Upserve

4.3 (269)
Restaurant & Bar iPad POS Management System

Overall rating

4.3 /5
(269)
Value for Money
4.2/5
Features
4.2/5
Ease of Use
4.5/5
Customer Support
4.3/5

87%
recommended this app

269 reviews

Anna T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Intuitive, reliable, affordable

Reviewed on 01/12/2019

Overall our experience has been great. Many previous issues with the software have been solved over the years.

Pros

Upserve is an easy point of use system to set up and use. New employees require very little training, as the interface is simple and intuitive. Likewise, setup and admin work is quick and easy to figure out, even for those of us who are not all too tech savvy. It is far more affordable than most POS software/hardware options, is reliable, and has great customer service.

Cons

It should upload to quickbooks without a third party software.

Alternatives Considered

Square Point of Sale

Reasons for Switching to Upserve

Price, ease of use, recommendations from other restaurant owners, previous experience with the system.
Tara D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Restaurant Usage for UpservePOS

Reviewed on 13/02/2020

I love all of the reporting that UpservePOS has available to me. It makes staying on top of my business a breeze.

Pros

It is easy to use, easy to train new employees and makes service easy. Customer service is always available and is really helpful!

Cons

There are still a few features that UpservePOS doesn't have that would help my business.

Jeff C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Solid Platform For Restaurant Management

Reviewed on 29/01/2019

Pros

Upserve is a solid choice for restaurants. Lots of features and functionality. Unlike a lot of POS systems, I like the versatility and ability to manage the floor plan and some front of house features. They have some good online resources for teaching staff and overall I enjoyed using the product compared to other restaurant POS systems.

Cons

Initially setting up menus was a little tedious for me but overall I still really like the system. Lots of functionality. Seems like a good option for all sizes of restaurants.

Response from Upserve

Hi there Jeff!

Thank you for your feedback, and we're happy to hear that your experience with Upserve so far has been positive.

We try to make the functionality for building menus as easy as possible. Please don't hesitate to reach out to our Support team or your Customer Success Manager to walk you through any of that menu building. We're always here to help!

Cheers,
The Upserve Team

David K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Frustration Growing

Reviewed on 19/09/2019

We loved Breadcrumb once upon a time, and we have done a lot to bring others to Upserve. Now, we are exploring other options to replace Upserve. In fact we are testing one now at our largest location in the country. We have realized Upserve has grown too big. Nobody inside the organization cares that there's a huge security glitch in their coding that has cost us money. And despite promise after promise to fix it, we are now 10 months later with no resolution. It's evident Upserve has other priorities, and we are not one of them.

Pros

Ease of use. Simplicity. And in the beginning, responsiveness of Breadcrumb to improving the product.

Cons

Today, lack of responsiveness. There are bugs, glitches and programming errors that are repeatedly dismissed and pushed aside. It seems that internal priorities seemed to have shifted toward investor demands. Upserve's guests are not as important as they once were.

Patrick F.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Small Resort with Small Restaurant and Breadcrumb POS helped mightly

Reviewed on 27/09/2018

The software is easy to use, intuitive and designed obviously by several successful, former restaurant owners. Features are bountiful, but all times they are open to improvements or additions.

Pros

The tech support provided by Breadcrumb is what I wish all our technology partners (wifi support, social media support, computer tech, customer reservation software) used here at Boulder Creek Lodge could emulate. My experience has been that the tech support is fast, polite, talented knowledgeable of the Breadcrumb software to provide quick and effective tech support.

Cons

Often our resort hosts corporate guests that stay with us over more than just one day. The guest has a desire to "run a tab" over perhaps a month. Right now from what we are told we need to close out every night. It would help us avoid recording restaurant purchases in a note pad and adding then creating a ticket the last day of their stay.

Response from Upserve

Hi Patrick, thanks for the great review! We are happy to hear that our support team has been such an asset to your business. Thanks again for the review!

Connie S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

User friendly and integrates well with other systems.

