Sketch

Product design tool to create, test & collaborate on ideas

Overall rating

4.6 /5
(809)
Value for Money
4.5/5
Features
4.4/5
Ease of Use
4.4/5
Customer Support
4.4/5

97%
recommended this app
Sort by

809 Reviews

Byron
Byron
Overall rating
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

A powerful prototyping tool for mac users

Reviewed on 28/02/2021

I have had a good experience with Sketch as it's simple, fairly priced, and yet powerful.

I have had a good experience with Sketch as it's simple, fairly priced, and yet powerful.

Pros

It is intuitive and quite easy to use. The plugins make your work so easy and seamless.
It has a fair amount of learning resources online shortening the learning time.

Cons

If you plan to use Sketch to collaborate, first make sure everyone in your team uses a mac; otherwise PC users will just be spectators in the project.

Alternatives Considered

InVision App

Switched From

Adobe XD
Michael
Michael
Overall rating
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best Vector Graphics UX/UI Design Tool For Creating iOS & Other Apps

Reviewed on 19/12/2019

Using Sketch has been a great experience for me. I've crafted some excellent and quite complex...

Using Sketch has been a great experience for me. I've crafted some excellent and quite complex designs for new apps. I will continue to use Sketch going forward.

Pros

I love Sketch and use it as my main app design tool. While there is a bit of a learning curve, I think it's worth investing the time to learn Sketch, particularly if you're designing user experiences and interfaces for mobile apps. The ability to create and use templates and components makes it extremely versatile. Also, the design tools, symbol libraries, and editing features make Sketch the best UX/UI design app I've ever used. Further, you can add plugins to add capabilities to Sketch. I use several. One of these allows me to export a design as code directly into Xcode! This saves time when coding a new UI.

Cons

There's little I don't like about Sketch. The only thing I could think of needing improvement is in creating gradients in the Appearance section of the Inspector. While this is extremely powerful, I find it a bit confusing at times.

Alternatives Considered

Adobe XD

Reasons for Choosing Sketch

Balsamiq is great for basic wireframing. However, it doesn't have the capabilities of Sketch for crafting completely rendered UX/UI interfaces.

Switched From

Balsamiq

Reasons for Switching to Sketch

Adobe XD is a good product but is not yet as good as Sketch at this time. It is not as feature-rich, nor as easy-to-use.
Yulia
Yulia
Overall rating
  • Used for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Interface very friendly for graphic designers

Reviewed on 05/05/2018

The software allows me to do my graphic designer work, very dynamic and friendly way.

The software allows me to do my graphic designer work, very dynamic and friendly way.

Pros

The advantages is that it is one of the best programs for web design, the interface is very friendly and it's very intuitive to learn and use. The license is the cheapest of the design programs when I made a comparison. This software is an excellent tool for designing templates of web portals, for me it's actually the best for web design, it is quite complete, it is easily managed with CCS and it has fast compatibility with frontpage

Cons

The software has not a very good image editor, so you have to use another program to improve the image edition in order to complement it. It also is only available for Mac and it's a under license program, there is no free version of it

Andualem
Overall rating
  • Industry: Biotechnology
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

A Powerful and Intuitive Tool for Vector-based Design

Reviewed on 12/03/2023

As a user of Sketch, I appreciate how easy it is to create vector graphics and designs using the...

As a user of Sketch, I appreciate how easy it is to create vector graphics and designs using the software. The interface is user-friendly and the design tools are intuitive, making it easy to bring my ideas to life. I also enjoy the large community of users and resources available for learning and troubleshooting. However, I have encountered some issues with the software being slow or buggy when working with large files or complex designs. Additionally, as a Windows user, I am unable to use Sketch as it is only available for macOS.

Pros

1.User-friendly interface with intuitive design tools2.Optimized for creating vector graphics, making it easy to scale artwork without loss of quality3.Large community of users and resources for learning and troubleshooting4.Support for plugins and integrations with other design tools5.Regular updates and improvements to the software

Cons

1.Only available for macOS, limiting accessibility for some users2.Limited functionality for photo editing or working with raster images3.Some advanced design features may require plugins or additional software4.Can be slow or buggy when working with large files or complex designs5.Steep learning curve for beginners who are new to vector-based design

Jakub
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Robust and reliable

Reviewed on 15/01/2021

Moving from Photoshop is a bit of a philosophy change, but one you get used to it, the whole design...

