Showing 114 reviews of 102

Simio

Facility design simulation & production scheduling

4.7 /5 (102 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

4.7 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
98%
recommended this app
Showing 114 reviews of 102
Samridh S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Makes Simulation fun and easy

Reviewed on 05/04/2019

Simio is an extremely powerful tool and it really makes one's life so much easier for simulations. Simio also does have a workbook that has lot of exercises that one can go through and learn a lot about the software. Once one has their head grasped around the concept, this software can save time, money, effort and provide accuracy.

Pros

I absolutely love using Simio. It is such a powerful tool and it makes sense why the premium paid version is so expensive. However the biggest pro I see is that there is a free version that can be used which can help one understand the world of simulation. Simio has everything one needs to perform the complicated simulation process that otherwise would require us to write 100s of lines of code and make debugging difficult and daunting. I have been using Simio to do various distribution simulations such as uniform, exponential, triangular and so on and I don;t have to think how to do random number generation. Simio has so much more tool such as I love the reliability function where i can define what are likelihood of a machine failing and how much it would affect my throughput and productivity due to the varying repair times. The best part of Simio is that you can see the live simulation of your system in real time. Create a simulation for a M/M/1 queuing system to replicate a ice-cream store and watch how your customers arrival and service times affects your business. Fun part of simio is one can actually assing model entities with actual people and replace boxes with actual images which makes the presentation part of your system more engaging with the team. if you are a simulation guy/girl/business this software has everything one needs to validate, verify the architecture and answer questions that is not possible to be solved analytically.

Cons

It is lot of work to learn this software and there are not much resources online readily available. Most resources are integrated to Simio and so looking at videos provided by Simio and reading the help section is the way to go. The free software however cannot simulate really huge simulation system and at that point one needs to purchase the paid version. getting around the software is daunting and there are lot of aspects one needs to know to figure out how to create their system.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Very Powerful Simulation Software

Reviewed on 30/07/2018

Pros

This software has been the full package for me, providing the functions, details, and support required to build advanced simulations.

Cons

If anything I woudl say that the biggest issue is that the program is so robust that I required an extensive in-service to learn my way through it, difficult to self-start.

Danial M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Simio is not exactly what we expected but gives more than anticipated

Reviewed on 20/06/2018

Simio certainly delivey more realistic results than the simple spread-sheet based calculations we used previously, however you really need to invest a vast amount of effort in the model to be able to get an accurate and believable result.

Pros

The program gives an incredible amount of information and is far more accurate than the spread-sheet based caclulations we used in the past.

Cons

Setup of a true working model is very complicated and terribly time consuming. This is not a simple "drop in a box or two to make a production line and there it works" type of program, you need to invest the time using accurate input information in order to be able develop a true working model. Thereafter you need to keep updating your models in order to keep them relevant.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Airlines/Aviation
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Versatile and easy to learn simulation tool in market

Reviewed on 27/06/2018

Able to simulate and assess "what-if" scenarios for complex airline operations for understanding investment benefits, operational bottlenecks, and potential benefits of process improvements.

Pros

Enterprise team version allows us to have multiple users with limited amount of license; Easy to integrate with Excel for data input and output

Cons

Marginally on the higher side of memory intensive application; does not have/limited option/APIs to use the simulation engine outside of the SIMIO application.

Matthew S.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Simio Software and Risk-based Planning and Scheduling (RSP)

Reviewed on 15/09/2015

Deciding which type of simulation software for a business to purchase can be an extremely difficult decision. Being faced with this decision we began to investigate and compare simulation software packages available on the market. After comparison, Simio was the clear choice for our business. Although most simulation software packages are extremely difficult and confusing to learn, Simio's many resources make learning and mastering the software easy. Most noteworthy is the video tutorials provided which made the transition to Simio painless. Ultimately the decision to choose Simio was made based on the functionality of the software and the ability to accurately and quickly model real world systems for the purposes of finding solutions. Simio's 3D modeling abilities are unmatched by any other software packages available. Simio is quick and easy in the 3D department and compared to others is much less time consuming for similar 3D animations. With that said, the 3D modeling is generally a non-value added task and we were more focused on the software's modeling abilities. Simio's add-in packages operate flawlessly with OptQuest being the one we utilize the most. The customer support at Simio is outstanding too. I reached out to Simio when modeling a complex transit system this past year and they were able to identify my error and provided a fix the same day.

