TouchBistro Reviews

TouchBistro

All-in-One POS & Restaurant Management System

Overall rating

3.9 /5
(395)
Value for Money
3.5/5
Features
3.8/5
Ease of Use
4.1/5
Customer Support
3.5/5

75%
recommended this app
Sort by

395 Reviews

Chris
Chris
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Well programmed with very few bugs. Easy to use.

Reviewed on 07/12/2017

Pros

I really like the features it offers especially now that recipe costing has been added. Splitting checks is a breeze.

Cons

Having to check every item to put a discount on the entire check. Slows things down a lot when in a hurry.

Response from TouchBistro

Hey, Chris!

Thanks so much for your review. Very happy to hear you're finding TouchBistro easy to use and well programmed. I'll be sure to let our development team know.

If there's anything I can do to make your experience even better, please do not hesitate to get in touch.

Magan
Overall rating
  • Industry: Wine & Spirits
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Average overall

Reviewed on 07/06/2022

Average

Average

Pros

Ease of use, wireless capabilities, most of the customer service reps are knowledgeable and friendly.

Cons

Does not allow you to put a hold on credit cards for any amount. Does not work when internet is down which it is supposed to store and forward, and it does not. Was supposed to be completely wireless and is now not. Hate to have to pay for more equipment when I pay a monthly fee.

Response from TouchBistro

Hi Magan, thank you for your review.

We are sorry to hear about the issues you were facing. Please call 1-888-342-0131 and our Customer Support team who would be happy to look into this for you.

Michelle
Overall rating
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

A Big Steaming Pile o'POS!!

Reviewed on 24/03/2021

Their tech support is a joke, it takes all day to get a hold of someone, unless of course they have...

Their tech support is a joke, it takes all day to get a hold of someone, unless of course they have just rolled out an update that is writhe with errors, then it may take as much as two days to get through to their support. It's really fun when a pos- pos update makes your visa service go out for an entire day. This company is in way to far over their heads. The system is not reliable and neither is their tech support. I just called and 24/7 tech support means someone who knows NOTHING answers the phone and tells you to call back the next day or go on your tablet and submit X to data support team tomorrow. You must have gotten paid for this review. You obviously have not experienced the product first hand!!!

The worst part is my complaints and problems got escalated to [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] told me he would work to get me out of this system and out of my 2 year visa contract with Chase. I started talking to him in January and he has now ghosted me. No contact, no follow through. It's going to the lawyers now.

Pros

I thought this would have a better interface than what I had been using. And while it is a little sexier and the touchscreen is handy, but those small benefits our out weighed by the other problems with their lack of competent support and other functionality.

Cons

The biggest problem is that they oversold and under delivered. They told me that all my current printers would work with their requirements. Opps get ready to go live, go live and then find out you have to purchase a $350 printer bc your visa printer isn't "actually compatible" after all. Print all of your visa slips to a boh printer and run to the kitchen to retrieve them for a week while the new printer arrives- so much fun!!! They didn't explain that each device must have it's own Moby Visa device, no problem, that's only about $200+ to get another one of those. Sales person sold me on how they set up your menu, oh not that costs $800, even the promotional video they sent says the same thing.

It is not reliable, there are constant glitches in the system. They roll out updates with out thoroughly testing them. I'm not paying them $120 per month to be QA for their shitty updates. The interface with the Mobi CC machine from Chase it completely intermittent. For at least half the transactions of the day, you have to send the info to the machine twice bc it automatically craps out an error on you. During one painful update, the system stopped communicating our visa terminals altogether. Really fun to ask customer if I can write down their info and run it later, that didn't make us look ghetto or anything.

Alternatives Considered

Toast POS

Reasons for Choosing TouchBistro

Because the Sapphire system was not very user friendly and had limitations that we were constantly trying to work around. It looks like an old dos program from 1999, for the most part.

Reasons for Switching to TouchBistro

They start up cost was supposed to be much cheaper.
Jill
Overall rating
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

TouchBistro for Bar Industry

Reviewed on 26/01/2021

Again, TouchBistro has a legit inventory tracking system, you just have to set aside a few hours a...

