Passportal

4.4 (87)
Encrypted cloud-based, automated password protection

Overall rating

4.4 /5
(87)
Value for Money
4.3/5
Features
4.2/5
Ease of Use
4.2/5
Customer Support
4.4/5

92%
recommended this app

87 Software options

Andrew F.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Networking
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Pretty good so far.

Reviewed on 07/10/2019

Being able to collect user passwords from my team automatically without us having to remember to document everything has been pretty helpful.

Pros

It was quick and easy to setup and deploy on my systems and customer systems. Being able to see who accessed a password and when is also pretty huge for audits.

Cons

There are some things that can't be changed after you set them, some of the setup is not super intuitive or flexible. Things like assuming the customer has a person who can administer the service onsite and forcing you to have at least 1 site administrator per customer when in reality, there are probably a number of companies that don't have a person in house suitable to be the site administrator.

Integration with N-Central doesn't seem there quite yet, but we're hopeful they'll get it working properly soon enough. You can access and copy the passwords from the Take Control, but it won't actually paste the passwords into the system it seems.

Alternatives Considered

IT Glue

Reasons for Choosing Passportal

Confluence didn't have any way of automatically capturing our passwords as we put them in or give us a secure tool for giving our customers to manage their passwords.

Switched From

Confluence

Reasons for Switching to Passportal

It's distributed through Pax8, not developed in Australia, and we already use N-Central and wanted the integration between Passportal and our RMM.
Kelly speers I.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer & Network Security
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Passportal Ocular +Docs is helping us prevent brain drain

Reviewed on 25/09/2019

our documentation and password management are kept up to date allowing our contractors as well as the outsourced teams to know what we have in place.

Pros

How easy we keep records of our client's setup and secure their credentials.

Cons

there is a bit of a learning curve but support is helpful getting over the humps.

Alternatives Considered

IT Glue

Reasons for Switching to Passportal

price and lack of meeting commitments other companies had mentioned to us about IT Glue not livving up to.
Kendall P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great Product

Reviewed on 25/07/2019

This software has been a life saver in terms of saving time and money. I would highly recommend it.

Pros

I really like that all my clients information is readily available in 1 place. I don't have to hunt through pages of documentation to find a password, IP address, how to article or anything. All information is laid out in a standard format

Cons

the integration with ConnectWise Automate and Control seems a little delayed. and sometimes doesn't show up at all if the serial number isn't populated in Automate.

Alternatives Considered

Confluence and Microsoft SharePoint

Reasons for Choosing Passportal

Pricing

Switched From

IT Glue

Reasons for Switching to Passportal

Even though the other 2 options were free, being able to standardize the documentation was key. The password keeper was also a huge factor. the last was the integration with many other software platforms. For the price, we couldn't pass it up.
Chris B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

MSP Password and Security

Reviewed on 20/08/2019

Overall great experience, it helps us achieve some GDPR compliance and audit ability of our customers as well as a central store for documentation

Pros

The audit report of known password by user and the ability to change windows password

Cons

The fact that single sign on and ad sync is not an option at the moment

Alternatives Considered

IT Glue

Reasons for Choosing Passportal

The audit report and the automatic password change on engineer leaving

Reasons for Switching to Passportal

Simple interface and costing. It Glue is a great documentarian product but a poor password Maanger, Passportal is a better password manager but not as good in documentation. As our need was focused on password management etc Passportal was the best option
Ryan C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

PassPortal Review

Reviewed on 25/09/2019

Pros

The reporting capabilities are pretty good. The idea of Docs is really good, but needs some work.

Cons

It's pretty slow going between sections and clients.
While there are a lot of integrations, there are no ways that I've found to bulk edit imported assets, or merge duplicate assets.

Runbooks don't export long sentances properly, they don't word wrap well. For instance a long URL in a text field exported to a PDF would go off the page

Alternatives Considered

IT Glue

Reasons for Switching to Passportal

The password manager seemed to be better.
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Good password management tool, fair documentation platform

Reviewed on 25/09/2019

Overall our experiences with Passportal (previous to being bought by SolarWinds) has been positive. While there have been some issues they have addressed them and the product has continued to grow substantially since we've been onboard.

