Sketch

4.7 (672)
Product design tool to create, test & collaborate on ideas

Overall rating

4.7 /5
(672)
Value for Money
4.5/5
Features
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4.5/5
Customer Support
4.4/5

97%
recommended this app

672 Software options

Ken S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Once the best, but less competitive

Reviewed on 31/05/2021

Loved this product from the moment I started using it, but as a complete solution it's fallen short.

Pros

Sketch is one of the best-designed apps I've ever used (going back 30 years) and it's still a joy. Built from the ground up for UI work, not repurposed like Photoshop or Illustrator. Everything just works, and the plug-in community has a solution for everything.

Cons

Sketch hasn't remained competitive with other products - not so much as a UI toll which it excels at, but prototyping which they never really figured out and relied on other products like Invision to complete

Alternatives Considered

Adobe XD

Reasons for Choosing Sketch

Photoshop as a UI tool is a hack, was never designed for it and did it poorly.

Switched From

Adobe Photoshop

Reasons for Switching to Sketch

At the time XD wasn't ready, got better later but too late for me.
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Nice Software for UI Designer

Reviewed on 04/07/2021

amazing, Sketch help me to make best UI for project & client

Pros

Sketch make a simple tool and user friendly to user. clean layout and perfect performance for software design UI.

Cons

i just not like expensive. but well its okay, because quality software.

Alternatives Considered

Figma and Adobe XD

Reasons for Switching to Sketch

Sketch have more feature than another software, quality & performance
Janie S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Accessible, user friendly yet powerful software

Reviewed on 08/10/2020

— Powerful yet simple and intuitive software indispensable in my work day as a digital designer.

Pros

— User-friendly and accessible to designers and non-designers.
— User guide is comprehensive and digestible.
— Version history ("Revert to.. Browse all versions") gives the option to browse, copy, move, and revert to past document versions which has proven to be a huge lifesaver on several occasions. To my knowledge, no other similar programs offer this feature.
— Tools you need daily for layout design, none of the ones you don't (no clutter, smoother performance).
— Easily sync to Sketch Cloud in two clicks.
— Shortcuts are intuitive (R for rectangle, O for oval– unlike competitors ie Adobe: M for rectangle, L for oval)
— User Interface is clean and intuitive, easy to navigate and customizable without being overwhelming.
— Compatible with outside scripts: spell check, AfterEffects bridge, Palette Library, etc.
— $99 one-time payment is fairly accessible, with updates optional.

Cons

— Color management can be pretty abysmal at times. We've run into issues with clients due to colors not matching on export.
— Sketch Cloud does not allow comments like competitors do (InVision). This feature is useful when reviewing with clients, internal QA, internal reviews, etc.
— Find and replace is not available for text.
— Bitmap editing is available but lowers the image quality significantly

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best UI design tool for Mac

Reviewed on 14/09/2020

The most intuitive and effective vector graphic software I've ever personally used. The fact that it's not cross platform may be a deterrent to teams that want to standardize tools, but I don't mind it personally for my own use.

Pros

This is by far the most intuitive user interface design software out there. It is made for screens first, whereas a program like Illustrator has a lot of features built for print first. You can still design screens in Illustrator, but Sketch is built to measure in pixels first and has a much simpler interface.

I can quickly mock up a landing page, logo, app screen and more, faster than any other program. They remove a lot from their own interface that I feel can be distracting in a program like Illustator.

Cons

I'm a Mac user, so this doesn't matter to me, but it only works on Mac's for now. Apparently they are working on a Windows version, but as of September 2020 when writing this, there is no known release date.

Does not open layered .eps files, so I either use a web based conversion tool or open it using Affinity Designer and converting to .svg to work with .eps layered in Sketch.

I find myself wanting to use this interface to create flyers and other print materials as well. I have to go Google dimensions of regular print items to set them properly. While I know that's not the intention of this software, that would be valuable to me and help this software compete with Adobe on print graphics the way they do with vector graphics.

Alternatives Considered

Figma

Reasons for Choosing Sketch

Cost and usability. Sketch is ~$100 per year to get updates. I usually go a several months before updating, and that brings my per-month total down slightly compared to Adobe's suite of tools.

Switched From

Adobe Illustrator

Reasons for Switching to Sketch

Pricing structure. Figma is a montly subscription, whereas Sketch is a yearly license. It allows you to use your current version for a few months before upgrading if the budget is tight, or you don't feel the need to update right away. This allows for more flexibility and keeps the overall cost down.
Francesco L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

The UX/UI de facto standard

Reviewed on 04/02/2021

I use this daily and i find it perfect for design but it has to rely on many 3d party software (such as invision or abstract) to fill in some gaps.