We recently decided to expand our abilities with the usage of Simio's Risk-based Planning and Scheduling. After watching roughly 11 videos about 10 minutes each, Simio's RPS was easily incorporated into a previous manufacturing process project. Adapting the previous project slightly was straightforward and surprisingly resulted in the RPS being setup almost automatically. The ability to incorporate the complexities of variation into the RPS is what makes this such an advantageous tool and also what separates it from others. Simio also offers an add-in package for the RPS, Wonderware MES which provides the real-time production data. Generating plans, evaluating risk, performing comparisons, and many other functions are available through Simio's RPS and we look forward to providing this to our clients. We give Simio our highest recommendation.

Mark E.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use

There is on other product on the market today that comes close to Simio.

Reviewed on 22/06/2018

Pros

It is at least 10 years ahead of flexsim, arena, Anylogic, or any other products. It's agent based modelling at it finest and the planning board is unrivalled.

Cons

Nothing. It is extremely comprehensive with ground breaking advances which are optimally positioned for industry 4.0

Luis R.
Overall rating
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The best Discrete Event Simulator

Reviewed on 13/03/2017

As a Professor, I have been using SIMIO. Simio is object oriented and easy to use in complex projects. The user interface and the capabilities to build sophisticated libraries are a big plus. In addition, the utilization by industry makes it a good Industrial Standard and a good line in any CV to look for a job in simulation. The capabilities to make your own libraries are very important to do research. The SIMIO team includes the recent advances in the theory of simulation in this tools and that makes it even more powerful.

Pros

Object Oriented
Easy to Use
Use by Industry

Suresh K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

University of Houston

Reviewed on 13/03/2017

I find Simio very powerful simulation language with lots of features. I taught ARENA and SIMAN prior to learning Simio three years ago. However, my students find it hard to learn how to model using Simio, especially advanced features (concept of Model vs Model Entity State Variables, tables and matrices). I have not mastered Scheduling part of Simio yet which I would like to teach in a Scheduling Theory course, one of these days.

Pros

Functionality and modeling flexibility.

Cons

Not easy to teach to my students, not easy to learn advanced features.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Oil & Energy
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great value and support

Reviewed on 23/06/2018

Simulation of workflow processes.

Pros

Users have been very satisfied with the ease of use and setup process. After a downturn we needed to get users back on and the sales team made it very simple to onboard our users.

Cons

At the moment we are ramping back up from a downturn. Since this is a niche product, finding other applications for current licenses has been a challenge.

Mike G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Solid software for standard simulation purposes with some nice features

Reviewed on 09/03/2017

Simio offers all standard and basic functionality for the most simulation purposes. It has nice featrues when loading data from foreign systems into the internal table structure.
Sometimes, it would be good to have something like a script language to provide user specific actions in a simple way rather than using the graphical process view, which gets sometimes very complicated.

Pros

Nice internal table structure and connection to the model entities
Fast start and use in standard simulation problems

Cons

Graphical "programming" of user code sometimes get very complicated, a scripüt language support would be very helpful

Amarnath B.
Overall rating
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Simio has a number of great features for advanced modeling. Support is exceptional

Reviewed on 19/06/2018

Pros

Advanced modeling constructs. Exceptional support. Regularly adds new features. Great user support group.

Cons

Need a Mac and Linux version. Would be great to have programming interface with R and python. Simio when deployed in a virtual environment is very sluggish (at least the set up in our university).

Adrian M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Simio provides a great simulation tool

Reviewed on 13/03/2017

I came to Simio whilst looking to re-engage with simulation. As a previous user of other simulation software packages I have found Simio very easy to work with although there is a bit more "programming" and other nuances to master when compared to some other packages. Despite this I have found it easy to create some quite complex scenarios and obtain some very useful data that I would not have otherwise been able to get. The support team are great and very friendly and over all I find the package excellent. I would certainly recommend this to others.

Pros

Intuitive, good graphics, simple to use once you have understood some of the quirks regarding work centre programming.

Cons

The reports have too much information (pivot tables) and I have yet to work out how to isolate specific work centres at specific times. Thus it is difficult to pin down where WIP is gathering sometimes. This is probably due to my relative inexperience with the software.

Xiaojun S.
Overall rating
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

I supervised graduae students conducting research projects using Simio

Reviewed on 23/04/2018

Simio has been greatly improving our research outputs and soliciting more research projects.

Pros

Simio provides great animation and is relatively easy to learn. Once you signed up for Simio newsletters, they will deliver emails regularly to inform you of interesting events.

Cons

It might not be a limitation of SImio but rather my unfamiliarity with that function. I know Arena can be integrated with optimization tools. I hope Simio has similar functionalities and promote it.