Reviewed on 31/01/2019

Pros

Upserve has been easy to use since day one. The user interface is set up logically, it has the ability to make changes quickly and seamlessly, and it is very easy to train staff on the system.

Cons

There have been a couple of instances in which we wanted to make a customization, but then found that it was not an item that could be customized. We've been told that it may get added to a future feature, but it hasn't come to fruition yet. It is a bit pricer compared to some POS systems, but it suits our needs and gives us access to a lot of data about our business and customers that it feels worth the extra cost.

Response from Upserve

Hi there Connie!

Thank you for your feedback. We're happy to have Venn Brewing a part of the Upserve family!

As you know, we happily take customer feedback and consider it every time we release new features. One feature that we're excited to release soon is custom reporting, which would provide our customers the ability to built out reporting that specifically fits their needs. Feel free to reach out to your Customer Success Manager who can provide more context about it, and please continue to provide your feedback about our product - you help us be better!

Cheers,
The Upserve Team

Eric H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great product with great people and great service

Reviewed on 19/09/2019

Pros

We’ve used Upserve for 4 plus years now and we have never had an issue that wasn’t resolved in more than 24 hours. The product is wonderful and the service we’ve experienced is great.

Cons

The only change we would make is to the EMV processing speed. I know it’s being worked on so that’s really all they can do at this time. Maybe a nice display on the EMV reader to make it easier for guests to use

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great direction and product, needs usability tweaks

Reviewed on 11/10/2018

Overall it has been a positive as far as usage, reliability, and training. Support has been mostly helpful but even Tier 2 doesn't seem to be well-versed to solve the more complex problems. When it becomes more complex, the ticket often just remains unsolved and gets closed out.

Pros

Very easy to setup.
Very easy to train.
Figuring out solutions without contacting support is straightforward

Cons

Still needs web enabled tweaks to reduce repetitive entry on setup
Inability to set printers based on role (not just iPad location) means lots of thrown away tickets
Doesn't always find new IP based on mac address, sometimes has to be manually set
Tech support not well-versed in the Meraki setup so not very good at troubleshooting (Even Tier 2 clearly doesn't know how to solve lots of problems)
Software updates are tenuous and can require a lot more interaction than I prefer. Often having to turn off the other tablets or rebooting tablets multiple times before it will update.

Response from Upserve

Thanks for your great review! We are happy to hear that Breadcrumb has been super easy for you business to train on. Thanks again for the great review!

Desta K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Great idea - but they cannot support

Reviewed on 08/04/2017

I have been trying for weeks to get breadcrumb to do anything about compensating us for our monetary losses, the hours invested in all of this, and not much has been done. The system is not that expensive overall, so I guess you get what you pay for. They are simply not ready for primetime.

Pros

This is actually a great product, with the platform that is more expensive than any other that I've seen without costing $ and being hardware focused.

Cons

We took on this product in October 2016, and it has gotten progressively worse since then. We trained and showed everyone how to have a system work, and now we are shopping for other options, as this system regularly fails in the middle of service creating mass chaos for all of my staff who have to deal with crash kits and do their best to continue service. The system has offered a serious hit to our staff morale.

Heather T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Happy Upserve users

Reviewed on 10/03/2020

Pros

We've been happily using Upserve for our POS system for a few years now. We originally chose them because they offered to customize the program for our service style (small/shared plates and lots of takeout). Though it hasn't been perfect, their customer service team is always responsive and pleasant both over the phone and via e-mail.

Cons

The toughest time came when we wanted to update our hardware an opted to switch to their Android (as opposed to iPad) terminals. It was a new system and there were many more kinks to work out and glitches than we expected. They worked with us to get the system smoothed out, but in the future we won't be so eager to jump on the latest edition!

Rob G.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Easy to use and set up

Reviewed on 17/04/2018

It takes money from people and puts it in my bank.

