QuickBooks Enterprise Reviews

QuickBooks Enterprise

4.5 (20,248)
Write a Review!
Enterprise accounting, FSM and inventory management solution

Overall rating

4.5 /5
(20,248)
Value for Money
4.3/5
Features
4.4/5
Ease of Use
4.3/5
Customer Support
4.1/5
Sort by

20248 Reviews

Charleen
Charleen
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer & Network Security
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Our QB online is always ready when we are

Reviewed on 22/10/2020

Cloud services make everything more secure. Not having to purchase an upgrade year after year is...

Cloud services make everything more secure. Not having to purchase an upgrade year after year is one of the best benefits. Our business is sized so that the online version, which does have less functionality than the desktop version, still works for exactly what we need. The tutorials are helpful and there are plenty of YouTube videos to find a resolution for any problem you have.

Pros

The online version of QB makes it easy to always have the necessary updates and current edition. The file sharing capabilities are the exact tool that is needed for the accountant to easily have a hassle-free exchange of the data they need to keep your books and do taxes. QB payroll that can be accessed through the software and there is easy access to QuickBook loan funding should you ever need it. Anytime, anywhere access is a plus.

Cons

The naming convention for some processes are a bit daunting until you learn exactly where they are and what they are called. The updates can cause features to be relocated, making them difficult to find. As with all cloud-based software, sometimes there are issues with the online connectivity.

Andrea
Overall rating
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Great for small businesses

Reviewed on 12/09/2023

QuickBooks is a good value for the money. It works fine for day-to-day transactions such as A/R,...

QuickBooks is a good value for the money. It works fine for day-to-day transactions such as A/R, A/P, and data entry, but it's not the best for things like forecasting and financial reporting.

Pros

QuickBooks provides a good value for the money, which is especially helpful in small businesses.

Cons

After working in complex and customized ERP systems, QuickBooks feels a little archaic in comparison.

David
David
Overall rating
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 1.0 /10

Just say No-to-It

Reviewed on 16/02/2021

This is software on life support. Intuit is rapidly investing in online. I switched to Quickbooks...

This is software on life support. Intuit is rapidly investing in online. I switched to Quickbooks Online, by the way and LOVE it. I tried to use the desktop "enterprise" version because I needed some advanced inventory and reporting features. Worst decision ever. They didn't work. Spent 5+ years trying to find a work-around. Finally Intuit made it possible to migrate to Quickbooks Online. It worked really well and I'm a happy camper now.

Pros

It mostly worked, some of the time. I was able to transfer my data to Quickbooks Onine.

Cons

The General Ledger worked most of the time, however, about every-other month the Balance sheet would be out of balance and require a rebuild. If you were to list out every feature of QBE, I would be able to find a problem with it. This is the Frankenstein of software. Every "enterprise" feature is just someone else's software poorly glued onto QB. Calling this software Enterprise is a flat out lie and Intuit should be ashamed. Basic features cannot be changed without all users logging out of the system. Most of the "advanced" and "enterprise" features don't work as advertised. Cash flow reports were NEVER accurate.

Alternatives Considered

NetSuite

Reasons for Choosing QuickBooks Enterprise

Was looking for the ability to integrate software

Reasons for Switching to QuickBooks Enterprise

Price
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Consumer Goods
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 3.0 /10

Quickbooks review

Reviewed on 20/03/2024

Really good and it has helped me manage my inventory and business accounts efficiently.

Really good and it has helped me manage my inventory and business accounts efficiently.

Pros

It’s user friendly user interface which makes it easy to use

Cons

Cost of setting up the system was on the high side.

Dlkhosh
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

QuickBooks Desktop Enterprise Review

Reviewed on 16/01/2024

Pros

Very good inventory management, time tracking
Numerous customizable reports
Supports projects, payroll, and many add-ons
Terrific mobile apps

Cons

The main cons of Quickbooks that It's somehow expensive

Alternatives Considered

Wave

Reasons for Choosing QuickBooks Enterprise

Quickbooks is Easy to use, and has active support center

Switched From

Preferrd
Sandy
Overall rating
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Easy to Use and Excellent Information System

Reviewed on 20/12/2023

Excellent in terms of process and output. A bit expensive.

Excellent in terms of process and output. A bit expensive.

Pros

Setup not difficult and easy access on a day to day basis to keep track of all expenditures and income. Reports are excellent and easy to set up for your needs.

Cons

I dont like a subscription. Not practical for a business of our size and not necessary.
I don't like having to log into intuit all the time either.
I feel it's way too expensive for our needs, but probably fine for a larger organizations.

