TunnelBear

4.5 (408)
Virtual Private Network Service Solution

Overall rating

4.5 /5
(408)
Value for Money
4.3/5
Features
4.3/5
Ease of Use
4.7/5
Customer Support
4.4/5

92%
recommended this app

408 Software options

Kush M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

A decent VPN service with quite a few locations

Reviewed on 02/04/2020

It's a good VPN, I recommend using it for just some private browsing.

Pros

The UI is nice, the connection is stable with multiple options. It has a kill switch which is very important for VPN services.

Cons

It comes with a cost which makes it hard to use for freelancing when you are a student.

Maaz K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

TunnelBear..

Reviewed on 13/09/2021

I have been using tunnelbear from quite a lot of time and am very satisfied with the speed that it works with and like the sense of security that is provides using it about my data and cyberfoot prints.

Pros

TunnelBear is a very secure yet fast VPN software. It allows you to mask your cyber identity and cover your tracks by making you surf the web anonymously as it changes or hide your real IP address from servers. It has hundreds of IPs from many countries which makes your surfing experience fast even on VPN. You can also access blocked or censored websites through it which is very useful for people living in regions with strict political censorship. TunnelBear is very committed to users and their data safety and hence store no ip, data or information about its users online sessions and activities. You can use it on 5 devices at a time on single subscription.

Cons

TunnelBear stands true to the purpose it is designed for, but the subscription fee is a bit high especially for underdeveloped countries, apart from that it is an excellent software.

Nhan N.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Banking
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Good VPN for non-pre

Reviewed on 09/05/2021

I have a good experience with TunnelBear. It works well for me most of the time and has Linux support. Their free plan is quite limited compared to other VPN solutions, but I find the premium price is pretty reasonable if you plan to use the service long-term.

Pros

- Non-cluttered UI, simple and easy to use.
- Limit support on Linux. Would be nice if they can develop more on this function.

Cons

- It doesn't work with Netflix and other streaming services.
- Availability is only limited to some countries.
- Limited free plan, 500MB monthly at the time I'm writing this. You would need a paid subscription to use it daily

Krutik R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Review for Tunnel Bear

Reviewed on 09/07/2020

I have been using Tunnel bear VPN service to browse securely over internet

Pros

A Great Virtual Private Network all over the world
Fast speed connectivity and hide the original ISP of the user

Cons

Less number of the VPN server in most of the countries
Need more server
some bugs in user interface

Caleb J.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

TunnelBear - Surf Fearlessly

Reviewed on 21/10/2019

I have loved the experience ever since I started using the service and don't think I will switch to anyother VPN service provider.

Pros

TunnelBear is a VPN service which encrypts your internet connection in order to keep your daily online activities private and super secure while you browse the web doing what you do best, without the worries of hackers and the government spying on your data. TunnelBear is available across all Mac, Windows, IOS and Android devices so you feel secure no matter your location or your device.

TunnelBear does not log any user activity as mentioned in the privacy policy so you can feel free to surf as intended without being spied on also by your VPN service provider.
TunnelBear also offers a free service which is limited to 500MB/Month so you can take it for a test drive before upgrading to the premium service.

Some of TunnelBear advance features are:

Global content - which allows you to view contents that is not allowed in your region
Online Privacy - TunnelBear blocks the government and your local ISP from viewing any of your internet traffic.
IP tracking - this feature blocks ad services from tracking your behavior which is used to target you for web-based advertisement.

Cons

TunnelBear uses 256-bit AES encryption which is strong enough but a bit weaker than other VPN services on the market.

Joel M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Multi-platform VP goodness

Reviewed on 06/04/2021

I have used Tunnelbear to protect public internet connections for over 3 years. The company kept a clean interface and make it easy to use and promote.

Pros

It is so easy to deploy, manage and use. It protects and has clear notifications of when it is one, how it is connected, and where it is connected to. They audit their software and make the 3rd party report publically available so that you can trust your data is even private from them.

Cons

Nothing, I have had great experiences, it is low overhead and easy to deploy. The price is a bit more than similar solutions. Not crazy it is owned by McAfee now.

Alternatives Considered

NordVPN

Reasons for Switching to TunnelBear

It was made in Canada.
Karl D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Protection of the privacy of information in a secure and stable manner.

Reviewed on 19/05/2019

It is a tool that has guaranteed the privacy of the information of the members of the company where it has been implemented, its service is fast, easy to use and guarantees a good technical support and quality service.

Pros

This product offers a good stability in VPN connection, offers a connection in a stable and secure way allowing the user to enjoy a fast navigation offering the privacy of the information, especially when it comes to information of the financial type or themes of the company. Confidentiality, accessing the TunnelBear Services is simple and the forms of payment are varied, the installation of the software can be applied from the desktop or through the web browser.

Cons

Once I had to install the software in Windows 8.1 and it did not work, the software was installed, it also happened several times that it was frozen when making a connection and not connects which I had to restart and it works again.

Enxhi H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Really fun to switch browsing from a country to another country

Reviewed on 03/09/2019

Whenever I need to visit a website that is not available from the country I am surfing at that moment, I open TunnelBear, switch to another country and in a matter of seconds and graceful animations I am already seeing the website that didn't worked previously.

