QuickBooks Desktop Enterprise Reviews

QuickBooks Desktop Enterprise

4.5 (20,214)
Enterprise accounting, FSM and inventory management solution

Overall rating

4.5 /5
(20,214)
Value for Money
4.3/5
Features
4.4/5
Ease of Use
4.3/5
Customer Support
4.1/5
Sort by

20213 Reviews

Charleen
Charleen
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer & Network Security
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Our QB online is always ready when we are

Reviewed on 22/10/2020

Cloud services make everything more secure. Not having to purchase an upgrade year after year is...

Cloud services make everything more secure. Not having to purchase an upgrade year after year is one of the best benefits. Our business is sized so that the online version, which does have less functionality than the desktop version, still works for exactly what we need. The tutorials are helpful and there are plenty of YouTube videos to find a resolution for any problem you have.

Pros

The online version of QB makes it easy to always have the necessary updates and current edition. The file sharing capabilities are the exact tool that is needed for the accountant to easily have a hassle-free exchange of the data they need to keep your books and do taxes. QB payroll that can be accessed through the software and there is easy access to QuickBook loan funding should you ever need it. Anytime, anywhere access is a plus.

Cons

The naming convention for some processes are a bit daunting until you learn exactly where they are and what they are called. The updates can cause features to be relocated, making them difficult to find. As with all cloud-based software, sometimes there are issues with the online connectivity.

Andrea
Overall rating
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Great for small businesses

Reviewed on 12/09/2023

QuickBooks is a good value for the money. It works fine for day-to-day transactions such as A/R,...

QuickBooks is a good value for the money. It works fine for day-to-day transactions such as A/R, A/P, and data entry, but it's not the best for things like forecasting and financial reporting.

Pros

QuickBooks provides a good value for the money, which is especially helpful in small businesses.

Cons

After working in complex and customized ERP systems, QuickBooks feels a little archaic in comparison.

Dipak kumar
Overall rating
  • Industry: Mining & Metals
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Quick book desktop review

Reviewed on 08/02/2024

Very easy to use for account and easy function for inventory management

Very easy to use for account and easy function for inventory management

Pros

Accouning, p&l a/c and balanceshhet and inventiry management

Cons

For more to be available in accounts and easy mail sent automatically

Evan
Evan
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 1.0 /10

Charges without Consent

Reviewed on 31/07/2019

Everything was fine until I discovered how atrocious the customer service is.

Everything was fine until I discovered how atrocious the customer service is.

Pros

Many parts of the service feel unpolished and there are many bugs, but it is HIGHLY FUNCTIONAL. And cheap. It is hands down the best bang-for-buck of any other accounting software out there. I have been a happy user despite the bugs, because:

There are many things that QuickBooks does really well. Invoicing (while hard to automate) is very robust, and by far the single cheapest invoicing option I have found.

The system's auto-categorization abilities when matching expenditures, revenue sources, etc is fantastic. Further, you integrate QuickBooks with a slew of other services, making for a fairly customizable and generally robust accounting tool. It's also easy to get an accountant on to balance and check your books.

Cons

TERRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE

I was charged for payroll without consent. 6 months ago I signed up for a free trial to see what the Quickbook's portal for payroll looks like; after toying around a little bit and deciding that it was, while not great, functional, I cancelled my trial with the intention of getting the service when I hire full-time employees. Received cancellation screen. No problems.

Fastforward to now, I go to sign up for payroll and discover I have been being charged for the last 6 months. I called in expecting to get a credit or waiver of future fees for a few months, only to be told that

“QuickBooks does not refund for non-usage”. I explained the situation, and was told that "I shouldn't have signed up for the product then". I asked to speak to a manager, she took my phone number, and I never received the follow-up phone call.

Is it a large amount of money? no. However, I have been a very active user of QuickBooks for nearly two years now and it is extremely disappointing to see that they would treat a long-term client this way.

