Goalscape

Visual goal setting for businesses, coaches & educators

Overall rating

4.9 /5
(15)
Value for Money
4.3/5
Features
4.1/5
Ease of Use
4.8/5
Customer Support
4.8/5

100%
recommended this app
Sort by

15 Reviews

Pete
Pete
Overall rating
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Goalscape - sorts you out!

Reviewed on 02/12/2015

I'm a very busy person with lots of projects on the go. Problem is that I try to do a bit of...

I'm a very busy person with lots of projects on the go. Problem is that I try to do a bit of everything all at once, multitasking if you like. However, as we all know, multitasking doesn't work very efficiently. Audiobooks, books, pen and paper, spreadsheets..... Hectic! Then a quick Google search for "Goal Planning Software" and I came across Goalscape. Flashy, smooth, interactive, flexible, dynamic and ultimately SIMPLE!

Goalscape can be used in all walks of your life, whether it be business, project, sports, life planning, career.... Goalscape works for everything! Register for an account and use the online web software, or download the desktop software or even use it as an app on your phone / tablet! Very versatile. There are templates that you can load in and tweak to suite your circumstances.

Goalscape has helped me map out my various sectors that makes up my life. I can then sub divide these and see what I'm spending too much time on and what I'm completely missing out on. The Goalscape model restores balance and harmony to my life.

Pros

Smooth, simple, versatile, portable, quick to get into. Nice help guides and videos to show you how to do things.

Cons

As you add more and more sub goals, they get smaller and smaller on the main model. The navigating round and trying to remember which tiny sector is what, can be tricky - especially if you manage to put Goalscape down for a week! You can double click over a minute sector, but if that is the wrong one, then you need to click back out and click in on another one. Maybe a hover over and zoom feature similar to photo galleries when online shopping.

Response from Goalscape Software

Thanks for the great review!

To see the goal names more easily you can Collapse some outer levels and use that in conjunction with the 'Center On' feature you described.

You can use the Web App (https://goalscape.app) for Free for 14 days: create as many goalscapes as you like and share them with anyone.

When your trial expires you can still read your goalscapes (View Only mode). Or to maintain full use after your trial expires, upgrade to a Goalscape subscription for just $99.00 per year or $9.90 per month.

Jens
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Goalscape as a central platform for goal and project management

Reviewed on 28/09/2022

As CEO, I particularly appreciate the highlighting of hot spots in the project landscape. This...

As CEO, I particularly appreciate the highlighting of hot spots in the project landscape. This allows me to focus on the key decision points and saves a lot of time when checking the status of the individual project segments.

Pros

With Goalscape as a central platform for target and project management, we map our complete target and project management. The intuitive usability of Goalscape made it very easy for my team to get started. All teams in our company have been working with Goalscape for 2 years. We use it to map our agile management method OKR (Objective & Key Results). What we like most about Goalscape is that we can keep track of the statuses and documentation in a complex project landscape and still map all the detail structures compactly.

Cons

At the moment we don't miss anything in Goalscape

Alternatives Considered

Workpath

Reasons for Choosing Goalscape

I didn't have the features in Confluence that I had in Goalscape and I missed the overview of the project landscape

Switched From

Confluence

Reasons for Switching to Goalscape

Goalscape has better usability and the more suitable features for us

Response from Goalscape Software

Hi Jens

Thanks very much for the marvellous review!

We are very pleased that Goalscape's visual format helps you and your team to maintain clarity in the complexity, see the status in every area and quickly idetify any 'hot spots' that need urgent attention.

Keep achieving great goals!

Richard

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Goalscape - Helping you achieve your most important goals

Reviewed on 10/01/2024

I very much enjoy using the Goalscape platform for achieving my objectives and ensuring i am on...

I very much enjoy using the Goalscape platform for achieving my objectives and ensuring i am on track.

Pros

Goalscape provides excellent visibility of your goals and what needs to be done to achieve them. It is also very easy to use which is great.

