Synergy

Business and project management software for AEC businesses

Overall rating

4.4 /5
(22)
Value for Money
4.2/5
Features
4.2/5
Ease of Use
3.8/5
Customer Support
4.5/5

100%
recommended this app
Sort by

22 Reviews

Ari
Overall rating
  • Industry: Architecture & Planning
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

An efficient program for businesses of all sizes

Reviewed on 11/07/2023

Overall very happy.

Overall very happy.

Pros

Before I set up my business I had discussed program integration with my accountant in order to create a seemless process for both parties. This allows my tracking to be transparent which in turn allows the accounting side to work in unison without fault. This is what I like most about Synergy. No fuss.

Cons

As it is a one-stop shop for a business, from workflow management to business management, it can take some getting used to as there are quite a few moving pieces. But once you get a hang of it you can't really do without it.

Alternatives Considered

Timely, monday.com, Asana and Monograph

Reasons for Switching to Synergy

Its integration with Xero and because my accountant seemed to understand it aswell.
Sarah
Sarah
Overall rating
  • Industry: Architecture & Planning
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

A solid option for your growing business

Reviewed on 02/11/2023

Synergy allows us to track our time more effectively and handle client requests with greater speed.

Synergy allows us to track our time more effectively and handle client requests with greater speed.

Pros

The ability to see exactly what time and bills are assigned to each invoice is amazing, and really helped the architects understand what my accounting department does.

Cons

The integration with QuickBooks in the US needs some work. This remains a pain point for us. Bills have to be entered twice, and that's time we can't use for something better.

Alternatives Considered

Deltek Ajera and FreshBooks

Reasons for Choosing Synergy

A clunky user interface made working in the program difficult, and sunsetting support just put a deadline on the process.

Reasons for Switching to Synergy

A sleek look and feel made the architects happy to use it, which is half the battle!
Barnaby
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Suggested Timesheet Improvements

Reviewed on 15/06/2023

Pros

It is useful to track work and assess workload of the team.

Cons

- The timer option in the time sheets has the potential to be much more useful. The timer could directly fill in the time sheet, in addition to what is already in that task to that dat. Then the timer would be a much more useful function (at least the option for this to be the case).- In the time sheets, there should be the option to copy and paste tasks (not the times) from previous weeks, to save having to fill it in each week when the project is ongoing. There should also be the option to copy and paste the tasks on the same week to be able to make minor changes, so one does not need to fill it in from the top down each time. These can be applied to both the time sheets and the expenses.

Eloise
Overall rating
  • Industry: Architecture & Planning
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Helpful Customer Service

Reviewed on 19/01/2024

Pros

I like the live chat option where I can speak to an agent / not and AI and get real life responses and solutions

Cons

The interface can feel a bit overwhelming

Renee
Overall rating
  • Industry: Architecture & Planning
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Highly Recommend

Reviewed on 17/05/2023

Pros

Synergy is very user friendly, the ease of the financial management of projects is a very positive feature. The dashboard is informative at a glance and the analytics side of the program is useful for Directors and Administrators.

Cons

There isn't currently a function to include billing entities under a parent company, however I am hoping this is on the list for a future Synergy roll out.

Tresca
Overall rating
  • Industry: Architecture & Planning
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

"Real Time" Accurate Project Data

Reviewed on 01/06/2023

We can schedule and revenue in one system, slowly ridding the business of unnecessary spreadsheets....

We can schedule and revenue in one system, slowly ridding the business of unnecessary spreadsheets. We can constantly improve and deepen our use of the system AND are supported to do so by our customer support team.

Pros

We love that TS Synchs with our Financial System, this saves the business countless hours in double handling, so much more efficient and accurate. We love the UI, it's so user friendly and also that it's possible to have multiple screens open at once.

Cons

Reporting is fiddly, but then it is in every system that is managing so much data. Takes time to get it right but, will all the fantastic real time support, this is completely achievable.

Nicole
Overall rating
  • Industry: Architecture & Planning
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

6 years in to our Synergy experince

Reviewed on 28/08/2023

We are six years in and have not found an alternative that is comparable for our architectural...

We are six years in and have not found an alternative that is comparable for our architectural business needs. At times it can very frustrating to use, if for example the functionality or customization is lacking. That said synergy has changed and developed with our business over that time.

Pros

Ability to plan and track all our projects in place.

Cons

Some of the features are lacking or clunky to use.

Richa
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civil Engineering
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

A great tool for Project and Business Management

Reviewed on 16/03/2023

very satisfied, does what we bought it for.

very satisfied, does what we bought it for.

Pros

Reports and ease of use (great GUI). Various tools and dashboard make it easy to get a snapshot of the whole business or your own projects, which is very useful. Timesheets management is much easier than some other products as well.

