MindMup

4.3 (16)
Free online mind mapping solution

Overall rating

4.3 /5
(16)
Value for Money
4.3/5
Features
4.1/5
Ease of Use
4.6/5
Customer Support
4.4/5

94%
recommended this app

16 Software options

Angela C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great Graphic/Visual Tool for Learning

Reviewed on 11/12/2019

I use this software with students in creating mindmaps an d capturing notes during lessons. The mindmaps can be screenshot and then shared, as well as saved. it is an excellent tool to differentiate learning and to graphically organize student instructional content and curricular connections.

Pros

I love the fact that not only is this program almost effortless, but it is a fun and manipulative way to organize thinking in a creative fashion. Students have reported that this is one of their favorite note-taking tools.

Cons

Printing. When we try to print the mind maps, they are either scaled way too small too read or take multiple pages. if you want to print this , you have to be strategic to ensure you only use "document sized" space, as you aren't forced into this option.

Steven S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Printing
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Great for brainstorming

Reviewed on 07/07/2021

Aiding collaborative thinking and brainstorming

Pros

The basic layout and functionality is a plus for this software. Getting ideas from brain to paper is really simple.

Cons

Nothing. The software is basic but that is is best attribute.

Ramindu D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

MindMup is easy-to-use mind mapping on the web

Reviewed on 10/08/2021

Pros

MindMup is what a mind mapping tool should be; easy to use, lots of different controls, and no annoying installation. It provides easy collaboration and export options which makes sharing a mind map with the team very easy.

Cons

The UI can be a bit unresponsive at times, and the number of available controls can be overwhelming and hard to sift through.

Muhammad S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Mind Reader

Reviewed on 27/12/2018

Pros

MindMup is basically Mind mapping application that helps you let your ideas flow on a chart.
Instead of paper, you can save your ideas on the cloud.
You can also use it as whiteboard in online sessions or meetings.
You can also attach a picture or any other document to any object.
With unlimited users, it's the cheapest mind map available in the market for Enterprise.

Cons

You can not arrange object with custome lines. It has its own curved line that adjust itself accounding to objecs position.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: E-Learning
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Mindmup is a great little flowchart tool!

Reviewed on 21/11/2018

Using mindmup free version to determine if it is user-friendly enough to purchase for a team. It has made the cut to the top three at this point.

Pros

This tool was super easy to learn, very easy to put together flow charts and diagrams. Using the free version

Cons

The only complaint I have (and it may be a quirk of thefree version) is that each time I edit a mindmup, it generates a new URL save - so if I am not careful, if working with bookmarks I end up opening the wrong one.

Mallika B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Easy to use, great to brainstorm

Reviewed on 23/08/2020

My experience with mindmup was mindblowing. In the beginning I thought this is a very simple program but actually that simplicity has become a positive experience.

Pros

easy to use, I can conveniently send a link to my colleagues to watch.

You can change the colors of the text clouds. Support responds super fast and the mindmups are stored in your account so you can always access them.

Cons

I miss something like a straightline 'mindmap'. With the straightlines I want to indicate goals.

Alternatives Considered

MindNode

Reasons for Switching to MindMup

MindNode was only available on Iphone/ Ipad and I wanted to access it on my laptop.
Maria del rosario C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

MindMup- Online mind maps

Reviewed on 13/12/2019

It is an excellent tool for the elaboration of mental maps, the fact that this integrated with Google Drive gives it even more value, I currently use the free version but I would not hesitate to buy a subscription.

Pros

- It is a very simple tool to use, the ideas are organized and each node is highlighted with a different color, that is useful, the text size automatically decreases at each level.
- Allows you to attach documents or images
- The diagram can be exported in PDF or image format
- It has integration with Google Drive so that we have our work available on any device.

Cons

- It does not allow us to customize the lines, only its curved line is available that is adjusted according to the position and size of the objects by default.

Antti W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Medical Devices
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Just great for personal use

Reviewed on 16/07/2019

Probably the JSON format allows clever people to write import and export filters to automate...e.g. to compose product structure in MindMup and export that to ERP?