Prem
Overall rating
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

A Valuable Asset for Accounting

Reviewed on 09/05/2024

Very Smooth and Friendly, a must Recommendation for those thinking to use it

Very Smooth and Friendly, a must Recommendation for those thinking to use it

Pros

The Ease of Use for this App was soothing, something company people are eager to have in an app

Cons

There is nothing as such that I was disappointed with but the user interface could have been better

Namgay
Overall rating
  • Industry: Individual & Family Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Impressive

Reviewed on 08/05/2024

Pros

Best for small business and also big ones too. I highly recommend everyone great platform to discover more information
Good job ✌️

Cons

I didn’t expected it to be free of cost but plz minimise the charge as much as possible

David
Overall rating
  • Industry: Warehousing
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

exceptional accounting software

Reviewed on 26/06/2024

QuickBooks Enterprise is an exceptional accounting software tailored for medium to large-sized...

QuickBooks Enterprise is an exceptional accounting software tailored for medium to large-sized businesses seeking advanced financial management tools. With its robust features such as advanced reporting, inventory tracking, and customizable user permissions, QuickBooks Enterprise offers a comprehensive solution to streamline business operations. The software's scalability allows for easy expansion as your business grows, while its user-friendly interface ensures a smooth learning curve for new users. Overall, QuickBooks Enterprise is a powerful and reliable accounting solution that empowers businesses to efficiently manage their finances and make informed decisions for long-term success.

Pros

With its robust features such as advanced reporting, inventory tracking, and customizable user permissions

Cons

comprehensive solution to streamline business operations.

Christopher
Overall rating
  • Industry: Architecture & Planning
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

ARCHITECTURE

Reviewed on 16/06/2024

Pros

Business and the other side of the most important thing to happen

Cons

Security🔒 and How To make sure about to start my Business.

Jane
Jane
Overall rating
  • Industry: Publishing
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Worth the price tag

Reviewed on 13/12/2019

I started out learning QuickBooks on the desktop version for a previous job, and the software has...

I started out learning QuickBooks on the desktop version for a previous job, and the software has come a long, long way since then. The online version is well organized, easy to use, and in the three years I've been using it I've never run into a single glitch.

Pros

QuickBooks online gives me one place to track everything related to money for my small business: income, expenses, taxes, and payroll. It's easy to set up and use, and I like knowing that even when I'm not paying as much attention to some of the bookkeeping as I should, it's still being tracked for when I have time to get to it.

Cons

It's a little pricey and the help/FAQs aren't always that helpful, but those quibbles are greatly outweighed by how easy and useful it is.

Alternatives Considered

FreshBooks

Reasons for Choosing QuickBooks Enterprise

At least at the time I made the switch, FreshBooks didn't support expense tracking or tax software integration.

Switched From

FreshBooks

Reasons for Switching to QuickBooks Enterprise

One of the things that makes QB worth the price tag is that it includes *everything* a small business needs. Rather than having to track income, expenses, taxes, and payroll in separate places, everything is linked and organized in one place.
Ricky
Overall rating
  • Industry: Pharmaceuticals
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Quickbooks Online - Rock Solid Accounting Software!

Reviewed on 05/05/2020

Overall it's been a positive experience. We've used Quickbooks from the very beginning and have no...

Overall it's been a positive experience. We've used Quickbooks from the very beginning and have no plans to change anytime soon!

Pros

Quickbooks is very user-friendly. When I took on the accounting duties for our company, I never had any accounting software background before using Quickbooks, but I was easily able to understand how to use it quickly. One of the best features for me is the customization of reports/templates. Once you understand how to customize reports and use recurring templates it becomes a huge time saver. In addition, since it is a popular accounting software, there is always a lot of answers available online, youtube, customer service, etc.

Cons

One thing I wished Quickbooks added is the ability to import an excel file into a bill. Our employees submit expense reports in excel and I would like a function that allows me to import it into a bill. Right now I have to manually copy and paste the information from the excel expense report into a bill. I asked someone in customer service about this and they said it wasn't an available feature yet. It would save a lot of time!!!

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

A robust accounting tool for businesses of all sizes

Reviewed on 22/03/2023

QuickBooks Desktop Enterprise is a powerful accounting and financial management solution for large...

QuickBooks Desktop Enterprise is a powerful accounting and financial management solution for large companies with complex financial management needs.

Pros

Project management functionality: QuickBooks Desktop Enterprise allows users to track projects in real time, which can help companies effectively manage costs, deadlines and resources.

