Schoolbox

4.6 (59)
LMS, Community Portal & Engagement Platform for K-12 Schools

Overall rating

4.6 /5
(59)
Value for Money
4.6/5
Features
4.4/5
Ease of Use
4.4/5
Customer Support
4.6/5

98%
recommended this app

59 Software options

David H.
Overall rating
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

A great partnership with a team that actually cares about their customers.

Reviewed on 03/05/2018

We use this software for so many purposes, more than what we originally thought. We can communicate to students and parents regarding news, projects, due work, markings etc.

Pros

The product owners and developers have always been very clear with how they see their product growing and how we can influence and feed in ideas and features. Even through rapid growth they have still remained true to their vision which convinced us to sign up 6 years ago.

Cons

There are quite a few settings in the admin panel that need better explanation, for us who have been using the system for a long time we know them but new users might be overwhelmed. That said, the more granular the settings the more you can customise it for your own environment.

Response from Schoolbox

Hey David. Thanks for spending the time to provide such a great review and great feedback. We've loved working with you and your team thus far.

The superuser's admin area certainly does offer a wide range of configuration. I see that in our community Ideas forums that our community of schools are discussing and voting on how our administration area can be presented in an easier way. Hopefully we can improve this area in the future. Thanks so much for the feedback and support. :)

Samantha C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

MFAC Review of SchoolBox

Reviewed on 01/11/2019

- We have had a number of priority issues with Schoolbox which we have received support for but unfortunately resolution has taken alot longer than we had expected.
- Generally when we call, the support staff have been very responsive.

Pros

- Once you know how to maintain the product, it is highly configurable which enables the pages to be tailored to meet College's requirements.
- The product is rich in functionality but the good news is you can phase the implementation of this in line with College's requirements and timeframes.

Cons

- It currently doesn't integrate with our School Management System - TASS.
- On the UPS, there is internal processing which is not visible to administrators of the systems which has caused us challenges with our data.

Response from Schoolbox

Hi Samantha. Thanks for taking the time to review Schoolbox and provide us feedback.

The TASS School Information System (SIS) has been a close partner of Schoolbox for many years, where we've built a deep integration with TASS. See our TASS Integration documentation here: https://help.schoolbox.com.au/account/anonymous.php?page=/homepage/497

We also have documentation on the TASS UPS Queries which can help calrify some of the processes. See here: https://help.schoolbox.com.au/account/anonymous.php?page=/homepage/2402

I suggest our team reach out to assist with enabling the Schoolbox + TASS integration.

Thanks again for your review and wishing you all the best.

Cherie N.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Bringing the community together

Reviewed on 12/11/2019

Pros

Schoolbox allows us to have a single platform that all users within our community can engage with. Instant delivery of curriculum content, feedback and results means we can enrich our learning environment with minimal impact of teacher admin overhead. Our notifications, news and alerts can be delivered more dynamically and with audience targeting we can reduce the white noise of all community news blast outs.
The product is always evolving with innovative approaches to classroom delivery.

Cons

The product does not include a lot of typical administrative features (permission structures, capacity management, deleting).

Documents within the system are not dynamic. It is upload and download, which seems a little archaic in the modern collaborative world.

Alternatives Considered

SEQTA and CANVAS

Reasons for Choosing Schoolbox

SharePoint was not easy to use by general teaching staff. It involved a lot of IT setup and configuring. The interface and content was sad, over structured and boring.

Switched From

Microsoft SharePoint

Reasons for Switching to Schoolbox

Integration with SIS Liked the interface and look of end product
Jason B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Schoolbox for Secondary

Reviewed on 30/10/2019

Pros

With the implementation of all new software solutions, planning is key and Schoolbox demonstrated their ability to perform this in the most efficient manner.
From the server configuration templates to the necessary training involving the relevant staff and estimated time it would take to meet production, all went as planned.
The management interface is fairly striaght forward to use from administrator's point of view and once staff training was completed, courses and class pages were produced in a reasonable timeframe.

Cons

Initially, the rollover process with a little cumbersome given the way we had originally implemented and linked our class pages with courses.
We have streamlined this process and staff are now self sufficient with this.
Some of the integration with Synergetic was also limited but this is expanding year by year and now we have most of the student information being accessible in SchoolBox.