Cons

Goalscape does not have a mobile app or habit tracker

Alternatives Considered

GoalsOnTrack, Trello, Weekdone and monday.com

Reasons for Choosing Goalscape

Goalscape was so much easier to use and gave me better visibility

Switched From

GoalsOnTrack

Reasons for Switching to Goalscape

Goalscape gives you a great product that is easy to use at a reasonable price.

Response from Goalscape Software

Thank you for your great review. Note that you can already use Goalscape on mobile via your mobile browser. You can also save it on your phones homescreen to make it accessible via an app-icon (via Safari mobile browser on IOS and Chrome on Android). We will further improve the mobile experience this year. At some point we will also launch Goalscape in the appstores.

Claudio
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 3.0 /10

Review

Reviewed on 21/09/2022

Pros

I can see my whole workload in one picture, see the main work-packages and take more advantages in meetings as I can take notes related to each project.

Cons

It would be great to have an easy consolidation of the projects/blocks.

Response from Goalscape Software

Hello Claudio

Many thanks for your review! We are pleased that you like Goalscape's visual overview of the goal structure that underpins your work plans – and that you can update your goalscape on the fly during meetings (taking notes, moving goals and adding new ones).

We are indeed planning to enhance the Home screen and may include a folder system.

All the best

Richard

Doug
Overall rating
  • Industry: Research
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

A great way to view

Reviewed on 01/01/2024

I love Goalscape. It has provided me with an easy and dynamic way to group and view projects.

I love Goalscape. It has provided me with an easy and dynamic way to group and view projects.

Pros

The non-linear view really helps me see all of the projects at once, and provides an intuitive way to drill down and see the details.

Cons

Sometimes a bit more control over visual customization would be nice, but it’s not a deal breaker.

Response from Goalscape Software

Hello Doug, thank you so much for your constructive review! We will add more controls to adapt font sizes and colours throughout the year...

Oliver
Overall rating
  • Industry: Entertainment
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

It's not just the Software... It's the company and the people

Reviewed on 30/11/2015

I had used Goalscape in the past, and without a real need for it, felt it was mediocre at best....

I had used Goalscape in the past, and without a real need for it, felt it was mediocre at best. However, when I found myself in a crisis, under pressure to accomplish way more than most people can accomplish in a short time, I found myself returning to Goalscape instinctually. There is no other app out there that allows you to budget your time and set priorities in an easy to comprehend way under a time crunch like Goalscape does.

However, that is only the BEGINNING of the story. I happened to be trying to get the software at a time right when they re-vamped their entire website and business model to be cloud-based and subscription-based. I bought the software subscription, but, after trying everything within reason, could not download the app (as is expected when a new website launches in the first few hours). I went to bed and when I woke up, someone had already responded to my request for help and was on it for the entire day until we found a solution. He finally sent me an attachment file that downloaded the software perfectly.

BUT, that's not even where the story really begins either: During the course of our conversation, I mentioned in passing that I had previously purchased a Goalscape Desktop license (which at the time had a promise of unlimited updates but no online service attached to it). The guy who helped me download the software tracked down that subscription, without my asking, found it under a different email address and transferred it to the new account I made all on his own innitiative. THEN, he told me that I was to be "grandfathered" into the system as a desktop user and that, while new customers must maintain a subscription to get software updates, I could cancel my subscription and keep my old user license with unlimited upgrades (which he so kindly attached to my new account).

THEN, he offered WITHOUT MY ASKING, to refund my $99 dollar subscription fee if I wanted to cancel it and just get free desktop upgrades for life. So not only did this person (and the company as a whole) honor a promise they made to me and their other customers as a startup, but they were generous enough to refund me for my new subscription even though I never broached the issue myself! That is one incredible company!

