Campus Cafe

4.7 (19)
Leading student management for higher education

Overall rating

4.7 /5
(19)
Value for Money
4.7/5
Features
4.6/5
Ease of Use
4.4/5
Customer Support
4.7/5

100%
recommended this app

19 Software options

Anneliese S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The Canvas/VW of Student Information Systems?

Reviewed on 18/11/2021

Campus Café has been extremely responsive to questions and issues through their help desk. They are improving their Knowledge Base constantly. Users are getting comfortable with the system quickly, and with ease, and the system is allowing us to improve efficiency of our processes in many offices.

Implementation in general went far better than we could have imagined (we managed it in around 12 months during the COVID chaos). My only thought is that some sort of optional change-management services that could be purchased at an additional cost to implementation could be beneficial to some institutions.

Pros

This software was appropriately targeted to schools our size (~1000 students), without the overcomplexity and technicality of more extensive software systems such as Colleague.

The "Finders" (think fairly robust, saveable filters that are understandable to many users) are a huge plus to the system - they have made data available to many non-technical constituents who need it on a daily basis, without every data pull requiring a SQL script, or a "View" to be created by a technically inclined employee.

The user interface is fairly clean and intuitive for the most part, and training has been very simple to accomplish for most of the end users - particularly for students and faculty.

"Activities" (think custom fields with triggering functionality, email/text functionality) have become a way for us to creatively work through some business processes, without a large amount of overhead required to implement.

We have been able to construct degree audits for almost all unusual requirements in nearly all our majors well ahead of when we thought we would be able to, yielding in an extremely usable and readable advising/administrative tool, which we never were able to implement in our prior system for a variety of reasons.

They are very responsive to building out new functionality in the system, and do so at a reasonable cost. We had them build a Google Workspace integration which auto-provisions applicant and student accounts for us!!!

Cons

As a result of the willingness of the company to address individual institutions' needs, sometimes the UI lacks consistency across the pages, and there are some quirks to functionality of a few areas.

Permissions are less than ideal with this system, since only one permission group can be added to each single user - layering of permission sets is not possible. This has resulted in us having to build many permission groups, which requires a decent amount of testing and time. The interface for managing permissions is also very clunky and sometimes confusing, requiring double negative logic to understand what a permission is doing.

The Financial Aid area of the system still has some growing to do at this point, before we will be able to move to it. We hope that will be possible within the next 12-24 months, however.

There have been a few technical quirks to the system, but the vast majority of these have been addressed in a more than satisfactory manner.

Alternatives Considered

Orbund and Populi

Reasons for Choosing Campus Cafe

Campus Café hits a functionality sweet spot on the spectrum of simplicity and overcomplexity, much as Canvas does in the LMS market. We moved from an old, overly-complex system, lacking modern communication methods with students and flexibility. It also required self-hosting on prem, had become unreliable, was a nightmare to get data out of to people who needed it, and required a clunky desktop application to be installed and updated on end-users' machines. It also had almost no ways to easily get data into the system aside from manual entry. We required a system that had certain functionalities that allowed for processing a moderate to medium volume of student needs, but without the complexity that some of the more powerful systems bring. A system with more power than our use-case would require would have added time and complexity to data conversion and training that was unnecessary. It felt like a lot of systems were targeted at large institutions with programmers on staff, a lot more money than we had to spend, and a lot of technical expertise, as well as offices with the luxury of havin individuals doing highly specialized jobs. On the other end of the spectrum of student information systems, many are targeted at schools with a few hundred students (not close to 1000 as in our case), and lacked functionality that processing that volume of students requires. We needed a system that had functionality without being overcomplicated, and we seem to have found it.

Reasons for Switching to Campus Cafe

At least one competitor was priced astronomically and required far too much technical overhead on our part, and felt targeted to much larger schools. Another competitor offered us (strangely) too much flexibility that would have required far more time and training on the implementation side, and would have required offices to make many choices before understanding the system. A third competitor was targeted at schools much smaller than we are, and lacked registration functionality that we needed.
Michael J.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

The Best (only?) mid-tier SIS on the market.

Reviewed on 22/11/2021

Overall, we are pleased with our switch to Campus Cafe. The leadership and development team are attentive too are needs and have been very aggressive in shoring up any deficiencies we've identified. There are very customer-centric and are intent on creating the best product possible.

