MYOB Advanced Business Reviews

MYOB Advanced Business

Intelligent, cloud-based ERP & payroll software

Overall rating

4.3 /5
(39)
Value for Money
4.1/5
Features
4.3/5
Ease of Use
4.4/5
Customer Support
4.2/5
Sort by

39 Reviews

Ali Sally
Ali Sally
Overall rating
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Myob aAdvanced, a complete business solution.

Reviewed on 10/08/2021

My experience in using MyOB Advanced is great. I'm dealing with customer services and Human...

My experience in using MyOB Advanced is great. I'm dealing with customer services and Human Resources works. MyOB Advanced helps me and my company to be more responsible and gives more measurable and satisfied services to our workers and clients.

Pros

MyOB Advanced offers a lot of modular but integrated accounting functionities, easy to use and comes with real time cloud base activities. You can accomplish any accounting tasks that deal with your team and clients anywhere and anytime.

Cons

MyOB Advanced ease complications of any accounting system, that's why the UI design should developed to be more intuitive and user friendly.

Steven
Overall rating
  • Industry: Human Resources
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Efficient and seamless accounting on MYOB Advanced

Reviewed on 24/01/2023

MYOB Advanced also enabled us to save on having our own server-based environment, we’re now in the...

MYOB Advanced also enabled us to save on having our own server-based environment, we’re now in the Cloud. So a saving on server license fees/ backup issues etc. We have also centralised our FAR in MYOB. Velixo is definitely the best feature of using Advanced, as detailed above.

Pros

Integration with Velixo is a big plus. The write back and drill down features enable us to complete the accounting / reporting a lot quicker. -Updating budgets is much easier now. Velixo has provided a full suite of customized reports by refreshing data and changing date filters.-A key strength of the fixed asset module is that we can attach things like CAPEX approvals, quotations etc to the fixed asset record.

Cons

The fixed assets forces the user to enter a useful life even for RB assets. There's also not validating tool prior to import, so when you set this up in MYOB you need to keep re-importing. We had some initial difficulties with inter-entity transactions which was only overcome with customisations and some protocols being put in place.

Alternatives Considered

Sage Accounting and NetSuite

Reasons for Choosing MYOB Advanced Business

ERP300 was no longer supporting the version we were using and was incompatible with MS Office 10 (I think?)

Reasons for Switching to MYOB Advanced Business

Cost and ease of use. Sales people explained the product better and we thought we would receive good after sales implementation (which we did)
Wes
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 2.0 /10

Disaster - 12 months of onboarding, training and workflow concepts we could not go live.

Reviewed on 10/07/2023

Not that great.... we spent 12 months of training, delayed going live because the inventory...

Not that great.... we spent 12 months of training, delayed going live because the inventory warehousing module didn't productively handle once of imports which needed to be allocated to Service Orders or Sales Orders. To make the system work over 400+ additional hours of customisation would be needed to allow picking slips on Service Orders, Batch customer driven backorders for weekly supply orders, sync up equipment management with service management, but the one thing that stopped going forward was the warehouse receivable process that was so underdeveloped it needed a complete revamp. None of this was picked up during the first few weeks of scoping the required workflow. On the 11th Month we decided to call it a day as the additional cost was 200% more than what we first expected. MYOB pulled the EULA and said we must keep paying up to 18 months of user subscriptions even though the product sold was not fit for purpose.

Pros

Our business Equipment Dealership, import, sell and offer aftersale care over the life of the machine, some projects, we needed a project management module that our Dealer Management System did not provide, MYOB ERP Advance looked to have everything we needed. Added benefit was an upgrade to our AP & AR and payroll.

Cons

In the Automotive & Equipment industry, inventory management is the backbone of the company, repairing vehicles and machinery always requires an accurate and easy functioning warehouse. Unfortunately, MYOB ERP Advanced "Acumatica" hasn't worked this industry out. The receivables and release to customers for imported one-off or low-volume replacement parts as a very awkward workflow that is counterproductive unless you spend a lot of $$$$ on customisation. If you are an importer that requires a customer-driven backorder out-of-stock resolution workflow, I suggest not looking at MYOB ERP Advanced.

wyclife
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Accounting Made Easy

Reviewed on 20/04/2020

MYOB is a great tool for accounting purposes my overall experience with this software is great now...

MYOB is a great tool for accounting purposes my overall experience with this software is great now that I am used to it. Initially, I had problems with using some of the features but with constant learning and experience, I find this tool resourceful.