Cons

Incompatibility with other software: QuickBooks Desktop Enterprise may not be compatible with some other software that businesses use, which can cause integration problems.

Alternatives Considered

Blackbaud Financial Edge NXT

Reasons for Switching to QuickBooks Enterprise

QuickBooks Desktop Enterprise is accounting software designed for small and medium-sized businesses that require an advanced and robust financial management system. This software offers features such as inventory management, payroll management, invoice and customer management, vendor management, custom financial reporting, project management, etc.Businesses may choose QuickBooks Desktop Enterprise because of its high capacity to handle a large volume of financial transactions, as well as its flexibility to customize reports and features to meet their specific needs. In addition, QuickBooks Desktop Enterprise is known to be easy to use and integrate with other business management software.Ultimately, the choice of accounting software depends on the specific needs of each business. It is important to consider functionality, cost, ease of use, security and integrations with other software before making a decision.
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

it's a love hate relationship

Reviewed on 02/11/2018

Setup isn't difficult, but it's very time consuming. It's difficult to use the update product once...

Setup isn't difficult, but it's very time consuming. It's difficult to use the update product once you lose the initial program. I've changed computers that originally had the program installed (when it was a CD). After changing the laptop, and losing some information, including the CD, I wasn't able to prove previous ownership and had to purchase the new complete program which is much more expensive. I hope that problem has been corrected since I would think the d/l'able programs can be tracked more easily.

I call this a love/hate relationship because QB gets you to love the program, then makes it difficult to continue with the same program once the 3 years are up. They know they "gotcha"! but, all in all, it's a program I wouldn't want to do without when having a business. I also use this program to keep track of not for profit organizations, too. It's a very versatile program for any type of business. I used the contractor program and have been able to customize it for the Nonprofit. I began using QB in 2003. It's certainly grown since then!

Pros

I like QB for it's completeness to operate a business. It integrates your banking, your customer base and sales and/or estimates seamlessly. You can use it to email customers or print out what you need. There are so many facets to this software it'll take you a while to get to know them. Once you do, you'll be forever beholden to use them. It's hard to go back to a simple spreadsheet again. All invoices/estimates are custom-izable. You can use your logos and iven if you're a small micro business, you present yourself as a competent, savvy businessperson.

Cons

You must purchase a new copy every 3 years. Some of the features you get used to using become un-usable if the newer version isn't purchased. QB doesn't support many of it's features after the program is 3 yrs old. You can still use the program, but some of the conveniences are gone, such as emailing invoices, or payroll. QB has a habit of having you get used to their newer features and then take them away once the program is more than three years old.

Response from Intuit

Thanks for your honest review and loyalty. It'd be my pleasure to touch on why updates occur, as well as how you can move data between computers. I assure you there are steps in place should you no longer have the original CD, and this article covers the process: https://community.intuit.com/articles/1771783. Furthermore, the info in the following link walks through how to avoid losing data when moving: https://community.intuit.com/articles/1764250. The insights there will save you valuable time moving forward.

As for the 3-year lifetime, we work hard to deliver the most secure and state of the art software on the market. This means the back-end systems comprising sensitive connected features, like email and payroll, must be replaced within that time frame. Full upgrades are the best way to safeguard your data and customer info. Should you have further questions, I invite you to email me directly. I'll gladly answer them in full ([email protected]).

Jess, The QuickBooks Team

Michael
Overall rating
  • Industry: Primary/Secondary Education
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Solid accounting solution for small to medium businesses across multiple vertical segments

Reviewed on 07/03/2019

We use QuickBooks Enterprise for Non-Profits, which allows ODBC access into the data to provide...

We use QuickBooks Enterprise for Non-Profits, which allows ODBC access into the data to provide access for external reporting capabilities from products like Crystal Reports. This can be a powerful feature depending on your reporting needs.

Pros

QuickBooks is easy to install and configure, includes many useful out of the box reports, easy to read visual indicators for things like receivables and payables, and an easy to configure and process payroll solution. We use the Intuit Enhanced Payroll subscription, which has significantly cut down on the labor involved in processing payroll. We can easily customize, memorize, and schedule reports to ensure our department heads are kept up to date on their budgets. We use the system to track our endowments, auxiliary cash accounts, and profit and loss for projects and individual organizational units. Over the past several versions they have greatly improved the shared company file feature, so managing multi-user access has become much easier and more robust.