Moving from Photoshop is a bit of a philosophy change, but one you get used to it, the whole design process starts getting much (MUCH) faster. After all Sketch is a design tool and not a photo editor. Functions are being added all the time or fixed or improved and mostly it saves clicks and valuable time.
The only issue are shared libraries and collaboration, which the product clearly was not inteded to have included at the time it has been layed out. But hopefully, this will change in future releases.

Pros

You can feel the robustness of the software. It is quick, but at the same time you can feel how it was built with intent. The UI sets the standard of similar design tools and gets constant updates which lead to more productivity and ease of use.

Cons

The ability to collaborate on a project is limited. There is a Sketch Cloud, but generally it is no match for other on-line design tools.

Alternatives Considered

Adobe XD, Framer and Figma

Reasons for Choosing Sketch

Photoshop was slow and bulky to use and making global changes was difficult. With Sketch the introduction of symbols (and symbol overides) was a nobrainer to switch.

Reasons for Switching to Sketch

Is was the most mature product and was de-facto industry standard.
Erik
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer & Network Security
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

High customization, packed full of features, slow performance

Reviewed on 22/09/2020

Despite Sketch's performance issues when saving and sharing projects to other platforms, Sketch is...

Despite Sketch's performance issues when saving and sharing projects to other platforms, Sketch is the standard for web design. I enjoy the clean and simple interface Sketch provides as well as the high level of customization available through first and third-party plugins.

Pros

My team and I primarily use Sketch to design and share projects using the Zeplin plugin for Sketch. The best thing about Sketch is the ability to add and customize an infinite number of plugins to tailor your workflow. The transition from Adobe products to Sketch was almost seamless, and the interface just makes sense.

Cons

The rendering and saving time in Sketch is a huge con. It takes at least five minutes to save a project with about 100 pages and then another 15 minutes to upload those designs to Zeplin. Sketch often uses way too much CPU and seizes up while saving.

Soham
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Tons of Plugins + Great Features

Reviewed on 25/06/2019

My overall experience with sketch has been pretty good, there's definitely a learning curve to the...

My overall experience with sketch has been pretty good, there's definitely a learning curve to the software but once you get the hang of it, it's pretty great.

Pros

The thing that I like the most about this software is the ability to add plug-ins, there are tons of plugins out there which make it very easy to get things done. The layout of the application is pretty decent too with well defined icons.

Cons

The lack of flexibility in importing documents is a big pain point. The competition apps do let photoshop, illustrator and other file formats to open.

Alternatives Considered

Adobe XD, InVision App and Figma

Reasons for Choosing Sketch

The efficiency and templates available made us swtich from XD to Sketch.

Switched From

Adobe XD
Bhavik
Bhavik
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

A great tool for Web and Mobile Design mockups.

Reviewed on 15/09/2019

My overall experience with Sketch is above satisfactory. The feature set is vast but the Mac only...

My overall experience with Sketch is above satisfactory. The feature set is vast but the Mac only limitation is something to keep an eye on.

Pros

Sketch is primarily made for creating Mobile and Web Design mockups, which makes it a great software to use if you're making designs for web or mobile, which was our primary requirement. Also, Sketch contains ton of templates which helps in choosing a basic layout to start.

Cons

The thing I like the least about Sketch is it's a Mac specific app. Our design team has to strictly switch to mac in order to use Sketch. Also, Sketch has a different set of hotkeys which is quite an effort to learn.

Alternatives Considered

Adobe XD

Reasons for Switching to Sketch

The yearly plan over Adobe's monthly plan was a big factor in choosing Sketch for our team. Also, Cloud sharing was the feature that helped us to choose this product.
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Nice Software for UI Designer

Reviewed on 04/07/2021

amazing, Sketch help me to make best UI for project & client

amazing, Sketch help me to make best UI for project & client

Pros

Sketch make a simple tool and user friendly to user. clean layout and perfect performance for software design UI.

Cons

i just not like expensive. but well its okay, because quality software.

