Forecast

4.5 (53)
A full-suite alternative to point project mgmt solutions

Overall rating

4.5 /5
(53)
Value for Money
4.4/5
Features
4.4/5
Ease of Use
4.3/5
Customer Support
4.6/5

94%
recommended this app

53 Software options

Dan O.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Industrial Automation
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great tool for complex business model

Reviewed on 11/11/2019

From day 1 the experience with the Forecast tool and the Forecast team has been excellent. Its clear that this is by no means a finished product which gives us users the flexibility to request new features with the knowledge we will be listened to.
I look forward to a long relationship with the Forecast team

Pros

Constant and quick feature releases
Listen to feedback and make updates based on customers needs
Great performance
very easy to use
Jira integration is fantastic
Lots of work done to improve the cost tracking and financial/budget elements
Great communications and availability of Forecast team

Cons

Forecast initially catered for a very specific agency type business model that didn't fit with relayrs business model however through constant improvements and feedback the tool is getting closer to what is expected

Alternatives Considered

monday.com, Trello, Confluence, Jira and Smartsheet

Switched From

Smartsheet

Reasons for Switching to Forecast

It scored the highest against all the criteria in our RFP process
Rajwant B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Easy to use software

Reviewed on 08/11/2019

Pros

With other PM type software, they can be clunky and difficult to use. I like how Forecast is intuitive, fast and most importantly, fun to use. When completing tasks, you get an avatar popping up telling you great job which is fund.

Cons

There are a few bugs that need to be worked out with Gitlab syncing tasks to Forecast. More importantly, Gitlab uses markdown which Forecast would sometimes strip when it would sync a task.

Bruno C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

I tryed almost 50 tools before choose "Forecast" to work

Reviewed on 30/01/2019

After try almost 50 tools of "project management", "work management" (really, 50 tools, seriously), I chose "Forecast". It just makes sense. My team love it. The cost worth it.

Pros

- Beautiful, fast and easy to use interface.
- The mix of Kanban and SCRUM just makes sense.
- The way I track the work, attach files, and so on, everything works fine

Cons

- The mobile app has a lot of limitations, and there are a lot of features that only can be made in the browser interface.

Alexis S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Forecast helped us get organized.

Reviewed on 08/11/2019

Pros

The workflow view was helpful to our web developers because they were used to using that type of system. The benefit Forecast provided our team was coupling that feature with the ability to manage general traffic flow, work accountability and timelines for projects.

Cons

We experienced a few bugs with browser compatibility and Google docs. The reporting structure is also not as robust for the reports we need to generate for internal review and our clients.

Alternatives Considered

monday.com, Jira and Teamwork
François D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Forecast is a very great tool to organize yourself.

Reviewed on 06/06/2018

Forecast is a very great tool to organize yourself, especially in an agency with multiple projects and the need to have a control on planning and costs.

Pros

Forecast is really good to keep a planning on tracks and to have a view of your costs during the project.

Cons

With Forecast, you need to be very organized and the software is challenging because you can't start if you don't know what you are doing.

Samuel P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Resource management and scheduling for studio projects

Reviewed on 05/02/2019

Couldn't recommend highly enough

Pros

Powerful reporting - easy to see where projects are over/under spending
Fantastic UX with many control points throughout the software
Provides a top level view of available resources per staff member
Allows both retainer and project based scheduling
Best in industry customer support

Cons

Perhaps a little difficult to grasp initially, however this is offset with excellent one-to-one customer support
Project / Task timer interface needs a little improvement

Michelle C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Media Production
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Good for project management

Reviewed on 27/07/2021

Pros

I used this tool for a while and really enjoyed the experience. It helped me to save time and I could keep track of the many projects the team had and prioritize them. Very suitable as well if there is a variety of projects and you need some organization.

Cons

It's not convenient when it comes to large projects that require a long period of time and there is a limit when you want to add notes.

Jens G.
Overall rating
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Smooth, some hick-ups here and there.

Reviewed on 29/05/2018

Pros

The extensive overview over the time spent. Assignment of individuals to tasks. Seamless cross-platform interaction.

Cons

Stability is an issue at times. Navigating through various elements of the app in search of where you need to be can be problematic at first.