Pros

It does a good job of keeping login information for various customers in a central, secure, managed location. It allows you to restrict access to specific clients to specific people or teams and tracks every time a technician has accessed a password so you know what needs to be rotated if they depart.

Cons

The browser plugin is tolerable but not great.

Nick R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Changed the way the business operates.

Reviewed on 26/07/2019

The software has enabled our business to organise, check and collate all our clients documentation and credentials in one place. This means our technicians are spending a lot less time searching for information, so overall efficiency for our customers has been greatly improved. Having the ability for our technicians to have their own secure vault for corporate credentials has also improved our overall security.

Pros

Access to the portal on any devices at any time.
Portal is well designed and extremely fast to use.
Ability to store credentials and documentation in the same portal is amazing, plus the ability to link documents and credentials in revolutionary for us.

Cons

After using the software for nearly 6 months we have found no issues.

Michael H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Love the password management features

Reviewed on 19/08/2019

Pros

Full auditing of password access
Ability to fill passwords in ConnectWise Control (ScreenConnect) sessions

Cons

Documentation piece is lacking, but improving.

Alternatives Considered

IT Glue

Reasons for Choosing Passportal

Better control over password management

Reasons for Switching to Passportal

Price and dealing with honest people
Ethan B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Passport Review

Reviewed on 27/09/2019

Pros

Easy to use joined with Screen connect making it easier to use the login feature

Cons

That you can only link it with screen connect and it does not support other RDC clients

Dean B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Reasonable software

Reviewed on 20/08/2019

Support and sales teams have been quite responsive on this, our second go.

Pros

The primary reason it was selected was for password management which has a plugin for Connectwise Control. The added bonus of a fledgeling document management systems helped tipped the balance.

Cons

Encountered a number of bugs during the initial setup but these were corrected or worked around. DMS is still very limited. More automation with regards to integration would be beneficial.

Craig M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Documentation made easy

Reviewed on 25/07/2019

Pros

Passportal has made documentation a lot easier and quicker. It provides a really good structure of all of the documentation, which I didn't have previously with using something like OneNote.

Cons

Having a couple issues with integration with Ninja. Same serial number computers aren't coming in. Working with support currently.

Tim G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great Product

Reviewed on 25/07/2019

Using Passportal has enhanced our ability to keep client passwords secure. Since there is documentation as well we are able to keep almost all of our information in Passportal making information more easily accessible.
The ability to use Passportal with Screenconnect has been an added bonus as it makes logging into systems much quicker than before.

Pros

The website is very easy to use. The plugins for ScreenConnect and Microsoft Edge work very well and make me and my team more efficient.
The password sync with servers has helped a lot with user support.

Cons

The plugin for Firefox doesn't work very well. The app on the iPhone only has access to passwords and none of the documentation.
At times the server password sync can be buggy but it is easily fixed with a reinstall of the software.
The customization of the documentation is a little lacking but not too bad.

Alternatives Considered

IT Glue

Reasons for Switching to Passportal

Price. Passportal is priced right. I do not feel over charged at all.
Ronald B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Fairly new, but very technical user

Reviewed on 07/10/2019

We were LastPass users for 5 years. Passportal is definitely an upgrade.
However, LastPass' extensions seem to be more mature and compatible.

Pros

- Very well thought out and robust feature set
- Portal layout
- Global search with options
- AD integration

Cons

- Browser extension incompatible with Duo 2FA for certain sites
- Organization key requirement. It resets on its own and I don't like storing it somewhere else
- Passportal extension doesn't always prompt to add new sites, and clumsy when it does. If you accidentally click off the extension without saving, you lose anything already typed.

Ollie P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

General

Reviewed on 27/09/2019

Good

Pros

Nice looking, good integrations for current software

Cons

Every time you choose another entry the page refreshes!

Alternatives Considered

Secret Server Password Manager

Reasons for Switching to Passportal

Price and integration into current systems
Daniel S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Works well, but the integration could use a little help

Reviewed on 26/09/2019

Pros

Password tracking
Password rotation for AD accounts
Audit log

Cons

The integration with CW is one way. And only allows you to import the most basic fields from CW manage. All notes are left behind as are custom configuration questions.