Response from Intuit

Hi Evan,

We'd like to thank you for taking the time to write this thorough review. Our mission is to provide you with a variety of accounting tools that are both helpful and affordable, so it's awesome to hear that QuickBooks is doing just that for you.

We'd like an opportunity investigate the Payroll charges you received and make sure this situation is properly addressed. The next time you're free, please email us at [email protected] and provide any case numbers you have in reference to your previous calls. That way, we can find your account on our end and get brought up to speed on this situation.

Looking forward to hearing from you,
Kristian, The QuickBooks Team

Sandy
Overall rating
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Easy to Use and Excellent Information System

Reviewed on 20/12/2023

Excellent in terms of process and output. A bit expensive.

Excellent in terms of process and output. A bit expensive.

Pros

Setup not difficult and easy access on a day to day basis to keep track of all expenditures and income. Reports are excellent and easy to set up for your needs.

Cons

I dont like a subscription. Not practical for a business of our size and not necessary.
I don't like having to log into intuit all the time either.
I feel it's way too expensive for our needs, but probably fine for a larger organizations.

Rachael
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Quickbooks is an OG

Reviewed on 06/03/2024

It's a good startup tool for a small business who doesn't want to gigure it all out for themselves

It's a good startup tool for a small business who doesn't want to gigure it all out for themselves

Pros

Ease of setup and the ability to grow with you and customize as you need

Cons

It can get pricey once you add all the bells and whistles that you need as you grow

Joseph
Overall rating
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Good platform for small business accounting management

Reviewed on 12/02/2024

Pros

Ease of use
Easy to set up
Tremendous functionality

Cons

Sometimes it feels a little clunky, but most of the time this is not an issue.

IBRAHIM
Overall rating
  • Industry: Oil & Energy
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

BEST WAYS TO CHOOSE INNOVATIVE IDEAS

Reviewed on 27/02/2024

GOOD AND EXCELLENT WORKS DONE BY THE QUICKBOOKS AND I WOULD DEFINETLY RECOMMEND TO USE IN DAILY LIFE

GOOD AND EXCELLENT WORKS DONE BY THE QUICKBOOKS AND I WOULD DEFINETLY RECOMMEND TO USE IN DAILY LIFE

Pros

I LIKE THE WAY THEY HAVE REPRESENTED AND EASILY UNDERSTANDABLE

Cons

THE COST IS LITTLE HIGH BECAUSE SOME PEOPLE CANT AFFORD THE COST

Thinh
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

My first impression on QuickBooks

Reviewed on 26/02/2024

Pros

It contains a lot of tools and utilities for users, making it easy to use.

Cons

The User Interface, it could be simpler.

Megha
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Quickbooks

Reviewed on 02/03/2024

Pros

Ease of use and user friendly interface.

Cons

Ease of use and very easy user interface

Osinachi
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Over 5 Years of Overall Satisfaction from QuickBooks

Reviewed on 26/10/2020

It an Outstanding and unique experience with QuickBooks, Because of what i have been able to solve...

It an Outstanding and unique experience with QuickBooks, Because of what i have been able to solve at Work, Meetings and Even at Critical Moments, I would Like the Team to continue Working Hard and also be more innovating for us not to have a reason to either go back to our Previous Product or an Easy or Advance Product than QuickBooks.

Pros

Am Proud to Say i have been Fortunate enough to get to know QuickBooks early in my World of Finance, which has lead and added few Stars to my Financial Works (Reports), My love for QuickBooks is due to it has made me receive compliments from My Line Head and Even my Colleague for the accuracy and detail I present when it comes to our financial reports. It has a easy to use feature, outstanding communication style, efficient and even Portable. Just a Few Clicks and Your Financial Report is Ready.