Alternatives Considered

Adobe XD and Figma

Reasons for Switching to Sketch

Sketch have more feature than another software, quality & performance
Alexandra
Alexandra
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Sketch used for creating user interfaces,

Reviewed on 12/05/2023

Overall, Sketch offers collaborative features that facilitate teamwork and feedback. Designers can...

Overall, Sketch offers collaborative features that facilitate teamwork and feedback. Designers can share their designs with stakeholders, receive comments and annotations, and collaboratively rework designs. This has allowed us to streamline the design review and feedback process.

Pros

Sketch offers a wide range of design tools and features to create visually appealing, pixel-perfect designs. It includes features such as symbols, tables, layer styles and a powerful inspection panel, making it effective for designing complex user interfaces.

Cons

Limited platform compatibility: Sketch is currently only available for macOS, which means it is not accessible for designers using other operating systems such as Windows or Linux.

Ken
Overall rating
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Once the best, but less competitive

Reviewed on 31/05/2021

Loved this product from the moment I started using it, but as a complete solution it's fallen short.

Loved this product from the moment I started using it, but as a complete solution it's fallen short.

Pros

Sketch is one of the best-designed apps I've ever used (going back 30 years) and it's still a joy. Built from the ground up for UI work, not repurposed like Photoshop or Illustrator. Everything just works, and the plug-in community has a solution for everything.

Cons

Sketch hasn't remained competitive with other products - not so much as a UI toll which it excels at, but prototyping which they never really figured out and relied on other products like Invision to complete

Alternatives Considered

Adobe XD

Reasons for Choosing Sketch

Photoshop as a UI tool is a hack, was never designed for it and did it poorly.

Switched From

Adobe Photoshop

Reasons for Switching to Sketch

At the time XD wasn't ready, got better later but too late for me.
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

One of the best UI design tools in the market

Reviewed on 27/03/2021

Being a UX and visual designer, Sketch has been the primary software on my computer for years now....

Being a UX and visual designer, Sketch has been the primary software on my computer for years now. Loved the product since its initial release and had been an advocate and a supporter mainly due to how it disrupted the UI design software field. I would like Sketch to improve to keep up with their competition since many designers are now moving to Figma just like how everyone moved from Photoshop and Illustrator to Sketch. Still would recommend any designer to go for Sketch.

Pros

Sketch was the revolutionary software that introduced UI/UX and visual designers with a tool created for that specific task which is creating interfaces. The vector graphic software doesn't limit you there; you are able to create posters, logos or even billboards with its intuitive and easy to learn clean interfaces. The toolbars consist of the standard functions and operators which you usually find in such software. The power of Sketch is beyond the limitations of your own imagination I would say. The symbols feature allows you to create reusable visual components which come in handy when designing multiple interfaces of a product or an app. Going a bit further, these features allow designers to create design languages and design systems very easily as well. There are hundreds of plugins that could be used to further ease the workflow. Sketch also integrates with other tools like Invision (prototyping) and Abstract (version control) which allows the creation of an ecosystem for the designer.

Cons

Sketch in recent years has got multiple competitors like AdobeXD and Figma which sometimes make Sketch fall behind the race in terms of features and functionality. Learning from the failures of Sketch, the competitor products always try to provide better value for money while optimising the workflows for the designer. Major updates from Sketch at most instances lately have been extremely buggy which sometimes even took weeks for them to release a patch. Sketch is only available on Mac which also limits the cross-platform support, unlike its competition. If you are designing a product that has multiple artboards (50+), Sketch tends to become laggy and resource-consuming even on the latest i7 Mac with 16GB of RAM.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Sketch is the ultimate digital design tool

Reviewed on 13/02/2021

I have been using Sketch for many years now. The story is that ever since Photoshop started getting...

I have been using Sketch for many years now. The story is that ever since Photoshop started getting slower and more heavyweight, a tool was needed for fast digital (i.e. not print) design. So Sketch, while a bit simplistic at first, rose to popularity along with industries like UX and modern web & app design.

Sketch's biggest competitor is Figma which has many advantages, but for our team, Sketch remains the sleekest and nicest tool for the job.