Alternatives Considered

IT Glue

Reasons for Switching to Passportal

Fair pricing for the features. No contract.
Vera G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

keep track of passwords securely

Reviewed on 06/04/2021

nice to be able to store passwords securely and everyone who needs access can have access and retrieve passwords as needed. Makes the job much easier.

Pros

easy to use, setup and store passwords. Multiple users can access and update as needed. Can randomly generate new passwords so that they meet complexity requirements.

Cons

Having to login to passportal constantly (timeout feature is set too low for our needs and I find myself having to re-enter my password.

Matt S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Cloud 9 IT review

Reviewed on 08/10/2019

My overall experience was very good, I could access my information from anywhere and it was easy to use

Pros

I liked the layout and the amount of information I could store in Passportal

Cons

The thing I liked least about the software was the support, not very helpful at times

Alternatives Considered

IT Glue

Reasons for Choosing Passportal

I made thew switch to passportal Canada over to Passportal (AU) since I never wanted to pay for two licenses and I wanted to be billed in AUD

Reasons for Switching to Passportal

Passportal was cheaper than IT Glue
Amanda S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer & Network Security
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Helps keep brain drain down.

Reviewed on 28/09/2019

makes my day to day of keeping the documents updated and ready for when they are needed easier.

Pros

All in one storage of docs, and secure passwords. The fact that passwords are there for the team as they need them but are secured is great.

Cons

the same thing I love, the security to log in and the time out.

Alternatives Considered

IT Glue

Reasons for Switching to Passportal

the boss made the call due to security and customer service by the Passportal team.
Steve D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Peace of mind

Reviewed on 01/10/2019

Overall it was an easy decision, easy implementation and overall great solution.

Pros

It is comforting know that our sensitive data is secure!

Cons

It can be a bit challenging to log in some times but this is really the whole point so I don't this I can put this down to being a con.

Alternatives Considered

IT Glue

Reasons for Switching to Passportal

It best fitted our needs.
Henry C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Passportal review

Reviewed on 02/10/2019

Pros

The software is easy to use, able to upload credentials en masse and Highly adaptable

Cons

There are some areas i'd like to include Photoes in the body of the article or datafeild but I can only link the image instead.

Benjamin W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Best password manager on the market

Reviewed on 02/10/2019

Very good - it has replaced my personal business password manager lastpass for all day to day work related passwords

Pros

the diversity of the platform makes it easy to find something for every required scenario

Cons

nested menus are the most annoying thing - the general layout of the software is good but sometimes it takes quite a few more steps than what I believe to be required to get to customers specific details

Joshua L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Networking
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Worth Every Penny And Keystroke

Reviewed on 25/09/2019

We have to protect our own operations before we can purport to do that for others. Effective password management is critical to that effort.

Pros

The nearly transparent operation inside browsers.

Cons

The degree to which it illuminated our own sloppiness with password management (also one of its best features when you get right down to it).

Michael L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Passportal has helped us bring together all our clients password and documents

Reviewed on 26/09/2019

Pros

Helps us be much more organized by centrally managing all our clients passwords, assets, and documents.

Cons

The mobile app still needs a lot of work. Its functional but could do so much more compared to the functionality of the web app.

Alternatives Considered

IT Glue
Jeffrey K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Passportal a must buy product

Reviewed on 25/07/2019

Pros

The ease of use and the return on investment with Site. Also +docs helps u renewing our documentation. And the integration with autotask.

Cons

nothing comes to mind, passportal has everything you need

Alternatives Considered

Secret Server Password Manager and Passly

Reasons for Switching to Passportal

Pricing and overal package
Andy M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great password manager for MSP’s

Reviewed on 31/07/2019

Pros

Integration with ConnectWise remote control

Cons

Cannot view/copy the password in the connectwise remote control plugin. Requires logging in to passportal

Alternatives Considered

LastPass

Reasons for Switching to Passportal

Better integrations and easy to use