Premier

4.6 (228)
Accounting & job costing software for contractors

Overall rating

4.6 /5
(228)
Value for Money
4.6/5
Features
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4.5/5
Customer Support
4.8/5

95%
recommended this app

228 Software options

Karen A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Jonas Premier software review

Reviewed on 25/11/2019

For the owner of the company, the benefit of working with Jonas Premier is significant. The data I post translates to a comprehensive project overview for him to immediately know that projects are meeting budget and profitability targets. Understanding that and learning how to provide the information within Jonas Premier was a challenge initially but well worth the time invested to become proficient in the use of the software. Without the help of the support team at Jonas Premier, I'm not sure I'd be saying that - they are awesome!

Pros

Jonas is incredibly robust, especially for anyone in the construction industry. The multitude of project reports in Jonas Premier allows you to completely understand the profitability of projects (in real time and with the ability to drill down in problem areas) and to quickly make adjustments. When you're dealing with multi million dollar projects, the ability to pivot quickly is critical for ensuring you're meeting your anticipated profitability.

The support team at Jonas is amazing! Whenever I'd encounter a process that I wasn't familiar with or something didn't seem to be working the way I anticipated, they were quick to provide information and support documentation that would help me to better understand.

Cons

Jonas as more of a learning curve than I'd anticipated. While it follows all accounting principles, usability is not quite as easy as Quickbooks - nor should it be, as Jonas has far more features for project management! But once I had worked with the software for a couple of months and understood the processes for dealing with changes in distribution or reversing journal entries, everything made far more sense. I now consider myself fairly fluent in Jonas Premier and prefer working in it over other accounting programs I've used.

Joel B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great software with easy to use interface

Reviewed on 02/06/2020

Really great software that has allowed our accounting and PM teams to communicate and collaborate easier. Previously, i felt that both teams had their own "language". This program helps bridge that gap.
Also during the COVID crisis, software was immensely helpful in allowing us to work from home.

Pros

- Ease of Use
- Modern UI (i hated some software that looked like it was an updated DOS. This software has an almost gmail-life feel).
- good integration between accounting and pm tasks and responsibilities
- very good customer support. they are very responsive to our questions, and very open to suggestions.
- Ideas portal: separate software support & feedback where software developers actually listen to users and may incorporate our ideas into the next software update

Cons

- customer support time zone. software is located on North America eastern coast, so for me in california, there's only a 4 hour window or so when you can real-time discuss (via zoom, phone, etc).
- some accounting features not as strong as QB. (this is a good/bad kinda issue). bad in that one doesn't have the flexibility to make changes like one would in QB, but good in that it actually forces you to be more GAAP minded
- could use more out of the box accounting reports; and or report customatization (similar to QB)

Devorah T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Best Construction Accounting Software!!!

Reviewed on 02/12/2020

Pros

This software is the first of its kind to give us real time financial information on our projects and company as a whole. The Job Dashboard and Job Forecast screens are everyone's favorite. It shows you everything you need to know on the financial health of your project/budget at any given time and you can drill down into pretty much anything for more detail. Commitments and compliances are easily trackable and things like double entries are avoidable because payments are done directly out of the software. Premier's customer support is extremely responsive, helpful and knowledgeable and always offers solutions on how to best customize the software for our company's unique goals and objectives.

Cons

The software is not the easiest on the eyes and initially intimidates our project managers because it really looks and behaves like an accounting software. However, once the Project Managers learn the true capabilities of Premier, they are truly blown away. Would also be an added bonus if the software had more project management tools that are not related to the finances of the project.

Yitz L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Customer Service

Reviewed on 03/11/2020

Pros

I like most about Jonas Premier is that they are always developing new improvements and are always working with their clients to make sure they get the most out of the software with fast response to questions and willingness to set up 30+ minute meetings with a specialist to address any concerns at no cost.

Cons

Adding a feature to notify internal mangers of pending approvals would be a great benefit.

Reasons for Switching to Premier

Cost and they were the most willing to assist with making the software work and did not have a cost for every call to them.
Bo K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Jonas Premier

Reviewed on 26/11/2019

Pros

Cost Transparency
Cost Tracking
Organization

Cons

Training - in person training would be better than the webinars

Alternatives Considered

NetSuite CRM and Procore

Reasons for Choosing Premier

Preparing for when we are a larger company

Reasons for Switching to Premier

We felt that Premier was most suitable for our growing company. User-friendliness, visual display, etc..
Zach C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Bang for your buck!