Cons

Though Intuit recently introduced the ability to use multiple monitors with QuickBooks (a much overdue feature), they require that all monitors use the same scaling. It's not a huge deal, but a little inconvenient since I use a laptop and would prefer the built-in display panel on the laptop to be 125% and the two external monitors to be 100%. Also, the way they implement multi-monitor display is a little weird... the main app spans monitor screens, and sub-windows are drug from monitor to monitor within the main app's window. It would be much more user friendly if the sub-windows (such as the home screen, various reports, data entry windows, etc) can be moved around independently of the main app's window. This is how most other apps work and I believe how Windows was designed to handle multi-monitor use.

Donna
Overall rating
  • Industry: Government Administration
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Quickbooks Desktop Rview

Reviewed on 16/07/2019

Overall QuickBooks has been easy to use for paying invoices, tracking expenses/income and completing...

Overall QuickBooks has been easy to use for paying invoices, tracking expenses/income and completing employee payroll. I've been using QuickBooks for over 7 years. Please note that there is a big difference between QuickBooks Desktop and QuickBooks Online version. The online version is not user friendly at all. I would not recommend the online version.

Pros

QuickBooks Desktop is relatively easy to use. The payroll feature makes calculating and filing employee payroll and payroll taxes very easy. Paying invoices is also very easy and it records expenses in individual accounts that you set up. You can quickly and easily find invoices that have been paid and track year to date expenses. There are many reports available so you can easily see amounts spent in each category or where income is coming from. This is very useful when working on budgets. The software allows you to modify things according to what works best for you.

Cons

The annual fee is expensive and there is an extra fee for the payroll service. Also, the customer service is not very good. Occasionally I need to call in and get a customer service rep to correct a problem. Service is slow and it's hard to understand the reps as they all have accents. I try to use the self help section of QuickBooks before calling in to get assistance and I know it will take over an hour to get a problem fixed.

Response from Intuit

It's great to hear you're using all the features to the fullest, and it sounds like you're a pro, Donna. The Desktop and Online versions have slightly different work flows, but we're glad you found one to meet your unique business needs. For other ways to contact support, we recommend this Community article: https://quickbooks.intuit.com/community/Getting-Started/Contact-the-QuickBooks-Desktop-Customer-Support-Team/td-p/252601

Thanks for your review!
Morgan, The QuickBooks Team

Evan
Evan
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 1.0 /10

Charges without Consent

Reviewed on 31/07/2019

Everything was fine until I discovered how atrocious the customer service is.

Everything was fine until I discovered how atrocious the customer service is.

Pros

Many parts of the service feel unpolished and there are many bugs, but it is HIGHLY FUNCTIONAL. And cheap. It is hands down the best bang-for-buck of any other accounting software out there. I have been a happy user despite the bugs, because:

There are many things that QuickBooks does really well. Invoicing (while hard to automate) is very robust, and by far the single cheapest invoicing option I have found.

The system's auto-categorization abilities when matching expenditures, revenue sources, etc is fantastic. Further, you integrate QuickBooks with a slew of other services, making for a fairly customizable and generally robust accounting tool. It's also easy to get an accountant on to balance and check your books.

Cons

TERRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE

I was charged for payroll without consent. 6 months ago I signed up for a free trial to see what the Quickbook's portal for payroll looks like; after toying around a little bit and deciding that it was, while not great, functional, I cancelled my trial with the intention of getting the service when I hire full-time employees. Received cancellation screen. No problems.

Fastforward to now, I go to sign up for payroll and discover I have been being charged for the last 6 months. I called in expecting to get a credit or waiver of future fees for a few months, only to be told that

“QuickBooks does not refund for non-usage”. I explained the situation, and was told that "I shouldn't have signed up for the product then". I asked to speak to a manager, she took my phone number, and I never received the follow-up phone call.

Is it a large amount of money? no. However, I have been a very active user of QuickBooks for nearly two years now and it is extremely disappointing to see that they would treat a long-term client this way.

Response from Intuit

Hi Evan,

We'd like to thank you for taking the time to write this thorough review. Our mission is to provide you with a variety of accounting tools that are both helpful and affordable, so it's awesome to hear that QuickBooks is doing just that for you.

We'd like an opportunity investigate the Payroll charges you received and make sure this situation is properly addressed. The next time you're free, please email us at [email protected] and provide any case numbers you have in reference to your previous calls. That way, we can find your account on our end and get brought up to speed on this situation.

Looking forward to hearing from you,
Kristian, The QuickBooks Team

Anabel
Overall rating
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 1.0 /10

Bad experience

Reviewed on 18/10/2019

They asked me to contact you and that is when the problems started.
If you have a restriction on...