Paul W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Forecast.app Admin / User

Reviewed on 08/11/2019

Pros

It is really easy to use and to get the hang of it. After setting up a full project or using it for a month you can practically become an expert.

Cons

The reporting is a bit lacking. Some improvements could be made here where you can use time filters to filter more on the graphs and charts opposed to looking at the full project. THis is one of our needs as we have clients on a "Support Contract" basis so the project will always be ongoing.

Julison M.
Overall rating
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Excellent UX, need some improvements on features

Reviewed on 06/10/2017

Better timesheet control, by card and by project.

Pros

Easy of use. Every feature available has a polished UX, that is simple, fast and clean. The way you create a project and associate cards (task) makes our job easier.

Cons

There are some features that I really missed: more reports, more flexibility on rates. Sometimes I need to export csv file just to combine with other information that's already in Forecast.

Gordon H.
Overall rating
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Really good software

Reviewed on 22/05/2018

increased staff efficiency , better communication with clients and delivering projects smoother within budgets

Pros

I trailed around 7/8 different project management softwares over a 6-month period, the main problem was i needed both project management and resource management which proved really hard to find. Either one was good at one and not the other etc but finding forecast really dealt with all my needs and although its taken 6 months to get all the data in and staff using effectively, the benefits have been fantastic. Projects are running smoother and we can control the budgets better.

Cons

There isnt much i find wrong with this software and the team are really good at taking on board our ideas and requests, i think the scheduling could be improved a little, but the forecast team are always looking to improve on a great product and im sure they will continue to improve.

Vimal P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Big Fan of Forecast

Reviewed on 25/06/2020

Working with Forecast has been absolutely delightful. Inga our support / account manager is so good at explaining and getting more out of Forecast. Just based on this I would highly recommend Forecast

Pros

As a business owner, Forecast gives me real time project information and gives great insight on project include on time and on budget!

Cons

It's a lot to get your head around in one hit, but over the course of a few months everything starts to make sense.

Raya S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great Experience So Far

Reviewed on 13/11/2019

The team at Forecast have been and continue to be a dream to deal with. They have already shown their willingness to implement some of the ideas and missing functionality we were looking for even though we have not yet taken up the product and are still making decisions. I am confident if we did go ahead with Forecast our voice would be heard and they would work with us to get the platform in place and implemented in a smooth, friendly, and professional manner, which has been my experience to date. [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] in particular has been extremely helpful with no question / ask of us being too much trouble.

Pros

The software is very intuitive, user-friendly and the look and feel is simple and gives the clearest view of the studio, who is available, who has time, who does not and what are they working on.
The project set-up, platform for scoping and the ability to set each team with their own capacity is brilliant and only compliments an already great offering in the world of team, project and capacity management.

Cons

I don't have any negatives just now, but we are in an extended trial period and so we are still decision making on whether or not this will be the right tool for our purpose.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

I actually enjoy doing my timesheets

Reviewed on 14/06/2019

it is great to have individual task commenting. keeps the slack channels clean from mulitple project specific topics. It helps bridge the gap between PM's, designers and developers.

Pros

Timesheets are beautifully layed out, easy to add to (even from within tasks) and easy to add notes to specific tasks.

Predictive tasks when adding to timesheets is great.
Filters on project pages to see only your tasks, or only certain tasks filtered by tags is neat.

Nice integrations and full REST API is a nice addition. have yet to experiment with it, but could hold some awesome potential for custom integrations.

Cons

Because it is still a heavily developing application the UI changes every so often so you have to re-familiarise yourself with how it works.

Jon T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Brilliant and Intuitive Product

Reviewed on 03/04/2020

Fantastic. The customer service has been tremendous. A pleasure to deal with.

Pros

Simple, straightforward and easy to implement. Intuitive, thoughtful layout and architecture that is seamless and easy to use. No need for timely project management investment or to rework agency structure to fit the tool. A perfect solution.

Cons

Could be opportunity to improve UX for project or task briefing similar to that of Monday.com. But it's not a huge issue. For non-billable time. On the Budget section for projects, it would be nice if there could be totals for each Milestone across the lifespan of the project instead of a lump total. This would improve the experience for us.

Stéphane C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Forecast - Awesome product!