Again, TouchBistro has a legit inventory tracking system, you just have to set aside a few hours a day for a few weeks to make it worth it. Also, I have enjoyed simple things like the images I can add to each menu item. It seems silly but in the bar industry we know there are hundreds of tequilas, so when I have a new bartender and a customer orders Don Julio 1942-when my bartender goes to the menu, they can see exactly what the bottle looks like and know what to look for!

Pros

I love the inventory tracking that is available with this POS system. That being said, it does take ALOT of ingredient entry and programming on your end but it is worth it! I also think their customer service is great! We have a direct email contact and Monday through Friday you can logon to their website and chat with an associate.

Cons

I am used to a lot of other POS systems so this just took getting used to. I definitely referenced their "How to step by step" references for a few items. I had to figure out some work arounds in order to account for all inventory. For example, in past systems I've used, if I rang up a shot of Jim Beam bourbon, there was a modifier button for 'Double Shot' and it would automatically deduct $2.00 off the second shot and account for the inventory. In TouchBistro my option was a discount code with a custom modifier that I type in, but it wouldn't account for the inventory, so I had to add a separate menu for 'Double Shots' which wasn't the worst thing but again, a lot of time.

Response from TouchBistro

Hi Jill, thank you so much for your feedback! We put a lot of work into our inventory solution so it's wonderful to hear it's brought value to your business. I will be passing your feedback on to our product team as we are always looking to improve.

April
Overall rating
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Excellent POS system

Reviewed on 18/08/2023

Touch bistro has been a vital part of my business. It was easy to set up my menu and any modifiers,...

Touch bistro has been a vital part of my business. It was easy to set up my menu and any modifiers, which is important for not missing things on an order. Getting daily, monthly or even yearly reports is very easy. The software is easy to use, so you don’t have to be tech savvy to understand how to use it. When you link your payment terminal with the system it is only a push of a button and the customer can use the terminal. There is no change of discrepancy between the register and terminal. Overall it is a great system and I have had no issues with it in the almost 3 years I have been using it!

Pros

I love that it is so easy to navigate through my menu. Payment options are made simple and easy for the employees and customers. You don’t need to be tech savvy to understand how the program works so it’s great for all age employees.

Cons

Sometimes it takes a while to reach support

Response from TouchBistro

April, it's been a pleasure working with your business for the past 3 years! Thank you for sharing. -Carly

Alan
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Room for improvement

Reviewed on 27/03/2017

First off: TouchBistro seems to be the best option out there for a full-service restaurant POS. We...

First off: TouchBistro seems to be the best option out there for a full-service restaurant POS. We looked at everything we could find (that's available in Europe) and trialed the three leaders, and TouchBistro came out on top. We moved from an outdated local POS and have generally been happy. It works as expected, it hasn't had any catastrophic failures, and represents OK value for money.

That said, there are some problems, both with the software and with the sales/support:

- Frequent crashes when printing tickets (more than once per day). You have to restart TouchBistro, find your now-closed table, and reprint the ticket.
- No way to print invoices. This is required in most European countries and TouchBistro offers no way to do this. It causes us a big delay to have to generate one in Word and print it out for the customer. If they are going to sell in Europe they need to have this core function that other, more basic, systems offer.
- No way to print and charge part of a table. Missing is the ability to select various items, regardless of which seat they are at, and let me print a ticket and charge for those items. We literally lose 30 minutes a day moving items between seats for large groups when they want to pay.
- No menu support for multiple locations. Even though they have a page on their web site dedicated to franchises and multiple locations, the capabilities aren't there. Menus have to be painstakingly typed in by hand on the iPad (no cloud/web support) and while you can eventually move a menu from one location to another, it is a convoluted procedure involving a call to tech support. This was one of the selling points that attracted us to TB and they haven't delivered.
- No reporting support for multiple locations. You have to log in, view one report, then log out and log back in with a different username to see the other report.
- The localization (Spanish at least) is horrible. It's like Peggy Hill did it. They seem to have just run all the strings through Google translate and much of it is nonsensical.
- Impossible to update menu during service. If something runs out or a beer tap changes, you have to wait for everyone to log out.

We are going to stick with TB for now, but there is room for improvement.

Pros

Easy to use and train.

Cons

There's a huge list in my review.