Pros

This software is the standard for interface design from UX to UI.

It helped define the design pattern used in this kind of software so learning it lets you learn of to use any design software.
It has a massive support of 3rd party plug-in

Cons

The prototipation aspect is very limited and so is the online collaboration.
Sketch teams is slowly being developed but the software starts to show his age against newer competitor such as Figma or Adobe xD

Ken S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Almost perfect

Reviewed on 31/10/2019

I use Sketch hours every day, for everything from a quick wireframe or user journey map though app design spanning hundreds of artboards per document. It does everything I need.

Pros

Sketch is built exclusively for building UI. So extra feature you don't need and almost everything you do. The tools are intuitive and feature the functions you need. Some recent updates that improve symbols and shared libraries make it even better.

Cons

Integration with some plug ins is inconsistent. Craft has many problems. And the divide between design and prototyping, or whether to keep everything in Sketch or sync with Invision is a tough one. What makes Sketch good is it's singular focus on design - adding animations and prototyping could take it down the same road others have and been a disappointment.

Alex T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Feature-Rich, but Lacking a Robust Colloboration Integration

Reviewed on 07/03/2020

Pros

This software is the industry standard for digital design. It has all the necessary features that bridge the gap between design and front-end development. It allows for incredibly easy style management and exporting assets is dead simple as well. There are certainly no usability issues with Sketch and it is certainly a very mature and stable platform.

Cons

In my opinion, the core feature lacking in this software would be its collobration features. It's main web-based competitior has a flawless colloboration system that makes working on the same project along side a team incredibly simple. This software does has something similar, but it is not nearly as intuituve as it's primary competitor.

Alternatives Considered

Figma and Adobe XD

Switched From

Adobe XD
Ashish V.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

The ultimate tool for UI and UX Designer

Reviewed on 08/09/2018

Awesome tool for designers, Evolving with each release.

Pros

I loved how it's centered to user interface design. We used to use photoshop to design User Interface, though Photoshop is a very robust tool but the features are not UI Design centric, It is capable of doing a lot of things hence UI is not the focus here for Adobe. I love sketch because it is capable of doing one thing and does smartly. Though they have almost all of the basic features required for interface design, Plugins are icing on the cake. If you don't find anything you want the tool to do, 99% chances are you will find a plugin which does.

Cons

The subscription model and backward non-compatibility. You need to renew the subscription annually in order to receive an upgrade and that's okey or how the company will make money. What I don't like is you can't open Newer version of the file in Older version. If you work in a team and 6 people are working on one file, everyone needs to use the same version of the ​software.

Maria G.
Overall rating
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

My Favorite Design Tool - Ever

Reviewed on 10/04/2018

I use Sketch primarily for work/business. It has sped up my design process tremendously. Performance is great and it syncs with a lot of other programs that I use in addition to sketch.

Pros

Sketch works seamlessly, no matter what. I think performance is one of the best aspects about Sketch. Unlike other design tools I've used in the past, Sketch performs well even when I've got multiple software running or I'm designing a lot of screens. Additionally, the UI for sketch makes the learning curve quite minimal. It references a lot of software I've used in the past but it places all tools available up front, vs hiding it on menus.

Cons

Windows version. It would allow me to work on both PC and Mac's. I don't always have my Macbook available, however Sketch is currently not available for PC's. PC integration would be great and allow me to work from multiple devices.

Ian C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

By far, the best Wireframing and Mockup tool out there

Reviewed on 11/10/2018

Adopting Sketch has drastically reduced the time required to design for projects across our company.

Pros

The best part about Sketch is the plethora of plugins that are available which adds very useful functionality to the tool. From what I've understood, the Bohemian Coding team supports plugin developers quite a bit. The software is also very easy to use, which lets any one pick it up in just a few hours. It's simplicity helps us designers focus on 'designing', and with the implementations of symbols and libraries, we can now very easily work with repeated components that are vital to product design.

Cons

The fact that it is only MacOS based is a huge drawback. I'm forced to use a Mac just to use this software. Also, the prototyping functionality needs major upgrades to compete with other new and upcoming tools.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Reliable partner for all your digital design needs. Great piece of native software for a fair...