Pros

Sketch is easy and lightweight. There are many features and enough complexity, but these are all hidden under its clean interface. And that's its best feature, since it makes design easy and accessible. Plus all of its advanced features, like symbols, libraries, styles etc. make modern digital design fun, since you are mostly concerned with what you design, and not working around the tool and its limitations.

Sketch is one of those rare cases, where less is obviously more.

Cons

The biggest drawback of Sketch is it is Mac-only. And while for many designers that's not a problem, let's not forget that a) it's communities that have made many design tools and b) since design has become more important than ever, it has become more inclusive and collaborative than ever as well. This means that a Windows version of Sketch could really make a difference in its future.

Sketch cloud, while it's getting where it needs to be, development is a bit slow and left behind.

Alternatives Considered

Figma
Mario
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Sketch replaced all our other design tools

Reviewed on 20/07/2018

Great product for beginner to advanced designers, it works great to prototype and preview designs...

Great product for beginner to advanced designers, it works great to prototype and preview designs right from Sketch, making your life easy.

It has a bast collection of templates and libraries to accelerate your design process.

Pros

- It has everything a designer would need
- It has toons of great addons and plugins
- it works for advanced to beginner designers
- I like the prototyping tools to link pages between them
- loads easily giant files
- the missing fonts warning is great, it allows you to know exactly what is missing
- export 1, 2, 3@x is a piece of cake
- pricing is not bad, for large group licensing is not expensive
- presentation mode, easily hide all toolboxes to focus on what matters most
- huge community that makes it easily to find templates and free samples
- Symbol management is great, it is a feature that allows you to basically template your own designs most use pieces to not repeat yourself
- copy/paste styles, it will allow you to copy sizes, colors, spacings, etc.

Cons

- image tools lacks extra features, you are just allow to crop and use the magic wand
- no image distortion, only an un-useful transformation and rotation
- most of the great stuff has to be made using 3rd party libraries, would love if the basic feature included more capability for image
- sometimes old software version won't allow you to open new versions files forcing you to upgrade your version
-

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

The price and 3rd party integration wins

Reviewed on 04/12/2018

Remember how you dreamed how you could have an illustrator like software that's built to build...

Remember how you dreamed how you could have an illustrator like software that's built to build websites? Well you do, and it's quickly becoming the industry standard for web design, I don't know a single product design studio, web design agency or startup that doesn't require their designers to know sketch. It seems everyone is getting on board. The only creatives out there that don't use it are ad agencies that for some reason are still stuck making websites in photoshop. Oh well.

Pros

How seamlessly SK integrates with invision, the workflow is flawless. I love how sketch (unlike Adobe) really emphasized integrating with 3rd party software. Just create the web comp in sketch, synch it with invision and watch how all the assets flow into your project, along with invision inbuilt ability to create a prototype out of your design and let team members comment it, it's truly the best web design work flow I've seen.

Cons

No direct selection. It drove me crazy, that objects are can't be easily selected and manipulated like they can be in PS/AI. And god help you if try to import any vectors back into illustrator. (crazy nonsensical shapes). Which means the only way to establish a coherent work flow with illustrator, is AI into sketch—never the other way around.

Moises
Moises
Overall rating
  • Industry: Graphic Design
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Graphic design oriented to the digital world

Reviewed on 13/05/2022

Following this logic of order and registration, we create an additional file called "Style" in...

Following this logic of order and registration, we create an additional file called "Style" in which we describe all the elements and their possible variations. With this document it is easier for developers to take separate elements and assemble the site. It also helps to maintain consistency in the work of the different members and avoids problems caused by interpretations.

Pros

A great point in favor, was that we use this program from the information architecture, so the compatibility is ideal, the best thing in web design is that it has an automatic grid system that is very easy to handle. The two previous functions facilitate unexpected changes and corrections, since when changing an element is automatically updated throughout the site. The files are very light, they can be exported in PDF, PNG and JPG, even at twice the size, since when working with vectors, there is no danger of pixelation of the elements. Multiple artboards can be used in different sections. This allows you to develop all the templates of a device in one section and thus have your pages divided according to format. Shape elements, such as a rectangle, are used with the same logic as CSS, so when moving to front you can easily copy the styling.