Alternatives Considered

SEQTA

Reasons for Switching to Schoolbox

We felt the Schoolbox product was more mature than the others we reviewed. It also had the least overlap with our SIS and focused more on teacher and student functionality utilising an easier to use interface. Much like other social media platforms. The organisation also seemed to be more reception to feature suggestions and already had the integration model to work with our SIS being Synergetic.
Nicolas C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Schoolbox - An effective LMS for schools of all sizes

Reviewed on 22/10/2019

Overall, Schoolbox has allowed us to develop effective teaching and learning, marketing and communication strategies. This has allowed us to increase our reach with sharing information and increasing engagement.

Pros

Schoolbox has allowed us to develop and roll out a platform that provides a one-stop-shop for students, staff and parents. The support staff are incredibly supportive, responding to requests in a timely and helpful manner. Their commitment to customer support is one of the best I have ever encountered. Through their open communication channels, we have been able to request features and services that find their way in to future releases. The ability to quickly embed a variety of resources has allowed us to create an engaging instance that has received much support from all key stakeholders in our school.

Cons

It's hard to identify any cons, but for us here in Queensland, I felt that Schoolbox was a bit slow to provide software changes to facilitate changes to the senior schooling system. With that in mind though, our Account Manager and various support staff were quick to provide assistance when we requested it.

Response from Schoolbox

Hi Nick, thanks for your review and feedback. We really appreciate your kind words. With regard to the changes to Queensland's reporting requirements, we're closely monitoring this and working on solutions as new information becomes available. We have many schools in this region and will work closely with them to ensure they have solutions to address these changes as soon as possible.

All the best and thank you again.

Chau C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The Right Solution

Reviewed on 30/10/2019

After a review, research and consultation process, we replaced our previous LMS solution with Schoolbox in 2017. It has continued to prove it is right solution. Schoolbox is meeting our technical, administrative and curriculum objectives for a LMS. It has strong integration with our SIS and accessible from different devices. The solution supports and extends the college teaching pedagogy.

Pros

Extends teaching pedagogy
Good technical support.
Extensive range of features.
Integration with Synergetic.
File handling, especially video files.
Homepage creation is balanced between ease of use and customisation.
Price competitive.

Cons

Not able to copy class pages.
Most users will need initial training.

Response from Schoolbox

Hi Chau. Thanks for taking the time to review Schoolbox!

Copying content is a hot topicalthough it can provide starting points for creating similar pagesit also creates a situation that ends up with multiple copies of the same content, making it hard to determine which copy is the most up to date & cause unwanted content management overheads as; time goes by; users come & go; content gets messier. To avoid these problemsrather than allowing anyone to copy contentschools can design page templates that contain placeholder instructions & pre-built content, to serve as scaffolding for new pages. Page components can act as master sources to share to multiple pages, so that when the master is updated, all linked pages receive the update, avoiding copies of content.

Schools are complex institutions & need a comprehensive platform to ease painpoints & cater to many workflows, hence why training can engage/empower uses to get the most value from your school's investment.

Thanks.

Brad E.
Overall rating
  • Industry: E-Learning
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Totally worth the learning curve!

Reviewed on 22/10/2019

The experience has been excellent. [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] and [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] have been so helpful and assisted us wherever we needed it. Our staff have come a long way in just over 6 months, and the reception has been excellent despite launching at the busiest time of year. Even those teachers who were initially skeptical of something 'new' have had some wins and are excited to see what can be done with the platform.

Pros

I love the way Schoolbox changed the way our teachers and students think about online learning. Schoolbox has become the actual classroom. The class pages have become their whiteboard and classroom posters, and the course and unit pages have become their live strategic planning documents. It is exciting to see teachers eyes light up when they realize they can do the work once, do it well, and move onto the next thing in their extensive list of things to do.

Cons

Coming from a different LMS product, there was a steep learning curve to alter the way teachers were thinking about online learning with Schoolbox (though it has been totally worth it).

Response from Schoolbox

Thanks for the wonderful review Brad. Much appreciated!

Adrian D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Schoolbox Review

Reviewed on 22/10/2019

Really positive so far. The online tech support is great, I found it much more useful than over the phone.

Pros

It's a very good Learning Management System but also is very good at helping to run a school. The Unit pages and Class pages are particularly helpful for sharing resources. Assessment options are also great.