They asked me to contact you and that is when the problems started.
If you have a restriction on when QBSE account has to be activated, you should posted on turbotax so that is visible and people can read it like the restrictions for late filers. It is not fair you make up restrictions that are not disclosed on my account and after I have been using the account, you just cancel it all of a sudden. Therefore I think this is false advertising and I will definitely file a complain with FTC if necessary. I have all screenshoots and there is nowhere to be found any restrictions to activate the account before July 15th.

2- If there was indeed a restriction and I had to activated before July 15th, how was it possible that I did activated my account on September and started using it with no problem and no warning or notification until last week?

3-You cancelled my account with no warning. I did not get a warning stating my subscription will expired on specific date. How could I have known this? All the information I have taken time to categorize including miles, payments and transactions are lost now and I do not have access. That is also not fair because I can not access any of that information to save it or transfer it right now if I do not want to continue the subscription.

4- For such a big company, not having a phone number to communicate directly and having customers wasting time writing emails is just a shame.

Pros

This review is based on my experience interacting with Intuit, other’s experiences my defer.
Most of my bad experience was with Quick Book Self Employed but since the company is Intuit, I will leave my review here too.
Turbotax is a good tool for filling, I used the Self employed portion to file my 2018 taxes. This was done in March 2019 and it worked well. As part of the package, you are supposed to get a free year subscription of Intuit Quick Book Self Employed (QBSE) until March 2020.
I signed up on (QBSE) the app on September 2019 and I started working on classifying my transactions and adding miles manually (the automatic tracking was not working that well).
All of a sudden in October 2019, with no warning, they cancelled my subscription and I lost all the data and time I used to do the work. I can not log in and retrieve anything. I can not see any information on my account. I never got an email notification or warning on the app, they just cancelled it.

Cons

The only restrictions that are available are for late filers, not for regular filers. I requested multiple times to speak on the phone with a supervisor and nothing, just email responses relating the same thing. I never got an apology, never got the service reestablished, and at last, they just ignored my last email.
I will leave below my last email which was never answered back.
If you have read so far, please read it and and make your own conclusions. This is one of the worst customer services I have ever interacted with.

October 14th, 2019

Hi representative,

Thank you for contacting me. I am sorry to inform you that your answer does not solve my problem. You are repeating the same statements from the previous costumer service representative. I am not sure if you read the thread but I do not have problems activating my QBSE account. My account was working fine and it was active until it was cancelled with no warnings.

My problems are the following.
1 -When I filed my taxes with turbotax I was offered a free QBSE account for one year. There is no restrictions on my Turbotax account that states I had to activate my account before July 15th. I have previously sent screenshots of the restrictions that are shown on my turbotax and they are only valid for late filer which is not my case.

Response from Intuit

Hi, Anabel. Thank you for your thorough review. We'd like to provide some info and help get this resolved. Once you receive your free year of QuickBooks Self Employed, you'd be required to log into that account at least twice before July 16th. Otherwise, the account will expire. It sounds like there may have been a 30 day trial created in September, which is why it expired the following month. We'd be glad to investigate this further and make sure you get your free year. Please reach out to us via email at [email protected], and we'll be there to help. Additionally, you can request a callback by logging into the site (https://selfemployed.intuit.com/login) and clicking the Help button in the top-right corner.

Wishing you the best.
Morgan, The QuickBooks Team

Miguel
Overall rating
  • Industry: Environmental Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Finance & Accounting Assistant

Reviewed on 28/10/2019

It's been great because of the online aspect. I can work from any computer and even work remotely....

It's been great because of the online aspect. I can work from any computer and even work remotely. I've connected to some great apps like "Business Importer" or "Billpay" where i can import data into the system and have taken full advantage of the bank synching feature.

Pros

We use Quickbooks Online and below are the pro's:
1. It's online and comes with cloud storage for attachments and other
2. Great admin management controls. Not super sophisticated but very useful indeed.
3. GREAT GREAT apps that work and synch with QBO
4. Bank synching that allows you to match expenses and income to the bank to help reconciliations go quicker

Cons

1. Limited reporting formats. It has several custom reports that you can customize but sometimes it does not have the option for specific reports you would like to see. For example P&L by transaction detail.
2. Customer support is limited, hard to get a hold of, and not the most helpful all the time. A lot of times they refer you to a link
3. Would be nice if you could also customize columns in the entry side of things with customs menus or dropdowns. You have the basic and essentials but would be nice if it was more customizable.