BUT IT DOESN'T STOP THERE! Even after this, it came up in conversation that I only had one "user license" left from my old subscription. I told the person I had been working with that I had wiped the hard drive of my old computer and sold it. He took my word for it and MANUALLY added the second device license back into my account and explained that in the future, when I need to change machines, I need to uninstall Goalscape alone first to recover the license for use on another machine. So now I can use Goalscape with free upgrades for life FOREVER, even when I change machines. Now that's customer service...

I just want to say as an ending remark that I am very happy to know that there are people out there like those who work at Goalscape, so even if a copy-cat comes out with a duplicate one day, just know that these guys are incredible people and deserve your patronage. They are also working very hard to improve their product and will be coming out with major improvements in the near future, from what I have gathered. So get in on it before demand pushes their prices even higher! They have a great deal with a $99 yearly subscription. That's less than $10 dollars a month. Less than Netflix or Hulu Plus...

Pros

-- Goalscape has incredible customer support and the staff will go above and beyond the call of duty to help you.
-- Goalscape is already an incredibly powerful tool for determining priorities, budgeting time or money, or just for brainstorming when you need a visual aid to help you think about the things in your life.
-- Goalscape can be useful to many people for personal projects as well as to collaborate with students or other people if you are a coach or social worker. And while roughly one hundred dollars seems like a lot at first, that's less than ten dollars a month when you break it down. It's affordable and you will get help when you need it, even if someone has to override system protocols to do it.
-- Goalscape is working on MAJOR improvements to their software, including allowing users to customize the field that represents what the percentages of circles mean, allowing users to color code or possibly even gradate colors of different pieces of the "pie" so that one can see multiple dimensions of their project (for example, size in the circle could represent time, while segment color gradated from white to red or green or any other color cold represent importance). The color palate may end up being able to even represent 4 or more dimensions to the project (i.e. the four psychologically basic colors: red, green, blue and yellow).

Cons

-- Goalscape does not have the features I mentioned and it may take time for all the improvement to be implemented
-- Goalscape relies on Adobe Air and Flash as a way to be cross-platform and the is at the mercy of Adobe's mistakes. HOWEVER, they ARE working on developing self contained apps for Mac OS X, Windows and possibly other formats. So keep an eye out for those improvements.

Response from Goalscape Software

Thanks a lot for those kind words! We do our best...

Wojciech
Overall rating
  • Industry: Professional Training & Coaching
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Visual Management with Goalscape

Reviewed on 10/01/2019

I use Goalscape to:
- project management
- sales management
- planning & presenting actual office...

I use Goalscape to:
- project management
- sales management
- planning & presenting actual office projects
- create knowledge bases
- present tree diagrams as scape diagram with contextual information

Pros

Goalscape gives opportunity to manage in visual way. We can create diagram of structural data with elements like:
- importance
- progress
- responsible
- tags
- dates.
We can add :
- notes
- attachments.

We can see data as scape diagram and as matching goal list or as a table.
To create visual "tags", Goalscape has option to add colours to scapes and color dots to filter them later.

It's possible to export diagram as:
- PDF
- docx
- xlsx
- goal map vector
- goal map bitmap
- csv data
- MS Project
- MindManager

We can import:
- Goalscape csv
- MS Project XML
- MindManager.

Cons

It's easy to start to use this software. Not to many options and great to manage in visual way. It's easy to create scapes as creative work or import input data to manage it later. I love import/export with MindManager as power-user - it's great to be able to present information in many formats without creating them from "zero".

Response from Goalscape Software

Thanks for the marvellous review. Goalscape is indeed the ideal way to define all your goals and set your priorities *visually*. And seeing your progress shading advance across the goal map really reinforces your motivation! Some people even take a screenshot every week and scroll through them like a flipbook.

Keep achieving great goals!

Terry
Terry
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Devise, Breakdown and Attain Your Intentions

Reviewed on 23/06/2015

Everyone has aspirations; whether they are subconscious, implicit, explicit, even accidentally...