Cons

Getting Settled with the QuickBooks Advance, was a bit Tough, but after getting everything fix up (Setting Up), it you go to go, You also have to be careful and vigilant when Printing out Invoices and others due to the Date Changes. One thing to make sure of is the group of the items you are computing, you have to Double-Check your Reports so as not to contain Mis-Grouped information and for Accuracy.

Noam
Overall rating
  • Industry: Media Production
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Accounting Software with Advanced Features

Reviewed on 29/01/2023

QuickBooks Desktop Enterprise is an extremely powerful accounting software that provides a...

QuickBooks Desktop Enterprise is an extremely powerful accounting software that provides a comprehensive range of features. I found it to be highly customizable to meet my needs and the intuitive interface makes it easy to use. The only downside is that the software can be a bit expensive and requires a steep learning curve.

Pros

QuickBooks Desktop Enterprise is an excellent accounting software that offers a comprehensive range of features that are designed to help streamline accounting processes. It has an intuitive interface and provides a secure platform for managing finances. The software also offers a wide range of reporting options and is highly customizable to meet the needs of any organization.

Cons

The software is a bit complex to use and requires a steep learning curve. Additionally, the software is quite expensive so it may not be the best option for small businesses or those on a tight budget.

Jorge
Overall rating
  • Industry: Warehousing
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great for small business, or even mid size business.

Reviewed on 12/10/2018

Even with the one major flaw I experience, I would still recommend QuickBooks to small to midsize...

Even with the one major flaw I experience, I would still recommend QuickBooks to small to midsize business that need an easy way to organize, categorize their costumer orders, inventory, and being able to keep track of company expenses.

Pros

I used this software for a number of years when I was working at a midsize family owned shipping/fulfillment center. It took me just a few hours to be able to understand how to navigate and properly use most of the features available software.

Features Include:

- Importing and Exporting of large data files containing costumer information

- Multiple account log-ins, being able to switch between two different users(companies) with each having their own unique list of products, and clients.

-Inventory, this was a very important feature for us, it notified us when we were running short on certain items for order fulfillment, it also kept an updated list of the amount of inventory in the warehouse in terms of dollar value

- Costumer look up, address, product ordered, past orders, balance paid and due. Orders would could be search by order number, name of costumer, or even the ability to search orders meeting certain criteria.

- Product information, the user had the ability to assign description and cost of their products.

- Data back ups; the user would had the ability to make multiple save files that contain all the information that was present at the time of the creation of save file, it was a useful feature since a lot of the computers at work ended up being wiped or malfunction at one time or another.

Cons

The one thing that I just really dislike about this software is updating, after an update you would load a backup save file per company in order to re-import all the information that had already been available before the update. This lead to multiple order being shipped, and problems with inventory. Could have just been us, I don't know if every one experience this issue.

Betsy
Betsy
Overall rating
  • Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

QuickBooks- Accessible for Small Businesses But Limited.

Reviewed on 01/02/2019

QuickBooks is no substitute for having a client database, however, the company I worked for as...

QuickBooks is no substitute for having a client database, however, the company I worked for as accounts payable and receivable had no other database program. While the limitations of QB for this was frustrating at times, it did a great job of keeping data organized and easily allowing input for new and continuing contacts. The customer service was as helpful as they could be, however I had to make the same calls for the same problems often several times within the year, only to learn that on-going glitches existed in QB that required workarounds. Customer Service wasn't always forthcoming on this, but their forums were very helpful.

Pros

QuickBooks is fairly easy to figure out for first time users, even those without a bookkeeping background. There are many tutorials included from the home website, and it's been around long enough that users have posted fixes to various known issues. It's useful in creating form templates, such as invoicing, proposals and receipts. Reports look good, and can integrate with many 3rd party platforms.

