Destiny One

3.9 (36)
Cloud-based student lifecycle management solution

Overall rating

3.9 /5
(36)
Value for Money
3.5/5
Features
3.8/5
Ease of Use
3.6/5
Customer Support
4.3/5

75%
recommended this app

36 Software options

Traci M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Excellent Support Services

Reviewed on 30/03/2020

In the year I have been in my position, we have seen a significant increase in programs we are offering through Destiny One. This has been revenue generating for our extension units, but has also provided various benefits to our course managers. This program provides an easy way to market programs, email registrants, print mailing labels, and provide name tags & attendance sheets. It also has a wealth of reporting, which makes data-based decision making a reality for us. We have also recently delved into the option to do custom reporting using the Archive Database option.

Pros

The best thing about Destiny One is their extremely responsive support staff. I have only been using the product for a little over a year, but have had a great experience with their support staff. The are always willing and able to help me whenever I have a question. The product provides a good volume of help documentation, and their associated Grow! community is a very valuable resource when learning the product.

Cons

Since I am using this product to support Virginia Cooperative Extension public educational programs, and not continuing education, some applications have to be modified to fit my needs.

Lynn M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

One Step at a Time

Reviewed on 20/03/2020

Pros

Once we better understood the many features and possibilities we were able to adapt the Destiny software to support most of our requirements. We were able to start off small and over time offer additional products within the software and make adjustments along the way. It was a slow start, but we are now able to get products to market relatively quickly.

Cons

We are unique in our operations and are not structured as a tradition brick and mortar university. As such, it took us a little longer on adapt and modify many of the features for our needs. We needed a lot of guidance on which features could be used for our unique needs and had to adjust much of the terminology to fit our requirements. The learning curve was a little steep but once you understand how it works, the product has worked out great.

Paolo G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Quickly evolving niche product with great potential and support

Reviewed on 02/04/2020

Pros

Destiny One has come a long way, from a semi-custom solution for small campuses and Continuing Education units to a more flexible and comprehensive platform that includes event management and more. Customer service speed and efficiency have greatly increased recently, and it's a lot better than most other products I used. The software can be reasonably customized, used to keep track enrollment and finance in the background or to run the whole website.

Cons

Some modules are old and clunky, and almost useless (Marketing, for instance). Destiny is now pointing at integration with better software (like CRM) to go way beyond the basic functions, but integrations come at a cost.

Pablo S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Destiny One Review

Reviewed on 30/03/2020

Pros

We were able to import current data from Banner via Excel spreadsheets and this assisted greatly during the implementation phase.

Cons

There is no plugin or api that allows Destiny One data to be queried outside of Destiny One.

Martin B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Great Potential, Good Customer Service (and you will need it!).

Reviewed on 30/03/2020

The previous iteration of our company had no overall plan to bring a cohesive, unified working experience to both the staff user and client experience. Destiny One has helped us bring all aspects of this in line with modern business practices and develop more realistic expectations plans to create a better experience for staff/customers. Although we experience pain integrating the software with our needs, we are hopeful that better communication and upgrades will result in an even better relationship between Destiny One and our department.

Pros

Once the software is properly configured, the DestinyOne software is very powerful. It handles the needs for daily use very well. The procedural flow of tasks are a joy to complete.

Strong links from all aspects of a clients' info in the staff view is really useful and the ability to keep annotated comments related to the client linked to the staff author is also useful.

The Destiny One software has a healthy update cycle that attempts to integrate repairs to user problems and requests with each update.

Help desk/support staff are quick to respond and attempt to help with unusual situations that arise. There is an active users forum that can help with real-world examples or shared expertise.

Integration of the staff view with the online customer view is fantastic. It presents a very professional and accurate web presence that can be modified to best represent the face of our company to the world.

Cons

There are many situations wherein the software feels like a work in progress. Upgrades can break procedures that were previously working.

The UI can be terribly counter-intuitive. Help files are a rabbit-hole that rarely gives satisfaction.

Initial progress through the setup for your institution (extremely crucial) could be so improved by a follow-along example of an end-result setup for a fictional or real organization.

In our experience, no real follow up was successfully communicated by the Destiny One team to bring us from a neophyte user into the big league team of advanced users.

Tiago H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

DestinyOne from an analytics perspective

Reviewed on 25/03/2020

Having all of our enrollment, application, and financial data consolidated into a single data source is very helpful.

Pros

From an analytics perspective, this software makes it simple to extract and evaluate the needed information. There's a robust support structure that provides very thorough documentation in the form of help files, ERD diagrams, and timely responses to requests/tickets. Having a Tableau platform (server) in place is also extremely helpful.