Everyone has aspirations; whether they are subconscious, implicit, explicit, even accidentally prompted consequential aspirations. And, 'goals' are the means to attaining your intended aspirations. This is different than tasks I use a task management system and that's great, but attaining aspirations has always been a different sort of thing that I didn't manage. Then I found GoalScape. There is a natural goal-down into individual objectives that somehow parallels strategies-down into tactics. GoalScape's structure follows that construct perfectly. The interfact to accomplish this is a bit novell, but is easy to understand and adopt. Now I use GoalScape to my small team goals as well. This is a very functional practical tool for me.

Pros

Naturally applied to manage the capture/monitor the attainment of goals.
Easy to use.
Native desktop, and mobile versions/operation as well as the web/SaaS.

Cons

- Unorthodox user interface - (after very short use operation is understandable/functional).

Response from Goalscape Software

Thanks for the great feedback! Goalscape's unique multi-level pie chart 'goal map' UI is certainly a unique! We are glad you quickly found it easy to use.
There are some useful articles (with How-To videos) to explain the major functionality.

The web application (https://goalscape.app) is the ideal solution for teams working on shared projects. It provides some cool collaboration features like Goal Comment (per-goal IM with inline attachments and email notification options).

The web app works well on tablets, though it is not yet optimized for phones and smaller screens.

Doug
Doug
Overall rating
  • Industry: Arts & Crafts
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Pie Slice Concept Works For My Brain

Reviewed on 30/09/2022

I really like it. That fact that it is intuitive for how my visual brain works, it means that I...

I really like it. That fact that it is intuitive for how my visual brain works, it means that I actually use it consistently.

Pros

The circle shaped graphical UI works well for my brain. As items/tasks/sub-goals are added, they take up space in the circle, as new pie slices. The size of these slices represent how much focus/importance you allow for each of your specific tasks at any given time. And since the area of a circle is limited, it emphasizes that fact that there are only so many hours in a day. So... as you increase the size of one pie shape in this goal management system, it means that one or more of the other pie shapes must get smaller, and therefore must receive less attention at that point in time. For me, this is very intuitive and it allows me to always have access to a 30 thousand foot big picture view.

Cons

That it logs me out regularly. It would be nice to have a setting control that allows me to "stay" logged in.

Pierre
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Best tool for measuring our goals.

Reviewed on 11/01/2024

Pros

The visualization of our goals progress.

Cons

The fact that I can't share a goalscape to a non paying goalscape user, for them to edit it.

Response from Goalscape Software

Hi Pierre

Thanks for the great review – we are delighted that you are benefiting from using Goalscape.

Unfortunately we cannot afford to give away Editor rights for free; we may however introduce a new Commenter subscription plan in the future, which will allow collaborators on a shared goalscape to post comments on goal discussions.

Keep achieving great goals!

Pablo
Overall rating
  • Industry: Sporting Goods
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Sports Usefulness

Reviewed on 20/09/2022

Very Good

Very Good

Pros

I like how it lets you collect and organise information in a very visual manner and easy to access interface

Cons

The inexistent possibility of adding media and accessing it anywhere and that its not phone accesible

Response from Goalscape Software

Hello Pablo

Thanks for the great review! We are delighted that you like Goalscape's visual format and find it easy to use.

In the Web App (https://goalscape.app) you can embed images and videos directly into the Notes and Comments fields. To attach files in other formats, we recommend uploading them to a third party filesharing facility like One Drive, share it with your collaborators and insert a link to it in the Notes or Comments. That way everyone always sees the latest version of that attachment (you do not need to upload a new copy every time something changes).

You are right: although the Web App works well on iPads and Android tablets, it is not yet fully optimized for phones and smaller screens – you will be pleased to know we are working on that!