Chris
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Solid Platform

Reviewed on 24/08/2023

Pretty good have had some issues with constant updates

Pretty good have had some issues with constant updates

Pros

Ease of use and the cost is pretty resonable

Cons

Support can be very frustrating and challenging

Response from TouchBistro

Hi Chris, thank you for sharing your feedback!

Ekin
Overall rating
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Industry Standart for Restaurants and Cafes

Reviewed on 02/07/2023

If you are running a restaurant, you need rock solid working system especially in rush hours. It is...

If you are running a restaurant, you need rock solid working system especially in rush hours. It is touchbistro.

Pros

It is super easy to fill your menu in and start using. There is high possibility your crew is familiar with it and if anything goes wrong just call the support and they gonna help you.

Cons

Some features needs extra clicks and attention, like updating menu, photos and prices etc. it is not a daily task, but would be nice to make edits on better ui.

Response from TouchBistro

Thank you for the review, Ekin!

Jason
Jason
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 4.0 /10

Not good for large restaurants

Reviewed on 19/10/2017

Pros

iPad based so it’s convenient to use but that’s about all it goes for the good parts.

Cons

Slow with big restaurants.
KDS fails 5% of the time.
Printers fail 1% of the time

The lag and delays of sending tickets is brutal for large restaurants. I have more than 1 location. Small places fine. Large are terrible.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

Zero customer service, completely inept, random charges....not good

Reviewed on 11/08/2023

Horrible service, started right after I signed the contract. Just TRY to call their customer...

Horrible service, started right after I signed the contract. Just TRY to call their customer support (technical help, whatever) before you sign anything.

Pros

I liked the price....until I found out that you get what you pay for.

Cons

Random charges, no follow-through, lead person went on vacation during onboarding without leaving anyone else to help. STILL haven't received any equipment (that was supposed to be here 2 weeks ago)....but yet they're already charging me for additional months of service.

Response from TouchBistro

Hi there, thank you for sharing this feedback, we're here to help! Please send an email to [email protected] with your account name and a senior representative will be in touch. - Carly

Carlene
Overall rating
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 2.0 /10

Reporting functionality and Chase-based V400m credit card processing are atrocious

Reviewed on 29/06/2023

I would never recommend this POS to anyone. Support is minimal at best. The customer service...

I would never recommend this POS to anyone. Support is minimal at best. The customer service representatives try to be helpful with the insurmountable issues we have had, but they need to consult with their "payments team" or "hardware team", both whom are unavailable on Friday evenings through Sunday. On the three busiest days restaurants are open. The functionality and support we were promised do not exist, and as mentioned in the "cons" section, we were fed a whole bunch of misinformation and unfulfilled promises.If you do find this system somehow alluring, do not, under any circumstances use WePay with Chase. It's 3rd party nightmare credit card processing. You cannot refund exact amounts from in-house, even when it is a TouchBistro error due to the POS and V400m allowing for a bill to be paid in full twice after an error code has been issued, but no credit card authorization is noted on the POS. The customer service reps are directed to have you do anything but make their payments team do their job.Is there a better POS out there? I would hope so. I would rather use my RMS from 1998 or Aloha from 2011 than this.

Pros

The functionality of the POS with our iPad minis for order taking is great, and saves our staff time that was traditionally reserved for having to go directly to a work station.

Cons

Reporting is horrific. Daily reports do not provide all information needed (comps, promos, takeout vs. dine in totals,etc.) and also does not subtract cash payouts from total cash on report. When creating EOM reports, we have to look at 5-7 separate reports to get all the data needed.Labor reports do not consolidate tip reporting with labor, nor does it populate total earned for each employee with different job types/rates of pay. I had to create my own spreadsheet so our accountant can actually navigate our payroll.When trying to drill down numbers for a certain menu item and create an Excel report, it will not let you isolate. Onboarding is horrendous. The training materials provided are cursory at best, and support is minimal. We had to figure out how to use the system through trial and error, and I had to write a user's manual for our staff myself. What was promised as functionality/support by the sales team turned out to be patently false.Since the second to last TouchBistro software update, we have had a total breakdown on payment processing with our iPad Minis and V400m. I have called to work this out I think 6 times now? It is still an issue and no one has any answers. The V400m freezes, does not connect to the iPad, cancels payment, takes double payments, and a whole myriad of other issues. Nightmare is putting it gently. All systems are updated and WiFi connectivity is perfect. DO NOT USE WE PAY OR CHASE AT ANY COST!There's so much more that is awful.