Cons

QuickBooks lacked much help for Inventory tracking and scanning. While you are able to create an inventory list, it's too easy to accidently miscategorize items and wreck the usefulness of the cataloging features. The inventory interface is a bit confusing to start with and connecting the inventory reports with logged sales is not practical. It doesn't happen automatically, but must be manually checked since there are many bugs that create errors or problems with data retrieval.
When creating templates, it can be tough to figure out how to connect certain field codes with data areas to fill in. I spent many hours on the customer service line to figure some of that out. Even then, I was creating or finding "work-arounds" for some glitches that QuickBooks just doesn't fix or update.
One of the most frustrating issues I personally found was the coding of expenses. Without some universal system, numerous employees can simply invent new codes for similar or same items, which creates many redundant and incorrect reports. Turnover in your office can produce serious inconsistency.

Response from Intuit

Betsy, thank you so much for providing an insightful and thorough review of QuickBooks. The details you've shared have painted a detailed portrait of your impressions of QuickBooks, and I appreciate it very much. I loved reading your comments about where you found the program to be beneficial to your business.

Please be assured, your voice is important, and the comments you've provided about the software have been sent to our Product Development team. Feedback like yours is instrumental for the growth of the program, and it will be used when considering future updates to QuickBooks.

Thank you again for your wonderful review of QuickBooks, Betsy!

All the best,
Clay, The QuickBooks Team

Donna
Overall rating
  • Industry: Government Administration
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Quickbooks Desktop Rview

Reviewed on 16/07/2019

Overall QuickBooks has been easy to use for paying invoices, tracking expenses/income and completing...

Overall QuickBooks has been easy to use for paying invoices, tracking expenses/income and completing employee payroll. I've been using QuickBooks for over 7 years. Please note that there is a big difference between QuickBooks Desktop and QuickBooks Online version. The online version is not user friendly at all. I would not recommend the online version.

Pros

QuickBooks Desktop is relatively easy to use. The payroll feature makes calculating and filing employee payroll and payroll taxes very easy. Paying invoices is also very easy and it records expenses in individual accounts that you set up. You can quickly and easily find invoices that have been paid and track year to date expenses. There are many reports available so you can easily see amounts spent in each category or where income is coming from. This is very useful when working on budgets. The software allows you to modify things according to what works best for you.

Cons

The annual fee is expensive and there is an extra fee for the payroll service. Also, the customer service is not very good. Occasionally I need to call in and get a customer service rep to correct a problem. Service is slow and it's hard to understand the reps as they all have accents. I try to use the self help section of QuickBooks before calling in to get assistance and I know it will take over an hour to get a problem fixed.

Response from Intuit

It's great to hear you're using all the features to the fullest, and it sounds like you're a pro, Donna. The Desktop and Online versions have slightly different work flows, but we're glad you found one to meet your unique business needs. For other ways to contact support, we recommend this Community article: https://quickbooks.intuit.com/community/Getting-Started/Contact-the-QuickBooks-Desktop-Customer-Support-Team/td-p/252601

Thanks for your review!
Morgan, The QuickBooks Team

Bulinda
Overall rating
  • Industry: Events Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Inexpensive To Account for every Dollar

Reviewed on 06/08/2019

My business is staying afloat because of QuickBooks and we can see our future being very profitable...

My business is staying afloat because of QuickBooks and we can see our future being very profitable by using this software. I can do all summary reporting without having to do a hard copy by hand which takes a lot of time. The software has the key components of making sure all credits and debits are inserted into its proper place. The only errors are that of those we make and this software will not allow you to insert numbers if they do not add up. The accounting tools are fantastic and a very valuable insight in our business.

Pros

QuickBooks has been a very simplified way of managing and tracking our every dollar earned. I have utilized this software for over four years and it is very simplified. Our debits and credits are accounted for with each ledger that we handle. Our customers are happy with our business and that keeps us stress-free in all aspects of the business. Our business does not have to outsource any accounting to a bookkeeper or any one outside of the company.

Cons

I have as of today after four years of having this software can not find any cons. I really enjoy using QuickBooks and I teach the program to everyone that must keep quality control moving smoothly.