Cons

It doesn't do any data analytics and it's quite clunky to export data. E.g. to get an entire cohort of results you need to export from each class page. Other features that we wanted are currently being customised which is great.

Response from Schoolbox

Nice work Adrian. Thanks so much for your great feedback. We love discussing the pain points with schools in the hope we can solve these problems.

We've made significant enhancements in the data analytics space over the last year with the addition of the Course and Rubrics markbooks. A lot of schools have expressed their desire to export these markbooks; therefore, we're keen to make this a reality!

We're also working on a tool to deliver a super simple option for running a PDF run of the Grades page in Schoolbox. :)

Thanks for sharing. :)

Liz B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

SchooBox

Reviewed on 22/10/2019

Pros

Integration with Synergetic, linking staff accounts with the parent accounts for ease of access for information in that "role".

Cons

The calendar is not as easy or user-friendly as other systems. Not being able to access timetables on the weekend (feedback from Students)

Response from Schoolbox

Hi Liz. We really appreciate you taking the time to provide such a great review and feedback. We're always interested in hearing from schools and in helping schools improve our product/services, for getting more out of the product.

You'll be pleased to hear the calendar has had an overhaul in the latest major release v19.1. See the release notes here: https://help.schoolbox.com.au/account/anonymous.php?page=/homepage/2567

We've improved the calendar's list view look/feel (as well as overall), with simpler filtering. We've also added a new calendar event detail page; notifications will now land on this page!

Also in v19.1 we've built a new Assessment Calendar feature, for planning assessments & school events across multiple campuses/years/classes, in 1 view.

This release is about to be available!

Finally, students can quickly see their timetable on weekends by clicking the timetable link in the main navigation. They can even easily check it on mobile!

Thanks again :)

Ryan M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Schoolbox - A great LMS tool for schools to improve communication and increase student...

Reviewed on 14/11/2019

Pros

Once it gets up and rolling, and past the initial set up and transition phase, the features of Schoolbox is a great addition to Alamanda College. It has assisted us with tracking student learning and also developing consistency in the delivery of our curriculum to multiple classes across different year levels. It is also a great tool to assist with parent communication.

Cons

The initial set up phase with the software is complex. A lot of dedicated man-hours is needed to get the initial set up phase ready. Plus the training of staff to use Schoolbox effectively also takes a lot of time and energy. However, once set up, it can be rolled over from year-to-year which saves time in the future. From initial setup to effective usage will take at least 2-3 years for the adoption cycle to take place.

Jacqui L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Digital Transformation through Schoolbox

Reviewed on 12/11/2019

Pros

Schoolbox's user friendly learning management system and fully customisable platform makes digital transformation simple. The ability to customise and personalise the skin means that your school can maintain its cultural identity while bringing learning into the digital space. Flipping learning and making resources accessible to learners means there is more time in the classroom to focus on the learning that matters.

Cons

Some inflexibility around changes to particular modules required to suit the school's needs.

Andrew K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Forever evolving

Reviewed on 12/11/2019

Customer service is outstanding and this is so important.

Pros

This software has become the hub for communications and learning within our school. The software is constantly being developed to meet the current needs of teaching and learning. This development is done with consultation with all their customers therefore giving us a product that is a solution to our requirements.

Cons

Some of the logic does not flow the best with class pages and units, however the product is always improving.

Daniela B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great Learning Management System

Reviewed on 13/11/2019

Pros

Schoolbox is a user friendly software application, that allows teachers, parents and students to keep track of their learning outcomes. The learning analytics can provide useful data in monitoring student growth. The team at schoolbox are always will to help and find solutions that best meet the schools priorities and needs.

Cons

the ePortfolio and pastoral system could be improved to better meet the needs of individual schools

Anita M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: E-Learning
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Whole-School Learning and Engagement Platform

Reviewed on 22/10/2019

I was the project lead required to recommend either a new virtual learning platform, or extensive upgrade costs to the previous product. After contacting and visiting numerous schools in Queensland, I was convinced of the value Schoolbox offered. Almost two years later, teachers and students are embracing Schoolbox and looking forward to what lays ahead, particularly in whole-school communications.