Pros

The product works really well, and works all time. I can switch browsing from one country to another within a few seconds and it always worked for me. I never had a downtime or anything like it. I really loved the animation of the bear going in the tunnel from one country to another and it really did that amazing job. I also liked they sometimes makes offer to get some free MBs to surf.

Cons

Maybe the price for personal use is not affordable to everyone that I know, but overall sometimes there are offers to get some free MBs or GBs even!

Signe J.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Writing & Editing
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Great for basic VPN

Reviewed on 28/07/2021

The price is right fort this VPN and I am very satisfied with Tunnelbear.

Pros

Tunnelbear does a great job of protecting privacy, and it's very affordable. For $10/month, you can protect 5 separate devices. Additionally, the cute cartoon bears make this VPN fun. It takes a scary issue -- privacy violation -- and turns it into something nonthreatening.

Cons

Some VPNs offer additional services and protections beyond the basic VPN. However, Tunnelbear is limited to VPN only. For my needs, that's perfectly fine. However, some users will want a more inclusive solution if they have more complex needs. Additionally, Tunnelbear can be slow at times depending on which server you connect to. It's mostly fine, but once in a while it crawls.

Jordan M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Photography
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Security is important!

Reviewed on 22/04/2019

I run a Photography Studio and keeping photos of clients safe and secure is vital. Online delivery of images is 100% of the time how we do things and keeping that information secure for only the client is a must. TunnelBear helps keep it that way. I can actually keep true to the Privacy Policy I have with clients!

Pros

TunnelBear is invisible! You might think that is a Con, but you would be wrong. Setup was quick and easy. I don't need to maintain it or anything, just let it do its work.

Cons

Pricey, I wish services like this would be cheaper. It's another monthly subscription alongside the other 10+ subscriptions you have.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

TunnelBear - Safe browsing, easy install, no hassle

Reviewed on 16/04/2019

Pros

Just as the title says, this product was easy to install and implement on my network. It provides exactly what it claims to and doesn't have much frill to set up. Additionally, there is a freeware client available for those that just want to give it a try and see what they're missing. The paid version is much better in my opinion as it offers unlimited data streams rather than the 500 mb in the free version.

Cons

I do not like that this product doesnt offer wiregaurd and does not support Obfsproxy. Those are my only two qualms, but for what I'm paying, I can't really hate too much on this product. It's an incredible bargain.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

A good way to be safe online

Reviewed on 22/07/2021

If you're a casual user looking for an economic VPN then I suggest you check out TunnelBear. There's a 500mb free plan that you can use to try it out. I use it all the time when connecting to public networks when I travel around.

Pros

TunnelBear offers one of the most economic VPN services out there. As an added bonus, it has a very limited free plan as well for those willing to try it out. Just like other good VPN solutions in offers AES-256 encryption, so you know your data packets are encrypted securely. Also, if you're not a very tech-savvy person, you dont have to worry as TunnelBear is very easy to install and use.

Cons

If you're trying to use this to switch Netflix regions I'm not sure how reliable it'll be. I've tried to do this on multiple occasions but Netflix fails to load. Also, sometimes you'll have to wait a while before it connects you to the networks but this happens rarely and you don't have to wait too long. Apart from that i haven't got any other issues.

Ben B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

VPNs made easy

Reviewed on 29/07/2019

TunnelBear makes VPNs easy, fun to use, and is relatively affordable.

Pros

TunnelBear is about the easiest VPN solution I've ever used. The user cartoon interface, makes connecting to secure locations and regions simple for any user. Tunnel Bear adds a necessary and reassuring level of security that you just can't get without a VPN, and it does this in a fun, slightly comical, and seamless way. This visual style can also encourage team members (or family members) more likely to use the VPN, which can increase org security.

TunnelBear's mobile app also makes it super easy to get a VPN running on your mobile device, which is something that I struggled with in the past. Compared to custom VPN solutions (like setting up your own server), TunnelBear is a dream.

Cons

If you're on the free plan, the monthly data allowance is miniscule. That said, if you do any significant amount of traveling, it's well worth the cost.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Writing & Editing
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

TunnelBear keeps home closeby.

Reviewed on 04/12/2019

Connectivity to US based institutions while traveling the world was my number one goal and TunnelBear succeeded every time with spectacular colors.

Pros

I use both a windows machine and a macbook, and TunnelBear works smoothly on them. I often use services that are available in the US only and travel at the same time. TunnelBear makes it easy for me to keep using those services while overseas. Especially banks and other financial institutions that require US based connections.

Cons

It is very expensive to use on a non-trial use basis. Although you get extra data when you post on social media, I feel like with the plethora of affordable VPN options available TunnelBear is not priced competitively.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Printing
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Simplified VPN

Reviewed on 07/03/2019

Pros

TunnelBear is very easy to set up. There is a free option that I started with and then moved up to the paid version. Setting TunnelBear up is very simple as it is a browser extension.