Pros

One key thing I liked most about MYOB is the ability to use it on a smartphone through their android app. This makes things a lot easier for me as I can post the transaction on the go without necessarily having my computer around. Compared to other accounting tools, the pricing is quite reasonable for the value you get.

Cons

Some bit of this software is slightly complicated a good example being an inventory system and this always calls for some training before work can use.

Alternatives Considered

Xero

Reasons for Choosing MYOB Advanced Business

The organization grew, and we needed something that could accommodate our growth better and hence the switch.

Reasons for Switching to MYOB Advanced Business

The alternatives had poor customer service to start off.
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Wholesale
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Very Capable Accounting software

Reviewed on 27/06/2023

Pros

I am able to extract data very easily through Odata and have been able to set up useful API integrations with other software. It is also easy to create my own reports using Generic Inquiries. These work very similar to how a pivot table works and I am able to customize to bring in the data fields I want to see.

Cons

Sometimes being a proper accounting software i find some users find it difficult to understand and are overwhelmed by the features. However if being used by an accountant and with consultation with MYOB customer service this can be overcome to make reports and data points that all users can find useful.

Yo
Yo
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Good Accounting Software with Good Support

Reviewed on 01/10/2020

The software is reliable and does the job. It doesn't have fancy reporting or an amazing user...

The software is reliable and does the job. It doesn't have fancy reporting or an amazing user interface but it's got everything you need. MYOB responded well to the changes needed for STP reporting, JobKeeper payments and Government Grants.

Pros

Good, reliable software for accounting and payroll. Integrates well with our timesheet and rostering App (Deputy). Product support is generally very good and has extended hours.

Cons

A few things are not very intuitive, eg I wanted to run a report showing how much we've spent with a certain supplier over the past year. The information wasn't where you'd expect it (in their card file). There are a couple of ways to get this info but I had to call support to find out. Also, we don't typcially generate invoices but when I needed to do one, I found it quite difficult to format it how I wanted it and to find out how to provide bank details instead of credit card info for payment.

Alternatives Considered

QuickBooks Desktop Enterprise and Xero

Reasons for Switching to MYOB Advanced Business

Accountant uses MYOB and it seemed simpler to use the same.
Bhavik
Bhavik
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

An All in One Accounting Product

Reviewed on 27/03/2020

My overall experience with MYOB Advanced is its a great feature packed product which can be priced...

My overall experience with MYOB Advanced is its a great feature packed product which can be priced correctly.

Pros

The thing I like the most about MYOB Advanced is its ease of use and vast feature set. The Cloud base feature is very helpful.

Cons

The thing I like the least about MYOB Advanced is its pricing, which can be reduced. Also, for a new customer, it is very overwhelming with all the features and mostly require a training to get hold of.

Alternatives Considered

SAP S/4HANA Cloud

Reasons for Switching to MYOB Advanced Business

Better feature set and advanced cloud functionalities.
Ravinesh
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Account work gets much easier and faster!

Reviewed on 04/06/2021

Pros

Something key I enjoyed most about MYOB is the capacity to utilize it on a cell phone through their android application. This makes things significantly simpler for me as I can post the exchange in a hurry without essentially having my PC around. Contrasted with other bookkeeping apparatuses, estimating is very sensible for the worth you get.
Apart from that, the financial reports are much easier to grab attention at any time, as the report is very clear in understanding and the structured way it was build in advance is just amazing!

Cons

It requires a slight comprehension of a vital arrangement of ideas to not get overpowered from the outset. Albeit, when you get a hang of it, it'll be perhaps the main pieces of the manner in which regular monotonous assignments are done rapidly in the association. Another least I would experience is the invoice part, The features are quite limited to organized the invoice structure.

Roxanne
Roxanne
Overall rating
  • Industry: Arts & Crafts
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

MYOB

Reviewed on 18/12/2018

Pros

MYOB is the ultimate - I love this program. After initial set up, you can pull up any credit or debit, create reports, budgets - it is endless what information you can gain in only minutes where manually, would take you hours if not more. It is quite easy to use and to get the most out of your purchase, I would recommend attending a training course on it.

Cons

Without training, you might find it a little intimidating and confusing but if you are only wanting it for accounts record keeping and not invoicing or payroll, you could learn as you go.

Joanne
Joanne
Overall rating
  • Industry: Entertainment
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Fabulous accounting software

Reviewed on 11/04/2019

I'm very happy with MYOB's Advanced accounting software. I enjoy it's ease of functionality and how...

I'm very happy with MYOB's Advanced accounting software. I enjoy it's ease of functionality and how it spits out a month end and year end set of accounts like a breeze.