Reviewed on 04/04/2018

Pros

I like that Sketch became some kind of a reliable design workhorse that can handle any task you need to do without compromising ease of use. They recently added native prototyping features so you can wire up the screens to simulate final product. Integration with Sketch Cloud makes this a poweful tool for collaboration with clients. Furthermore, anything that Skech currently can't handle you can find plenty of mostly free plugins to help you. I definitely like the direction where Sketch is going and for the price you really can't go wrong.

Cons

To be honest, not really much to say here. One can always complain about lack of some specific features, but I don't think that's objectively relevant. From time to time, some minor bugs appear, which is common for every software, but they usually get fixed pretty fast. From the last update that included Prototyping and Sketch Cloud features the sidebar got a little crowded.

Sean M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Go to design tool

Reviewed on 06/04/2021

Sketch allows us to build the mocks developers need to see! It's an incredibly powerful tool

Pros

Sketch is powerful design tool that is easy to use. I like all the built in shortcuts and the ability to bring in third party plug ins. You can create anything inside sketch, and there are tons of different ways to export your designs. It also pairs well with invision, which is very convenient.

Cons

I feel like sketch could go further with the ability to bring in animation. I know craft allows use to link and prototype interactions, but i'd like to see sketch take this a step further. I would also like the ability to collaborate on a sketch file together. We currently check files in and out, and that slows down the workflow.

Tikku S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Simplicity marred by increasing complexity

Reviewed on 07/06/2020

It's been extremely helpful in the UX Design process when compared to Adobe products.

Pros

They're updating the app constantly and bringing new features. Also, it makes for very small file sizes compared to Adobe products. It's extremely fast and not processor intensive. The Symbol system is a total game changer.

Cons

The updates introduce new features and change the locations of existing features at a very rapid pace.

Doug G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

One of the best UI/UX Tools on the Market today

Reviewed on 03/07/2019

I use sketch every single day for my UX team. It is the tool preferred by both myself and my designers. It's lightweight, performant, and extensible. It is really good for what it is designed​ to do. I am glad I was able to move away from much of the adobe creative suite because of sketch.

Pros

The software is incredibly​ focused on tools for designing digital user interfaces. The library of plugins is outstanding and other tools integrate very well with it. The developers update it pretty frequently.

Cons

Sketch is miles behind the competition in terms of quality prototyping. It has enough to do very basic interactions​ but needs to step up in this area and collaboration.

Diana J.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

So easy to implement

Reviewed on 09/06/2020

We have been using it for a long time and the team seems to be working satisfactorily.

Pros

very easy to implement, you can add users / seats at any time and expand or reduce the quota depending on your needs at that time.

Cons

You must decide for long periods if you are going to reduce seats so as not to pay the annual quota of extra users. You access the platform through links that are sent by email and it is not always the most convenient for me.

Alternatives Considered

Figma

Reasons for Switching to Sketch

We use both programs, we do not decide between them.
Damian N.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

A solution that goes from a simple sketch to robust wireframes

Reviewed on 14/01/2020

Great product that makes the life of a developer and tech users much simpler and have a glance as to how actual designers see their world, overall experience with the interface is perfect as it keeps simplicity and consistency across all properties.

Pros

The ease of use and the simplicity on its interface, it's very useful and doesn't need much knowledge transfer for a tech user to inspect its elements and take basic CSS design sketches to make a pixel-perfect design come true, also the way things can be exported to share progress and the use of multiple plugins to enhance experience and capability.

Cons

Required a good machine to smoothly run the software, and as a matter of fact, is understood however it should have a lightweight version just to view the sketches and properties that is already built-in in the software with no need for third-party plugins or integrations.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

My main tool of choice when to create user interfaces

Reviewed on 15/01/2019

Pros

I like that it looks simple yet it is a powerful tool. I can create user interfaces, wireframes, site maps, user flows with a few clicks, etc. Even a complete design system can be created using Symbols. Also, there is a huge and dedicated community supporting the product and creating countless plugins. If you are thinkin about becoming a digital designer, I could not recommend Sketch highly enough.

Cons

Sometimes - more and more rarely though- you will run into small annoying bugs. Working with 30, 40+ screens can cause the software to be slow a bit.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Sketch is a great design tool that fit all kind of projects.

Reviewed on 25/02/2018

Pros

Sketch has been our go to design tool for years now. I'm using this everyday for user interface like:
- Landing Pages
- Mobile Application
- Web Application

We also use this tool to make logos, and other small stuffs.
What I love the most is the ability to add plugins that improve/automate some small task and give us the opportunity to be more efficient.

Cons

Sketch is a great tool but has a lots of bugs. Most of the time it's okay because it is fixed quickly by there team. There is a lot of new versions, but not that much of new useful features.

