13 reviews
MasterControl

MasterControl

Enterprise Quality Management

4.5 /5 (13 reviews)
Overall rating
4.5
/
5
Value for Money
4.2
Features
4.5
Ease of Use
4.3
Customer Support
4.3
92% recommended this app
13 reviews
Tamara S.
Industry: Biotechnology
Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees

Diligent and Reliable system

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 20/12/2018
Review Source: GetApp

Pros

I really like that it is so easy to use and that it is reliable. Getting audited a lot, it is important to have a system that is robust and takes care of all your documents. The support is a big component about why it is reliable. They are always available to troubleshoot in times of need

Cons

A lot of patches, but like any software that is normal. They do a great job in getting bugs fixed quickly.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Cody K.
Industry: Biotechnology
Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees

MasterControl Documents

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 06/10/2019
Review Source: Capterra

I am responsible for all of the documentation for Quality Control for the company I work for. MasterControl works well for maintaining documentation, but the user interface could be greatly improved and simplified for new users.

Pros

It has a lot of functionality for creating, collaborating on, editing, and storing documents. The system works well for these purposes.

Cons

The user interface is often not intuitive. Button icons are sometimes used reused for very different purposes which causes confusion for new users.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Verified Reviewer

Excellent control of documents ...

Used Weekly for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 01/05/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

The best thing about the program is the ability to track documents and identify whether the document was read or not.

Cons

It is not easy to use for the average user and its cost is very high considering that there are similar programs at a much lower cost.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Verified Reviewer

View from System Administrator

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 20/12/2018
Review Source: GetApp

Pros

The Documents and Training Module alone, have had such an immense impact in the reduction of the amount of paperwork and time spent on updating the documents and getting the training out is so worth the purchase of the system.

Cons

With growth there is always things that can and are improved on, I just wish it was more intuitive or upgrade training came with the actual upgrades and enhancements.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Pharmaceuticals
Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees

Great App

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 03/12/2018
Review Source: GetApp

Pros

Makes everything easier and streamlines the process. Very easy to use. Allowed for us to but new processes in place and remove the paper processes. Support.

Cons

The LDAP Import tool, Java, and the reporting tool. I do not really have any other cons. This is a good application.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Meghan C.

Excellent document control

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 14/02/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

It's very easy to track who has read document. Has a sign off function. Easy to upload documents into program.

Cons

Not very user friendly at times. Search function can be off. Often users are unable to open the program if they're not in the correct internet version

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Ann marie C.
Industry: Consumer Goods
Company size: 501-1,000 Employees

Over 20 years, I have implemented this software at 4 companies. It is good value for the value added.

Used Other for 2+ years
Reviewed on 24/08/2017
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

Good security. Cloud based. Mobile access.
Variety of modules within one software; Document Control, Audit, Supplier, Bill of Materials, Electronic Forms. Custom Forms, Reports, Training and more. Development listens to our ideas for improvement.
Huge time saver.

Cons

Depending on number of modules used, could be more user friendly. They are working on this.
Validation is timely. New validation risk based process is due soon.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Research

Great Document Control System for Developed Companies

Used Other for 2+ years
Reviewed on 04/06/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

I like that this software can be custom tailored to fit your organization. There are also options to add other modules that all link to each other so it is easy to add on features if needed. Keeps track of all users training records

Cons

Not the most user friendly for people who lack computer skills and technical proficiency. Very expensive

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 6.0/10

Martin K.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Excellent Quality Software

Used Other for Free Trial
Reviewed on 30/01/2020
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

The capability to drive the processes of the corporation around our quality system was the best of the overral experiencie with the system. It does what it promises.

Pros

Its impressive like how easy it is to use the system and how the quality documents can be kept in a central system instead of the multiple systems we had been using before. The service offered by MasterControl has been excellent and system setup was easy thanks to a very good support. Customer Service team, as they responds quickly and offer good solutions.

Cons

Reporting could be better. More felxibility in some processes to make them more configurable by the end user.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Melissa B.
Industry: Biotechnology
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Rating only

Reviewed on 30/10/2018
Review Source: GetApp
Jonelene V.
Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
Company size: 13-50 Employees

Document control never been as easy

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 30/04/2018
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

This QMS help us obtain our ISO certificate 2 years ago. With this approval on documents is on track and tractability is perfect.

Cons

We have on-site set up and only on our office can be access. It is a security but will be more flexible if it is cloud base.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Anne C.
Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
Company size: 201-500 Employees

MasterControl QMS review

Used Weekly for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 21/08/2018
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

I can automatically integrate all the information that I need on this software. I really like the web design also, it is very pleasing to look at.

Cons

A pricey software for a beginner user like me. Maybe try to make it more affordable for users who just got started and want to try this software.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Kyriakos A.
Industry: Internet
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Rating only

Used Monthly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 18/10/2017
Review Source: GetApp

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 2.0/10