Response from Intuit

Hi there, Miguel. Maintaining organization is key to running a successful business. We're thrilled to know you've been able to do this with QuickBooks! You've got some great suggestions. To keep up with ways we're working to improve the software, we recommend checking out our Blog (https://intuit.me/2L2zqTv). Additionally, to receive tailored info about specific questions, the Community is available as an alternate route to reach support (https://community.intuit.com/).

Thanks for your review!
Morgan, The QuickBooks Team

Katie
Overall rating
  • Industry: Mental Health Care
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

QuickBooks = Quick Completion = Quick Tax Return = Quick Cash on Hand (and ALL with Piece of...

Reviewed on 13/02/2017

I switched to QB as my method of tax preparation approx. 5 years ago. Prior to that (while still...

I switched to QB as my method of tax preparation approx. 5 years ago. Prior to that (while still married), I used an outside company. I did receive great service with that agency. If you're an organized person who values seeing the same Tax Rep each year & take time to cultivate a relationship with 1 person, then it will pay off for you after 3-4 years IF your Rep sticks around. Beyond that fairly high risk, it was more costly (3x more), more cumbersome, and...... I still had to leave the house LOL.

Once single, I received a random offer for QB that promoted 1) Ease of use 2) Complete assistance in any/all deductions possible 3) Comprehensive audit protection at a nominal fee 4) Electronic e-filing 5) Direct deposit 6) State taxes completed with ease & 7) Both returns filed together.

The cost was LOW (about $100 rather than the $350 we spent/year by using an outside service). I thought, "SIGN ME UP". I purchased it online. It was delivered via email in a downloadable format with a website. In under 15 minutes I was signed up as a new QB customer w/ the flexibility of preparing my return at my own convenience in my own home.

For those of you who are terrified of Finances, Taxes and Money.... DON'T BE. I literally knew nothing about this topic and wasn't good at it. The program walks you through every stage of Tax Prep. It helps you capitalize on all money saving deductions possible, has a (?) next to each new term/item if you're unsure what they're asking, etc. All I do is input my financial info when prompted to and that's it. The program reviews your return at the end, shows you your risk factor for being audited and flags any "at risk" items about your return, and THEN suggests the changes to be made to assure your taxes are accepted by the IRS and State. EVERY TIME I DO TAXES I FEEL SAFE I AM SUBMITTING A QUALITY TAX RETURN & THE PEACE OF MIND IN KNOWING QUICKBOOKS WILL BACK ME UP IN THE EVENT OF AN AUDIT HELPS ME SLEEP BETTER AT NIGHT.

This year, I became a Self-Employed business owner & chose to purchase both QuickBooks Self-Employed and QB Online, just to be safe! STILL JUST AS EASY! I keep track of my receipts for both business and personal on a Weekly basis in a matter or moments. Upload pics of my receipts to the Apps provided. Those receipts are automatically integrated into my Tax Prep forms and TAX COMPUTING EVEN THIS YEAR OWNING A START UP COMPANY WAS NEVER EASIER!

A++ Look no further!

Pros

1) Ease of Use
2) Support
3) Quick
4) Direct Deposit Available using a number of different options (bank account, prepaid debit, etc)
5) Both returns files jointly
6) Need little knowledge of finance or industry to acquire the most amount of money possible
7) All extra forms necessary needed for you individual circumstances completed by QB within the existing program
8) Option to purchase Audit Protection that comes with legal representation if necessary
9) Low cost for Quality product
10) Pre-populated information if a returning customer.
11) The List goes On.

Cons

If I HAD to make a complaint it would be that the Intuit / QB system has allowed me to create a number of accounts over the years but didn't "flag" this this or suggest I merge them. As a result, it often takes me significant time to "locate" the actual documents I'm seeking, which I have found time consuming and annoying b/c I have such little time. So each year I Login into my account, I am confused as to "which" account QB is using and uploading. That is something I will address in the near future.

Also, there are becoming so many versions of QB's to choose from that it was a little confusing for me to decide which one to pick considering I've had several changes takes place in my status (Divorced, New Small Business Owner, Need to Document Major Assets, Expenses, Deductions and Self-Declared Income). So choosing the correct version of QB was a little dicey.....but in QB defense, I didn't call to seek help in making that decision either. However, when I finally did look into it, I still couldn't find EVERYTHING I NEED IN ONE PRODUCT (which, let's be real here, is probably a good marketing strategy), but it isn't sitting well with me. I feel it would be beneficial for QB as an organization to streamline different products to be more comprehensive and to simplify their product line for the new user. If I had never used QB in the past, this fact alone would have intimidated me enough to prevent me from purchasing it. True story.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Printing
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Industry Standard but wish it wasn't

Reviewed on 31/03/2020

Pros

It works with tracking US bank accounts really well. It integrates decently with so many different software systems that it almost makes it a no brainer for US based businesses to use this. It also enforces proper double-entry accounting practices that other "accounting" software packages frequently don't. However, if you aren't familiar with proper accounting, this is going to throw more at you than you might be ready for.