Reviewed on 10/12/2018

Pros

It is a seamlessly integrated, fully-mobile product that can be adapted to the varying situations that present themselves for modern construction company. Being that it is cloud based we are ready to job on a project location as soon as we have internet access; no long winded set-up process or expensive IT costs for VPN or remote server set-up. Your controller will love the product as much as your PMs if they are used to any of the traditional or non-integrated systems.

Cons

You have to create and format all/many of the forms/reports, which is both time consuming and can cause potential continuity errors. I believe that they are working towards solutions for this though.

Braxton B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

AWESOME!!!

Reviewed on 19/07/2018

We love it!

Pros

The software meets all our needs. We run 13 companies each with different needs. This is a construction software, but we do other companies involving investments, property management, and it meets all our needs and more. One of our favorite features is the document manager. It is super easy to grab documents and attach that document to any transaction. It frees up our computer space and organizes it much better than we could have by ourselves. This software really is for everyone that wants to take the time to learn. It is a tedious process to get started, but well worth it and will save you a lot of time in the long run.

Cons

My only con would be that the training videos are a little long. I think the videos could be a quick overview of the item that is being trained on, then we are required to go and try and figure it out ourselves. The great thing with Jonas is that you can mess up in your test company and nothing carries over once you go live. So mess up as much as you want, it will help you learn. If the videos had a little revamp and shortened with more interaction, there would be not a single con to this software.

Phillip H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Premier

Reviewed on 20/09/2019

Pros

Cloud based and very user friendly for our Project Managers. Staff at Jonas Premier are very helpful and open to suggestions in order to continue improving the software.

Cons

Reports are available however it would be good to be able to combine information from various reports into one report. The ability to export any inquiry screen to excel would be great.

Bill B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

New User

Reviewed on 04/09/2020

Premier is a software that is increasing our efficiency initially and I am anticipating it to continue to increase as we use it more. I am very pleased with our choice and feel that it will allow our company to perform and grow profitably and efficiently in the future.

Pros

The software is very intuitive use and very easy to use. The integration between accounting and project management is very smooth, getting committed costs across both platforms and allowing for electronic subcontractor pay apps really emphasizes the efficiency of this software. The ability to customize the document management is also very helpful.
The training program was very thorough and helped us to go live very easily.

Cons

The submittal module and a drawing management modules are the two that need the most attention, but both of these are being upgraded in the few months.

Lance K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Lance's Review

Reviewed on 26/03/2021

very good experience so far

Pros

project management tracking, AP functionality and GL integration

Cons

initial setup, it was a bit time consuming

Brian C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Good for Companies in the Construction/Development Space

Reviewed on 17/07/2018

Jonas Premier should be given a careful look by anyone shopping for construction accounting software. After looking at all of the major players in this space, we chose Jonas an think that for a company of our size it is the best.

Pros

Jonas has great service and is invested in walking you through the training and implementation process. I feel that when you sign up with them you will not fall through the cracks. The MS Office add ins make moving data in and out of the system easy and fast.

Cons

The integrations and API interface with other systems is still early stage, and the functions on this side are quite limited. Payroll may be more complex than necessary depending upon your needs. We chose to just use 3rd party payroll and get the information on the GL through a journal entry. Single sign on would be very nice, as this system has financial information, and I believe that all cloud based line of business systems should be putting security first.

John A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Consultant

Reviewed on 31/12/2018

none

Pros

The highest value, ease of use, and functionality of any competitive package. For a real estate developer and real estate investment company, it provides all the features required at the project and financial management levels in a fully integrated, cloud-based package.

Cons

There is nothing that I "liked least" about the package. Doe everything and more than expected and does so a very fair price. If there is any negative too the package, it could only be that for a general contractor, it is not as robust in heavy commercial construction features as Procore; but since my client is a real estate developer and commercial real estate investment company, we do not need the heavy construction features of Procore on the project management side of the package, nor do we want to pay for them.

Robert M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Premier benefits small builders

Reviewed on 08/05/2017

Good overall PM and accounting package.

Pros

Has significant reporting and job costings benifits for small to medium builders. Intersgrates well with Microsoft Power BI software to make reporting easier to present. It's been great to have all contract and variations in the one place.