Pros

I like that I could get started free. It is much cleaner to write stuff to MindMup than using pencil and eraser to achieve the same on paper. I like how the app integrates with Google and saves its data to Google Drive. I did not have to create a new account anywhere. I made the mistake of starting my first map in Cloud storage mode but I was still able to export the data to a .mup file and then open it again while in Drive storage mode. PNG export looked good.

Cons

Perhaps I am doing it wrong or have not found these features yet but...
My map grew quite large, to the point where I would have had use for hierarchical maps (link to another map from a node).
If MindMup would be used for business then I think at least linking to external documents would be needed.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Pharmaceuticals
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Useful and flexible

Reviewed on 30/03/2020

Pros

Auto positioning of the nodes
Ability to create several mind maps on one canvas
Different types of mind maps
Sticky notes

Cons

Inability to copy format of the node.
If you change the background colour of the node and then create a new one, it has been created with a default background, so you have to do formatting again manually.

Quai F.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Entertainment
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

MIndmup - Useful for Basics

Reviewed on 21/01/2020

Pros

Mindmup is straightforward to set up and connect with Google Drive. This connects it with you Google account and leaves a mindmup file in the folders on your Google Drive.

Cons

While most of the functionality works well and has some good keyboard shortcuts, it can also be a bit confusing. It's sometimes unclear which object you're leaving a comment on for example, as it has separate user pane to work on for thing like comments, but doesn't necessarily make it clear which object is being acted on.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Very useful for planning

Reviewed on 17/03/2019

We use it for objective planning of future business strategy.

Pros

Links to google docs/drive. Free and premium versions are equally useful. Endless mapping size. Zoom, reorganize with ease.

Cons

Can take a while to load but not super slow or anything like that.

Rika L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Architecture & Planning
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

Can't acces my file anymore

Reviewed on 12/02/2019

Pros

Easy to draw the mind maps. Nice colors, elegant looking.

Cons

I can't open my file anymore, even though I downloaded it, I keep getting the same error message:

"There was a problem connecting to Mindup. Please try again later."

WTHF??

Briana H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Writing & Editing
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Practical and Business Friendly Software

Reviewed on 22/03/2020

I really enjoyed using Mindmup. I think it is overall the second-best mapping program on the market with Mindmeister being the first. This is because I am shallow and love the look and interface of Mindmeister more. At the end of the day, Mindmup has almost everything I could want in mapping software. It is just missing a bit of polish.

Pros

It allows you to begin mapping right away. You can change it up with the help of various features and the program has a lot of potential. I love that you can share and work with another individual along the way.

Cons

I wish the user interface was a bit more smooth and user friendly. It currently looks a little dated but perhaps not for business standards. I use it for creativity so I wish it was more creative looking in the design and finished product.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great Online Mindmap Tool

Reviewed on 25/05/2021

The ability to provide MindMaps easily to customers to under processes, and then to modify those on the fly.

Pros

The ability to access it anywhere, the ability to share your maps with colleagues, the ability to manage the Teams contributions and you can work on a map together.

Cons

The logging-in process was a little tedious in terms of you must log in each time and its not connected to O365 so there is no SSO available.

Alternatives Considered

Visio

Reasons for Choosing MindMup

Price and ease of use were the main contributors to changing.

Switched From

Visio

Reasons for Switching to MindMup

Price and ease of use were the main contributors to changing.
Susan D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Awesome tool to visualize what is in your head!

Reviewed on 16/06/2020

Was up and running really quickly once I got past a few learning curve issues. But at $25 for the year, was more function than I could hope for at that price.

Pros

It was pretty easy to figure out how to use. Very intuitive interface for the most part. I like that I can add notes & graphics & attachments to the nodes of my map. I serves many purposes for me.

Cons

There were a few functions that weren't as intuitive to use. A few more help videos or explanations would have helped in the learning curve. Also, still trying to figure out how to drag nodes to a different location to make them stick... Lastly, an integrated legend would be nice to document meanings of color for example.

Shain A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Mind Mup

Reviewed on 28/02/2019

Pros

MindMup is idea mapping application that help me let my ideas bloom on chart. Its cloud based applicaiton. The beauty is its so simple to use and learn. Its free for individuals users and keep data on cloud upto 6 months. It also adjusts the containers or objects it self, so don't need to worry about arranging them.

Cons

Its difficult to manage longer notes in MindMup