Pros

Has many of the automation features of more expensive platforms. Integrates very well with platforms we were already using. Has the best feature-to-price ratio of any platform we looked at.

Cons

We never intended to use the GL functionality, so it was not a problem for us, but it does appear to be rather limited. The Advancement/Donor module is rudimentary for functional. Lack of a parent portal is perhaps its greatest weakness.

Alternatives Considered

Populi and Ellucian

Reasons for Choosing Campus Cafe

We were on the CX platform which, at this point, is barely functional. Price was also a major factor.

Reasons for Switching to Campus Cafe

Combination of price and functionality. The best mix of affordability and automation.
Bob G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Campus Cafe = Remarkably Responsive

Reviewed on 18/11/2021

The team at Campus Cafe has been remarkably responsive to our ongoing questions and concerns. They have closed hundreds of the Support Requests we have created over several years, solving our issues and helping us to make the system work to our advantage in almost every case.

Pros

This is a comprehensive and complete Student Information System, used by almost all of our college's departments. Although we offer a wide range of programs, for students at all ages, Campus Cafe has allowed us the flexibility to support admissions, registration/enrollment, billing, and gift management for each of these programs.

Cons

I wish Campus Cafe could facilitate opportunities for us to speak with and learn from other higher education users of their software.

Floreminda T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

My own experience with Campus Cafe software

Reviewed on 07/01/2020

Over-all I can say that the system is highly recommendable.

Pros

Student can access online their billing statements and can also pay online.
Group billing makes my job easier as I don't have to manually charge student when they enroll for class. The software charges them automatically but I need to post it before it can be reflected on the students' accounts -- this gives me the chance to review the billing first before posting it.

Cons

Once I posted the financial aid of the student, I could not delete it anymore if I happen to make a mistake. I have to make another entry to negate it. I prefer that I can just delete the error.
Some postings done I can still delete but the system does not give me a warning before I delete. I prefer that there will be a pop-up warning me about the deletion just to be sure that I review again before I delete something.

Sarah L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

My Reivew

Reviewed on 18/11/2021

Pros

The admissions, financial aid and registrar portion are all tied into together. The reports for regulatory are great but only if the data is entered into the system correctly.

Cons

When a change is made it is only made for future dates and does not update/correct stuff from the past. The FA portion needs cleaned up a bit. To many place to import data. Can there be one place to import anything received by the DOE and the system determines where it needs to go?

Craig H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

1st Semester on CampusCafe

Reviewed on 03/12/2021

Our experience so far has been great. Their support team is very responsive and able to answer all questions to date.

Pros

We like the system due to being hosted and having a wide range of fields to be able to report from. The system also allows a bit of custom controls for us to accommodate our internal processes. Client programs such as CITRIX is not needed which cuts down on helpdesk calls regrading printing and connection issues.

Cons

The accounting side has been giving us trouble, but the support team at CampusCafe has been working with us non stop to straighten out any difficulties we have been having.

Alternatives Considered

BannerOS

Reasons for Choosing Campus Cafe

We were not too happy about the cost and support with our previous SIS System.

Reasons for Switching to Campus Cafe

We chose CampusCafe over the others due to cost effectiveness and ease of use.
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Cosmetics
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great software for school

Reviewed on 25/04/2019

Pros

It was a one-stop shop! We had all of our information on paper and excel documents.

Cons

The learning curve, and the language of the software is not intuitive.

Awit V.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Campus Cafe is the way!

Reviewed on 08/01/2020

Overall, compared to our homegrown system, I’d say Campus Cafe is worth it! Our work is now more streamlined and time we spend on projects and validation of record accuracy has been cut in half! I would recommend Campus Cafe for institutions that are similar to our size (population of 500 or less).

Pros

Reports are easily accessible and customizable! This is such a great feature for the Registration Department as we need accurate statistics immediately.

The ability to also customize webpages, email notifications, triggers, courses as needed gave us the power to be more flexible and creative with how we focus our energy and time.

Cons

There have been a few glitches in the system even after working through setup. An example of this is syncing Campus Cafe with Canvas LMS- students who withdraw or drop would sometimes sync with Canvas and other times it would not. So there was that inconsistency.

Sandy M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Very User Friendly

Reviewed on 21/01/2020

Overall, it has helped us to become more organized. My position requires me to track our students and log comments for each of them which CC allows me to do. I wasn't able to do this prior to CC and it has helped me tremendously.