Pros

The simplicity of use is wonderful. It's easy to navigate around and find all the transactions and reports needed. It produces a monthly and yearly set of accounts with a breeze.

Cons

I wish it would tally the Aged Trial Balance between the "profit and loss" portion and the "balance sheet" portion. I always have to do that manually, as a double check.

Nick
Overall rating
  • Industry: Wholesale
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

Appalling performance and customer support from MYOB including Head of Product at MYOB

Reviewed on 30/03/2023

When the system is working properly, it is good. It took around 5 months to get it running properly...

When the system is working properly, it is good. It took around 5 months to get it running properly in terms of the correct sequence of 'business events'. There were problems with the choice of inventory allocation process for the sales orders so we had problems with back-ordered stock arriving and triggering pick slips. For the past 3 months, we have had major problems with MYOB's hosting of the service which has ranged from zero access to the system, to system drop outs to 'business events' not firing. Our local consultant has been on the job chasing MYOB with support tickets. We are now 3 months in with little to no contact from MYOB and no hint of what the problem is or what the fix is. Incredibly we have recently heard through our consultant that MYOB is scheduling an upgrade to our service in around 5 months time. We are no clearer as to what the problem is nor whether this upgrade will fix the problem. Nor an explanation as to why it has taken 3 months to arrive at this point of requiring an upgrade. Nor an explanation as to why it will take 5 months. Nor whether it can be brought forward.

Pros

It is cloud based and simple to access over web browers. Looks like it does most things well to run our business.

Cons

It was a complex job to get the system running smoothly, probably taking around 6 months. We migrated from MYOB EXO which was a good product but we felt it was outdated and increasinly poorly supported by MYOB. We understood from our local implementation partner that MYOB were applying a lot more resources to Advanced and it would be their go-to mid tier product going forward.

Cheryl
Overall rating
  • Industry: Mining & Metals
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

Very expensive and did not inform customer for changing its benefits of the past

Reviewed on 19/09/2023

Pros

I used it at all times so I am able to use it easily.

Cons

Hard to reach customer services ie. waited for 1 hour. Subscription cancellation is not fair to the customer. It had been advised to give some period notice for a cancellation in subscription. Subscription increases substantially each and every year with less and less benefits to old and long term customer.

Alternatives Considered

QuickBooks Online

Reasons for Switching to MYOB Advanced Business

It was cheap at first but gradually expensive with less benefits given to the long term customer.
Ingrid
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 2.0 /10

Oeneo MYOB Review

Reviewed on 28/02/2023

The product was set up incorrectly especially with regards to FX. This lead to months of nightmare...

The product was set up incorrectly especially with regards to FX. This lead to months of nightmare trying to fix things. They set it up with no standard profit and loss. I find that almost impossible to believe that any accounting softward would be set up that way. Even though we were promised FX functionality it's very limited and some reports DON'T WORK at all.

Pros

The reporting functionality. The number of parameters available to extract data.

Cons

There is no Sales or Purchases area? TERRIBLE. A number of the reports are so poorly laid out they are worthless. You can't delete or amend a transaction - so inefficient.

Peter
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

MYOB Advanced

Reviewed on 29/03/2023

Pros

Fixed Asset Module and depreciation ability is very useful along with Velixo report integration. Great ability to create and report upon cost centers. Strong reporting function, although difficult to create reports without the expertise of the support center.

Cons

Very difficult to fix errors. No ability to delete or amend which is inefficient. Initially difficult to navigate and contains arguably more steps that required to process/apply a simply payment.

Josine
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

MYOB

Reviewed on 23/07/2021

Works very well has been very reliable over the past 15 years.

Works very well has been very reliable over the past 15 years.

Pros

The software is easy to use and the development is ongoing so the functionality is getting better every day. The ability to auto-link and reconcile has been a game-changer for us.

Cons

There is no phone app available for reconciliation

Alternatives Considered

Xero

Reasons for Switching to MYOB Advanced Business

My accountant was using MYOB at the time
Erica
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

MYOB Review

Reviewed on 16/03/2020

Pros

The greatest thing I loved about this product was its cloud base feature. I was also able to streamline my business effectively.

Cons

Pricing can be reduced a bit. This would help small businesses to get on board

Alternatives Considered

Oracle Cloud Financials and Xero
Michele
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Bookkeeping essentials

Reviewed on 05/12/2018

love it as it helps to manage my client’s info efficiently.

love it as it helps to manage my client’s info efficiently.

Pros

Used this daily for accounting job. Easy to use and able to generate required information quickly.

