Retail Express

4.1 (15)
Retail's #1 choice for POS system software

Overall rating

4.1 /5
(15)
Value for Money
4.3/5
Features
4.1/5
Ease of Use
3.8/5
Customer Support
4.5/5

80%
recommended this app

15 Software options

Jason D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Retail Express is very easy to use and was a very smooth transition for us from a paper...

Reviewed on 13/09/2018

Pros

Very Easy to use and gives us an edge on professionalism and performance internally.
Data is now at the touch of a couple of buttons instead of having to compose the information for days/weeks.

Cons

So many features that I haven't had time to learn them all, this is the only issue I have as it can take quite some time to learn everything.

Jordan P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great Option For Managing Inventory

Reviewed on 22/10/2019

Pros

Retail Express was a new platform we were introduced to when adding a medical supply business on to our growing organization. We had no idea how much was involved with inventory management. Wow, Retail Express definitely made this much more streamlined!

Cons

There were a few bumps during the initial on boarding process. Still with the assistance of Retail Express we we're able to cut past all these hold ups and press forward full speed.

Geoff H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Excellent product with great integration across Shopify and Xero

Reviewed on 15/09/2021

We have found that the lead up to going Live and the learning process has been very well supported by the Implementation Team. The tutorials are extremely helpful and very comprehensive. The responses to our emails are always very informative and the telephone conferences with an Australian based expert is ideal.

Pros

Retail Express is easy to use and integrates well across our online platform and accounting software

Cons

It would be very helpful if the accounting utilised both Cash and Accrual, not just Accrual.

Bruce M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Industrial Automation
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Retail Express has been a great improvement on our previous POS and inventory system.

Reviewed on 19/09/2018

On the whole, it is a great product.

Pros

It is loaded with lots of functions with a friendly GUI and Retail Express provides great customer support.

Cons

There are quite a few database functions that show in one format on one page, but a different format on another page. It also needs to be a bit more tailor-able to suit the way we need to operate.

Paula H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Highly appreciate this software

Reviewed on 22/06/2021

Amazing....cannot believe how much it does for you and almost cuts your admin time by half at the very least. You definitely get what you pay for.

Pros

at first seems so overwhelming when you watch to see all that it can do and offer...however the training takes you through everything step by step at your own pace and allow you to reach out to discuss any any issues you may have.

Cons

At this stage we haven't gone live for me to comment on this part at this time...however at this stage all has been super helpful.

Jonathan H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Wine & Spirits
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use

Very poor customer service and poor system security

Reviewed on 27/06/2018

Pros

The POS itself is nice and relatively easy to use it has a nice look................................

Cons

Poor reporting, poor customer support and the in our instance the system was penetrated by an external source and our customer data was compromised.

Stuart L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Apparel & Fashion
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Life Changing

Reviewed on 13/09/2018

Pros

Ease of use, Inventory management, POS layout, Back end reports, Integration with 3rd party accounting systems.

Cons

Client order history is available but could be easier to get too and under stand. The product will give you back exactly what you put into it so do your preparation well.

Pauline L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Apparel & Fashion
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Fantastic POS system

Reviewed on 23/09/2018

Pros

Retail express is easy to use, has a wide variety of handy features for a small business and offers great customer service.

Cons

Would be helpful if it allowed product images to be uploaded alongside products to help with inventory

Luke M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

A Fantastic System for all Retailers, big and small

Reviewed on 08/06/2020

From the initial Sales manager, to the Implementation Manager.... all staff were fantastic, enthusiastic and more than capable of handling any questions/issues I had.

Pros

The easy to use system means my staff picked it up quickly.
The detailed Back of House reporting is a managers dream.

Cons

The only thing I've seen missing is an ability to sell an item via weight ($$/per kg), but it's minor. Our previous system never had this either so we're well placed to get around it. Would be great in the future.

Reasons for Choosing Retail Express

MYOB was great..... in the 90's/early 00's. We needed a POS software program that was more up to date with the current technology we use. It's allowed us to have a second register again without much effort at all.

Reasons for Switching to Retail Express

1. Staff all have retail experience.2. Your [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] has extensive retail history.3. Easy to use program with heaps of features.
Melissa B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 4.0 /10

Feedback

Reviewed on 03/10/2018

Pros

easy for sales staff to raise invoices. easy to enter new customers. easy to add new staff and modify existing ones.