Cons

It exists only for OS X Mac, which means that all the equipment I work with must use this operating system.
It is not good for image editing. It has some basic tools, but to define a style you have to use another editing program first.
It is not possible to go back one step when modifying a style, you have to go back to the latest version, so it is necessary to constantly save the changes.

Michael
Overall rating
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Robust Desgin Tool for Pixel-Perfect Mockups

Reviewed on 07/06/2021

Sketch is our go-to tool for bringing to life polished digital user experiences. It has allowed us...

Sketch is our go-to tool for bringing to life polished digital user experiences. It has allowed us to design quickly and create exactly what we envision.

Pros

Sketch is the most robust design tool for creating polished screen-based user interfaces. They've kept up over the years by adding features like prototyping and basic animations.

Cons

I’m happy to see that they’ve added prototyping, but the functionality really is not as robust as an alternative like Figma. Also, sharing designs in Sketch is inconvenient if your organization is not using something like OneDrive to automatically sync all the files.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great overall but still lacking some key things

Reviewed on 04/11/2019

I don’t think I’ll switch to a different product anytime soon, but there are competitors in the...

I don’t think I’ll switch to a different product anytime soon, but there are competitors in the industry that are nipping at the heels of Sketch.

Pros

Sketch is specifically created for creating graphical user interface designs, and I love that it’s optimized for that use case.

Cons

There are a lot of things that you still have to go to a plug in to do. Sketch has done a good job of wrapping a lot of these things into the native app, but there are still key things that could be improved: find and replace, layer management, creating and editing paths, responsive/adaptive interface management.

Frank
Frank
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Sketch has all the simplicity of Apple's Keynote with the power of Adobe's Illustrator

Reviewed on 28/01/2019

Overall, Sketch has been a real timesaver that I simply can't work without. Anyone looking for an...

Overall, Sketch has been a real timesaver that I simply can't work without. Anyone looking for an easy to use tool that delivers on power user features without sacrificing UX, can't do much better than this tool. Highly recommended.

Pros

Sketch's ease of use is by far its best quality. With a low learning curve, a user can go from firing up the software for the first time to completing a high quality mockup in a really short time. It has none of the intimidation you feel when starting to use an Adobe product whether its Illustrator or Photoshop. In that regard, it's a lot more similar to Apple's Keynote, which had become my mockup tool of choice until I discovered Sketch, which can accomplish much more in a shorter period of time.

Cons

The latest 52.0 release that introduced Dark Mode, also brought slowdowns for large documents. Speed was supposed to be one of the hallmarks of the release, but I've experienced the opposite, with one of my larger documents taking quite a while before it opens on my Macbook Pro.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Perfect for App Designers Or Quick Photo Edits

Reviewed on 27/02/2020

Editing photos for works and creating app icons for my personal projects, Sketch provides quick...

Editing photos for works and creating app icons for my personal projects, Sketch provides quick work of them both. Could not ask for a better vector program.

Pros

While not produced by Apple, this is a piece of software that you could see Apple designing if they went for a vector editing piece of software. Sketch is transparent in its most used tools, all which perform excellently. Whether you're creating an icon for a website or an app, or simply editing an imported photo, Sketch is incredibly easy to understand and manipulate at will.

Cons

At its core, Sketch provides all the basic tools necessary to be a Photoshop-competitor, it is meant for more of a digital partnership. There are no print-medium settings, so you're stuck creating digital files for digital realms. In addition, you pay for yearly updates as free updates are not part of the initial cost.

Reasons for Switching to Sketch

Price, Easy-To-Understand UI
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

I can't recommend Sketch enough

Reviewed on 06/10/2018

Sketch reduced the time it takes our designers to sketch a UI from days to hours, this in turn...

Sketch reduced the time it takes our designers to sketch a UI from days to hours, this in turn encouraging them to experiment more and come up with more creative visual solutions.

Pros

I run a startup studio, and that means we build and iterate on software products A LOT. We used to design them in Illustrator, but since we discovered Sketch, the time it takes us to sketch or design a user interface dropped significantly!

Sketch makes it insanely easy for designers to quickly sketch out a UI in minutes rather than days. This means they are a lot more inclined to experiment, resulting in better implementations.