Alternatives Considered

Heartland Restaurant and Toast POS

Reasons for Choosing TouchBistro

Our Aloha system was no longer supported.

Switched From

Aloha Cloud

Reasons for Switching to TouchBistro

Oh, you know, the song and dance. Which turned out to be Cats or Xandau the films instead of Singin' in the Rain or Cabaret.

Response from TouchBistro

Hi Carlene, thank you for sharing this feedback. Our team would like to help you further to make the most out of our reporting functionality and to assist with the issues you've been experiencing with your payment devices. Please reach out at [email protected] with your account name!

Allen
Overall rating
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

Look elsewhere if you're considering TouchBistro!

Reviewed on 02/12/2021

This software has steadily gone done hill in the last 3 years. Tech support is horrible, unless...

This software has steadily gone done hill in the last 3 years. Tech support is horrible, unless you get a mid-level person who knows something. The movement to everything being cloud-based sounds great, but makes daily server reporting tedious and time consuming. HORRIBLE. If i didn't have so much money invested in equipment between multiple restaurants, i would change. If you're new and considering purchasing TouchBistro....DON'T! Look elsewhere!

Pros

Table side ordering. Menu flexibility. Expandability.

Cons

The more they add features, the worse it gets. I highly doubt that the development people have any restaurant experience. Refunding a cc that has been wrung in is ridiculously difficult. To top it off, they have just recently started to move EVERYTHING to the cloud. Including the server end-of-day reports which makes it extremely hard to check credit cards, voids, comps, etc. It's ridiculous at best. No thought whatsoever on user friendliness.

Alternatives Considered

Revel Systems

Reasons for Choosing TouchBistro

Tableside ordering.

Reasons for Switching to TouchBistro

Not really sure...wish daily I hadn't.

Response from TouchBistro

Hi Allen,
I apologize for the issues you've been facing with TouchBistro. Our updates are all made based on customer requests, the cloud-first reporting feature was a popular request to be able to access reports anywhere you are. I will ensure that your sentiments are passed along to the product team for consideration.
- Carly at TouchBistro

Robert
Overall rating
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

Do not even consider if you have more than one location.

Reviewed on 18/04/2023

This has been the single most frustrating, stressful and painful process in 40 years in the...

This has been the single most frustrating, stressful and painful process in 40 years in the restaurant business. Customer support is absolutely terrible after you pay them. I have 300 emails with them about issues, and just today the same problem occurred today. More bugs than a picnic on a trashpile.

Pros

The system seems like it should be great. The loyalty options seem great. They problem is they lie about features and the onboarding support is basically zero. To quote the onboarding rep, "As soon as you process your first transaction, my job is done". It doesn't matter that over 80% of the features aren't working and we don't have any online menu working, once one transaction is processed, you are on your own.

Cons

At this point, I have personally spent over 200 hours of my time to get this system running and I have 50% of the system running at one store and 25% at another. The system has zero support for multi-units and everything has to be repeated numerous times to make any changes. For example, for two stores, every change has to be done 4 times: 1 for instore, 1 for online and then the exact same changes again for any other location, every with the exact same menu. This is a terrible system for multi-units.

Response from TouchBistro

Hi Robert, we are very sorry to hear about your experience with our onboarding support. We can understand how this would be very frustrating for you and your business. Please send us an email to success@touchbistro with your full name, contact information and venue name for us to look into this further as we would like the opportunity make this right! Thank you - ST at TouchBistro

Greger
Overall rating
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

Stay away

Reviewed on 15/12/2022

I was promised a lot that the system can not deliver. I wanted to see live sales remotly, can not...

I was promised a lot that the system can not deliver. I wanted to see live sales remotly, can not be done. It would be an easy setup, been noting but. The only thing I can say as a positive thing is that support answer very quickly but most of the time they can not help since its a issue with a third party.

Pros

I can use a manager card (qr code) instead of a manager code to override manager funcions. You can choose what credit card merchant you want to use.