Response from Intuit

Thank you for the rave review, Bulinda! It's an honor to have QuickBooks be a part of ensuring the success of your business over the last four years. Our software wouldn't be what it is today without great customers like yourself who use and refer others to try it. It's our mission to continually work on new enhancements and features to make QuickBooks an even more versatile tool for you to use. To hear news on what our developers are working on, we recommend checking out our official blog: https://intuit.me/2L2zqTv.

Thank you for being part of our QuickBooks family!
Jen, The QuickBooks Team

Brenda
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Quick Book Review

Reviewed on 27/10/2019

Using QB made my life a lot easier in terms of my work and allow me to do a lot. it tracts our...

Using QB made my life a lot easier in terms of my work and allow me to do a lot. it tracts our finances well and able to return the mistakes that companies making in tallying the accounts. it practically made me feel as i am really an accounts because the basic accounting is very easy to learn despite if you are a beginner in this software. The details in the board are very well written and understand easily without going in any training. it is perfectly very helpful.

Pros

Aside from Its easier to use even if you doesn't have the accounting background, it keep things in order. It helps you understand the basic book keeping the reports about finances and the invoicing is a lot easier to do on this software. I thank this as i am able to connect with the financial status and bank qualifications without committing any mistake.

Cons

QB is not compatible with all the banks and not able to inform you if there are problems with the connection. They should upgrade some details to be able to catch up with the trends as other establishments are upgrading their accounting software. I have difficulty also in using our cheque printer as its always occurring the network not compatible with the software note.

Alternatives Considered

NetSuite

Reasons for Switching to QuickBooks Desktop Enterprise

Its practically difficult to understand

Response from Intuit

Hi there, Brenda. We believe in simplifying the functions and tools in the software to make your job easier. It's great to hear how much you enjoyed using QuickBooks. We'll continue to help lighten he work load! Our developers are always on the lookout for ways to improve the software. You can keep up with what will be included in new updates by viewing our Blog: https://intuit.me/2L2zqTv

Thanks for a great review!
Morgan, The QuickBooks Team

Kelly
Overall rating
  • Industry: Staffing & Recruiting
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Quickbooks Desktop

Reviewed on 06/11/2019

I became certified with QB in 1999. I have enjoyed the program and recommend it to most business...

I became certified with QB in 1999. I have enjoyed the program and recommend it to most business people I know. I find that their customer service is once again back to where it was in the beginning, great. I used to dread the QB customer service experience, it was so horrific. Since we moved to Enterprise, it has been a huge improvement. And customer service is one of the biggest selling points for me, when you are working with the software every, single day, year in & year out.

Pros

Ease of use is fantastic. Mostly self-explanatory. Because it is so widely used there a lot of available answers for most any question that you may have.

Cons

The 3 things I dislike with QB. One is the cost of integrating all of the parts that you need to run a business. For companies between the small to medium, QuickBooks is one of the few really good options. But their costs to add on payroll & cloud hosting, is frankly too much. My next complaint is the reports. When QB first came out, you could create your reports any way you wanted and it was fantastic. Although the reports are nice, the inability to combine items from balance sheet & income statement without using all of the accounts is a pain. Especially when you are looking for only certain items. I know there are work arounds but they are a pain. Also, I am not a fan of QB online, you lose too much autonomy and flexibility with that system, too much to comfortably switch when you when multi site access.

Response from Intuit

Hello, Kelly. Thanks so much for your detailed review. Hearing that you've enjoyed using QuickBooks for so many years makes our day. You can continue to count on us for all of your accounting needs! We're continually working to incorporate great user suggestions like yours. You can find out more about these types of updates by checking out our Blog: https://intuit.me/2L2zqTv

Thanks for being a loyal member of the QuickBooks Family!
Morgan, The QuickBooks Team

Scott
Overall rating
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

The Default Small Busines bookeeping software

Reviewed on 13/01/2020

We mostly like it. It dominates the market so much that it has become the default bookkeeping...