Cons

They are the industry standard and act like it. They sacrifice customer experience and service for their own convenience and advertisement. They are so large they don't care if they anger a small segment of their clients. The system is cumbersome, sometimes broken (their bank system stopped working for several weeks last year), and throws ads for other products in your face all the time.

Alternatives Considered

Wave and Xero

Response from Intuit

Hi there,

Thank you for the thorough review. Our mission is to provide you with a variety of tools to meet your accounting needs, so it's great to hear that QuickBooks is doing that for you.

The last thing we want you to feel is that your customer experience is lacking. The advertisements are designed to guide and suggest ways to optimize your use of the software, however, we understand you may not want to see them. To disregard the ads in QuickBooks Online, click the X or No, thanks button to prevent them from popping up again. For QuickBooks Desktop, you'll want to go to Edit > Preferences > General > My Preferences > Check Turn off pop-up messages for products and services.

If you'd like to provide us with additional feedback, we highly recommend reaching out to our Community Team (http://community.intuit.com/). We wouldn't be where we are today without suggestions from users like yourself, so please don't hesitate to let us know.

All the best,
Jen, The QuickBooks Team

Yazid
Yazid
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

"Goes Above and Beyond, Simple Maneuverability, Ease of Use, Fast and Reliable"

Reviewed on 19/11/2020

Overall Quickenbooks has been a Pleasure to Use. I switched over from Freshbooks. It's been the...

Overall Quickenbooks has been a Pleasure to Use. I switched over from Freshbooks. It's been the best answer for accounting, financing and bookkeeping . The fundamental bookkeeping is easy to learn. I find the Customer Service to be Excellent. Its been an all around great experience and I would Recommend Quickbooks to anyone.

Pros

QuickBooks is anything but difficult to bring into, send out of and straightforwardly incorporate with specific stages. The product was worked considering the client experience. In general, I'm content with Quick Books and would prescribe to any entrepreneur. I truly like the retained exchange list, where I can just consequently have repeating installments deducted from my framework rather its month to month, quarterly, or yearly. It can likewise be set up as an update when certain bills are expected for installment. It's exceptionally simple to stack, monitor your merchants and your clients just as your own organization information, for example, diagram of records, and things or administrations that your organization gives. The report place is very easy to understand with reports effectively accessible by adding a date reach, and it additionally offers the client to make their own ensemble reports

Cons

I do wish discounting customers with credit adjusts was somewhat simpler. You have to have a receipt produced with charges prior to finishing a credit notice to send a discount check. From time to time a price may be lower than advertised and I would like to show reflection on the original invoice without having to create a new one.Hopefully there is a less difficult way, and I simply need to figure it out. The cost is somewhat higher than the opposition, however all my needs are met. Nonetheless, The help isn't as simple to work with as I might want. Be that as it may, contrasted with a portion of the competiton, its better than not having any.

Keyana
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

I've been using various QuickBooks versions for around 6 years now. Overall, the software is...

Reviewed on 04/04/2018

Pros

While I prefer the Desktop Pro version for Mac and Windows, the Online version has been getting better with more recent updates. Regarding Online, I enjoy being able to access my account on the go, via the mobile Android app. I also like that, no matter the version of this software I use, Intuit's customer service is always quick to respond to any questions or comments that I may have. Their online help forums are full of great information from actual users, as well.

Cons

Due to needing to use QuickBooks in conjunction with a compatible online project management system (Accelo), my current business must use the Online version of this software every day. I dislike the fact that Accelo and QuickBooks often fall out of sync with each other. I recognize that the blame may be more on Accelo, but you'd think that Intuit would stick to working with online apps that are more on their level, in terms of usability and productivity.

The Online version also tends to timeout a lot and is generally very slow. Intuit server issue? And I hate that Online just kicks you out of the system, and prompts you to log-in again, mid-task. I can't tell you how many times I've been working on a lengthy, incredibly detailed invoice with dozens of line items, and get kicked out, sometimes, losing my work. There should be a notification that alerts the user when the system is about to automatically log out. I understand that this happens for security reasons, but I don't think it should always be on the user to periodically save their work. I mean, Microsoft Word, online banking websites, and a whole host of other programs have this capability. Why hasn't QuickBooks online adapted yet?