Cons

TunnelBear is based in Canada but owned by McAfee. This is not a major turn off but with any VPN it makes you wonder how safe it is. The answer to that is based on how safe your search history is.

Josué L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Human Resources
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

A bear is watching my back

Reviewed on 24/07/2019

Amazing, it's fun and works beautifully on any device.

Pros

It's fun and easy to use, keeps my browsing private on any device. It helps me to be safe on unknown/unreliable/suspicious networks and it just works, even with a free plan!

Cons

It's a little pricy if you're not used to using a VPN service, however, it makes up for it with amazing customer service... and a lot of bear puns.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Easy VPN access for a small campaign

Reviewed on 23/10/2019

For a free access TunnelBear is a great tool, easily available, just download the extension and you are good to go.

Pros

It does what it says. TunnelBear does really provide IPs of anywhere you want. I wanted Ips from multiple places and it provided from US, UK, Australia, China and many more places.

Cons

The functionality isn't very user-friendly. Once you select an IP, you can not just jump to the next one easily, you have to refresh the page every time and wait, which breaks the momentum of the work.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Broadcast Media
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Solid software that seems to be losing features as it ages

Reviewed on 08/04/2021

When it was free, it was a solid option, but now that it's paid, it's not cheap enough for what it is.

Pros

It's easy to use and has a lot of locations to connect to. The graphics are also very cute, and it's simple and easy to use.

Cons

It's gotten more expensive, and it seems like it's harder and harder to connect to locations when you're in a country that has difficult internet, like china.

Anthony B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Good free VPN

Reviewed on 12/02/2020

Overally, I think it is a great intro into the world of VPNs. It is simple and very easy to use, making it a great option for a free VPN.

Pros

What I liked the most about this software was the ease of use. It is extremely simple and user friendly, making it a great VPN for first time users (of VPNs).

Cons

What I did not like was that it was not the most effective VPN. When I was in the Netherlands, I tried to use TunnelBear to watch the NCAA Tournament because you have to be in the US, but cbs.com was easily able to pick up that I was traveling abroad and not in the US and restricted my access to watch the tournament.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Easy and fast VPN

Reviewed on 06/11/2018

It's a great, fast and secure vpn with a very simple set up.

Pros

- Very easy to set up: You can use the Google Chrome extension, Windows, Mac, Android or iOS apps. Also, it provides very simple steps to set it up on some Linux distros.
- Gives a monthly free quota.
- Prices are more than reasonable.
- Many different locations to connect to.

Cons

- No Linux client (even though, the steps for setting it on ubuntu are very simple). Not much wrong other than that, it does what it does, clean and fast.

Rigger T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Graphic Design
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

take care of your privacy in a tunnel and with a bear

Reviewed on 17/09/2019

Despite its limitations, it covers the minimum expectations that a VPN is needed to take care of our privacy.

Pros

The VPN uses the strongest standard OpenVPN protocol on the market, as well as 256-bit AES encryption, which makes it one of the safest.

You do not need to register, it has free plans.

Cons

Although it is good to have a free version, it is limited to a bandwidth of 500 MB / month, it also lacks more geographical diversity.

Justin M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

TunnelBear is a great VPN especially for Apple users.

Reviewed on 05/12/2019

I run TunnelBear on my Macs and iPhone, mostly for watching Netflix and similar while I'm overseas (I travel constantly). It's also useful for checking my company's Amazon listings around the world, as I can set my location to be local and see exactly what our prospective customers are seeing.

Pros

Relatively inexpensive, easy to use, nice UI, and apps for MacOS, iOS and more. TunnelBear is a great tool.

Cons

Occasionally the software will lose connection during a VPN session but it lets you know when this happens, and usually reconnects in seconds. I suppose this would be a concern if you were doing nefarious things while using your VPN, but it's not a concern for me.

Ahmed A.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Surfing the internet like a bear is now real

Reviewed on 24/03/2018

Pros

the easiest way to use vpn in few clicks without ads or any other distracting thing through the app or the extension

Cons

the free plan is limited to 500 mb /month so i think they should maximize it for students at least and in Egypt it's no longer working unfortunately

Skyler B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

TunnelBear Is A Great VPN

Reviewed on 18/04/2019

I use TunnelBear to handle sensitive information online from home at public WiFi hotspots.

Pros

TunelBear is a great, easy to use VPN that anyone could pick up and start using. The interface looks great, the functionality is all there, I have zero complaints with TunnelBear.

Cons

TunnelBear is priced a little higher than the alternatives. They also offer frequent discounts and sales that I have never seen with TunnelBear.

Kaleb-john L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Simple On The Go VPN

Reviewed on 09/03/2020

TunnelBear is simple to use and is always available and has been worked as expected. It is one of the safest VPN providers and is very reliable.

Pros

TunnelBear makes it easy to configure VPN settings through their simple and user friendly interface that is available on desktop and mobile. The ability to use 5 connected devices to safely browse the internet it a good value and is essential when using mobile devices on the go.

Cons

TunnelBear is slower than most VPN providers which is a large downside. It is most useful for mobile devices. However, while it is easy to configure, there is not an option to run your router through the TunnelBear VPN automatically, which is another downside.