Surapong S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great Simulation Package

Reviewed on 14/03/2017

I have used Simio for almost 2 months. It is by far the easiest simulation package that can do 2D and 3D animation. Simio is also very easy to simulate a queuing system and easy to export the result in csv format. One noticeable drawback is the default value that Simio record was not consistent with the meaning of analytical model. For example, when I define maximum system capacity, the recorded value after simulation run seemed to go over the defined parameter. Thus, I've got to define my own state variable to record what I need (number in the system). BTW, I haven't tried the movable resource and many features yet, so couldn't write a review about it. However, if I have to model those other features, I will write a review some more.

Pros

easy to do 2D and 3D animation.

Cons

the meaning of the recorded values from simulation may be defined differently from analytical model.

Ana rosa T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Recommended Simulator

Reviewed on 13/03/2017

My team and me are teaching simulation with SIMIO because is friendly and very powerfull. Students understand software quickly an also, a posgraduate student made his Magister Thesis in quality engineering with a simulation as tool to predict behavior. He learned quickly and SIMIO was a useful tool to his work.

Pros

Is friendly and powerful

Cons

SIMIO hasn`t Analysis of Variance in its modules. So it is necessary to export data to statistical software to analize results.

Dominic B.
Overall rating
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Great tool that is easy to use for many applications

Reviewed on 19/06/2018

Pros

Very easy to get started and model most simulation-related processes quickly. Users like the customizable entities and integration of downloadable 3D models to make the visualization very realistic.

Cons

Data import of large data sets with many different attributes is limited by the current interface. Customizing entity flow is only possible to some extent.

Luis R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civil Engineering
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

A great tool for Decisión Making

Reviewed on 13/03/2017

I have used SIMIO ofr the last 8 years. It has improved a lot and, at this time, I think is the best simulation software.
As a profesor and a researcher, my students and I take advantage of its flexibility, easy of use, and performance.
Great job guys.

Pros

easy of use

Cons

a bigger library and the possibility of integrating all simulaiton paradigms

Maria S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Textiles
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Other for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

For industry

Reviewed on 10/03/2020

i just try once but i like a lot my experience with Simio

Pros

Very easy to use
perfect for simulations
we can use a free version
instructions and tools that provide an easier use
Good Customer care

Cons

paid version is too expensive
no version for MAC
more slow for complex simulations
i don't find any other disadvantage

David S.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Flexiblility to deal with hard to schedule domains.

Reviewed on 25/08/2015

Uses a simulation model to accurately represent the complexities important to your domain.
Includes comprehensive and interactive reporting.
Features risk analysis to tell you how likely you are to meet a schedule and provide an objective way to compare alternatives.
Includes 2D and 3D animation to help understand and communicate the solution.
Uses the power of the cloud (Azure) to run and distribute the schedules.

Patrick L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Logistics & Supply Chain
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Very good simulation software

Reviewed on 13/03/2017

I have experience with Simio as well as with SIMUL8, AnyLogic and Stella. I appreciate the way Simio handles scenarios/experiments.

Pros

Very intuitive, good user interface.

Cons

I would appreciate having such a simulation software (or at least a good part of it) on iOS with iPad.

Yousif M.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

mydrYAMeview

Reviewed on 08/03/2017

Simio is an excellent simulation software, especially for teaching simulation courses. With a grant from Simio to use the software, I think I had made the right choice to use Simio in my Business Simulation class

Mayra sareth T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

I KNOW ABOUT SIMIO

Reviewed on 02/08/2018

THE SOFTWARE WAS OF GREAT HELP FOR THE SIMULATION OF THE ASSEMBLY OF PANELS USED IN THE CONSTRUCTION INDUSTRY, WHICH CONCEBED TO ACHIEVE A MORE EFFICIENT PRODUCTION AND COST REDUCTION.

Pros

I LIKED TOO MUCH THAT YOU CAN SEE THE GRAPHICS WHILE IT IS PROGRAMMED

Cons

IT IS A VERY EXPENSIVE SOFTWARE. I DID NOT LOVE THE PATS ARE PREDEFINED.

Tian mu L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great simulation software and improving

Reviewed on 09/10/2018

Pros

Easy to use, more features getting added

Cons

Not enough people using it so there is not a lot of forum support outside of Simio

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Good for simulation and projection

Reviewed on 02/04/2019

My overall experience with Simio is satisfactory.

Pros

The software works fast. You can get results within minutes with a decent computing machine.

Cons

The drawing interface can be improved by putting necessary shortcuts.