Pros

There are three standout features of Schoolbox:
1. It is an all-in-one solution for teaching and learning, staff intranet and school communications
2. It is an Australian product, built by Australian educators for the Australian school market
3. The Schoolbox community is highly skilled and generous with their knowledge

Cons

Queensland curriculum compliancy remains an issue

Alternatives Considered

CANVAS and Brightspace

Reasons for Choosing Schoolbox

It made sense to implement a new whole-school platform, rather than make expense upgrades to SharePoint, which was under-utilised anyway.

Switched From

Microsoft SharePoint

Reasons for Switching to Schoolbox

Australian product made specifically for the Australian school sector

Response from Schoolbox

Hi Anita. Thanks so much for your review!

In regards to meeting the QLD curriculum (QCAA) requirements, student rubric result pages in Schoolbox can be printed to PDF for submission.

The QCAA requirements require a teacher to select 3 students, one from the top, bottom, and middle of the class for verification.

Here's the details of what's required:
https://www.qcaa.qld.edu.au/downloads/senior/prep_electronic_submissions_advice.pdf

Here's the checklist of what's required:
https://www.qcaa.qld.edu.au/downloads/senior/snr_qa_verification_submission_checklist.pdf

To meet this requirement, we recommend schools collate the information into a single folder doing the following steps:

1. Print to PDF the 3 students' rubric results pages (this will include the task details, grade, rubric and and feedback)
2. Download the students' submissions.

Put together in a folio for submission using QCAA's proposed folder structure.

Hope this helps.

Cheers.

Paul M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Schoolbox LMS

Reviewed on 11/11/2019

This company actively cultivates a very personalised relationship with the company which has enabled them to continually evolve as the needs of their customers grow and change. This high level of responsiveness continually makes a good platform better.

Pros

The platform brings together many systems that we previously maintained separately. For example, calendar, news, communication, teaching resources, gradebook, assessment calendar and collaborative tools are now in one place. This has significantly streamlined workflow for everyone but is also a lot more intuitive and has allowed us to create stronger systems. For example, online submission of due work means that all work can be submitted electronically on the one day, is automatically checked for plagiarism, feedback can be delivered and fed back immediately and marks entered automatically into the gradebook. There is also much greater oversight on an individuals total workload and the ability to more effectively manage this. The platform has significantly changed some core workplace systems and in some cases has positively impacted on the culture of "how things are done". It's a "one stop shop" for school communication, collaboration, grading, resources, assessment and feedback.

Cons

There are still some areas of the gradebook which we would like tweaked for the platform to work ideally for us. In an LMS with such a wide scope, there will always be some features which are not 100% tailored to an individual school's needs. Over a 6 year relationship, we have found the company to be wonderfully responsive and adaptive to the needs of the users and are confident that this area will soon be addressed by the software engineers.

Ian H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Schoolbox: A modern solution to managing complexity in schools

Reviewed on 30/10/2019

Success in the introduction of an LMS is dependent upon the quality of the product and the quality of leadership and implementation. The product has to be good but I suggest you prioritise leadership and implementation. You will have a better experience and outcome with a good product and excellent implementation than you will with an excellent product (however that might be judged) and poor implementation. I think Schoolbox is a very good product and we are doing our best to achieve an excellent implementation - it is not a small undertaking.

Pros

The Schoolbox community is excellent. The company has established a culture and framework that is very effective in supporting learning through collaboration. We have only just started out with Schoolbox but already I have found the regional user forums and annual national conferences to be excellent opportunities to learn from company representatives and from the experience of colleagues in other schools. The software itself has enormous functionality, spanning a wide range of school operations. The design reflects a deep understanding of how schools operate and it functions very reliably. Schoolbox is a sophisticated yet relatively simple tool to mange complexity in schools.

Cons

The greatest challenge with this software in our first year has been the training aspect around the 'course builder' component. In particular, teacher understanding of the relationship between 'course builder', 'course outline' and importing classes and course outlines. Related to this is the process of submitting assessment with course builder. That concept and process lacks a bit of 'stickability' for busy teachers so it is important to support teachers through training. Once teachers have a grasp of this aspect of Schoolbox, there is no stopping them.

Response from Schoolbox

Hi Ian. Thanks so much for your review and for taking the time.

It's always a challenge to bring new processes to a team and to ingrain new concepts into a school. As per your suggestion, the course is eventually grasped and that learning can be retained and shared across the team and to new teammates.

We're always keen to here feedback in order to evolve Schoolbox and feedback such as this helps us gain insight into problem areas that we can address.

Thanks again!