Cons

Have to manually do the upload to Xero each day.
Can not give customers a 7 or 14 day account.
Receiving stock when not all products are supplied is a nightmare.
Can not make it compulsory to put a customer PO on an invoice.
Can still process an invoice to a customers account when on stop credit.
Unable to set own compulsory fields when entering new stock/customers
Unable to set own preferences and shortcuts
unable to setup credit card surcharge to be added automatically when we select that payment method.
we provide service as well as sales. Can't set up a service item - has to be done as stock.
Pink pricing always changing/incorrect
Disabled products can still be added to PO’s
Comments on invoices don’t upload to xero
If an invoice that is in xero has been paid cash, and it has been rounded up it wont upload
Credit Notes don’t upload to xero

Melanie F.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Professional Support with Friendly Service

Reviewed on 17/09/2018

This software is great for a business with multiple locations. It seems to contain a large scale fulfillment section which smaller businesses (such as ours) don't really need. Overall it's been a positive step forward for our business.

Pros

Retail Express is easy to use. The point of sale is simple, yet very clever and allows you lay-by, sell and invoice all in the one transaction. It's search feature is fantastic, letting you view transactions from the day, week or via your own custom dates. We love the ability to email our customer invoices and receipts, saving us both time and money. Working with multiple screens in a web browser is a great bonus for our business.

Cons

Retail Express doesn't really cater to customer orders that well. It categorizes them as lay-by's. It does not enable the customer order to be identified in a purchase order (IE: there is no automatically fulfill mechanism). It's difficult to search for a product and you can't seem to view who the customers are that purchased the product, based on the product.

Debbie R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Allstar Batteries love Retail Express

Reviewed on 14/06/2021

Pros

Retail express in our business is quite easy to use even for those that are not computer savy.

Cons

The contacting of support by email, would be the one of the few things. Another would be search features for customers.

Daniel S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Sporting Goods
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Sales Staff Promised the World, Product Failed Miserably

Reviewed on 25/01/2019

If you are look for a POS solution I would look elsewhere. Nothing that was promised turned out to be true.

Pros

The POS is easy to use but there are plenty of cheaper / free POS solutions that will do exactly the same thing.

Cons

- Xero integration is manual and terrible
- Customer accounts turn to chaos, cannot give 7 or 14 day terms. Reporting on account customer is awful
- Entering Purchase order when not complete turned our accounting software into turmoil.
- Sales staff sold the perfect POS solution for our retail / wholesale business, the product did not stack up
- Ecommerce integration was promised but never happened, all smoke and mirrors

Brad B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Retail Express Implementation for a Small Multi Sectioned Retail Business

Reviewed on 19/05/2020

The Overall Experience has been great very easy to transition . The On-boarding Program for Training was Great and the Access to Resources Fantastic. The Implementation Manager and other Points of Contact were all great to deal with.

Pros

Modern Cloud based system that has all the Reporting Requirements needed but all the Functionality of a Modern System in a Age of Technology Advancement . It seems as though it has been designed for this Purpose not the " that's something we are going to develop in the Future attitude" that other Systems seem to have.

Cons

At this stage I believe it is still the Honeymoon Period so just " Training Training Training" to get the Most out what we can Do with Retail Express

Alternatives Considered

Vend

Reasons for Choosing Retail Express

The Server and POS Systems we were using were very powerful and great for reporting . But was very dated and had no cloud based functionality and there was no bridge to be able to set up an online presence.

Reasons for Switching to Retail Express

Seems like Retail Express was the best option providing all the Power in Reporting and great Cloud based Functionality and Performance with a very sleek modern styling . Best Option Hands Down.
Melanie F.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Hardware
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great POS Cloud System

Reviewed on 11/04/2019

Excellent service, quick responses to queries, very helpful support. Updates are provided via overnight uploads done automatically with no downtime to your system. New update information is provided in detail via email. They respond well to customer suggestions and are constantly improving the system.

Pros

The implementation of this software is fantastic. A team of experts is available to help you transfer your database of stock, suppliers and customers with ease. Retail Express has a comprehensive knowledge database including video tutorials and instructions which all staff can access. The software is friendly, easy to use and navigate with email and internet integration.

Cons

Special customer orders are tricky to handle. We are yet to understand how to order/manage customer orders and are currently doing this through the lay by option which is difficult unless you have one staff member managing this are (IE: you can over order stock). Back orders are a little cumbersome but can be adapted to suit your business needs. Overall though the positives of this system outweigh the small negatives.