Gregory A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Defense & Space
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best design tool for creating beautiful web apps

Reviewed on 29/11/2018

Our design team is very small, so we let each designer pick their own toolkit, and of the few who originally picked the Adobe suite, they quickly transitioned to Sketch supporters within a mater of months. The fact that Sketch was designed from the very beginning to be a design tool for software development makes it the most feature-rich and extensible design platform we know of, and we've been tremendously happy with it thus far.

Pros

Unlike Photoshop, Sketch is actually designed and intended to be used by designers building software products. Sketch's growing user community and powerful feature set make it our hands-down favorite for company-wide design iterations.

Cons

If you're unfamiliar with vector design tools, the learning curve can be a bit steep at the beginning. However, once you get the hang of it, it quickly becomes a powerful tool that enables our designers to create rich mockups and wireframes that can be easily shared across our organization.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Sketch is a Great Tool for Digital Designers

Reviewed on 30/10/2018

Pros

Really easy to understand and pick up if you're familiar with digital design software (Adobe for example). The basic software has everything you need as a UX or visual designer for creating wireframes and mockups.

Cons

There's a lack of features at the basic level. So many features that should be originally included are not, so you have to download tons of plug ins to make up for it. Along with that, the software requests to be updated frequently, and new updates tend to be filled with bugs and software crashes.

Raúl V.
Overall rating
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The right tool for interface design.

Reviewed on 04/04/2018

Speed, accuracy, flexibility and great integrations (plugins) with other tools. Perfect for UI design.

Pros

Sketch is based on vectores, hence it is easy to start using if you have previous experience with Adobe Illustrator. It facilitates designing interfaces due to its multiple canvas nature. Also, exporting assets makes your life smooth and easier.

Cons

Since my experience was Adobe Illustrator first , it can take you some time to adapt and retain shortcuts. Also, vector tool for creating shapes is difficult to manipulate.

Marco Z.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

UX/UI simplified!

Reviewed on 27/01/2020

Sketch overall has been super simple to use, this ease of use allows to create wireframes and quick ui edits in minutes

Pros

Sketch not only is one of the strongest user interface designers out, but it also comes integrated with the ability to preview your work on an iPhone or iPad with a simple WiFi or usb connection. This feature is extremely helpful when you’re designing for the web and phone whether an app or website. You can preview your designs as if it was “live” on your phone. With the included ability to live edit your designs at your discretion at any time without reconnecting to the phone or exporting. Every edit is done live!!!

Cons

The Sketch app could improve in its PSD(Photoshop) export. Whenever you export to photoshop none of the text remains editable and instead is converted to raster.

Alyssa S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Simple, effective prototyping

Reviewed on 06/03/2019

Overall, Sketch is simple to use, easy to learn and it allows you to rapidly create prototypes. Good value for the cost, but it has a few limitations when it comes to creating graphics.

Pros

Sketch is one of the most well-known prototyping softwares on the market, so there are tons of integrations available and most designers/developers are familiar with the product. I'm an avid user of InVision, and it offers an awesome plugin called "Craft" that allows you to quickly upload prototypes to InVision without leaving Sketch.

If you buy a 1-year license to Sketch, you can still access Sketch after the year is over — you just can't update to the latest version. This is a great benefit to the license.

Cons

Sketch has a few graphic limitations (i.e. you can't use gradients on text, subpar tools to create graphics, etc), so it's best to use it in tandem with a design software such as Photoshop or Illustrator if you want to build graphic-heavy mockups.

Software often crashes when working with multiple artboards.

Natasha S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Staffing & Recruiting
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The way to go for web and app designers.

Reviewed on 08/01/2019

I love designing in Sketch. It's very easy to use and no matter if I need to do a complex mock up and prototype or just a quick wireframe, I can do it all in Sketch.

Pros

I really like how easy to use the program is. It also works really great with other programs designers would use and the huge catalog of plugins really helps the program grow and be flexible.

Cons

There are some features that aren't built that would be nice, like spell check. Since there aren't plugins for everything.

Darian R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

The New Standard

Reviewed on 07/02/2019

Pros

The pros for Sketch are mainly found in its speed and that it is designed with the mobile designer in mind. Pretty much all of the functionality that has been added to competitors was to match features that sketch has. Sketch is fast and built with the UI / Web designer in mind. This makes it a dream compared to behemoths such as Illustrator or Photoshop.

Cons

Limited on it's own, unless you have a photo editor to complement it.