When we settle on a design, Sketch is powerful enough to allow designers to build the full user interface without switching to a different software. It also integrates well with tools like Marvel to create interactive mockups and Zeplin to export the UI for developers to easily integrate the designs.

Cons

I can't think of anything - it's THAT good!

Leonardo
Leonardo
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best in Class for Designers

Reviewed on 16/07/2019

Very happy with this tool, we migrated from Adobe CC

Very happy with this tool, we migrated from Adobe CC

Pros

Part of our job is design some user interface elements for our clients, and Sketch is an essential tool for this job. It provides pixel precise interface, a lot of tools to customize the design and create something really unique, and when you export, the design is crisp. It allows export in multiple formats.

Get it, worth every nickel

Cons

I can't say anything negative about it, it does everything we need.

Andrew
Andrew
Overall rating
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

A breath of fresh air (coming from Adobe)

Reviewed on 06/09/2018

I use Sketch primarily for developing web design prototypes.

I know it's not particularly suited...

I use Sketch primarily for developing web design prototypes.

I know it's not particularly suited for illustration or print, but it's so pleasant to use, I find myself cheating and using it for those things anyway!

Pros

I bought Sketch when it first came out, and I remember thinking, "Wow. A design app that actually looks visually appealing!"

I was used to Adobe products, which are high-quality, but still look like they were developed 10 years ago.

Everything in Sketch is well-organized and intuitive—I had no problem jumping in and designing a landing page in a few minutes.

I like that it's paired more closely with web development (pinning objects to an edge, responsive sizing, etc), and symbols are a pretty convenient way to make your designs more modular.

The icon toolbar is highly useful, as well. I like that you can customize 100% to your needs.

Cons

I wish Sketch would move even closer to web development in the sense of being able to define global padding sizes, grids, etc.

I think the organization of Symbols could be improved to accommodate large libraries.

Inguna
Inguna
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

For graphic design on a Mac - excellent

Reviewed on 30/07/2020

As a UX designer, a lot of my time is spent making prototypes. Sketch was the first such app that I...

As a UX designer, a lot of my time is spent making prototypes. Sketch was the first such app that I used for this purpose, and I used it daily for 2 years. The base controls are easy to learn and use, but as with anything, getting to an efficient workflow required some effort and thought.
The app supports the user in lots of small ways, such as providing a lot of default canvas sizes to choose from (so you don't have to spend time defining your own each time). By using symbols it's easier to deal with multiple repeating elements, and Sketch even has a built-in feature where you can edit the text in a symbol without copying it over and over- this I have not yet seen anywhere else, and was my favorite thing in Sketch.
I have since moved to other apps, because in my work I need to show user interactions with a UI, and don't care much about vectors and polished graphic design. For more interaction design and rapid prototyping, Sketch is not the best on the market. But for polished designs, if you are already using a mac, it's really great.

Pros

Lots of free plugins available to extend functionality.
Lots of free libraries available for common elements.
Easy to learn initially, the controls are intuitive for the most part.
Cn edit text in a symbol without having to make separate versions of the symbol - very cool.
Can make polished high-fidelity prototypes with Sketch.

Cons

Available only for iOS devices.
Can't add text within an element- must add text as a separate element.
Not ideal for rapid low-fidelity prototyping.
Can't create itneractions between elements or users mouse.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Animation
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

SKETCH Helped us to make our design process productive

Reviewed on 31/08/2021

We recently got into web and app design industry and with help of sketch our quality of designs...

We recently got into web and app design industry and with help of sketch our quality of designs improved and it helped us to get more projects and with help of sketch we can get our team members to collaborate on a single design and it worked out really well and we are happy using sketch and definitely recommend if you have better spec device

Pros

the best features of sketch is we can create vector artwork and then import it to make digital devices prototypes , we can scale up the projects and collaborate with our team members using sketch, it is an industry standard tool which is used to create professional designs for digital devices, like web or mobile design. it has all the features that is required for a design tool. we can add multiple plugins and it can handle bigger projects easily.

Cons

there is not much of drawback using sketch but it is a bit costly for business and also the files created a larger than expectations so it tends to slow down the device sometimes apart from that it does its job very well.