Cons

some bugs here and there, also add-on modules are a bit expensive

Tim
Overall rating
  • Industry: Architecture & Planning
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

The More we use it the better it is.

Reviewed on 27/11/2023

getting my head around the online version finally after many years using the old version.

getting my head around the online version finally after many years using the old version.

Pros

As we explore its feature we are finding more and more benefits.

Cons

Some of the parts are a little clunky with the editing around forecasting and scheduling

Tate
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civil Engineering
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Very handy project management

Reviewed on 27/11/2023

Pros

I appreciate the strong customer support and project management layout

Cons

Document template accessibility, really should be easier to use for Users, as well as edit for Admins

Anne
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civil Engineering
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Its getting there

Reviewed on 15/03/2023

Not bad. As a long term user that moved from V4 Desktop in Sept 2022, there are still things to...

Not bad. As a long term user that moved from V4 Desktop in Sept 2022, there are still things to learn. Some features are good, some need work

Pros

The ability to invoice directly from Synergy, picking up WIP and being able to either bill the WIP as is or allocate a fixed cost

Cons

The invoicing bookmarks need work and the ability to customise a lot more

Jamila
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civil Engineering
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Jam's Review

Reviewed on 06/11/2023

Pros

Customizability, Functionality and Flexibility

Cons

Complexity and Unfriendly User-interface

Phil
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

One of the best software packages we have ever bought

Reviewed on 11/02/2018

Pros

Excellent tool for tracking time and invoicing. Payed for itself in first couple of years with amount of otherwise lost time that was able to be invoiced.

Cons

Resource management is a bit cumbersome and as a consequence we have not implemented this function. Some of the terminology used in the costing functions takes a while to get used to.

Swapnil
Overall rating
  • Industry: Architecture & Planning
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great tool for managing multiple projects and people in a team!

Reviewed on 11/07/2023

The overall experience is great as it provides great value compared to some pricier products used...

The overall experience is great as it provides great value compared to some pricier products used by us in the past.

Pros

The timesheet adding, project information including contacts and ability to share documents directly from one platform is very helpful.

Cons

I think some PIM tasks like email filing and searching folders should be incorporated into this package as done by Deltek.

Sriniklesh
Overall rating
  • Industry: Architecture & Planning
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Why Synergy?

Reviewed on 25/01/2022

Pros

- One place to synchronies work flow
- File sharing and account tracking with other organizations
- Timesheet recording

Cons

- Needs a bit of learning curve and initial training required
- When files shared, the provided Transmittal has the files list in unorganized by title name

Marek
Overall rating
  • Industry: Architecture & Planning
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Why Synergy

Reviewed on 18/07/2023

As a user generally happy with what we do.

As a user generally happy with what we do.

Pros

Easy to use. Clear interface. It was generally painless experience moving to synergy end of last year.

Cons

Project analysis - need looking at and few items need improvement.

Veronica
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civil Engineering
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

New to Synergy

Reviewed on 28/06/2023

We like that we can see the WIP and also manage staff time

We like that we can see the WIP and also manage staff time

Pros

Project Management and invoicing all in one as well as scheduling

Cons

Hard to say as we are still in the learning stages, so can't criticise anything yet.

Bridie
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Making My Job Easier

Reviewed on 04/04/2023

Pros

I like the ease of invoicing on Synergy.

Cons

I am finding reporting on Synergy quite difficult, though I am being helped by your online customer service. Hopefully my skills will improve over time.

Ruby
Overall rating
  • Industry: Architecture & Planning
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Helpful

Reviewed on 14/03/2023

Helps with resourcing

Helps with resourcing

Pros

Resourcing is robust, areas to improve. visuals are great.

Cons

Timesheets need to total better, resource planning page link project timing with view of people, reports are very complicated and not user friendly

Griffin
Overall rating
  • Industry: Environmental Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Total Synergy

Reviewed on 30/01/2024

Pros

Its ability to monitor and track multiple different projects across all their differing stages of completion.

Cons

Only used Synergy for a short amount of time so no negatives so far.

Kanishk
Overall rating
  • Industry: Architecture & Planning
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Synergy has been good!

Reviewed on 20/08/2023

Generally positive

Generally positive

Pros

That the new version is cloud based and hence less clunky. Easy user interface

Cons

Some features are missing, but thats understandable as its fairly new still.

David
Overall rating
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

This is a detail oriented excellent Project Management Software.

Reviewed on 06/04/2018

This is a very detail oriented Project Management software.

This is a very detail oriented Project Management software.

Pros

I really like the level of detail available on this software. It has WBS breakdown, customer portal, and a very nice dashboard. There is a banner across the top which contains very useful information.

Cons

This is a very comprehensive software the only thing that would be nice is a dedicated area to manage risks or at least and issue tracker.