Cons

Integration with our financial system has been a challenge due to how the reports were initially exported (pre-formatted spreadsheets with headers and merged cells), but this has been addressed in current versions, though most of our reporting is still custom. Visualizing student payment details is also difficult due to how the transaction pages are laid out.

Lucy S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Review from a finance perspective

Reviewed on 25/03/2020

I find the destiny help desk helpful. The system is relatively easy to use.

Pros

Ability to pull reports on financial information, such as enrollment and revenue, registrations.

Cons

Wish there was reports on instructor pay, or instructor pay compared to enrollment revenue. Also wish there were more reports related to groups, specifically the ability to pull invoices related to certain courses (based on start date). Wish each course generated a unique invoice #. We've run into issues because the invoice contains courses that haven't started and ones that have and we only need them to pay for the ones that have started.
Need something to track gift cards being issued. We all have issues as the refund options don't always apply, wish there was more options than 4.

Edgar Z.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

Destiny Review

Reviewed on 20/03/2020

As of today I feel that Destiny just added a layer of headaches to my team and my students. I have spent so much time, energy, and funding trying to launch a very simple part of what Destiny is supposed to do, which is: registration and payment that I am thinking that probably this was a mistake for us to contract Destiny at this time.

Pros

The product is not easy to use. There is so much IT support needed to use this product that you end up wasting your own team time and your funding in paying for Destiny's IT support time. The integration with registration and TouchNet

Cons

Integration was not easy. Destiny runs on templates that are very hard to customized for my programs. We have to go around Destiny's templates to find a solution to what we want to do, instead of having Destiny what we want it to do. This takes us a long time to figure out. I am still waiting on destiny support to answer several of our questions after launching.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Destiny One Review

Reviewed on 11/09/2019

We have a centralized system and database that is utilized by multiple campuses at various locations. A single repository for information that allows for online registration and integration of program information across multiple platforms is a something we did not have before.

Pros

The flexibility of the product to accommodate various use cases is important for a continuing education unit. Also, Destiny One has come a long way to provide vendor hosted users access to customization and configurations. This allows us to be agile and responsive to the customers needs.

Cons

Eastern time zone of the company headquarters can delay progress and response time. However, urgent issues are handled in a timely manner.

Alternatives Considered

Ellucian
Patricia S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Destiny One

Reviewed on 25/03/2020

Overall, Destiny One helped us to be very successfuly in providing non traditional Tufts students with a streamlined check out process.

Pros

Destiny One is a great tool for managing a quick checkout process for courses not integrated in with your student information system. As a stand alone product, Destiny One is great. If you are looking to integrate with other applications on your campus, it is going to take some work.

Cons

Our institution tends to customize applications. What I like least about Destiny One is that we are not able to customize the application at all. It would be very helpful if we could add fields and control the content, paricularly in the student profile page.
The reporting tool is very limited in that ou cannot edit any reports. You have to buy the archive database.
The lack of CRM has forced us to push json notifications to a CRM platform.

Linda M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Destiny One has given us control over our revenue and reporting.

Reviewed on 01/05/2020

Destiny One has given our department control over our student registrations, reporting and marketing. We are learning new things everyday and love what the program has provided our department so far after launching is 14 months ago.

Pros

We are able to pull many types of reports that assist us in planning and budgets. Having a different system than the core programs in the college has given us an advantage to forecast and plan our department revenue and needs. We are also able to control our marketing messages and track students better.
Learning every day what D1 is able to do for us and the D1 support team has been amazing supporting our ongoing needs.

Cons

We were a little surprised that some of the default reports did not pull the data you would expect it too for things like instructor payroll and a room report. I think some of the default reports could be better designed to encompass more information for the user.

Melissa E.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Destiny One review

Reviewed on 27/03/2020

Pros

We find Destiny to be fairly user friendly and overall, a good system for our non-credit professional education programs, It's not difficult to train people how to use as everything is well organized. We also really like being able to make real-time changes; something we weren't able to do before In addition, with the last major update in 2018 (?), the public view now looks much better.

Cons

We wish there was a way to delete files... in the rare instance the wrong file is uploaded, you're unable to delete (unless this has changed). In addition, it's unfortunate that once a section is final approved, you're unable to change the term if needed.

Cheryl B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Better over time

Reviewed on 11/09/2019

Overall, it works for me. I am a daily user and like to learn. However, for the not so computer savvy user, it is very complicated.

Pros

The ease of use for staff user compared to our last database system.

Cons

additional features cost more. Out of the box package was very limited and not customizable with out a fee.

Luke F.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Excellent fit for the non-credit niche.

Reviewed on 21/04/2021

Destiny One is a very versatile system that handles the full needs of a non-credit unit.

Pros

The system is very versatile. It includes full functionalities for the entire student lifecycle. Updates are frequent and support is excellent.