Pros

Campus Café is very user friendly and has really helped us be more efficient. It has helped us to streamline our workflow and become more organized which of course saves us time.

Cons

Because it is so different from what we were using, it seemed a little daunting at first. There are still a few things that the software is unable to accomplish however overall, it is a great product.

Jada B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Campus Cafe Student Information System Is Perfect For A College

Reviewed on 18/11/2021

Overall, the experience with the Campus Cafe team assigned to our organization has been excellent.

Pros

The accessibility to have everything electronically and the security of knowing the information is backed up.

Cons

The schedule preview for students. I feel like that feature could capture more information.

Edward R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Campus Cafe

Reviewed on 02/12/2021

They are great to work with. Very attentive and they take there time with you. They really help walk you and the whole team through the SIS.

Pros

Helped organize the school to operate a lot more efficiently.

Cons

There is definitely a big learning curve, but it is worth it.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great Resource to Have

Reviewed on 22/08/2018

Pros

Getting streamlined information on campus life.

Cons

I have no negative reflection on this software.

Lynne L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Campus Cafe for Higher Education

Reviewed on 18/11/2021

Campus Cafe Cloud service has enabled us to work in a more virtual environment and to move to a paperless student records system.

Pros

Campus Cafe modules cover major components needed for Higher Education all in one program. (Admissions, Financial Aid, Student Information System, Accounting, Development, and Alumni)

Cons

Campus Cafe is a growing software company that has improved over the 8+ years that we have used the software. Keeping up with changes and ongoing training needs is challenging at times. However, customer support is very responsive to our questions.

Bobbet M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Campus Cafe Survey

Reviewed on 18/11/2021

I like the customer support I receive from [SENSITIVE CONTENT].

Pros

I like the software, merge feature, maintenance permission, expand filters etc...

Cons

I believe it should be more user friendly.

Ma lourdes B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

On to Campus Cafe

Reviewed on 03/03/2020

Being a not so technical person, I found this system user friendly and easy to access and familiarize with.

Pros

For financial aid purposes, the software provides me detailed and accurate information I need to process students financial aid and withdrawals based on enrollment status shown in enrollment history, attendance report, transcript/grades, billing statement and other pertinent info.

Cons

I personally was not able to browse other files as they do not concern my line of work. I used to pull-out attendance report from attendance history and if it will be imported to excel file, no student name is shown for the particular attendance report.

Christy M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Good product for small graduate school

Reviewed on 18/11/2021

We needed a new student SIS and campus cafe fit what we needed. Customer service has been very good!

Pros

Campus cafe handles most of what we need and it allows for uploading documents without purchasing a separate imaging system. I have to admit that I do not use all of the tools as we are very small.

Cons

I wish the reporting function was easier to use but I can usually get what I need one way or another through pre- built reports or dynamic queries. The Activity Tracking used is a catch all for alot of things which does not always work for our purposes. I still use mail chimp for our recruiting emails because I had it set up before moving to Campus cafe, and I find the process of setting up workflows in Campus cafe to be cumbersome but it could be that I just need to devote more time to it.

Flor F.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Campus Cafe as a Means to Manage the Student Information System

Reviewed on 06/10/2020

It is a very functional system that helped us automate some of the important processes for students and the school.

Pros

Tracking activities can easily be added into the system to make sure that when students have changes in academic activities, we can monitor and send out the required tracking mechanisms.
Can alert staff if there are triggers, and/or ability to track and monitor student activities like withdrawal, dropping from course or from the program.

Cons

I am still figuring out how to maximize its features so I can use for my regulars IPEDS reporting and to generate other reports required by the state or accreditor.

Carol L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Campus Cafe is Great!

Reviewed on 13/10/2020

Great product! Glad my business switched to Campus Cafe!!

Pros

Campus cafe has many many options to use for schools. I personally use for the financial aid part and find it very simple to use and very easy to select options for viewing for the students.

Cons

I feel there are a lot of items I have not even used yet, but have been using this for a few years already. It probably does more than I even know!!

Meghan M.
Overall rating
  • Used for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

I've had great experiences with this software so far.

Reviewed on 24/04/2018

Pros

I like how every section of the software seems to be well-balanced. A lot of SIS programs are heavy on admissions/academics and light on donor management, but this program is very strong on all fronts!

Cons

I don't like how the company doesn't seem to be up front about the price of the implementation and software.