal time/touch in showing us their entire operation.
Eric W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Review of Perch by security focused MSP

Reviewed on 05/01/2021

Seem to hire very competent people
Worked very hard on ux
Good branding

Pros

MSP focused company. Good UX. Monitor multiple sources. Per user pricing.

Cons

Not clear what the best practices are...
Support via Slack - it works but it is a pain.
Pricing structure always seems to be changing
It has gotten A LOT more expensive over the last 18 months
Worried about support being owned by Connectwise :(
Good sales resources (marketing info)

Alternatives Considered

Netsurion Managed Threat Protection

Reasons for Choosing Perch Security

monitor more sources, less expensive, more MSP friendly

Reasons for Switching to Perch Security

Working with the people at Perch - sorry to be vague but I spent hours discussing with Perch management before I made my decision.
Jason H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Secure your house, then your customers!

Reviewed on 05/01/2021

Amazing. From set up to active use, I've been impressed with the SOC, sales and overall.

Pros

Ease of use, community, and support. Top notch all around!

Cons

For a novice to perchybana, custom searches can be difficult