Pros

Great Remote access and seamless menu updates especially when added remotely. Items added or changed through our previous point of sale system would have required a two to three minute reboot for the changes to update. The system incorporates comprehensive and useful analytics through breadcrumb hq and upserve. Can see what items are selling/profitable on a customizable timeframe.

Cons

Times of full system updates. time frame. Than that I don't have any major concerns. Some of the hardware does lose its functionality over a short period of time ( ie: having to disconnect the casing to plug in an iPhone cable when the credit card sweeper stops charging the device from an android charger)

Paul D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Efficient and Stable POS System

Reviewed on 26/01/2019

Pros

Intuitive design makes training new employees easy, and the Notes on each item makes communicating new information easy. Besides that, it does what it is supposed to quickly, which is more than some other POS systems.

Cons

In the early days, there were some crashes system wide. They are now a distant memory.

Response from Upserve

Hi there Paul!

Thanks for being such a loyal customer. We're excited to hear that your experience with Upserve has been positive.

Making sure our system is on and running is something we take seriously, and we're happy to recognize we had 100% uptime in Q3-2018. Every day our engineering team looks for better ways to enhance our backend system to avoid any crashes.

Thanks again for your feedback!

Cheers,
The Upserve Team

Daniel V.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Suggestions.

Reviewed on 19/09/2019

Upserve has excellent customer service. The technicians are friendly, useful, and I quite like that they are, I believe, American. Outsourcing us certainly a problem in our country. I just wish we didn’t have to use Customer service as often as we do.

Pros

The reports and back office functions make accessibility from home or elsewhere Easy and useful. In contrast, the app is almost useless.

Cons

The software is not intuitive. It wouldn’t be difficult to include an automatic discount, but we have to enter them manually. Also voids and exchanges are more difficult than they need to be.

Zach N.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best option available

Reviewed on 30/04/2019

Pros

Across the board the best pos on the market. Customer service, trouble shooting, programming, ease of use. Everything.

Cons

The only card swiper option available is quite cheaply made and typically only lasts us 3-6 months tops. When it won’t read a card and we have to manually enter, the manual entry screen is sluggish and has always been. This is my only complaint.

Response from Upserve

Hi there Zach - thank you for your review. We're happy to hear that your experience with Upserve has been a positive one. I'll relay this information to our Product team about the swipers. As you know, we have a 1-year warranty on all our hardware, so don't hesitate to reach out to our Support team for a replacement. Thanks again, Zach!

Chase M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Upserve POS is a Great System to Consider

Reviewed on 25/01/2019

The Upserve POS system serves our yoga studio in-house cafe and events department needs very well.

Pros

The formerly Breadcrumb, now Upserve POS is an easy to use system that has numerous settings lending to our multi-area/multi offerings for varied menu items and there are a number of very comprehensive reports available. The software's integration with our restaurant's iPads and kitchen printer works seamlessly.

Cons

Have experienced nothing negative with this system, to date.

Geoffrey A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Red Bird Review of Bread Crumb System

Reviewed on 20/04/2016

Pros

Super simple interface. I love that it is iOS based and items can be changed on the fly from any station. Also great reporting on the back end and I love that it includes a costing function.

Cons

That it apparently is not taking on any additional customers and appears to be going out of business. I was told the whole team had been let go and Groupon, their parent company, was closing up their shop. Also support could have been slightly more helpful and it would be nice to have better note functions. A scheduling function would be nice. Emailed individual daily sales to employees and the ability to account for tips that have been split between multiple employees, i.e. tipping out.

Amanda K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Easy Access to Support

Reviewed on 18/12/2018

Pros

Navigating through Breadcrumb is very user friendly and I am usually able to find the information I need. If I can't find information or confused about adding something to our POS, the chat feature is AMAZING. Someone is almost always available to answer any questions I have or refer me to an online article of steps to follow.

Cons

It is difficult to navigate through checks when looking for one specific item.

Response from Upserve

Hi Amanda, thanks for the fantastic review! We are glad to hear that you find our interface so user friendly and that our online chat has been so helpful for you. Thanks again for the great review!