Cons

You can do very little from home. You will get glued to the restaurant. It only has one "admin" code so two people can not work on programming, setting up or doing anything at the same time. You can in a very limited way change menu items online. Any payroll issues, major menu changes, adding staff etc, you have to be in the restaurant, on the Ipad, on the same wifi as the "brain". Forget owning more than one restaurant or go on vacation, nothing can be done remotely. Even the reports is bad and you have to be at the restaurant to pull anything. I easy spent 20 hour online, on the phone just to set up such a basic thing as gift cards and that's an additional cost. I can still to to this day not log in to my merchant account to match deposits with my account. Nothing is user-friendly so to try to train any staff that is not a computer engineer is impossible, so again, you have to drive to the store any hours of the day to solve an issue.

Response from TouchBistro

Hi Greger, we appreciate your feedback and want to take this time to apologize for the issues you've been experiencing. We can understand that these issues would be very frustrating as a restaurant owner. We have shared your sentiment with our senior support team and a member will be reaching out. Thank you - ST at TouchBistro

Allison
Overall rating
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

Do not invest in TouchBistro!!!

Reviewed on 13/09/2022

Pros

There really isn't much at all to like about the software. It's very basic. When it actually worka.

Cons

The app crashes a lot. It's wifi based so if your wifi goes down your credit cards readers won't work. If you close down your apps during an internet outage, you are screwed. Many, many glitches and system outages over the years. Customer service is slow and they don't have a system service statues website so when you call with an issue, you'll have to wait a long timeto talk to someone. Then by the time they call you back the issue will have resolved itself.
The back end is not easy to navigate. There is no search bar for items on the cloud. There is no way to mark modifiers out of stock. No partial refunds on online orders. No good support for menu builds and start up. You are basically on your own to figure it out.
They also sold me on a loyalty and gift card program and lied that it would soon integrate with online orders. It turns out they were weeks away from rolling out their own branded program. But it was too late for me.
Just so very many many problems over the years that I am finally fed up and switching to Toast. So far an amazing experience with them that makes me realize how horrible TouchBistro actually is.

Kyle
Overall rating
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

Do Not Use

Reviewed on 30/11/2023

Went from bad, to awful, to unbelievable. I can’t imagine a worse experience with a company that...

Went from bad, to awful, to unbelievable. I can’t imagine a worse experience with a company that isn’t a bank or bell.

Pros

Their sales staff was very effective, unfortunately.

Cons

The self install may have been the worst day of my life. They are constantly updating and changing how reports are accessed rendering some reports completely inaccessible one day to another. When I decided the close the restaurant due to losses and the interest rates they harassed me for payment, would not negotiate a reasonable cancellation fee. They were aggressive showing no care for the small family loosing their life savings. Terrible product. The worst service. Zero ethics or morals. There is a reason they are loosing market share at an alarming rate.

Response from TouchBistro

Hi Kyle, thank you for sharing this feedback. We’d very much appreciate the opportunity to discuss your experience further. If you’re open to it, please reach out to [email protected] with your account name and we’ll be in touch from there. We look forward to hearing from you.

Rachael
Overall rating
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

TouchBistro: Easy to use, fantastic customer service

Reviewed on 08/11/2020

TouchBistro was quite buggy for us, especially in the beginning, but their customer service team is...

TouchBistro was quite buggy for us, especially in the beginning, but their customer service team is top-notch! Quick to respond to any issues and receptive to implementing suggested features. While there are a few major needs for improvement on reporting, I feel like TouchBistro has grown with our business as we have had the opportunity to customize it to our needs with the TouchBistro support team.

Pros

One of the only restaurant POS systems that has a search function for servers. 5 stars for the ability to hold credit card information for tabs. Backend menu and employee management is the simplest I have ever used. Very user friendly and intuitive. New features and products are being rolled out often and TouchBistro was very supportive of their restaurant partners through Covid.

Cons

Creating and managing the floor plan is incredibly difficult and could be improved. Reporting and analytics are somewhat lacking and something I would like to see improved to be more in-depth and easier to access more information.

Firas
Overall rating
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Easy to use, intuitive with excellent stats and dashboard.

Reviewed on 31/03/2017

After researching the market for new POS system for my newly established Cafe/Bar I found Touch...