We mostly like it. It dominates the market so much that it has become the default bookkeeping solution. I think the only reason to choose something else would be if your business far outgrows QuickBooks, or if your business type is particularly well-served by a niche product. Some add-on features are useful, such as 1099 reporting. There are many third party add-ons available.

Pros

The main thing to know about Quickbooks is that it is the dominant player in small business bookkeeping. That means that every CPA knows how to use it and can help you to set it up for your business. Nearly any bookkeeper you might hire has used it before, so their learning curve should be short. It is cloud based, so your data is much safer from disasters than if you stored it on your own server. User support, while less than perfect, is at least plentiful through the message boards and other sources you might find in bookstores or on the internet. Although it is not optimized for government contracting, you can set up a chart of accounts that complies with DCAA requirements, and use the "Class" feature to distinguish between government contracts / customers. With such a large user base and development team, it is reasonably bug-free and feature rich.

Cons

About once or twice a year, they seem to make a change to the user interface...notionally to improve the user interface, but for us it vexing that features we used to know where to find get hidden under some other menu. Some cursing ensues in the office, then we find where the feature is hidden, and work continues as normal. Sometimes they seem to push the add-ons we don't want, such as payroll or financing. The subscription price went up a lot after we had been loyal customers for a couple of years...meaning it is a lot easier to stay with them and pay the higher price than it is to go shopping for an alternative.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Printing
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Industry Standard but wish it wasn't

Reviewed on 31/03/2020

Pros

It works with tracking US bank accounts really well. It integrates decently with so many different software systems that it almost makes it a no brainer for US based businesses to use this. It also enforces proper double-entry accounting practices that other "accounting" software packages frequently don't. However, if you aren't familiar with proper accounting, this is going to throw more at you than you might be ready for.

Cons

They are the industry standard and act like it. They sacrifice customer experience and service for their own convenience and advertisement. They are so large they don't care if they anger a small segment of their clients. The system is cumbersome, sometimes broken (their bank system stopped working for several weeks last year), and throws ads for other products in your face all the time.

Alternatives Considered

Wave and Xero

Response from Intuit

Hi there,

Thank you for the thorough review. Our mission is to provide you with a variety of tools to meet your accounting needs, so it's great to hear that QuickBooks is doing that for you.

The last thing we want you to feel is that your customer experience is lacking. The advertisements are designed to guide and suggest ways to optimize your use of the software, however, we understand you may not want to see them. To disregard the ads in QuickBooks Online, click the X or No, thanks button to prevent them from popping up again. For QuickBooks Desktop, you'll want to go to Edit > Preferences > General > My Preferences > Check Turn off pop-up messages for products and services.

If you'd like to provide us with additional feedback, we highly recommend reaching out to our Community Team (http://community.intuit.com/). We wouldn't be where we are today without suggestions from users like yourself, so please don't hesitate to let us know.

All the best,
Jen, The QuickBooks Team

Jacques
Jacques
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best Accounting Solution For Small Business

Reviewed on 26/07/2020

Pros

The cloud solution makes it ideal for small business without needing the ICT infrastructure. Its available anywhere and with the mobile app gives you data when you need it. Plenty of integrations available. Its very cost effective.

Cons

It doesn't integrate natively with on premises deployments.

Alternatives Considered

Dynamics 365

Reasons for Choosing QuickBooks Desktop Enterprise

Ease of use and cost

Switched From

Dynamics 365

Reasons for Switching to QuickBooks Desktop Enterprise

Ease of use and cost

Response from Intuit

Hi Jacques,

We're thrilled to hear you're enjoying using QuickBooks for your accounting needs. No matter if you're in the office or out on the road, you can count on our software to back your business. We're committed to continue implementing new and improved tools to make your daily tasks easier while remaining cost effective. To hear news on what's in the works, be sure to check out our blog (https://intuit.me/2L2zqTv). Thanks for being the best part of Intuit!

