JumpCloud Directory Platform

4.7 (183)
A cloud directory platform for secure access to resources

Overall rating

4.7 /5
(183)
Value for Money
4.5/5
Features
4.4/5
Ease of Use
4.6/5
Customer Support
4.5/5

183 Software options

Robert R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great functional product that tackles most of the Central management and directory functions

Reviewed on 18/09/2020

Jumpclouds offering has great features and helps simplify the central user management issue we had. Importing users from Gsuite which was the main system that housed all our users centrally was simple, albeit lacking granular import options (such as ignore mailgroups etc)
Systems (which are devices) is the inventory of all your systems running the jumpcloud agent - the greatest feature here is being able to set MFA for logging into your mac, which is very useful if you'd like to bring that security practice in.
Actioning user changes is pretty quick and straightforward but there are some caveats on some of the more everyday features that could be laid out in a slicker fashion. For example resetting a users password cannot be done from a click of a button - you have to go into the account and manually set a new one, or invite the user to reset it themselves, but if you've integrated JC and Gsuite, and they cant get into their email, which partly breaks our self serve functionality we're tyring to bring to the company.
The idea of being able to deploy and manage the admin account when a mac is managed via the agent is a helpful addition taking away the need to implement one through various other means.
Policies as they stand are a little different to what your typical "mdm polices" are. So theres a bit of a distinction to pick up with that.
The Agent & account tis a less forgiving implementation and requires that the account names on the macs match the JC directory.

Pros

Support right through the demo to the purchase, to the implementation. Success criteria are agreed between yourselves and them.
They're improving the product almost daily and have the ability to use web-hooks to monitor service status'
The ease in which you are able to integrate Gsuite (as well as multiple ways to import users from your existing central directory) It also gives you the ability to tailor the input for mass imports to limit the need to get users involved in this stage. The ability to simply submit Ideas to improve the UI. The communication from their design team and being involved in user testing so early on.
The resource and Knowledge base is extensive and easy to read - one of the best Ive used from a company in this space.
The interface is also simple to use and navigate through without being buried under complex sub menus
Straightforward email notifications from the system.
Being able to simply reimport users youve deleted without having to wait for a sync or overlapping the account when reimporting.

Cons

A few tricky bits around JC > Gsuite integration wording that take some time to get your head around when integrating and activating accounts once imported.

The admin vs user console login is dynamic and handled via one URL making it a little frustrating to see what the user profile looks like as you have to log out/open a new window to log in as a user - they should be separate logins URLS/Pages or have dropdowns within the admin page in order to switch between. The lack of global settings to apply around Security means for both user login and System security - you have to apply MFA individually to users
When removing/disabling users there isnt an ability to change what happens to their email account - they will be disabled/suspended immediately.

Not able to tailor the automated emails that come from the system to your users as it stands

Importing users via OUs inside Gsuite isnt possible (its everyone or needing to know user by user who to import (not the end of the world but worthwhile noting if you have more than 200 users + copious amounts of group emails)

Currently no ability to assign users to OUs from within JC to Gsuite.

We utilitise divisions and Departments as sub groups for organising our employees and use this hierarchy in another solution. Youre currently not able to nest groups so we had to flat out create ever department as top level inside the "system of users" section. Again a little niche for us, and shouldnt mark this awesome product down

Alternatives Considered

Okta and OneLogin

Reasons for Switching to JumpCloud Directory Platform

Their offering for the tools and features came in at a great price and offered the greatest value. The ability to manage users as well as manage mac devices was a great bonus to us.
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great Application Getting even Better

Reviewed on 12/12/2019

My overall experience has been nothing but positive. Now that all passwords are sync'd across both local and web services, our users rarely need password resets anymore. Their technical support has been very helpful and responsive in the few (maybe two times in two years?) I've needed to call them.

Pros

I love its ease of use. Getting started using it was effortless as a single tech doing the work. Its ability to serve as a directory server for G Suite, PowerSchool (LDAP), and WiFi (RADIUS) makes my life so much easier. And it's even great that for G Suite it can be user-specific. We have some accounts that we don't tie into JumpCloud simply because they only need email. JumpCloud can "pull" G Suite Accounts if they already exist, and I love how it can "push" accounts as well for creating new users.

Cons

There are a few niceties that they haven't implemented yet. Extensive logs can easily be pulled via their API, but they aren't available via the web-gui. They also haven't yet managed to implement the ability to manage Google Groups through their interface yet (but that's supposedly coming soon).

Jeffrey B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Solid way to manage users

Reviewed on 09/10/2019

I use jump-cloud for my own business and my clients primarily to help with user management and to manage access to the various services that are used. It jump make all this easier.

