Reckon One

3.9 (13)
Online accounting software for SMBs to analyze finances

Overall rating

3.9 /5
(13)
Value for Money
3.9/5
Features
3.7/5
Ease of Use
3.5/5
Customer Support
3.4/5

77%
recommended this app

13 Software options

Kim C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Reckon One, a reliable and cost effective software

Reviewed on 09/12/2019

Reckon One has been great for me, if I forget to invoice someone, doesn't matter where I am as long as I have internet, I can access my Book.

Pros

I like the how much you can get out of it for the price, compared to others in the market. It is easy to correct errors and has all the reports you need for small business, and has unlimited users. I also love that Reckon One is Australian Owned.

Cons

Some of the functions are aren't quite there, needs an on screen calculator for one.

Wayne V.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Online Media
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Straight forward basic bookkeeping at a bargain price!

Reviewed on 19/07/2017

Cost effective simple straight forward accounting software for Australian Businesses. Excellent for startups.

Pros

Bargain price for a freelance business. Easily integrate with your bank accounts for easy bank reconciliation. Great Dashboard for quick critical information.

Cons

Not many integrations, lack of detailed user guide for setting up extra modules within the software.

Nick V.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Consumer Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Review Source

Overall rating

Reviewed on 10/08/2018

Erica N.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great Accounting Solution for small businesses

Reviewed on 16/03/2020

Pros

I would say affordability then ease of use. Since my business is still growing I had to switch to this product from another one and I haven't regretted. Invoicing has never been easier.

Cons

I am yet to see anything I don't like about this product

Don J.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great value Financial product for small business

Reviewed on 29/11/2016

I switched from on MYOB to Reckon One. I was a customer of MYOB for over 20 years. Each year they continued to increase the yearly premium. Last year it was over 900.00. For a small business with a few employees, this was just outrageous. After reviewing Reckon one, I found it would do all MYOB was doing for me at 11.00 a month. They even would convert my MYOB file for nothing.
That was it. Decided to change over to Reckon One and have not looked back.
Been running it for a few months. Took a little to get used to but I've Done all the invoicing, has statements, accounting I need. Simply fantastic. Can even give my accountant a special login to do the yearly books.
I'd recommend anyone looking to change over to give it a try.

WILL SAVE YOU A PACKET

Pros

Functionality and price

Cons

Have a little bit of trouble doing bas and super payments

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civil Engineering
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Good software for point-of-sale businesses; less use for consulting

Reviewed on 28/10/2020

I liked Reckon One and would have stayed with it if I could have had a few more features relevant for consulting type businesses.

Pros

Easy to get the hang of even for someone with zero accounting background, like myself. Decent simple, intuitive features (mostly). Great dashboard.

Cons

The feature set is aimed at point-of-sale and online retail type businesses. As a consultant with a micro-business, my accounting needs are not great, but they are more complex than Reckon One could handle. I was going to need to purchase one of the top tier versions of Reckon just to do the few simple extras that I required.

Alternatives Considered

QuickBooks Desktop Enterprise, Xero and MYOB Business

Reasons for Choosing Reckon One

MYOB is expensive and I didn't need the name-brand experience or the ability to automate my accounting with the accountant

Switched From

MYOB Business

Reasons for Switching to Reckon One

Better price, better features, more intuitive, Australian based
Sharon L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Sports
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Monthly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Super Easy to Use

Reviewed on 03/12/2016

I am the treasurer for a not-for-profit sports club, so cheap was really important to us, along with only some very basic features. So far I have found Reckon One to be really easy to use and the customer service super, whenever I've become stuck.

Pros

easy to use
very cost effective

Cons

was told with the bank rec I could pick up payments and apply them - so I ditched that section as I'm not going to reconcile payments to invoices twice.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Was recommended to me, but...

Reviewed on 20/02/2020

I played around with the software and it is relatively easy to use.
I was hoping to have an onboarding call, as the system truly is feature-rich which makes it hard to really get started.
I wrote to support but did not get a reply.

Pros

Overall it looked very feature-rich. Truly, my accountant recommended it to me considering I needed something to manage my accounts.

Cons

I had a major deal-breaker is that ING bank did not have direct integration.
I use ING for all my business expenses because I work online, as they have zero international transaction fees.
So I am not about to move away.
But since there is no direct integration it makes it difficult to connect and make real use of the software.

Pauline K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great product and service

Reviewed on 29/11/2016

I have used many programs over the years like MYOB, Xero, Sassu, cashflow manager and quickbooks etc but I find Reckon One easy to use, monthly fee is very affordable, flexible to what your business requires, their training is very infromative, great trainers and not over the top in price and their service is extremely good. They are constantly upgrading and introducing more add on programs, I wouldn't recommend any other program for my clients only Reckon One.

Pros

User friendly and affordable

Cons

nothing at this stage

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

They did try

Reviewed on 11/03/2019

I really wanted Reckon one to shake up the market but all they did was shake up the user. I have been really disappointed with the performance (or lack of) with Reckon One. Their servers were slow making it painfully slow to try to use this software. I couldn't find repeating invoicing, or several other basics. They were full of hope and promises but just failed to deliver.

Pros

It did look cheap until you add up the cost of each module, then you realise, it's not cheap at all.

Cons

It's very late to market and decades behind the competition. It takes a lot of time and money to compete with the big boys and sadly this isn't something thatReckon One has.

It has very little basic functionality and sadly, very little prospect of developing even the basics, any time soon. It's not nice to use, it's clunky and awkward and just frustrates me.

Cameron G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Building Materials
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

Shake down

Reviewed on 13/10/2020

terrible

Pros

Sucked in by what appeared to be initial low cost.

Cons

once established we didn't want to proceed it was difficult to cancel without paying additional charges

Alternatives Considered

Xero

Reasons for Choosing Reckon One

cost

Switched From

Xero
Xanthe J.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Finance Management for Small Business

Reviewed on 06/06/2021

Pros

Easy to set up, very quick compared to the desktop version of Reckon.

Cons

Wouldn’t recommend the payroll application.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Defense & Space
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

accounting

Reviewed on 06/12/2019

once setup is great for BAS statement preparation every quarter

Pros

a very feature-rich piece of software which when setup provides a robust accounting experience for the small business

Cons

can be more expensive than others and has a steep learning curve for the novice or time-poor businessperson