Kind regards,
Jen, Intuit Support Specialist

Fidelis
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

QuickBooks Software 2021 review

Reviewed on 13/01/2021

The installation process is easy and smooth. which at some point as you about your business and the...

The installation process is easy and smooth. which at some point as you about your business and the right tools or QuickBooks feature you would like to choose. But, it is always good to set all features. It is well tailored to the core accounting needs of all companies. It is deeply rooted in accounting principles, so that every organization, regardless of size, should keep its books and corporate financials structured and properly registered.

Pros

I would like to start with the desired features of this software. Their pricing plan was structured in a way that one can make good any choice and still have a better feature. They have four pricing plan ( QuickBooks Simple start, Essential, Plus and Advance(recently added)) and price of $12,$20,$35 and $75 respectively . All this plans has a dedicated number of users ranging from one to three. Each of this plans has great features of which Invoices Tracking, Bill and online banking are common among them. The installation process is easy and smooth. which at some point as you about your business and the right tools or QuickBooks feature you would like to choose. But, it is always good to set all features. The navigation bar containing your dashboard is flexible and easy to make choices regarding the selected features. At the right panel is where you found "CREATE" tab, which divides the sections of the software into four namely, "Customers, vendors, employees and others". Each of the dropdown menu will help you to manage your accounting processes. QuickBooks Online is a cloud-based accounting solution that helps to handle expenses, tasks, invoices and more for small to large businesses. It comes with a centralized dashboard that allows users to use key performance metrics to gain insights into market patterns and organizational performance (KPIs). It is well tailored to the core accounting needs of all companies.

Cons

Initially, the customer support service and other little issue was the cons. But as at today, the customer service has been improve through instant chat and some added feature such as QuickBooks advance to enhance operations , their avoid any cons that can be attributed to this great software.

Jon
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Effective for the cost.

Reviewed on 22/03/2018

Pros

It's effective for the cost. I use Desktop version. It's less expensive than paying an accountant. You can simply save to a flash drive using Desktop. Actually, my accountant for tax purposes primarily recommended this product to me. The product itself works. I use it primarily for sales invoicing, reconciling with the bank balance and financial reporting for our small digital marketing firm. I also used a Quickbooks third-party vendor for income tax filing 1099 purposes, and it was a good referral from Quickbooks. It's a universally accepted accounting program, and it gets the basic job done.

Cons

The user interface is a bit un-user friendly. Some of the menu items are too many layers down and oddly arranged. You have to go looking for some of the menu items. There's no option to show just inactive accounts, only active or both. What if I just want to see previous clients only? That's just one example of how it's not user friendly or well designed enough. More investment on the part of the company is needed to fine tune the program. Also, the integrated program option for cloud storage of your Desktop data is not user friendly enough either, at best. That's why I just save to a flash drive. I'm researching getting an on-site physical cloud for backup data storage. If you have a billing or technical issue, it may take literal work hours or days to solve it (sometimes tech issues go unsolved by the telephone customer service reps). My billing issue was solved but it took multiple days of calling and very lengthy conversations over the same billing error which occurred more than once. The tech issue involved Desktop integrating with the cloud. It's not always smooth.

Harikumar
Harikumar
Overall rating
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Quickbooks is very easy to use Accounting Software with GST Ready Invoices. It helps us to...

Reviewed on 27/07/2018

Quickbooks offers wide range of features. It help us to record all our expenses and income and keep...

Quickbooks offers wide range of features. It help us to record all our expenses and income and keep track of the same. Creatinf invoices were never made so easy and also it offers to collect payments.