Pros

It solves a bunch of problems all at once. You can have Jumpcloud handle your G Suite/Office 365 password, then use that same password for your computer logins and well as for your office's WiFi. A lot of people miss that last one. Small business rarely change the WiFi password, so every exemployee knows how to log in. With Jumpcloud Radius service, everyone uses their Jumpcloud password to log in. If someone is no longer with the company, you disable their Jumpcloud account and they no longer can log in.
If you are a Linux admin, Jumpcloud's system agent can handle password, or even better ssh keys with two-factor authentications. This really take security up while making all it easy to manage.
They keep adding features as well, like recently added management of Bitlocker.

Cons

I only have minor grips. Like to manage LDAP, you have to create an LDAP bind user. No big deal, but that is the only thing I'm going to use that account for. The fact that it shows up as an option for G Suite or for system log ins is unnecessary. Seems like that should be a special user locked away under LDAP tab somewhere.

Aaron G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Directory as a service the next generation

Reviewed on 16/08/2020

It has been awesome to know I can track staff, device but not use active directory. It's only took a few days to learn the software and the documentation has been awesome.

Pros

Not having to use Microsoft domain management. Less on prem expense and more focus on daily needs. Easy to use and deployment.

Cons

I haven't really had an draw backs from using this software it has really help to go domain less for me as a MSP owner.

Alternatives Considered

Microsoft Azure and Okta

Reasons for Switching to JumpCloud Directory Platform

To have a directory in the cloud and SSO with splash page was perfect and everything I was looking for. I have it connected to most of my major programs and since the agent was added to the systems icons I can easily get to my programs. It as been revolutionary in saving time and money.
Edgar R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

JumpCloud is great!

Reviewed on 02/11/2021

It's been great to manage our users' permission levels on their laptops. Easy for admins to manage.

Pros

JumpCloud allows us to change passwords for our users and does the FileVault authentication step automatically. This helps reduce lockout time and IT intervention time.

Cons

I would like for the software to allow SSO to be fluid. If you connect Google Workspace with JumpCloud, then JumpCloud has to be the source of truth. It would be nice if it were up to the admins to decide what is the source of truth. I'd still remain using JumpCloud solely for the FileVault feature if it allowed Google to be the source of truth. Would make our setup so much easier.

Marco S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

The truth cloud directory as a service platform

Reviewed on 03/11/2021

Pros

Jumpcloud aggregates several features in one place as a SAAS service. From managing users to deploying policies, software, ...
It's an easy way to start managing assets, from people to computers.
It provides a wide range of SSO allowing its use straightaway.

Cons

Jumpcloud attempts to support every OS (Mac, Linux, Windows) however it does not provide the same amount of functionality throughout all of those operating systems. Currently, Linux is behind with little functionality compared with the others. Also, the Command execution needs a lot of improvements to give an overall better experience.

David F.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great AD alternative

Reviewed on 09/10/2019

With end users using G Suite for file storage and sharing, we are able to manage PCs and end user credentials without needing to deploy Active Directory.

Pros

Easy to manage web interface with clear categories and policies.

Cons

Client installation on PCs was more complex than I would have liked.

Alternatives Considered

Microsoft Azure

Reasons for Switching to JumpCloud Directory Platform

More complete directory solution. Easier setup and management. Lower learning curve. Lower cost of entry.
Moises C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Break away from the traditional way of managing your computers

Reviewed on 22/11/2019

I love the ability of being able to manage computers and apps from anywhere that I am at. I do not have to be in the office to manage anything. Break away from the traditional settings.

Pros

I love the fact this this is an online solution to your old traditional way to manage computers from internal servers. It branches outside your office to anywhere you want to do work.

Cons

Some of the function setups are not that user friendly. Policies are a headache when selecting what to configure. It's not easy to go back where you left off. Sometimes you have to scroll down a long list of configurations to get back to the location that you last left off from.

Javier V.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

A very good platform

Reviewed on 13/08/2020

We are very happy to select jumpcloud platform, we are a startup company and jumpcloud helped us to deploy it very faster. I recommend it 100%.

The services are very good and I only remember one incident that directly affected me, but the jumpcloud support resolved it quickly

I hope that new jumpcloud company services include without modify the price, for example System Insights.

Pros

Very easy to deploy, configure users, devices, radius

Cons

May be de command function is not easy to deploy

Felix L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

A simple yet effective Cloud based management system

Reviewed on 12/08/2020

Pros

The free 10 first users really helped me do my proof of concepts with the applications I wanted to integrate. The interface is simple and everything you need to manage users and associated systems and applications are easy to find.

Cons

Policies to deploy to systems are a cool feature, however, there are too few policies for Linux. A community driven for policies could be very interesting.

Christian H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Jumpstart your directory service with JumpCloud

Reviewed on 09/09/2019

Having SSO (Single-Sign-On) across all our systems (mostly Linux) and Google G Suite (Google Drive, Gmail etc) has made systems administration much less painful for both, users and administrators.

Pros

The setup is relatively easy, and major operating systems are supported. It allows single-sign-on (SSO) across a variety of systems. For me, of particular interest was having Linux and G Suite SSO, for which JumpCloud provides an excellent solution.