Cons

Customizing the public-facing website is difficult, and larger units would likely want to use a CMS. However, integrating with an external CMS is technically challenging.

Robert W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Destiny One Software and Company Review

Reviewed on 12/09/2019

Destiny is a responsive partner who respond quickly and professionally.

Pros

We like this software because it was specifically designed to support a continuing education/professional development operation.

Cons

It would be nice if there were a greater variety of web services and configuration points so customers can modify the product to support their unique markets and business processes.

Phillip L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Destiny One - great customer service and setup

Reviewed on 30/03/2020

Pros

The features are good with the software and integration with our school was straight forward with the support of Destiny One's customer service.

Cons

Integration was initially time consuming but overall not that bad with customer support's assistance.

Chris L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Long-time user

Reviewed on 25/03/2020

Overall, we have been pleased with D1.

Pros

I've used Destiny One (D1) at several different larger universities. It's a secure, predictable enteprise platform that will allow your organization to streamline enrollment operations.

Cons

It is not very flexible. Overall, most of the features we desire are already included in the tool.

Amanda F.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

Meh

Reviewed on 26/03/2020

Not a good product.

Pros

I don't like anything about this software.

Cons

What do I like most least? The company practices questionable ethics.

Kathy M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great platform right out of the box

Reviewed on 20/03/2020

Very satisfied!

Pros

Lively continual improvement process, good support communication, professional look and feel of eCatalog, corporate learning portals

Cons

I would like to streamline the required profile information, as an admin. It is too long to scroll through to the bottom of the page.
Pricey at first but have since moderated the pricing.

Reasons for Choosing Destiny One

Used it from 2013 - 2016. The software was cumbersome for the admins and users. And the webpages were not professional in appearance.

Reasons for Switching to Destiny One

More available features 'out of the box'. We needed it fast and did not have IT support to customize so it needed to be ready to go.
David B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Destiny One supporter

Reviewed on 16/09/2019

The customer and system support is great, the team running the destiny one system is knowledgable and approachable, and the product is consistently going in a direction that improves the impact and bang for buck we get for this SAAS product. I'm very happy with it!

Pros

This software was flexible enough to work for an incredibly varied array of courses/sections and conferences run by our institution. No other product I know of on the market today works for this array of use cases.

My favorite thing about the product as a system administrator is the self-service customization, the system support we get from the vendor, and the integration packages.

Cons

Currently, we just get upgrades once every 3 or 4 months. In the agile/devops standards for SAAS providers, this isn't as competitive as other vendors on the market that provide more frequent updates.

Jasmine B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Destiny One

Reviewed on 25/03/2020

Overall, working with Destiny One has been a great experience. We have been able to customize the solution based on our needs as the Continuing Education department has grown.

Pros

Easy set up and management of courses and certificates, notification automation, customization for approval workflows and permissions, reporting and robust dynamic help.

Cons

Lack of user-friendly front end development. Currently you need a developer to design and assist non-technical users. The solution for integration with an external CRM needs improvement. The current method has some issues and the core solution needs additional features.

Michelle G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Robust solution for non-credit program registrations

Reviewed on 27/03/2020

Destiny allows us to manage registration and student records in one place. We use Destiny reports to track enrollment and revenue trends and patterns.

Pros

Destiny is a robust registration system with ample features for tracking registration, budget, and student data. The workflows are not difficult to follow but in some cases would benefit from being streamlined. The reporting features allow us to track, analyze, and compare data with great detail.

Cons

Of the registration systems we researched, Destiny was the most expensive. On top of the licensing fees, there are significant charges for additional services such as integration with other software platforms and customized reports. We have not been able to adapt Destiny to fully meet our needs due to budget constraints.

Yeanina H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: E-Learning
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Destiny One Comments on Usage

Reviewed on 30/03/2020

Satisfied

Pros

At this time it is hard to list the Pros, I am in the testing and operating stages.

Cons

At this time it is hard to list the Cons, I am in the testing and operating stages.

Maria V.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 4.0 /10

Destiny One Review

Reviewed on 20/03/2020

I would say I am neutral overall. I got good and bad feedback from the end users.

Pros

The system workflows- creating the task to each users

Cons

I believe that we are program based and is Destiny is more on courses than program. There are sometimes multiple steps that must be done to create a refund

Julia B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

DestinyOne for non-traditional students

Reviewed on 21/04/2021

Great company, great customer service, good product to replace our in-house custom build old system

Pros

SaaS, easy to use interface, sufficient functionality, test environments, great support.

Cons

integrations with other system, some configurations limitations

Alternatives Considered

Ellucian

Reasons for Choosing Destiny One

very old system, limited functionality, limited support options, on-premises hardware

Reasons for Switching to Destiny One

The combination of the following factors: Functionality Technical requirements Implementation & support cost Partner viability & strategic alignment