Pros

Quickbooks offers everything at a single platform. For a business it has everything such as business payments, manage and pay bills, and payroll functions etc. The accounting feature is the best which we liked because we can manage income, expense and many more very easily. It really help us to note all transactions electronically. Another feature we liked is the Payment which help us to collect payments seamlessly. It help us to organize the finance. The online payment system help us to track payments. Next i would like to highlight the interface , it has a very beautiful design and simple interface. Without much training anyone can use it for their business. Quickbooks help us to reduce the time taken for our financial department. The team at Quickbooks are also very helpful and are ready to help us always. It is very useful for creating invoices and then collecting payments from the customers which track on a real time basis which reflects in our dashboard. Sometime we may miss to note expenses but with Quickbooks it's easy to keep track about our purchases , bills and expenses. I strongly recommend Quickbooks to smoothen your business operations.

Cons

Web connectivity is a must for using Quickbooks which is a drawback. The UI needs few more improvements. Some interfaces are easy to use while some areas need further improvements which will help to smoothen the workflow. Some modifications are needed for creating invoices especially when we create GST Invoices. If Quickbooks do some more modification it will be really helpful to beginners

Response from Intuit

We love hearing from our customers, and your thorough review was a pleasure to come across, Harikumar. I'm delighted you've gained so much accounting insight from the program, and that you're saving time with our Payments, Payroll, and tracking features.

With this said, I'd be more than happy to discuss the Cons you mentioned. When you get a chance, could you send me more details about your vision for QuickBooks ([email protected])? You've got brilliant ideas, and I'll forward your suggestions about an offline option, streamlined interface, and more customization for sales forms. I can send them to the engineers directly, as they default to customer input when deciding what enhancements will come down the pipeline next.

Looking forward to hearing from you, by the way. In the meantime, I encourage you to explore our Community Q&A forum, where we host a ton of troubleshooting/how-to articles. Jump into the convo anytime at https://intuit.me/2rJQ95o.

Jess, The QuickBooks Team

Erik
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 4.0 /10

QuickBooks Enterprise - not really suitable for multi-location businesses

Reviewed on 16/11/2018

QuickBooks Enterprise at first glance seemed like a good fit for my 5-location business. The...

QuickBooks Enterprise at first glance seemed like a good fit for my 5-location business. The feature set is rich, is a widely accepted accounting package and came with a nice support package. The fundamental features of the software are quite impressive and met the core needs of my business with range from retail sales to large projects. To handle the multiple locations, there is a "class" (location) construct that allows you to use a single chart of accounts and use class to designate where things apply. For standard income/expense accounts this works well and I can track sales and expenses easily. Where the implementation fall very short is with asset/liability accounts. For example, if you have 100 widgets in class A and 0 in class B (store A and store B) and you transfer 50 widgets to class B, the count of widgets is done correctly, but the inventory value of the transferred widgets still remains in the first class. It's made a mess of my inventory values and we've had to resort to processing manual GL entries anytime we transfer items from store to store. The same holds true with banking - the class structure is only partially implemented. There are work-arounds, but they're slow and cumbersome.

Reporting is another soft spot. There are plenty of pre-made reports that are decent and you can build custom reports. The issue is that custom reports are very unstable and more often than not, you'll find that reports lock up (or frozen as you'll read everywhere). This makes them pretty much worthless unless you enjoy creating a new custom report every time you want to use one.

Customer support is very energetic, but it's mainly people who have never used accounting software outside a PowerPoint driven training scenario. The usual answer is to either use Google or look on the Intuit community forums. Fairly disappointing. We've managed to figure most things out, but it's taken far longer than if we had access to people with real-world experience. There are a couple of great YouTube users (Hector) who were very helpful with their videos.

Pros

Simple interface
Widely used by the industry
30 user capability
Mid-rage price tag on a subscription basis

Cons

The class implementation is only partially implemented and causes great pain when using this to run multiple locations
The performance is marginal
Required a lot of extra plug-ins to accomplish things
Custom reports are reasonably flexible, but are very, very unstable and aren't very usable.
Customer support is lackluster with the common answer being, "have you looked on Google?"
Credit card processing through Intuit is not competitively priced