John T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Schoolbox Review

Reviewed on 25/10/2019

Schoolbox is now a critical platform solution for our business and educational needs. Without it we would not be able to operate efficiently. This has been a system that has grown and developed in its sophistication with us and our journey into the digital learning space.

Pros

Our Schoolbox instance is fast, reliable and readily available. Our School has been able to embed Schoolbox as our Learning Management System, Community Portal, Continuous feedback and is now our main communication platform.

The support of the software (both technical and professional learning) is timely with high resolution success. The team is knowledgeable, friendly and responsive.

Cons

We have had extensive requests by our school community to allow for printable reporting functions - specially in the Grades and Feedback modules.

Feature requests on the core components can be time consuming as the process involves a voting system by other Schoolbox customers for buy in. Being a long term customer and user of the system we find ourselves more advanced than other School's who may not be ready for other feature request changes.

Alternatives Considered

CANVAS and Firefly Reservations

Reasons for Choosing Schoolbox

Mediasphere were no longer developing their education platform and were instead moving to HR systems.

Reasons for Switching to Schoolbox

Recommendations, Cost and integration with our SIS system.

Response from Schoolbox

Cheers John for your helpful feedback & review. We're always listening to our schools and their requirements in reporting on student learning. We have made some significant enhancements in this space over the last year; 1. New views in our database for simplified reporting on rubrics; 2. Creation of a tool to convert reports in Schoolbox to PDFs; 3. Crystal Reports service where we can produce PDF based report variants. So, at this stage schools have 4 different options depending on their needs; Export assessment data to Synergetic or Accelerus to complete reports; Create their own Crystal Reports; Engage our Professional Services team to implement Crystal Reports; Engage a 3rd party to build a report from our data (Octopus, TrackOne).

We're also working on a tool to deliver a super simple option for running a PDF run of the Grades page in Schoolbox. :)

Thanks for taking the time to review us John!

Benjamin R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Primary/Secondary Education
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Forward thinking

Reviewed on 23/10/2019

As mentioned above, the customer support is excellent. A registered user can call the support team and be onto a human working on a solution with almost no waiting on hold. The owners and management are approachable and willing to discuss changes even if their original opinions differ with the customers. They have built solid partnerships with other service providers and are always looking for additional partners.

Pros

- customer service is excellent. They are always able or willing to work to resolve an issue
- their road map is inspiring and focuses on the educational benefit of using an LMS
- willing to customise the base product for a fee
- not afraid to share data location in the schema

Cons

- supporting custom work. After paying for custom work to the base product, any future releases on the base product may impact the custom work. This incurs an additional cost on the customer to adjust the custom work to meet the changes. Please note Schoolbox is very clear about this before agreeing to any custom work.

Alternatives Considered

CANVAS

Reasons for Switching to Schoolbox

Solid communication and willingness to customise.

Response from Schoolbox

Hey Benjamin. Thanks so much for your awesome review and for taking the time to complete it and provide this helpful feedback. As you point out, custom work isn't included in our product's core research and development service. We are grateful that schools like Meriden are partnering with us to build custom features that enhance your unique requirements, while inspiring improvements to the product's core feature set, for all schools to benefit from, as we journey down our feature roadmap. Thanks again for supporting us. We're looking forward to continuing working together. Cheers.

Gaynor S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: E-Learning
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Schoolbox Review

Reviewed on 30/10/2019

Schoolbox support is outstanding, and the team are always open to suggestions, improvements and the needs of clients.

Pros

Schoolbox is a comprehensive system that allows us to interact with all members of the College community, in all aspects of College life. Curriculum and co-curricular information is easily shared with Students and Parents, as well as having the added benefit of providing ongoing assessment feedback and results.

Cons

Understandably, Schoolbox has been designed to cover the broadest spectrum of needs for its users. This has meant that have been aspects that have not been suited to the needs of our College. So the aspect we have liked the least, is in having to find workarounds for some aspects.

Response from Schoolbox

Hi Gaynor. Thanks very much for your wonderful review, and for taking the time to review us and provide us feedback.

As you point out, it's a challenge to accommodate all the unique scenarios and ways in which schools operate. Schoolbox's comprehensive platform means schools can get quite detailed solutions to their problemsit's a matter of understanding the requirement and then customising the platform to suit the school.

As always, our team are here to help, so always feel free to reach out to us for assistance.