After researching the market for new POS system for my newly established Cafe/Bar I found Touch Bistro to be superior to many products in the market. It is cost effective, easy to use, doesn't require specialized equipment (Only Ipad, printer and cash till), easy to install and learn on your own and requires minimum training for new staff. One of the most important feature that many other POS don't provide is the dashboard and cloud reporting. I rely heavily on these data to manage my business effectively and efficiently. It provides a breakdown of sales performance over any period of time, connects to my accounting system and load sales data directly into my accounting system, has excellent integration with 3rd party apps such as 7Shifts for scheduling and Shogo for accounting. I'm truly impressed with this product and it's robustness. I have recommended the product to many other business owners and I always get the same reaction of amazement when they see the reporting it provides compared to the POS systems they currently use.

Pros

Dashboard and cloud reporting. ease of use.

Cons

Technical support seems to be overwhelmed and you can rarely connect with them when you need them most. They try to get back to you within 24 hours, but in most cases that's too long and have significant impact on our business.

Max
Overall rating
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Easy to Program POS

Reviewed on 27/03/2017

Touchbistro is an easy right out-of-the-box solution for all sorts of styles of restaurant service....

Touchbistro is an easy right out-of-the-box solution for all sorts of styles of restaurant service. It's fairly quick to set-up and support is excellent.

You can easily throw new staff to it and have them come out on top feeling like they understand how to use it very quickly. Intuitive as an iPad/iPhone program should be to new users.

Reporting is very good unless you're expecting TouchBistro to do a lot of the heavy lifting - it's good, but not quite amazing on the back end quite yet.

Be aware of how you organize your products early on for the reporting that you do get. It's only as good as the input and thought you put into it while your business is just a baby - that can come back to nip you once you have a better feel for both the software and your establishment.

Pros

Ease of putting in products + costs, assigning staff, third-party integrations (ie. 7Shifts)

Cons

Some of the reports lack in what they return, Reports should be fully automated, Crashes happen (though not frequently), hard to run in a building with no dedicated network

Bill
Overall rating
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best decision ever

Reviewed on 04/04/2017

We embraced touch bistro over 3 yrs ago in that time they have continued to upgrade and make it...

We embraced touch bistro over 3 yrs ago in that time they have continued to upgrade and make it better and better. That said the only down side is as technology changes so does your need for newer faster iPads and that is something we did not budget for.
I would never go back to a stand alone POS

Just remember that if you make the jump to tableside ordering wirelessly you will be amazed at how much faster your table
Turns are and effective your servers become . Less staff required because they carry the POS with them no lines at a station. Smoother flow in kitchen

Just take .25 per bill
And put it in a gotta get newer IPad fund and you'll be happier then you have ever been

Bill Justus
Owner chef EKs Grill Kelowna BC

Pros

Just about everything

Cons

Cash layout for required new iPads to retain full functionality

Response from TouchBistro

Hey, Bill!

Thanks so much for your review. Very happy to hear you say TouchBistro was the best decision ever. We couldn't ask for anything more!

If there's anything I can do to make your experience even better, please do not hesitate to get in touch.

Alexandra
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

We love Touch Bistro and happily recommend it.

Reviewed on 07/12/2017

Pros

It connects with our accounting software so that our daily sales are uploaded automatically.
The app is easy to use and our new staff can be trained quickly and efficiently.
The billing features are really great and allow our servers to manage tables the way the customer wants, not the way the POS wants.

Cons

Adding menu items is time consuming and a general pain. We would love to have a web based site that allows easier uploading .

The reporting features are a bit clunky - for example we cannot check on single item sales totals. Instead we have to download a entire report with ALL items.

Response from TouchBistro

Hey, Alexandra!

Thanks so much for your review. Very happy to hear you love TouchBistro and recommend it to your friends and colleagues.

If there's anything I can do to make your experience even better, please do not hesitate to get in touch.

Anthony
Overall rating
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

It is an easy application to set up and fairly easy to train others on it.

Reviewed on 11/12/2017

I is more efficient than a regular cash register and allows us to track our sales and tax instead...

I is more efficient than a regular cash register and allows us to track our sales and tax instead of trying to calculate it after.

Pros

That it uses an existing IPad and can be stationary or mobile. Also it is great for tracking sales so that we can keep track of trending up and down of our menu items> It also helps use with ordering and inventory

Cons

That it doesnt include a rounding function for places that have phased out the penny. Sometimes the modifiers are a pain and could be better to add if you could choose all the menu items that could use the same modifier,

Response from TouchBistro

Hey, Anthony!