Cons

Can be a little difficult at first to get your head around, and some clunky aspects to processes having to move through several screens to process AP and AR invocies.

Alejandro R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Jonas Premier - Torcon LTD

Reviewed on 25/02/2020

Jonas has helped the company on organizing and identifying documents; and monitoring and controlling project's budgets properly.

Pros

Jonas is a really good software that allows any company to track documentation faster

Cons

Sometimes the software gets a little bit slow

Audrey A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Simple but so POWERFUL product.

Reviewed on 06/10/2018

Overall experience using this was so awesome .

Pros

This product has a robust workflow , You as an admin are allowed to control what are user to allowed to be customize or what are not . This features helps me controlling the access of workforce on our company.

Cons

There main features are focus on sub-contracts but the developer it self , but I'm waiting for more updates on this product , because it is so useful for companies .

Gordon C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Premier Project Management

Reviewed on 23/02/2018

Great software to help navigate the complicated general contracting environment.

Pros

The product is Web based which helps for connectivity
The product workflows follow each sequence of work activity from the field to billing
The support staff is available and able to answer questions in a timely manner

Cons

We would like to see the product have an open API and Integration with other products
Reporting and customizing of reporting in a more simplified manner

Ada Z.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

The support and customer service from Implementation team was excellent.

Reviewed on 22/02/2018

Pros

It takes time to set up the whole system correctly, but the overall experience is fantastic, especially for job cost reporting. It really helped our PM and Superintendent to get real cost in time to have better budget control.

Cons

Customized cost report function hasn't been implemented. However I understand that they have been addressing this issue in their calendar.

Jason M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Nice software

Reviewed on 27/07/2020

Pros

Its easy to use and to switch through screens

Cons

Sometimes I get kicked off the software, but that might be my computer... haven't figure it out yet

Oscar V.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Jonas Premier Is GREAT PRODUCT!

Reviewed on 31/10/2018

This product is worth trying .

Pros

Its features are so great and we really appreciate it, also there customer service is nice they know there product really well and has a lot of patient to help you about your concerns, overall experience using this product is so great.

Cons

We appreciates it's existing features that we don't see any negative side of using it , but We are still open for more improvements and new features on it.

Quincey R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great Service!

Reviewed on 21/06/2018

Pros

Great in depth detail. User friendly and the support staff is always there to help!
Covers all aspects of our business needs.

Cons

Can be confusing while learning the software as there are many different pages and tabs.
Sometimes the program glitches and I must log out and back in.

Greg M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Extremely user friendly

Reviewed on 18/06/2016

Pros

This software is the easiest one I have ever used and I have been exposed to quite a few. The navigation through the system is setup in the exact steps in which you should accomplish your tasks. The setup has been easy and very informative from the webex videos and one on one sessions. As a financial executive, I need to get to reports quickly and see all of the pertinent information which is easily done with this software.

Cons

I am still looking for what I like least. I have not found any areas that I would say I dislike at this time. Some software you like, you ask yourself, why would they set it up this way, that doesn't make sense. With this software, I am not finding myself asking that question. It makes sense.

Brent W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

User Review

Reviewed on 28/10/2020

[SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] is extremely helpful with tracking project/project management!

Pros

Project management tracking/money management is amazing!!

Cons

A bit of a learning curve but gets easier with use.

Sylvia S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

YCL Review

Reviewed on 27/11/2019

Pros

It's easy to set-up new companies once you know how to do it. It's easy to add users too.

Cons

It can be slow sometimes navigating through the modules.

Connie P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Easy to Work With

Reviewed on 29/05/2018

I have enjoyed learning the Premier system. I have different job duties than I had on the previous software I used. I had to learn different areas of accounting and job costing that I didn't use before. It was pretty easy to learn on Premier with the Webex sessions and the staff.

Pros

This product is very user friendly. it is easy to navigate and I like that all the reports can go directly to Excel.

Cons

Probably the thing I like the least is that I can from a system that automatically coded your invoices to material or subcontract. On Premier you have to type this cost code in for each invoice.

James M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Jonas Premier User Review

Reviewed on 01/04/2021

Pros

Software is intuitive and highly customizable.

Cons

Very limited mobile app, no scheduling component, and no plan real plan management capability