Alvaro
Alvaro
Overall rating
  • Industry: Utilities
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Workable solution for a solo freelance accountant up to small businesses

Reviewed on 01/08/2018

A go-to software for accounting personal to small business projects. Very intuitive and comes with...

A go-to software for accounting personal to small business projects. Very intuitive and comes with mobile access from multiple devices. Reporting is at the heart of any accounting person (esp Tax and Audit season), Quickbooks will make life a little bit pleasanter during those torture months in the fiscal year. :)

Pros

This accounting solution is Web-based. It makes life easy for a mobile accountant (or executive) as one can readily access the ledgers from anywhere, anytime, using any/multiple devices.

The reporting capabilities for me is another most important item to watch. Quickbooks is flexible, customizable, and easy to create reports either via templates or custom to the business scenario. It works well for both.

The interface is intuitive and easy to navigate. We have not yet experienced any lag/downtime (at least whenever we are actively using the service).

Lastly, the terror "Tax Season" is really made a lot more manageable and pleasant due to the powerful reporting tool and easy integration with our third-party tax system.

Cons

Limited integrations to third party apps. Actually, for the most basic part, we wanted to hook it up with our timekeeping app, but is currently not covered. Back to the manual solution of inputting hours brute force.

It may be a little tricky (esp at first) when using with multiple accounts. There need to manually change accounts can mess things up esp for pay/payroll.

Response from Intuit

Hi Alvaro. I'm delighted QuickBooks alleviates some of the pain of tax season, and am glad you enjoy the flexibility of our web-based product. With this said, I want to ensure any third party apps you're using are integrating as well as possible.

If you haven't yet, I encourage you to check out our App Center at https://apps.intuit.com. You mentioned your timekeeping app wasn't covered, but we have hundreds of ready-made add-ons hosted here. Additionally, you can find helpful insights on linking apps on our Community Q&A forum at https://intuit.me/2rJQ95o. It doubles as a troubleshooting/how-to library, as well. This means when you're not working with QuickBooks reps, you can search the digital database of syncing fixes and workflow insights. There are similar self-help tools in our Resource Center, as well. A prime example is this tutorial on how to manage multiple accounts: https://quickbooks.intuit.com/tutorials/lessons/edit-chart-of-accounts/.

Jess, The QuickBooks Team

Erik
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 4.0 /10

QuickBooks Enterprise - not really suitable for multi-location businesses

Reviewed on 16/11/2018

QuickBooks Enterprise at first glance seemed like a good fit for my 5-location business. The...

QuickBooks Enterprise at first glance seemed like a good fit for my 5-location business. The feature set is rich, is a widely accepted accounting package and came with a nice support package. The fundamental features of the software are quite impressive and met the core needs of my business with range from retail sales to large projects. To handle the multiple locations, there is a "class" (location) construct that allows you to use a single chart of accounts and use class to designate where things apply. For standard income/expense accounts this works well and I can track sales and expenses easily. Where the implementation fall very short is with asset/liability accounts. For example, if you have 100 widgets in class A and 0 in class B (store A and store B) and you transfer 50 widgets to class B, the count of widgets is done correctly, but the inventory value of the transferred widgets still remains in the first class. It's made a mess of my inventory values and we've had to resort to processing manual GL entries anytime we transfer items from store to store. The same holds true with banking - the class structure is only partially implemented. There are work-arounds, but they're slow and cumbersome.

Reporting is another soft spot. There are plenty of pre-made reports that are decent and you can build custom reports. The issue is that custom reports are very unstable and more often than not, you'll find that reports lock up (or frozen as you'll read everywhere). This makes them pretty much worthless unless you enjoy creating a new custom report every time you want to use one.

Customer support is very energetic, but it's mainly people who have never used accounting software outside a PowerPoint driven training scenario. The usual answer is to either use Google or look on the Intuit community forums. Fairly disappointing. We've managed to figure most things out, but it's taken far longer than if we had access to people with real-world experience. There are a couple of great YouTube users (Hector) who were very helpful with their videos.

Pros

Simple interface
Widely used by the industry
30 user capability
Mid-rage price tag on a subscription basis

Cons

The class implementation is only partially implemented and causes great pain when using this to run multiple locations
The performance is marginal
Required a lot of extra plug-ins to accomplish things
Custom reports are reasonably flexible, but are very, very unstable and aren't very usable.
Customer support is lackluster with the common answer being, "have you looked on Google?"
Credit card processing through Intuit is not competitively priced