Thanks so much for your review. Very happy to hear you're finding TouchBistro easy to setup and easy to train your staff on.

If there's anything I can do to make your experience even better, please do not hesitate to get in touch.

Donna
Overall rating
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Small mid-western restaurant

Reviewed on 11/12/2016

Basically, works okay. This is our first restaurant so our only experience with a POS. For the...

Basically, works okay. This is our first restaurant so our only experience with a POS. For the amount of money this costs, I feel it falls short on the reporting side as it relates to accounting. Changes seem to happen very slowly if at all (only 1 year). Customer services getting better. Whenever I have the need to speak with a live person I've expressed my frustration as well as the issue which initiated the contact. TB prefers emailing their tech support team.

Pros

Relatively easy to train new staff.

Cons

On the Administrative side, it is very cumbersome.

Response from TouchBistro

Good afternoon Donna and thank you for your review and feedback.

Please do not hesitate to get in touch with us so we can help you take full advantage of TouchBistro's robust reporting functionality.

Not only are there dozens of different types of reports that you can use, but there are also custom reports you can built based on your needs. TouchBistro integrates with Quickbooks for all your accounting needs.

With respect to app updates, we update the app approximately every 6-8 weeks. Our last few app updates have gone out on the following dates:

- December 13, 2016
- October 31, 2016
- September 26, 2016
- August 17, 2016

If there's anything we can help you with, please do not hesitate to get in touch.

Carlin
Overall rating
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 3.0 /10

Easy to use, difficult to get help

Reviewed on 13/12/2016

TouchBistro is relatively easy to use for someone who has little to no experience with POS. It has...

TouchBistro is relatively easy to use for someone who has little to no experience with POS. It has a lot more functionality than something like Square, but it still utilizes the familiar iOS user interface and makes training staff/customers easy. Additionally, set up is easy, as it uses Apple Airports and a mac computer, which are all easy to purchase and use. However, if you want to get more technical, TB is not for you. I work in a large restaurant, and we wanted to build a better wifi network for customers and our office as well as POS. As part of this, we installed new access points to provide a strong signal for a very large room. When we wanted to set up TB to work off of the new APs, their customer support refused to provide assistance, and will only work with you if you're using Apple gear. Not only that but the support was slow to respond throughout our time using TB and often didn't provide helpful advice. Usually, the errors we'd experience would correct themselves after TB's engineers released an update (i.e. after a new version of iOS would come out), but we'd lose a lot of money in the process, with system outages and bugs. Overall, I would recommend you either stick with the tried and true simple solution (square) or spend the money and go up to one of the traditional POS systems. If you're set on a more advanced tablet system, I would recommend Toast over TouchBistro.

Pros

-Easy to use (for the most part)
-Easy to setup
-Replaceable hardware (Apple products)
-More features than many similar competitors

Cons

-Poor customer support
-No setup options
-Some functions difficult to access/not intuitive
-Bugs/issues when iOS updates - unreliable

Antionette
Overall rating
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

A disappointment

Reviewed on 19/08/2021

The customer service is poor, it seems that everyone is running from the problems due to lack of...

The customer service is poor, it seems that everyone is running from the problems due to lack of knowledge, no-one is being held responsible. You get emails days later apologizing for inconvenience but nothing after that. I used this system for over a month until I realized that the cc swipes were not being credited to my account. Thousands of dollars lost, being a small business I was late to notice due to managing multiple positions. However, its been 2 weeks and still no leads on how to rectify the situation. Ive had to stop using the system and use another POS so business can continue. However, the absence of this money has been strenuous on my business, with not an answer in site. My reps were [SENSITIVE CONTENT] both have ignored my calls and emails or mailing back to say I cannot help with this problem. Such a disappointment, much different from our initial conversation.

Pros

The upgrade in the equipment seemed fair .

Cons

No ability to create invoice
no accompanying app for off site management, or no site back up
unable to control print settings

Response from TouchBistro

Hi Antionette, Thank you for your review and I apologize for the experience that you've outlined here. At this time I can see that your outstanding issues have been resolved and I have passed your sentiments to our support management team. If you have any remaining concerns don't hesitate to email me directly at [email protected]