Thanks for your support.

Mary-lou O.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

We've been a client now for 8 years & Schoolbox was the game changer for us.

Reviewed on 03/05/2018

Pros

We've now had a long working relationship with Schoolbox & we love its flexibility & the teams responsiveness. At the 5 Yr mark we had 100% take up by staff, so it's now just very much part of our culture & is a basic expectation of all teaching staff.

Cons

The only pain point is our specific customisations that often break with updates, so avoid customisation when you can.

Response from Schoolbox

Thanks Mary-Lou for taking the time to provide such a great review. We really appreciate the feedback. It's been such fun working with you and your team over the years.

As you point out, custom work isn't included in our product's core research and development service. We do appreciate schools like MGG partnering with us to support custom features that enhance your unique workflows, and that inspire our product's evolution. Thanks again for all your support. We're looking forward to continuing working with you and your team. Cheers.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Always evolving and well supported. Overall this product functions well.

Reviewed on 22/10/2019

Pros

Notifications, News, SSO.
Communication has improved.
Provides us with a central place to launch off to other packages.

Cons

Security / Permission settings, Grade groups.
In general this product has more hits than misses.
Worth looking at.

Response from Schoolbox

Thanks for your review. We'll certainly take on board your feedback and continue to evolve how we work.

We certainly take security very seriouslyit's the utmost importance to uswhere we believe security is a culture, not a test. Our code review process & architecture is designed around a Security First model & we welcome Security Audits, we regularly participate in customer Security Audits, & encourage customer feedback. Also see our article on Privacy Legislation: https://help.schoolbox.com.au/account/anonymous.php?page=/news/225.

We also have a few requests to allow better control over grade groups, such as for different campuses, and we'll continue to review this area of Schoolbox. Thanks.

Pathum T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Excellent support

Reviewed on 11/11/2019

Pros

Easy to use and excellent customer support

Cons

I find that the reporting or exporting from schoolbox is lacking.

Robq B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: E-Learning
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

feedback

Reviewed on 14/11/2019

Pros

different learning tools available to cater for different teaching styles and student needs

Cons

Unable to import results from an excel spreadsheet
Need to be able to produce a report for parents

Kylie M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

New to Schoolbox

Reviewed on 15/11/2019

Our teachers are extremely happy with the interface for marking the roll and accessing student contact details. We still have many parts of Schoolbox to explore and implement.

Pros

The user interface especially when utilising our database.

Cons

The lack of support when our plan changed and we didn't receive training for the new verision. Also the issues with email and HTML code to access specific areas of our database.

Victor D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: E-Learning
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Schoolbox helps make learning personal

Reviewed on 27/10/2019

Schoolbox as a Learning Management System has made and is making Continuous Reporting a reality. Being able to mark attendances directly out of Schoolbox, which integrates with our SIS, and being able to maintain Pastoral Records and communicate with parents from the LMS means that Schoolbox is being used by many teachers as a 'one stop shop'.

Pros

Schoolbox is designed from the ground up to be intuitive, allowing the novice or the seasoned digital pedagogy practitioner to jump in and building learning activities and courses. In particular, the Schoolbox team listens to its user base when planning its product development road map: this has led to a feature set that supports personalised learning, including rich assessment rubrics, student self-reflection and feedback, modified assessments, social learning, as well as a survey tool that supports Universal Design for Learning (UDL).

Cons

The support for Learning Analytics and the analytics around teachers' use of the product is still fairly nascent. One has to instead look to third party tools to provide this capability.

Response from Schoolbox

Thanks Victor for your review and for taking the time. We've had a ball working with you, your team and your school thus far!

We are very keen to continue evolving how Schoolbox reports on student learning, as well as integrations into external reporting systems.

We have made some significant enhancements in this space over the last year; 1. New views in our database for simplified reporting on rubrics; 2. Creation of a tool to convert reports in Schoolbox to PDFs; 3. Crystal Reports service where we can produce PDF based report variants. So, at this stage schools have 4 different options depending on their needs; Export assessment data to Synergetic or Accelerus to complete reports; Create their own Crystal Reports; Engage our Professional Services team to implement Crystal Reports; Engage a 3rd party to build a report from our data (Octopus, TrackOne).

We're also working on a tool to deliver a super simple option for running a PDF run of the Grades page in Schoolbox. :)