Reviewed on 29/01/2019

Pros

Ease of use for entering time. Information is easily accessible.

Cons

Nothing comes to my mind, except maybe improving the "Clock" feature, as I tend to forget it's running (maybe leveraging desktop notifications would help).

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

They have a huge potential

Reviewed on 06/09/2018

Pros

It has features that I couldn't find in any other service. Such as being able to manage reasorces across multiple projects, but not just by task also in high level

Cons

Not fully "baked" yet. A lot of small bugs and missing some small nice to have features

Trina V.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Government Administration
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Complete and professional tool for e manage projects

Reviewed on 21/04/2019

Has everything needed to develop, planning and control any kind of projects within the organization

Pros

This easy-to-use tool makes the project team incorporate very quickly to use the software and share detailed information about tasks and activities in a very clear way during project lifecycle.

Cons

So far I have not had problems with the tool

Brian S.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Forecast has given my team visibility into resource management like we've never had before!

Reviewed on 13/03/2018

So far Forecast has addressed most of my company's requests for new features and functionality and made them part of the system.

Pros

The tool we used before didn't have any forecasting features our company needed. I really like the Time feature because it is simple, fast, and intuitive to use. I can easily see my projects, cards, and enter my time all in one view. It's always difficult switching systems after so many years, but I can instantly see the benefits of using Forecast as a sophisticated, easy-to-use platform. Forecast does a great job at tailoring to fit our company's needs and taking our feedback requests seriously.

Felix C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Forecast as personal task management

Reviewed on 14/11/2019

Very good, and it is clear that the product is being worked on.

Both through updates by e-mail and seeing new functions being added.

Pros

Ease of use and clear overviews.

The design is very clean and the UX is topnotch.

Cons

It is a bit fixated on certain aspects.
Instead of being focused on projects,
a focus on clients would be nice as an alternaive.

This is not a minus if all your work is project-based.

Guilherme B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Facilitated company processes

Reviewed on 18/11/2019

It is an enjoyable experience, it made some company processes very easy and unbureaucratic, we have much more visibility of the projects and it unified some tasks that were made separately.

Pros

The ease of use to create tasks, manage hours spent on projects and have a centralized way to cast hours.

Cons

Some tools apparently have the same functionality and its not easy (as the other features) to design sprints and have visibility of them.

Aaron K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civil Engineering
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Easy to use once you get the hang of it

Reviewed on 26/07/2019

Great to actually see my own personal management plan instead of just milestones in a diary. Also easy for my superiors to see who is over/under allocated with workload at a glance.

Pros

Good easy to understand visuals with plenty of colour ques. Easy to manipulate timeframes and shuffle tasks with only a few mouse clicks.

Cons

Took a little bit of playing around to figure out the best way to use it for me. Multiple different ways of doing the same thing was a little daunting at first but now I've figured out the way I like to work it.

Alessia A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The best team management tool so far

Reviewed on 06/06/2018

I can track my time in an amazing way and have all the information I need at hand for each task and also for every project

Pros

I have been a TFS user for years and never found a better management tool until I found Forecast. It is the clearest tool on the market so far, easy to use, full of functionalities. There's a lot o pros to it:

- highly customizable
-the time recording is amazing
-comments and subtasks on cards are awesome
-you can also tag other members of the team if you want them to read something

Cons

-when i record time, the record pop up is too small for the tasks names in the select
-i'd like a clearer way to mark done subtasks rather than a checkbox

Rebecca C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Good for project collaboration

Reviewed on 11/02/2019

It helps team members see their tasks and update the progress easily.

Pros

Timeline showing progress of all projects in one screen;
Kanban board showing project tasks;
To-do list;
Compare budget and expense.

Cons

Collaborator cannot see "Scoping" page;
Cannot relate parent task with sub-tasks which have been split to new task;
Cannot define Project Stage by user;
Same set of Labels are commonly used in different fields, causing users hard to choose, and the labels become meaningless.

Christina C.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Intuitive Platform with Amazing Support

Reviewed on 15/05/2018

Pros

The flexibility for each team member to take ownership of their schedule. And the regular updates for features, and response from the support team.

Cons

Missing some features we would like to see such as the time entry exporting. But the team are very responsive to feature requests.