Rick T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Solid end to end system for my restaurant

Reviewed on 26/01/2019

Pros

Seeing multiple venues quickly from the app in real time. Uptime, flexablity and reporting is pretty good.

Cons

The bar UE capabilities. Micros and Toast have much better “fast bar” screen capabilities. This needs work ASAP.

Response from Upserve

Hi there Rick -

Thank you for your honest feedback! We're happy to hear that you're enjoying your experience with Upserve thus far. As for the "fast bar" capabilities, we want to make sure we're doing the best we can to provide a system that works for you. I'll go ahead and share this feedback with our product team. Please don't hesitate to continue to reach out your Success Manager and our Support team to relay this info.

Cheers!

Keith Y.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Upserve review

Reviewed on 18/09/2019

The set up was smooth, we have had no major issues, and whenever we have needed anything, or had an issue/ question, we have had great response time and had only patient, knowledgeable reps help us.

Pros

the ease of general use, the reports generated, and the FANTASTIC customer service

Cons

To be honest, we have had no issues so far

Marc A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Easy to use

Reviewed on 22/09/2018

Pretty user friendly, only problems ever have are the Credit Card swipers breaking down over time.

Pros

Easy access on multiple devices. Great customer service. New training mode is great.

Cons

The updates always have bugs. Figure out the bugs before updating everything.

Response from Upserve

Hi Marc, thanks for the amazing review! We are happy to hear that you are enjoying our new training mode and customer service. Thanks again for the review!

Robert A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Love using Upserve POS

Reviewed on 03/05/2019

Great company to have behind you for your restaurant software needs. Easy to deal with when needed.

Pros

Generally, it is very easy to use and all the information you need is right there. All the options you need seem to be there.

Cons

We have had issues with the terminal's syncing properly, but I think that is our WIFI issue.

Response from Upserve

Hi there Robert - we're excited to have Dante a part of the Upserve family. Let our team know if there's anything else we can do make your experience better. We're always open to hearing suggestions and feature requests. Cheers!

Danielle G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 4.0 /10

Upserve thumbs up

Reviewed on 17/10/2018

No major problems to report!

Pros

User friendly and easy to navigate. Self-explanatory.

Cons

When calling customer support and opt for the 'in que, return call' option, Upserve on occasions does not call back.

Response from Upserve

Hi Danielle, thanks for the terrific review! We are happy to hear that Breadcrumb has been so user friendly and easy for your business. Thanks again for the great review!

Trace C.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Many years as a customer and overall very happy with the product.

Reviewed on 18/04/2018

Pros

I like the ability to make changes from anywhere and their ability to constantly update based on customer feedback unlike the archaic and expensive older POS systems.

Cons

The hardware doesn't always last as long as it should, the cc swipers, specifically. They either quit running cards or quit holding a charge.

Zach N.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Super easy interface and very intuitive with some major limitations.

Reviewed on 18/04/2018

It allows me to run my bar!

Pros

Ease of use. Whenever I'm unsure about how to do something my first guess is usually correct as the UI is well designed. The customer service is usually very helpful for solving issues.

Cons

Some of the offline limitations. We have been told that if we go offline not due to Breadcrumb/Upserve that we are out money if a transaction goes missing. This is a SERIOUS issue that we did not know when we signed up and may be a reason for us to leave.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Solid and modern

Reviewed on 11/09/2018

Quite good, but better integrations would allow me to get data across the various software pieces that I use. The system is super stable and reliable, so it's honestly hard to complain too much.

Pros

Easy to use and train FOH staff. Backend is intuitive and easy to use

Cons

Not quite perfectly setup for fine dining, and we don't have great printer control or ability to control how the kitchen chits look or are laid out. I'm still waiting for an promised integration with SevenRooms that hasn't happened.

Response from Upserve

Thanks for the terrific review! We are happy to hear that training your FOH staff to use our system was so simple and that you find it so easy to use!