Cons

I do understand that updates are required to exchange the functionality, but the updates are too frequent (maybe it’s just for me)- and require to install new version on each update.

Komala Raj
Overall rating
  • Industry: Sports
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Make our accounts easy

Reviewed on 30/08/2019

As a manager of our organization, I use MYOB for our accounting purposes. Its simply easy to make...

As a manager of our organization, I use MYOB for our accounting purposes. Its simply easy to make soft copy documentation.

Pros

The function keys are assembled in a easy way in this MYOB Advance. It helps the users to make their activity easy and quick.

Cons

Auto save and recovery after a power cut is bit confusing which documents have been saved by which name, if we have opened so many unsaved new documents at the same time.

Mark
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

MYOB Review

Reviewed on 08/12/2021

The system works. IT is reasonably stable and provided the functionality we need

The system works. IT is reasonably stable and provided the functionality we need

Pros

the functionality of the software has remained reasonably the same for many many years - this makes life easy when going in to do some work

Cons

The cloud feature needs to be improved to become a full cloud software rather than a shared file in the cloud

Ankit
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Wonderful Product for Accounting

Reviewed on 31/03/2020

Overall I'm happy with MYOB Advanced. It is a perfect solution for accounting business to solve the...

Overall I'm happy with MYOB Advanced. It is a perfect solution for accounting business to solve the burden of writing and handling reports and other documents. It is quick and easy to use which helps in increasing productivity somehow.

Pros

The software contains most impactful features like:-
- Cloud-Based
- Real-time data reports
- Easy to use
- Easy to navigate and find any report or information needed
- Generates credit. debit and reports quickly

It contains the payroll features too. The mobile app makes it access it on the go.

Cons

The only con, I found in this product is the price. The price is little bit high for small businesses to get MYOB Advanced.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

MYOB Advanced Review

Reviewed on 20/04/2020

MYOB Advanced is a very useful accounting tool. It's an efficient software that's been saving me...

MYOB Advanced is a very useful accounting tool. It's an efficient software that's been saving me quite a bit of time when I'm writing reports. It's also very easy to use, unlike many other accounting programs; I particularly like MYOB's clean interface, which makes bookkeeping a breeze, even for users like me, who are not advanced in accounting.

Pros

MYOB Advanced is a great accounting software. It's cloud-based, has a clean and easy-to-use UI, real-time data reports, and a handy mobile app for entering data on the go. It works well for beginners and advanced user alike.

Cons

I've been using MYOB Advanced for a few months now and haven't come across any major problems. However, I've also noticed the very frequent updates that other users have mentioned. The updating process doesn't take a lot of time, but it does cost me time because every time the software updates, I have to wait until it's done before I can use it. I wish the updates could run in the background or could be scheduled to once a week only.

Dijai
Overall rating
  • Industry: Broadcast Media
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Amazing

Reviewed on 24/04/2023

it is one of the most user-friendly and efficient software platforms I have ever come across.

it is one of the most user-friendly and efficient software platforms I have ever come across.

Pros

I recently switched to MYOB from another accounting software, and I have to say, I'm really impressed. The interface is incredibly user-friendly, and it takes just a few minutes to get started.In addition, the features offered by MYOB are comprehensive and well-organized. I found it easy to navigate between different modules and to find the information I was looking for.Overall, I highly recommend MYOB to small and medium businesses who are looking for an excellent accounting software that is easy to use.

Cons

It does take a little bit of time to get used to.

Martin
Martin
Overall rating
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Ideal ERP for growing firms

Reviewed on 01/11/2023

very good, team enjoyed using it, never any stockage or production issues, so it was all working...

very good, team enjoyed using it, never any stockage or production issues, so it was all working well

Pros

simplicity and ease of use - it was perfect for a non-technical team to operate

Cons

pricing was very good, but always a little concern about are we on the right plan - are we missing something on the next step up? FOMO for real!

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 4.0 /10

Was great many years ago

Reviewed on 31/07/2021

Pros

Since we have been using MYOB for many years the interface is well known (hasn't been upgraded in 10+ years)

Cons

Old style interface, old style architecture, really needs a whole new design

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Farming
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

There is a reason why it's one of the most popular in Australia

Reviewed on 05/11/2020

Pros

It has a certain ease of use and accessibility without giving up functionality. There is a reason why it's one of the most popular tax/accounting software for small businesses in Australia.

Cons

Honestly, we are pretty happy using this MYOB for the time being, I think once we migrate over our payroll services, we will be able to comment further on the functionality, and see if there are any lacking points.