Best

Richard

Lucas
Overall rating
  • Industry: Sports
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Excellent goal setting and management tool

Reviewed on 27/09/2022

Assisted in managing the individual development plans for 50+ sports coaches

Assisted in managing the individual development plans for 50+ sports coaches

Pros

Visually represents goals
Accountability built in through tagging, dates, comments and other features

Cons

Would appreciate more training on it but the tool is intuitive

Alternatives Considered

Microsoft 365 and Microsoft Excel

Reasons for Switching to Goalscape

Visual representation

Response from Goalscape Software

Hi Lucas

Thanks for the excellent review! We are delighted that you and all your coaches are getting such great benefits from using Goalscape.

We would be very happy to arrange training for you and your team – please feel free to book 2 (or 3) consecutive sessions here: https://calendly.com/goalscape/20min.

Keep achieving great goals!

Carlos
Overall rating
  • Industry: Religious Institutions
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Better organization

Reviewed on 19/09/2022

Upgrade my way of thinking, organizing and working.

Upgrade my way of thinking, organizing and working.

Pros

What I like the most is that it helps me to organize all the ideas around a topic or a project. I can write the ideas and goals within a short, middle or long reach (even the most idealistic ones!! wishes). This in an organized way and with multiple ways to relate them with other topics.

Cons

I know it could be more friendly, I don't exactly know how.

Response from Goalscape Software

Hello Carlos, thank you so much for your review. We are glad that Goalscape helps you to Organize your ideas and that it helps you to keep an overview.

To make it more friendly, we will integrate a lighter day mode. We also want to add visual celebrations when goals are completed.

You can send us any additional ideas you may have - we are always keen to learn from our customers. Just click the Chat bubble at the foot of the screen in the Web App (https://goalscape.app) or on every page of our website (https://goalscape.com).

All the best, Marcus

Jan
Overall rating
  • Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad
  • Company size: 5,001–10,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great tool for overview

Reviewed on 21/09/2022

Very good

Very good

Pros

The way you can look at the progress of your projects

Cons

The price of the product is to high. No subscription please.

Response from Goalscape Software

Hello Jan

Thanks very much for taking the time to post your review here. We are very happy that you like Goalscape for its clear overview and visual progress tracking.

At less than the price of a cup of coffee a week, Goalscape is excellent value, especially since its unique visual iterface provides benefits that are simply not available anywhere else.

There is a special 50% Academic Discount for all students and teachers in full-time education. We also do a scale of discounts for corporate sales (10 or more users) – contact [email protected] for details.

Cheers!

Richard

Andreas
Overall rating
  • Industry: Public Relations & Communications
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Super Tool

Reviewed on 11/07/2023

Ich bin eher durch Zufall darauf gestoßen und war anfangs skeptisch. "Noch eine Projektmanagement-So...

Ich bin eher durch Zufall darauf gestoßen und war anfangs skeptisch. "Noch eine Projektmanagement-Software". Die Skepsis ist völlig gewichen. Wir benutzen Goalscape für alles – zunehmend auch im Netzwerk.

Pros

Man bekommt eine sehr gute visuelle Übersicht über anstehende und erledigte Aufgaben – selbst bei komplexen Projekten.Da die Anwendung super-einfach ist, gibt es bei der Kollaboration keine Hemmschwellen bei anderen Anwendern

Cons

Es ist nicht nachzuvollziehen, wer im Team welche Änderungen vorgenommen hat. Auch gibt es keine Benachrichtigungen, wenn sich etwas verändert hat.Dateien werden zwar angezeigt, aber nur als Dokument. Fotos beispielsweise haben lediglich einen Dateinamen aber kein Thumb o.ä.Für die Kollaboration benötigen Netzwerkpartner ein eigenes, kostenpflichtiges Account. Das ist z.B. bei Basecamp besser.

Response from Goalscape Software

Thanks for the great review! We are glad you like Goalscape.

You will be pleased to know that the latest upgrade allows you to paste images directly into the Notes, and attach files in any format (with pdf Preview).

And yes, a change tracker would be a useful addition (especially for business use on shared Goalscape projects).

Anyone who needs to be able to update a shared goalscape has to have a paid subscription; we are though considering a free 'Commenter' role.

Keep enjoying the journey!