Cons

I wish Linux SSO would work by an LDAP proxy cache instead of a patch to /etc/passwd /etc/shadow /etc/group /etc/gshadow files. An LDAP proxy cache just appears more secure to me.

Jarred W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great for DaaS!

Reviewed on 13/09/2019

GREAT! This service has been FLAWLESS!

Pros

I like the integrations and synchronizations to other applications. Specifically, we use a hybrid AD approach. It works great! We’re also using the RaaS for dynamic vlan mapping. VERY impressed!

Cons

Wish there were more options that we didn’t have to customize via the powershell API. I don’t remember all of the cmdlets and have to look them up every time.

Alternatives Considered

Microsoft Azure and Okta

Reasons for Switching to JumpCloud Directory Platform

Pricing and integrations! Their customer service is quick too!
Bill B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Free for ten users makes this very applicable to most small businesses

Reviewed on 09/04/2020

The small businesses that I work with have from 3 to 10 PCs, but usually no server. JumpCloud provides the missing centralized user account control. Fairly easy to implement once you understand the model. Their documentation is good and fairly complete, sufficient to learn and utilize the product. Once set up, it has been trouble-free.

Pros

Multi-platform!

It uses and modifies local machine settings, so even if a laptop leaves the LAN or the service is down, everything continues to work.

Cons

The Samba integration is complex. This is more about Samba than JumpCloud, however. I needed a few different pages to pull together the whole picture on how to implement.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Easy directory management in the cloud

Reviewed on 02/11/2021

Pros

User management in the cloud has made it easy to integrate with SSO from our software vendors.

Cons

Dependent on JumpCloud to have consistent uptime. Have only had one outage lasting more than an hour in the five years we have used it.

Jin how L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Biotechnology
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

The go to for a cloud domain controller

Reviewed on 03/11/2021

Asset management and software deployment. Policies can be implemented very easily as well with just a click of a few buttons.

Pros

In the cloud, do not have to care about the physical servers. Asset management and software deployment. Policies can be implemented very easily as well with just a click of a few buttons.

Cons

Integration with macOS could have been better. E.g - If a new user is tied to a macOS laptop and the "Change password at first login" option is selected, there would be no way that the user would be able to login.

Wei M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

AD without AD

Reviewed on 09/11/2021

It works.

Pros

No on-prem to deal with. Pretty GUI that also I don't have to deal with.

Cons

Starting to get fragmented with different pricing tiers.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

It works well

Reviewed on 13/08/2020

Pros

Ease of deployment and manageability from cloud

Cons

SAML v2 support is limited. Had to go over hoops to get stuff working.

Michael B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Good solution for MSPs

Reviewed on 07/10/2019

Pros

Integration with G Suite
Replacement for AD in small office environments
Adds needed security and management for clients that have never implemented AD

Cons

The pricing model has improved but can still be cost-prohibitive for small IT budget clients.

Andy D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

works well

Reviewed on 09/11/2021

Pros

makes integration of other products like docusign or zoho seamless

Cons

nothing worth mentioning - the software works as expected

Andreas P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer & Network Security
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Central Directory mgmt

Reviewed on 16/09/2019

system user management without AD!

Pros

one user management,
ability to use as system users

Cons

price raises rapidly when using more then 1 service and more then 10 users.

Alternatives Considered

Centrify Identity Service and OneLogin

Reasons for Switching to JumpCloud Directory Platform

integration en use of system users
Christopher C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Networking
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

A suitable replacement for a DC in a small environment

Reviewed on 07/10/2019

Very good low-cost replacement for a domain controller for small businesses.

Pros

Very easy to use. Great support. Works as advertised. Able to use on Mac and Windows

Cons

Wish they had more functionality, and two-factor authentication.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Revolutionary

Reviewed on 13/09/2019

Pros

Running a small business , this sort of thing is the last thing on your mind. JumpCloud has helped us on/off board staff members easier, quicker and more securely and has allowed us to unbind from expensive hardware that required painful maintenance!

Cons

I'd love to be able to white label the login screen, but thats a selfish desire. I'm only really putting that there though because the cons is a mandatory field. JumpCloud is great!

Peter C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Would recommend to any organization

Reviewed on 07/10/2019

We are solving issues with applying group policy and adding users to small busiensses that do not employ AD

Pros

The product is quick and responsive. Streamlines and adds AD like features to small businesses with no need or desire to implement AD

Cons

Need more policies added. The permissions and systems menus can be convoluted, but with a bit of use it gets easier.

William S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

JumCloud Saves Time and Secures

Reviewed on 09/11/2021

Pros

The software saves lots of time and works on all platform including Linux

Cons

The main website dashboard has lots of settings and some are not obvious to find.

Andreas A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Amazing service

Reviewed on 09/11/2021

Super easy to make everything works in a few minutes
Admin panel give you anything in a very clear way.

Pros

Easy integration with my UniFi (UID) service
Amazing UI and perfect documentation.

Cons

The ui is also a strong and also the whole onboard process.